Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FG to still just do nothing for the next 5 years - part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

This will be a very foolish move if it does ahead. Why would AIB which is state owner go to purchase a stockbroker it was forced to see back in 2010 for a massive discount? Did we bail them out for speculation? They should be focused on lending to the right people right now.

https://www.independent.ie/business/irish/aib-and-department-of-finance-wont-say-if-banker-pay-cap-will-apply-at-goodbody-39772209.html

• Registered Users Posts: 69,179 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Bowie wrote: »
    This assumes he's called a bigot for criticing SF and not the DUP. I believe it related to the Irish language?

Yes. He had to formally apologise for comments he made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

smurgen wrote: »
    How did you possibly guess that?it wasn't all those times I mentioned the language by any chance was it?

Indeed. I think folk ignore what doesn't suit the response they'd like to make.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭tobsey

It's a great idea to give money to those need it.
    I don't agree with giving people money they don't need and therefore should not be due.
    Do you?

I said his idea "seems a little ill-thought out." You FG'ers are fierce delicate.

The problem is it costs money to figure out who needs it or doesn't. In the grand scheme of things it's an inefficient use of money to do means testing when a blanket one off payment is simpler and more cost effective. If it was a weekly/monthly/recurring payment over the course of the student's studies, such as SUSI grants, then yes means-testing would be justified.

It's not about me, or others, being delicate. It's calling out the practice of always seeing the negative side of an issue without giving any merit to the positives. Any opportunity to throw some mud is taken.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Lowry crying about social media on telly now

tobsey wrote: »
    The problem is it costs money to figure out who needs it or doesn't. In the grand scheme of things it's an inefficient use of money to do means testing when a blanket one off payment is simpler and more cost effective. If it was a weekly/monthly/recurring payment over the course of the student's studies, such as SUSI grants, then yes means-testing would be justified.

It's not about me, or others, being delicate. It's calling out the practice of always seeing the negative side of an issue without giving any merit to the positives. Any opportunity to throw some mud is taken.

If it's more cost effective to give money to everyone, so be it.

But it is. I said it was 'a little ill-thought out' (which is hardly throwing mud) and I'd Blanch having conniptions. I commended his move to give more access to trades for people. It's just not accurate to say that. Some folk can't discus a topic without getting their back up.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

If it's more cost effective to give money to everyone, so be it.

But it is. I said it was 'a little ill-thought out' (which is hardly throwing mud) and I'd Blanch having conniptions. I commended his move to give more access to trades for people. It's just not accurate to say that. Some folk can't discus a topic without getting their back up.

You had conniptions at me pointing out that your idea was more than a little ill-thought out - it displayed no understanding of how the public service works.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

So McEntee said Leo told her Seamie would make a good judge, and low and behold, The Woulfe man is a judge.

Even FGers will surely have to agree that Leo is little more than a toxic brat at this stage, from his constant barrage of twitter brainfarts, his cringeworthy movie quotes in speeches relating to hundreds of thousands being made jobless, and people sick and dying, leaking confidential information, and now cronyism, he's (stick your opinion poll BS where you like) surely one of the most divisive figures in Irish politics in decades.

Oh, and he led FG to its second worst election result in their history, and made the party drop behind the Shinners to become the third biggest party in the state, and that was while we were enjoying a boom apparently (that's some achievement tbf)

He must surely be more hassle to the higherups in FG than he's worth at this stage, surely someone needs to look about jettisoning him?

He wears whacky socks though.

blanch152 wrote: »
    You had conniptions at me pointing out that your idea was more than a little ill-thought out - it displayed no understanding of how the public service works.

Nope. I suggested it might be better to give only to those who need it. I never claimed to know how that would work. I gave suggestions. You got snippy. You were dishonest in that. You claimed I was "Pretending that it is to preserve your dignity", from my saying:
    "I'm suggesting they may have info like househould income etc. on a student database, which they most certainly have on third level students availing of grants through LA's and others. I could be wrong as regards all students. No harm no foul. That's the gist.".

Also it's not on how the public service works, this is a pandemic payment. It is not part of a normal well worn process so cut the condescending nonsense I don't think even the public service knows how it works during Covid.

Nope. I suggested it might be better to give only to those who need it. I never claimed to know how that would work. I gave suggestions. You got snippy. You were dishonest in that. You claimed I was "Pretending that it is to preserve your dignity", from my saying:
    "I'm suggesting they may have info like househould income etc. on a student database, which they most certainly have on third level students availing of grants through LA's and others. I could be wrong as regards all students. No harm no foul. That's the gist.".

Also it's not on how the public service works, this is a pandemic payment. It is not part of a normal well worn process so cut the condescending nonsense I don't think even the public service knows how it works during Covid.

Yep, and because it is not part of a normal well worn process, it may cost an awful lot of money to implement - something which you back of an envelope suggestion didn't consider.

Look, I said it would be a good idea to try give money to them that need it and not those who don't. I think that's a fair opinion. Why this upset you so is beyond me.

The new government press secretary is a former Irish Sun/Mirror editor. Expect an even further dive down to tabloid/Murdoch level from them.

Deeper into the barrel we travel.

Well they hired him.

Wee bit of a smell starting to rise about a direct provision site in Letterkenny, no issues with the people coming but the choice of property , derelict for years ,sold as a distressed property a couple of years ago,
    https://www.donegallive.ie/news/news/592252/site-of-proposed-donegal-direct-provision-centre-condemned-as-totally-unsuitable.html

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭KarlMarks

Wee bit of a smell starting to rise about a direct provision site in Letterkenny, no issues with the people coming but the choice of property , derelict for years ,sold as a distressed property a couple of years ago,
    https://www.donegallive.ie/news/news/592252/site-of-proposed-donegal-direct-provision-centre-condemned-as-totally-unsuitable.html

Follow the money. I've absolutely no issue with asylum seekers being given proper accomodation but you can be sure that these units are owned by someone loyal to FFG. I'll scratch your back if you;ll scratch mine.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭tobsey

Not sure what that’s to do with FG, especially when the relevant minister is a Green.

tobsey wrote: »
    Not sure what that’s to do with FG, especially when the relevant minister is a Green.

These blocks were shut up in the noughties when they failed fire regs, they lay derelict until a few years ago,were sold off in a distressed auction, assume they qualified for some sort of urban renewal,they were rented last year as student accommodation but there's no money in that this year,
    Anyway the company that own them are called Bridgestock and they specialise in Direct Provision, they've got over €100 million from the state since 2002
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/lifestyle/arid-30996215.html
    Some of the shares are held in the Virgin islands

Agreed Blanch they've more or less lost all dignity when they started writing for the sun. One of newspaper that hacked the phones of murder victims to sell newspapers. You really can't go lower after that.

Your scraper must be worn down.

Seriously, complaining about TDs writing for a paper shows there is nothing left to complain about.

I see Josepha Madigan getting absolutely roasted on Twitter due to her tone deaf self publicising tweet on the vote to turn down student Nurses pay.Here's hoping she's not expensing this to the heavily burdened tax payers like she's done before and if she is let's hope we can get a refund.

"Culture Minister Josepha Madigan is hiring a social media expert to manage her online image at a cost of €20,000 to the taxpayer."

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/tweet-deal-madigan-uses-20000-of-taxpayers-cash-on-her-social-media-image-37723947.html

I see Josepha Madigan getting absolutely roasted on Twitter due to her tone deaf self publicising tweet on the vote to turn down student Nurses pay.Here's hoping she's not expensing this to the heavily burdened tax payers like she's done before and if she is let's hope we can get a refund.

"Culture Minister Josepha Madigan is hiring a social media expert to manage her online image at a cost of €20,000 to the taxpayer."

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/tweet-deal-madigan-uses-20000-of-taxpayers-cash-on-her-social-media-image-37723947.html

Is it a relative? Hardly be a nixer for Maria?
    Shocking people. They need a dose of minimum wage living.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

20k of tax payers money to improve her online image. Jesus H Christ.

Let's hope she goes with a more successful one than the eejit they have managing the Fine Gael official twitter account. Whoever they let loose with that one is an absolute gobdaw.

McMurphy wrote: »
    20k of tax payers money to improve her online image. Jesus H Christ.

Let's hope she goes with a more successful one than the eejit they have managing the Fine Gael official twitter account. Whoever they let loose with that one is an absolute gobdaw.

Queen of the Stepford Fishwives, 20k isn't going to look at it

Based on the Irish Times article, its clear Varadkar lied.
    He leaked a confidential document to his pal for Fine Gael votes and nothing more.
    The text exchange discussion is in the Irish Times.
    He was worried they'd canvass against FG so he slipped them the confidential document.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 214 ✭✭Ireland2020

Leo's mask has not only slipped again, it's came off

He's a liar and in it for himself and himself only

Leo's mask has not only slipped again, it's came off

He's a liar and in it for himself and himself only

I think Coveney is now damaged also in the latest disclosure.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,179 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Major story in the 'the paper of record' this morning and the national broadcaster still hasn't picked up on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Nobotty

I think Coveney is now damaged also in the latest disclosure.

Whats that?