Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FG to still just do nothing for the next 5 years - part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

smurgen wrote: »
    Getting back on topic. FG I founds Leo Varadkar letter to the EU on the living wage a funny intervention. Seems like they're not for the pro EU directives that strengthen workers rights.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0207/1195632-minimum-wage/

Actually, it is quite the opposite.

Netherlands, Sweden, Denmark and Austria are with Ireland on this - the countries with the highest protections for workers. This Directive could end up meaning that Ireland would have to cut its minimum wage to a European level.

"Along with the Nordic countries we are concerned that an EU law might result in a lowest common denominator approach to the minimum wage and workers' rights at a time when ours are better than the current EU average in most areas," the Department stated."

If you think differently, maybe you would provide evidence to the contrary. Ireland have the third-highest minimum wage in the EU, if I recall correctly.

Every single party in this country has had councilors or members who have expressed homophobic, racist and sexist views blanch.

Not every single party has them as 'policy' and work to institutionalise and legalise them. Except FG's 'friends' in the DUP. The DUP who want to grow their 'relationship' with FG in the future.

Own it.
    As this thread has shown...FG have NO ISSUE with homophobic racist and sexist parties as long as they are the RIGHT type of homophobic, racist and sexist parties. They actually invite them to their party conference and applaud them. They are also silent when this party expresses it's homophobic, racist and sexist views.

Moving the goalposts again, not following down that particular rabbit-hole.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,167 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

blanch152 wrote: »
    Moving the goalposts again, not following down that particular rabbit-hole.

:D:D On a FG thread, you accuse someone talking about FG of 'moving the goalposts'.

Honestly, that's a classic.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Just on Neale Photoshop Richmond, I couldn't care less if he is a Catholic, protestant, a Buddhist, Muslim or Jedi, he's getting mentioned because of the frequency and prevalence of his increasingly erratic social media behaviour.

There's a recurring theme here.

Mention Leo, racist xenophobic and homophobic accusations get bandied about.

Frances Fitzgerald or Maria Bailey, and it's misogynistic accusations.

It's pretty low level and nasty tactics.

I couldn't give a toss what someones sexual persuasion is, I couldn't care who (if any) God or church they worship or attend, or the genitalia they have, or what the colour of their skin is

If they're acting the maggot or posting brain farts - it's worthy of discussion without the thinly veiled insinuations.

Needs to be nipped in the bud..

Anything they haul into the thread and are unable to debate it,or its outworking (because the virtue signalling is shallow) then is met with a sulk and told go elsewhere to shut it down again

I mean,i can think of 4 government policies this last while,which if come to frution would be positive feature and would like to know more/logic/proposals behind em....

Instead we are treated to government supporters,posting pics of martin mcguiness and labeling him a monarcist....while then they simutaneouly complain about level of discourse

No, they are quite entitled to post pictures of McGuinness and call him a monarchist. It is up to other posters to decide if there is evidence to suggest McGuinness was a monarchist.

Just as it up to posters to review the evidence about FG and their links to the DUP and their fondness for Unionism/The British in general. There has been a wealth of evidence presented to suggest this. It's incontrovertible IMO.

Other posters are free to make up their minds also.

No, they are quite entitled to post pictures of McGuinness and call him a monarchist. It is up to other posters to decide if there is eveidence to suggest McGuinness was a monarchist.

Just as it up to posters to review the evidence about FG and their links to the DUP and their fondness for Unionism/The British in general. There has been a wealth of eveidence presented to suggest this. It's incontrovertible IMO.

It gets funnier all the time.

Fear of the other is so deep within exclusionary Irish nationalism that any contact with the "British" is seen as traitorous.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

I wonder how many 'anonymous' accounts are out there, pretending to be from other parties.

Very easy to say you are being attacked by supporters of a party, but never be asked to prove they are from that party.

I am a member of several 'secret' FB groups. One is an online film appreciation group you need to request to join, several others are groups specifically to do with the business I am in. There are frequent disputes on one of them where literally anything can be said and are not the views of the group admin. Same as here really.

Anyone can set up a group and call it what they want too. I could set one up and call it Fine Gael for instance. Not sure what else to say about that.

That is all well and good Francie, but the Group Admins were high ranked SF members and we had SF TD's and Councillors as members of the group as well/

When a FF TD gave another SF TD a heads up on the group, the group was made 'secret'.
    SF should own their dirty laundry.

Fear of the other is so deep within exclusionary Irish nationalism that any contact with the "British" is seen as traitorous.

No it isn't.

I'm not the one 'excluding' a party and it's supporter in a vision for a United Ireland while cozying up to bigots and those who would harm our position in the EU.

Fear of 'others' indeed. Own your allegiances and allies.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

No, they are quite entitled to post pictures of McGuinness and call him a monarchist. It is up to other posters to decide if there is evidence to suggest McGuinness was a monarchist.

Just as it up to posters to review the evidence about FG and their links to the DUP and their fondness for Unionism/The British in general. There has been a wealth of evidence presented to suggest this. It's incontrovertible IMO.

So incontrovertible, it doesn't exist apart from one of two spurious examples and anecdotes. :D:D

"I met a man in the pub..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

FG see themselves as representing the nationalist view, and why shouldn't they?

They are showing SF how to reach out. It is SF who should be learning from what FG are doing.

What do you think the GFA and power sharing was?
    Applauding and courting racists is not the same. It's anything to get a dig at SF. That's what leads FG. It's normalising the DUP to support the DUP to try damage SF. It's also the kindred spirts within FG/DUP laying the ground work for after a united Ireland.

McMurphy wrote: »
    There was nothing nationalist about trying to commemorate the black and tans - that went well. :eek:

Part of the FG narrative that we really want to be part of the empire again. I don't think the core of FG has changed since Redmond's days, (we know at least one FG councilor admires the Blueshirt fascists and Neale is cool with selfies with a DUP racist). Home rule, tipping the cap to Westminster, keeping the Irish peons in their place.

What do you think the GFA and power sharing was?
    Applauding and courting racists is not the same. It's anything to get a dig at SF. That's what leads FG. It's normalising the DUP to support the DUP to try damage SF. It's also the kindred spirts within FG/DUP laying the ground work for after a united Ireland.

Nail on the head. Jeffrey speaking of his 'friends' and 'relationship in the future'.

FG has zero issues with this, that they have expressed, anyhow. Plenty of attacks on other parties...almost a month of sustained Twittering negatively about another party' but zero retribution on the activities of the DUP and 'cozy chats and applause' as they develop their relationship.

markodaly wrote: »
    Interesting article in the journal today about the general discourse online.

https://www.thejournal.ie/belfast-grafitti-leo-varadkar-5344817-Feb2021/

Judging by the stuff posted here, I have to agree with Leo, Chu and Rabbitte on the type of nonsense being uttered and where a lot of this stuff is coming from.

SF has to take a stronger point of view here and call out the crap on social media when they see if and not just shrug their shoulders and move on. We all know about their secret group is just one of many.

As for your 4-5 regular anti-Leo/FG amigos, just one question. Does your posting style, tone and veracity help or hinder political discourse and encourage online hate and fake news?

Do you want to turn into America?

I'm quite sure every party has a social media crew. The tax payer pays for FGs. If you look back to the water protests when ordinary members of the public were protesting, you'll recall how FG/Lab tried to demonise the public. It wasn't good PR so they dragged in the likes of Paul Murphy as a whipping boy. Anyway, now you've members of the public critical of FF/FG/Greens and their ego or spin doctors can't handle that reality, so it's a secret conspiracy theory. Sad. Like many on here, own the criticism and defend or talk it out. Pointing over there is pathetic.

Look at your own tone. Attack the poster, point to the shinners, but by all means dodge the points raised. Very Fine Gael actually.
    Turn into America? The closest we have to Trump is Varadkar. "SF don't like white males" or whatever. Man's a race baiting buffoon.
    It's not anti-Leo it's calling out his cringe worthy shenanigans.

I'm quite sure every party has a social media crew. The tax payer pays for FGs. If you look back to the water protests when ordinary members of the public were protesting, you'll recall how FG/Lab tried to demonise the public. It wasn't good PR so they dragged in the likes of Paul Murphy as a whipping boy. Anyway, now you've members of the public critical of FF/FG/Greens and their ego or spin doctors can't handle that reality, so it's a secret conspiracy theory. Sad. Like many on here, own the criticism and defend or talk it out. Pointing over there is pathetic.

Look at your own tone. Attack the poster, point to the shinners, but by all means dodge the points raised. Very Fine Gael actually.
    Turn into America? The closest we have to Trump is Varadkar. "SF don't like white males" or whatever. Man's a race baiting buffoon.
    It's not anti-Leo it's calling out his cringe worthy shenanigans.

This post is emblematic of everything that is wrong with social media.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

markodaly wrote: »
    So incontrovertible, it doesn't exist apart from one of two spurious examples and anecdotes. :D:D

"I met a man in the pub..."

Did he have a drink in each hand?

That you Enda?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭CrazyFather1

It's been drilled into the supporters of a particular party that anything British is terrible. The same lads walking around with their "tricolours" and shouting about 1916 with no idea about it.

The rest of the adults living in all of Ireland just get on with it, bridges will have to be built with all communities North and South of the border. Not divide which is all one party thinks about.

This post is emblematic of everything that is wrong with social media.

I appreciate your agreement. I recognise it must not have been easy for you. Thanks.

It's been drilled into the supporters of a particular party that anything British is terrible. The same lads walking around with their "tricolours" and shouting about 1916 with no idea about it.

The rest of the adults living in all of Ireland just get on with it, bridges will have to be built with all communities North and South of the border. Not divide which is all one party thinks about.

Is that why FG refuse to deal with SF?
    How about the GFA and power sharing? Is that not reaching out?
    Even honorary FG'er Donaldson had something to say:
    Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil display “something of a double standard” by insisting Northern Irish enter government with Sinn Féin in the North while ruling out a coalition with the party in the Republic, DUP MP Jeffrey Donaldson has said.

The return of power sharing in Northern Ireland following a deal by Sinn Féin and the DUP to re-enter government in the north last month was backed by Fine Gael and welcomed by Fianna Fáil.

However, both parties have rejected the prospect of forming a coalition government with Sinn Féin in the south after the February 8th general election.

You didn't think this through did you?

When profound evidence is presented in a widely praised documentary, that British forces were involved in the killing of many many inncent Irish people and a SENIOR minister, just out of his office as JUSTICE minister casts doubt on the makers of that documentary and does not address the issue in the documentary, how could you arrive at any other concensus but that they err on the side of the British?

You don't need to hate anyone here, the broadcaster of the documentary was the British Broadcasting Corporation for instance.

There are good and bad Irish people, just as there are good and bad British people. Simpering, hat doffing, fear of criticising actions by British people really isn't normal CF. Even if it has become the norm for some.

When profound evidence is presented in a widely praised documentary, that British forces were involved in the killing of many many inncent Irish people and a SENIOR minister, just out of his office as JUSTICE minister casts doubt on the makers of that documentary and does not address the issue in the documentary, how could you arrive at any other concensus but that they err on the side of the British?

You don't need to hate anyone here, the broadcaster of the documentary was the British Broadcasting Corporation for instance.

There are good and bad Irish people, just as there are good and bad British people. Simpering, hat doffing, fear of criticising actions by British people really isn't normal CF. Even if it has become the norm for some.

The PIRA and SF was involved with killing many innocent Irish people yet you have no issue with that?
    Seems to me a lot of posts on here are based on hatred, childish stuff all of it. Of course been driven by a party that is build on hatred of everyone. British, Irish, rich, people with a job, anyone that supports another political party etc etc.....hate them all. Anyone and everyone seems to be the policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Loyalist violence in NI is of such a danger than in the 70's refuge camps were set up in the republic for those fleeing the conflict. Here's the thing that pains the FG anti united ireland rhetoric. Protestants will always be welcome in Ireland and they're as much Irish as we are. They always had been.
    Evidence? Here is an Rte documentary of a that refugee camp I mentioned. One woman us a protestants with her young kids fleeing from Belfast to Kerry. There was sectarianism alright but it wasn't from Republicans.

"Barry Linnane interviews a Protestant woman forced out of her home. Threatened for two years, she had to get out for the safety of her children. She is entirely dependent on charity and voluntary help and had no idea what the future holds.

One young woman is unhappy about the lack of official support.

The people are giving it but the welfare and the government have done nothing for them."

The lads in here would have us all labelled bigots. A disgusting way to shout down debate.

https://www.rte.ie/archives/2016/0809/807967-refugees-from-northern-ireland/

Is that why FG refuse to deal with SF?
    How about the GFA and power sharing? Is that not reaching out?
    Even honorary FG'er Donaldson had something to say:

It might be easier if you can name a party that is willing to deal with SF?

The DUP.

You posted nonsense and it was explained to you why it was nonsense.

The DUP.

You posted nonsense and it was explained to you why it was nonsense.

Really? the party you lot have spent the last few days insulting you are now claiming want to work with SF?
    If I go onto the other threads seemingly every issue in the North is because the DUP won't work with SF and now you re claiming they do?

Really? the party you lot have spent the last few days insulting you are now claiming want to work with SF?
    If I go onto the other threads seemingly every issue in the North is because the DUP won't work with SF and now you re claiming they do?

With all due respect, are you not familiar with politics on the island of Ireland at all?

You are jumping from one thing to another here. It speaks to your lack of knowledge.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

With all due respect, are you not familiar with politics on the island of Ireland at all?

You are jumping from one thing to another here. It speaks to your lack of knowledge.

Its pointless even replying to it at this stage,

dup,
    uup,
    greens
    ,pbp
    ,soc dems
    ,sdlp

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

dup,
    uup,
    greens
    ,pbp
    ,soc dems
    ,sdlp

Didn't RBB support ML for Taoiseach? Also British Labour,Conservative and Liberal, FF under Bertie Ahearn and Cowan,

The PIRA and SF was involved with killing many innocent Irish people yet you have no issue with that?
    Seems to me a lot of posts on here are based on hatred, childish stuff all of it. Of course been driven by a party that is build on hatred of everyone. British, Irish, rich, people with a job, anyone that supports another political party etc etc.....hate them all. Anyone and everyone seems to be the policy.

The conflict/war (one of many on this island sadly) is over. I have satisfied myself, (as I am sure my grandparents and parents, satisfied themselves about FF and FG fresh from killing and armed struggle) that the political party I voted for this time is no longer involved in armed struggle. If you have issue with SF, take it up on the relevant thread. We are discussing...or trying to discuss, issues with FG and who they are allying with and linking with.

Its pointless even replying to it at this stage,

I refer back to my earlier comment, thank you for confirming I was 100% right
    Seems to me a lot of posts on here are based on hatred, childish stuff all of it. Of course been driven by a party that is build on hatred of everyone. British, Irish, rich, people with a job, anyone that supports another political party etc etc.....hate them all. Anyone and everyone seems to be the policy