Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Covid 19 Part XXI-27,908 in ROI (1,777 deaths) 6,647 in NI (559 deaths)(22/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

There’s very little politicians that come across as bad as Donnelly.

He's shocking. A complete bluffer. Obsessed with house parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

coastwatch wrote: »
    Surely these junior matches are effectively "summer camps"? The organizers should cop on, and play on.

Summer camps for 16, 17, 18 year olds lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭The Unbearables

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Donnelly scaremongering about another national lockdown

Has mentioned it quite a few times

Not scaremongering, it may have to happen. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

quartz1 wrote: »
    The new Prime Time Presenter is impressive.....not giving Donnelly an easy time

Who is he?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭MOR316

ebbsy wrote: »
    I'd rather get some medical advice off Michael Jacksons doctor, than Glynn.

Can't believe he only got four years and can still practice :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Was just talking to an elderly neighbour on the phone that I do keep an eye out for and he says he hasn’t a fcukin notion of going back into another lock down.hed be near 80.

That's his choice. My only concern is that he would be clogging up the healthcare system when he needs ICU treatment having contracted Covid-19.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Still no evidence.

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.

https://twitter.com/nntaleb/status/1235273803317551105?s=20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

There’s very little politicians that come across as bad as Donnelly.

He was much better before he joined Fianna Fáil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

jojofizzio wrote: »
    Who is he?

Yeah was just wondering myself

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,533 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Masala wrote: »
    ****.... had an AGM Organised for 2 September ... max 60 would be attending.

Now what are my options???? Am already 15 months to the day from last AGM and so am just within th3 Law on holding it. Don’t see the Companies Office extending the 15 month rule.... so am buggerred.

Any help appreciated!!

AGM's are already allowed to be postponed until 31st December 2020 and can be held via electronic means if required.

The Government has already indicated that the December 2020 deadline is likely to be pushed well into 2021 if the pandemic is still ongoing.

Companies (Miscellaneous Provisions) (COVID-19) Bill 2020

• Registered Users Posts: 2,362 ✭✭✭landofthetree

It never went away.

To take on your strategy -

1. build a wall on island of Ireland.
    2. Leave the EU.
    3. Develop a new economic model.

And this will bring -

Abject poverty and mass emigration.

30billion it has cost already.

This could cost us more than the banks.

Abject poverty and mass immigration could easily happen with the current plan.

Banking crisis.
    By the end of last year, the net cost stood at €41.7 billion, when disposals of equity and shares are taken into account, along with dividend payments, and a range of fees paid to the State.

The cost of servicing the debt amounts to between €1.1 billion and €1.3 billion a year

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/business/financial-services/was-it-worth-paying-41-7bn-to-bail-out-irish-banks-1.4036792%3fmode=amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,676 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

ChikiChiki wrote: »

Jumping ship from left to right is a warning sign in itself.

Now what are my options???? Am already 15 months to the day from last AGM and so am just within th3 Law on holding it. Don’t see the Companies Office extending the 15 month rule.... so am buggerred.

Any help appreciated!!

Engage the companies office. Of course they will make allowances in these extraordinary times.

Get an extension and put plans in place to organise a virtual AGM. Use the tech at your disposal.

These are extraordinary times. Rest assured your not the only one facing this problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,767 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

30billion it has cost already.

Abject poverty and mass immigration could easily happen with the current plan.

Do you mean emigration? Where do people go?

It's easy sit on the sidelines.

It's a lot harder to govern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,665 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I don't think he's scaremongering to be honest. It's entirely possible if shyte continues to go south. It's not a sure thing, but dismissing it as impossible is wishful thinking.

That's the first time I've heard the kite flown of another lockdown, a couple of times too. That's significant.

Pinch Flat wrote: »

When the crisis passes other countries will recover faster.

Jumping ship from left to right is a warning sign in itself.

All the main parties in Ireland are left wing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

Any help appreciated!!

I understand there is a possibility now to have a virtual meeting. Sign up to Zoom and run through that.

Edit - enacted https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/bills/bill/2020/15/

Some practical advice here - https://www.companyformations.ie/blog/hybrid-agm-fulfil-annual-general-meeting-requirements-remotely/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

That Professor on PT was very impressive I thought. I don't think the Zero Covid thing is realistic myself, but everything else he said was very well communicated - great answer on schools.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Always_Running

That gob****e Tomás Ryan on the telly again

Pinch Flat wrote: »

Don't worry. There has always been emigration. Nobody gave a fvck til now suddenly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,850 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

How is it scaremongering ? It GOT us into good shape, it might need to again if people are going to be selfish, undisciplined, uncaring and careless.

It’s only appropriate that reality is shared with the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Turkish1

So many questions in relation to how this will be implemented it not what are the actual powers of the guards in relation to house parties?

How do these restrictions legally stack up - what 'law' is being broken if someone has a house party? These restrictions come into place immediately but are laws/bills actually being signed into law?

Am I right in saying it is 6 people excluding those living in the house? What if I have 5 kids and 7 living in the house?

What if someone just doesn't open the door, are the going to break the door in for someone having a few people over without evidence of any rules/laws being broken.

Do they just send people on their way or are there on the spot fines?

Just dont think this is really going to work to be honest - fatigue is setting in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,480 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Dublin is throwing off the real picture of Ireland.

Still no evidence.[/QUOTE

Of what?

Our numbers went from 800 a day to 7 a day because of a strict lockdown. Why have numbers went up from then? Imported cases reporting each week with no regulations other than please stay in your hotel and don't socialise, but we won't check up on you and there is no penalty if you don't comply. What else was going to happen given we had opened up by then?

https://twitter.com/BloombergAsia/status/1292927914409963523?s=20

These guys seem to be doing OK?

Learn from countries doing well. Not average or bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭ElTel

Ll31 wrote: »
    Would you trust them?

Them?
    Samples.
    I think the PCR test results on saliva should be similar to current.

Company/Factory
    Could be an issue all right but the labs should be cute enough to check for any shenanigans.

I think it's going to take another few months of slobbering around by the government before they legitimately consider a hard eradication policy.

Another national lockdown might be enough to gather large scale public support for it.

Turkish1 wrote: »
    Just dont think this is really going to work to be honest - fatigue is setting in
    I don't disagree with the rest of your post, but I notice this thought that fatigue is setting in from many posters.

The virus doesn't care if we're fatigued. If our hospitals get over-run by new cases, we're in big trouble and the government will have to introduce more stringent measures - up to and including enforced lockdowns, closing businesses etc if required. There is no choice here, it will never be an option to simply let the virus cut through the country.

It's up to all of us to do our bit while we have the opportunity. It's much better than the alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,367 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Strumms wrote: »
    How is it scaremongering ? It GOT us into good shape, it might need to again if people are going to be selfish, undisciplined, uncaring and careless.

It’s only appropriate that reality is shared with the public.

people ? You make it sound like nobody was stuck inside for months and weren't disciplined. Where did the new outbreaks start ? It wasn't house parties or the pubs that are open(with food) as far as I know. If the minister is talking about another lockdown then why don't they address the places where there are problem. A national lockdown including places where there are very low numbers and have been for months wouldn't be fair IMO. Deal with where the outbreaks have happened.

It never went away.

To take on your strategy -

1. build a wall on island of Ireland.
    UK and Ireland approach in line with common travel area which is hear to stay regardless
    2. Leave the EU.
    stay in EU. No need to leave Schengen area because we were never in it.
    3. Develop a new economic model.
    ryanair is not our economic model. It's a national disgrace at this stage

And this will bring -

Abject poverty and mass emigration.
    stop fear mongering

https://twitter.com/yaneerbaryam/status/1295712951207440384?s=20

Still no evidence.[/QUOTE

Of what?

Our numbers went from 800 a day to 7 a day because of a strict lockdown. Why have numbers went up from then? Imported cases reporting each week with no regulations other than please stay in your hotel and don't socialise, but we won't check up on you and there is no penalty if you don't comply. What else was going to happen given we had opened up by then?

Can you please stop misleading people on respect to the causes of the recent increase. It is not related to travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,665 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

hmmm wrote: »
    That Professor on PT was very impressive I thought. I don't think the Zero Covid thing is realistic myself, but everything else he said was very well communicated - great answer on schools.

Thomas Ryan. He's been consistent in his message for ages and as a result people hate his guts.

The mere mention of his name in the relaxation thread will have the freedom fighters heads bursting into geysers of bile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

I think it's going to take another few months of slobbering around by the government before they legitimately consider a hard eradication policy.

Another national lockdown might be enough to gather large scale public support for it.
    I'd gladly take a 20 day hard lockdown over this current nonsensical approach. Hard lockdown then close borders, tight. Give people 7 days notice to get home or stay out. No exceptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,504 ✭✭✭Masala

Engage the companies office. Of course they will make allowances in these extraordinary times.

Get an extension and put plans in place to organise a virtual AGM. Use the tech at your disposal.

These are extraordinary times. Rest assured your not the only one facing this problem.

Any guidance of how to do an online meeting.... would it need an external company to organize or can it be done easily internally. A Zoom wouldn’t suit 60 people trying to diallin....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,838 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Looks like gigs are ok. Took him all evening to get clarity apparently https://twitter.com/malcolmbyrne/status/1295813502326779904?s=19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

A forecasting question. What is the mean days to ICU for a covid case? What should we be expecting from these 80 cases avg a day?

No good if inward travel at the levels we have still exists. We are a global hub for business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,169 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Arghus wrote: »
    Thomas Ryan. He's been consistent in his message for ages and as a result people hate his guts.

The mere mention of his name in the relaxation thread will have the freedom fighters heads bursting into geysers of bile.

Always a sign that you are talking about someone who actually knows whats going on when they react like that!

Sorry but this is again living in Lala land in respect to our membership of the European Union and in regard to our economic model.

Lundstram wrote: »
    I'd gladly take a 20 day hard lockdown over this current nonsensical approach. Hard lockdown then close borders, tight. Give people 7 days notice to get home or stay out. No exceptions.

I agree. They’re after picking a percentage of the population to restrict. It’s either all or nothing in my view.

All very simple in theory but I'm sure there are a lot of issues with implementing it. Id stay at home, indoors, for 20 days no problem if i knew the old normal was at the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,850 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    people ? You make it sound like nobody was stuck inside for months and weren't disciplined. Where did the new outbreaks start ? It wasn't house parties or the pubs that are open(with food) as far as I know. If the minister is talking about another lockdown then why don't they address the places where there are problem. A national lockdown including places where there are very low numbers and have been for months wouldn't be fair IMO. Deal with where the outbreaks have happened.

Because human nature doesn’t respect boundaries.. also, genuine question as I don’t know, can the government bring in a law that only say... applies in for example...in Co Louth that wouldn’t apply elsewhere ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

And four weeks later after your 20 days, youd be in another 20 day 'hard' lockdown. Lather rinse repeat.

Here's a picture if it's easier. Please let me know what it is you don't understand. No need for a wall. Switch off Fox News. You may call it la la land but I think you may have drank too much of the cool-aide in head office.
    The Schengen Area ( /ˈʃɛŋən/) is an area comprising 26 European countries that have officially abolished all passport and all other types of border control at their mutual borders.

The UK and Ireland have operated a Common Travel Area (CTA) since 1923 (with passport-free travel and freedom of movement with each other), but the UK would not abolish border controls with any other countries and therefore opted out of the Agreement. While not signing the Schengen Treaty, Ireland has always looked more favourably on joining, but has not done so in order to maintain the CTA and its open border with Northern Ireland.[

523412.png

• Registered Users Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Donnelly coming across very well here making a lot of sense. Stop the house parties folks you aren't helping anyone and prolonging all our misery.
    Is he yeah ?

https://twitter.com/Philip_Ryan/status/1295830785287753729?s=19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

All very simple in theory but I'm sure there are a lot of issues with implementing it. Id stay at home, indoors, for 20 days no problem if i knew the old normal was at the end of it.
    Drastic indeed but can we live like this for possibly the next few years? We are 6 months in and folks are suffering - not just financially.

Put the Gardai to actual use along the NI border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,367 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Strumms wrote: »
    Because human nature doesn’t respect boundaries.. also, genuine question as I don’t know, can the government bring in a law that only say... applies in for example...in Co Louth that wouldn’t apply elsewhere ?

Humans do respect boundaries when it's clear what they are but for whatever reason since the new government have come into power there seems to be a lack of clarity. There is conflicting messges including tonight.

On the law question I genuinely have no earthly idea if they can or not.

He can’t even get the advice right. F*ck me.

Any guidance of how to do an online meeting.... would it need an external company to organize or can it be done easily internally. A Zoom wouldn’t suit 60 people trying to diallin....
    Assuming you're not Bank of Ireland or CRH, Zoom can work very well for a small AGM. The host can mute everyone. Participants who want to ask a question can enter in the chat window or raise their hand. There's probably a thread on this somewhere on Boards already.

There is also a webinar license for Zoom which is more one-way communication.

People can also dial in to a Zoom meeting if they don't have access to a computer.

I'm sure the other video conferencing technologies are similar.