Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FG to still just do nothing for the next 5 years - part 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭CrazyFather1

Noone has insulted the DUP,constructive and measured critque isnt insults

Really?
    But they see a future for the bigotry and supremacism of the DUP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I refer back to my earlier comment, thank you for confirming I was 100% right

Calling out your nonsense isn't hatred.
    You posted a comment, it was criticised. You changed tack, that was shown up, then you changed tack again. Now you are playing the victim. Maybe tackle one thing at a time?

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭forgottenhills

The conflict/war (one of many on this island sadly) is over. I have satisfied myself, (as I am sure my grandparents and parents, satisfied themselves about FF and FG fresh from killing and armed struggle) that the political party I voted for this time is no longer involved in armed struggle. If you have issue with SF, take it up on the relevant thread. We are discussing...or trying to discuss, issues with FG and who they are allying with and linking with.

Our parents and grandfathers saw that a war of independence was fought from 1919-1921 after a landslide victory by the original SF party in the 1918 election on a manifesto calling for the establishment of an Irish Republic by all and every means.

No such legitimacy was ever achieved by the groups setting up the PIRA/SF and INLA in Ireland of the early 1970s and who went on to wage a terrorist war with only the support of a small percentage of voters North or South for such horrendous activity. Not in my name, not in my country's name. Don't give me your revisionist ****e about your "armed struggle".

• Registered Users Posts: 69,167 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Our parents and grandfathers saw that a war of independence was fought from 1919-1921 after a landslide victory by the original SF party in the 1918 election on a manifesto calling for the establishment of an Irish Republic by all and every means.

No such legitimacy was ever achieved by the groups setting up the PIRA/SF and INLA in Ireland of the early 1970s and who went on to wage a terrorist war with only the support of a small percentage of voters North or South for such horrendous activity. Not in my name, not in my country's name. Don't give me your revisionist ****e about your "armed struggle".

SF and IRA threads that way >>>>

Any comment on the links between FG and the DUP as evidenced?

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭forgottenhills

I was just replying to your standard SF revisionist post. I am not into party politics and couldn't be bothered to trawl through this thread to see your evidence of some sort of FG/DUP links. I am sure that it is amazing stuff, was Rudy Giuliani involved in putting together the dossier? By the way there are loads of photos of SF gals and dudes hobnobbing with the DUP, even laughing and smiling in some photos. My goodness, is that evidence of some sort of secret collaboration as well?

Any evidence of them being invited to party conferences and applauding them? Any evidence of SF criticising the DUP (try and spin that one!)

No problems with parties working with one another, the problem arises when 'links' forces a party to be silent. That's dangerous IMO especially if they are in government.

Whats insulting about this??

Seems a reasonable critique of the DUP,they dont view catholics or nationlists as equals.....i.mean a brief reading of their views on the irish language would say to you this

Calling a party bigots is not insulting now? very strange carry on.

I don't get the link between catholics & nationalists and the Irish language? please explain

I am positive the mods can tell us what we can/can't discuss on the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Also this group in the euro parliment

(tbf i only know details on 3 other parties apart from SF in it,my knowledge isnt as good as id like it to be here)

https://www.guengl.eu/groups/delegation/

They also have extensive links with basque,and cathalan, groups and some links to argentine and cuban groups,some links to mandela crowd in south africa aswl iirc

(Iirc adams was in a gaird of honour at nelson mandelas funeral)

Some nefarious links to leftist guerillas in columbia too.....this notion,they are racist and inward looking,deosnt stand up to scrutiny

...didnt ffg supporters used to blow up with temper because some shinner was in venuzlaela at some inaugeration??

Its said the bomb,that effectively ended facism in western europe,was in design v.similar to a type developed by the PIRA

Ohhh, thank you for that link, you have given us loads of interesting material.

The parties that want to work with Sinn Fein include:

- Syriza - what a lovely bunch of nutcases, the men who tanked the Greek economy and that Pearse had hidden his social media pictures of.

- Anti-capitalistas Spain - From Wikipedia: "Anticapitalistas is defined as a revolutionary, anti-capitalist, internationalist, feminist and socialist organisation, assuming Marxism in an open, plural and critical sense", yes, indeed, I am sure they are really nice people

- Luke "Ming" Flanagan - the man with no trousers on Zoom, comedy central

- The Party for the Animals - it seems like a good fit for Sinn Fein. "the party campaigns and seeks votes in opposition to other parties, but without the intention of entering a governing coalition". Actually, a perfect fit. Oh, maybe not, they seek that "First, the number of animals in the livestock
    industry will be reduced by at least 75%." Sinn Fein are against reducing the national herd. I can see a split coming.

I will leave the rest for another day's amusement.

Done and dusted days ago.
    blanch152 wrote: »
    You have previously lauded John Hume for talking to Gerry Adams and the IRA at a time when the IRA had done far worse.

Surely, you should be welcoming FG doing the same with the extremists of the DUP?

I mean,if the cap fits,wear it

You said nobody insulted the DUP and then agree with the insult.

You dont get the link between nationlism and languages???its same the world over

Heres quite a good book,which has 3 chapters on basque region using their dialict to maintain their identity in a opressive state

https://books.google.ie/books/about/Language_and_Nationalism_in_Europe.html?id=VXWzQgAACAAJ&source=kp_cover&redir_esc=y

No I don't, in my local Irish school kids from every community are talking Irish. Don't have to be catholic or nationalist.

0.6% of the North say Irish is their main language. So what link are you talking about?

Its not an insult,its a description....and a fairly reasonable critique.....you do know the difference??

And thats what they should be doing,it is an essential part of our culture here,same as hurling,irish dancing etc,non exclusive to irish nationlism,but a vital part of nationlism none-the-less

The Irish language is a part of Irish heritage more than Irish culture. Modern Irish culture has a much heavier reliance on the English language.

Ohhh, thank you for that link, you have given us loads of interesting material.

The parties that want to work with Sinn Fein include:

- Syriza - what a lovely bunch of nutcases, the men who tanked the Greek economy and that Pearse had hidden his social media pictures of.

- Anti-capitalistas Spain - From Wikipedia: "Anticapitalistas is defined as a revolutionary, anti-capitalist, internationalist, feminist and socialist organisation, assuming Marxism in an open, plural and critical sense", yes, indeed, I am sure they are really nice people

- Luke "Ming" Flanagan - the man with no trousers on Zoom, comedy central

- The Party for the Animals - it seems like a good fit for Sinn Fein. "the party campaigns and seeks votes in opposition to other parties, but without the intention of entering a governing coalition". Actually, a perfect fit. Oh, maybe not, they seek that "First, the number of animals in the livestock
    industry will be reduced by at least 75%." Sinn Fein are against reducing the national herd. I can see a split coming.

I will leave the rest for another day's amusement.

Dodging again? The premise was FG maybe reaching out across the divide to the DUP. About it being the adult thing to do. To move on etc. Then it was pointed out that FG wouldn't deal with SF despite them getting more seats in their own jurisdiction. Even DUP's Donaldson pointed out the hypocrisy.
    Now you are playing at being silly to distract.

We had it denied, now we have a fairytale as to why.
    There's talks for peace and governing...then there's inviting a racist from a party of bigots to try damage a political rival.
    Don't get me wrong, it's important FG show their true colours.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

We had it denied, now we have a fairytale as to why.
    There's talks for peace and governing...then theirs inviting a racist from a party of bigots to try damage a political rival.
    Don't get me wrong, it's important FG show their true colours.

Michael Stone to be on the podium at the next FG Ard Fheis, thanking them for their support at his parole hearing?

Gerry had no problems criticising Hume and his party after they came up with the GFA and vice versa.
    FF have 'links' with SDLP in a political sense, not SF.

Calling a party bigots is not insulting now? very strange carry on.

I don't get the link between catholics & nationalists and the Irish language? please explain

They are bigots, religiously and culturally. How could you be in denial about that. Text book stuff.

Dodging again? The premise was FG maybe reaching out across the divide to the DUP. About it being the adult thing to do. To move on etc. Then it was pointed out that FG wouldn't deal with SF despite them getting more seats in their own jurisdiction. Even DUP's Donaldson pointed out the hypocrisy.
    Now you are playing at being silly to distract.

Someone told me that Sinn Fein had all these parties interested in them. I looked at it for a good laugh.

Nope. You suggested the DUP being invited to a private members FG conference might be FG reaching out. Another chap said it was the adult thing to do, put the past behind us etc.
    I pointed out that that was unlikely due to FG refusing to deal with SF. Even Donaldson of the DUP, FG besties, said it was hypocritical of FG.
    Again, you are playing silly now to deflect.

Nope. You suggested the DUP being invited to a private members FG conference might be FG reaching out. Another chap said it was the adult thing to do, put the past behind us etc.
    I pointed out that that was unlikely due to FG refusing to deal with SF. Even Donaldson of the DUP, FG besties, said it was hypocritical of FG.
    Again, you are playing silly now to deflect.

Everyone has refused to deal with SF. Maybe the problem is not with every other party but with SF? what do you think?

FF FG and every other party on this island 'deal' with SF everyday of the week, in local government, The Dáil, The Assembly etc.
    Two parties will not discuss power sharing with them.
    The two parties that have shared power between themselves exclusively since the foundation of the southern state and who will only coalesce with canon fodder smaller parties who generally end up decimated and taking the blame as a result.

FF FG and every other party on this island 'deal' with SF everyday of the week, in local government, The Dáil, The Assembly etc.
    Two parties will not discuss power sharing with them.
    The two parties that have shared power between themselves exclusively since the foundation of the southern state and who will only coalesce with canon fodder smaller parties who generally end up decimated and taking the blame as a result.

No they don't. They have to tolerate them, once they are given an option they don't. Scrambling around making up things doesn't change that. No party want anything to do with SF North or South of the border, just confirms the issue is with SF and not everyone else

On one thread you are vocal about a United Ireland, then on the next you complain when parties in Ireland try to build bridges. Make up your mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Natterjack from Kerry

Well I would think it certainly is. While a lot of politics is compromise, one must be heartened to think that coalition with a party populated by either former terrorists, or terrorists just trying a different angle for a change, and directed from outside the state, is a rubicon other parties will not cross. And a great majority of the electorate also no matter how tired they are of the familiar parties of governent.

No they don't. They have to tolerate them, once they are given an option they don't. Scrambling around making up things doesn't change that. No party want anything to do with SF North or South of the border, just confirms the issue is with SF and not everyone else

On one thread you are vocal about a United Ireland, then on the next you complain when parties in Ireland try to build bridges. Make up your mind.

Nonsense, FF and FG are working with SF all over the country. They are n committees, voting for one and others motions...every council meeting going. Open your eyes, your being sold a pup.

As I said they tolerate SF. That is how the World works, adults having to work with people they don't like but do it because that is their job.

If FF and FG are trying to build bridges with DUP that should be applauded because it is a step closer to a united Ireland. Not continue the politics of hatred which has been going on for years in the North. This sort of cary on
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/grow-up-mary-lou-sinn-f%C3%A9in-leader-criticised-over-st-patrick-s-day-banner-1.3829135

As I said they tolerate SF. That is how the World works, adults having to work with people they don't like but do it because that is their job.

If FF and FG are trying to build bridges with DUP that should be applauded because it is a step closer to a united Ireland. Not continue the politics of hatred which has been going on for years in the North. This sort of cary on
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/grow-up-mary-lou-sinn-f%C3%A9in-leader-criticised-over-st-patrick-s-day-banner-1.3829135

I said it all along that FF were being led by somebody who had an abnormal (for FF) bee in his bonnet about SF.

With most in FF saying they have no problem with a coalition with SF I have been proved right on that.
    Martin was afraid of SF. He thought they would destroy his only goal - getting to be Taoiseach.
    FG are the natural 'dislikers' of SF and won't work with them because of what has been said about their links with the DUP and Unionism.
    I do wonder is that the real reason Coveney was rejected by the backroom boys as leader - as he is that rare thing in FG - a genuine United Irelander.

Yous said noone would work with em??Meanwhile marching with uvf bands and singing the billy boys song is ok with you and to be appuladed

Did the FG members there partake in calling school girls fenian sluts and pissing on doors of catholic churches....or do their interest in orange kkkulture only go skin deep?

Theres a world of ways to reach out to unionism,enabling the anti-catholic bigots isnt one of them imo (unless you believe the orange order to be representive of all unionism??)

Excellent example of #politicofhatred

I said it all along that FF were being led by somebody who had an abnormal (for FF) bee in his bonnet about SF.

With most in FF saying they have no problem with a coalition with SF I have been proved right on that.
    Martin was afraid of SF. He thought they would destroy his only goal - getting to be Taoiseach.
    FG are the natural 'dislikers' of SF and won't work with them because of what has been said about their links with the DUP and Unionism.
    I do wonder is that the real reason Coveney was rejected by the backroom boys as leader - as he is that rare thing in FG - a genuine United Irelander.

Maybe Leo was a progressive leader for FG. A change from the norm. First gay leader and heritage in India. Also in his area at that stage Leo was a popular figure and so was his entire family.

Or we could think about it like SF do, I wonder what dirty secrets are hidden.

Maybe Leo was a progressive leader for FG. A change from the norm. First gay leader and Taoiseach with heritage in India. Also in his area at that stage Leo was a popular figure and so was his entire family.

Or we could think about it like SF do, I wonder what dirty secrets are hidden.

Leo wasn't the choice of the majority in the party. Like many outside the party as well, they clearly didn't see him as 'progressive'. Probably because he himself isn't a 'progressive' preferring to wait until popular opinion is strong enough before he himself changes direction.
    It is much more likely that the backroom boys are from that part of the party that wants to link to the DUP and Unionism...the John Bruton's, Neale Richmonds etc.

Leo wasn't the choice of the majority in the party. Like many outside the party as well, they clearly didn't see him as 'progressive'. Probably because he himself isn't a 'progressive' preferring to wait until popular opinion is strong enough before he himself changes direction.
    It is much more likely that the backroom boys are from that part of the party that wants to link to the DUP and Unionism...the John Bruton's, Neale Richmonds etc.

Yes because some lad on boards knows what FG party wanted.
    The links to DUP now is getting tiresome as it is just the latest rubbish the SF supporters have come up with. Bored of all the homophobic attacks on Leo and now moved onto this? #politicsofhatred