Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aaron Brady Guilty as charged

• Registered Users Posts: 56,297 ✭✭✭✭walshb

What a horrible way to spend your life now..

Two young men with their whole lives ahead of them, and one chooses to go this way, kills a father and now ends up behinds bars for a serious stretch of time....

Pathetic existence!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,460 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

I'd imagine the Guards in Dundalk know exactly who the rest of the gang are. Aaron Brady was the ultimate test case for the courts and the Guards and justice system prevailed. Be a lot of nervous gang members not sleeping so well for the foreseeable I reckon.

There's a very long and detailed article in the indo (behind paywall) detailing the other suspects, gardai clearly know pretty much everything.
    A few clues that some are related to each other.

Here's a few snippets, hopefully small enough to be within the copyright rules.
    Suspect A: This suspect was best friends with Aaron Brady at the time of the fatal shooting and is suspected of being centrally involved in the robbery. The man, aged in his late 20s, was frequently named throughout the trial by the prosecution as Brady's accomplice but cannot be identified for legal reasons.

At the time of the murder he lived a short distance away from Lordship credit union and was with Aaron Brady on a daily basis in the week leading up to the robbery. His distinctive BMW was also sighted near the scene earlier that day in what was described as a “scoping exercise” ahead of the events being planned later that night. The Northern Irish man was running a successful business in Boston at the time of the robbery and would spend half the year there before returning to Ireland.

Suspect B: The Armagh man is suspected of being centrally involved in the robbery as well as the stealing of the getaway car. The criminal, aged in his early 30s, is also suspected of helping to plan the raid. He was on bail at the time of the murder and signed on at Crossmaglen police station just over two hours before the crime.
    He has been interviewed by the PSNI about his movements on the day of the murder but has not been formally arrested as part of the murder inquiry. Even before the raid he was well-known to gardai for involvement in serious crime and was arrested by Det Gda Donohoe for the previous armed robbery at Lordship credit union in August 2011, as well as a separate armed raid at Dundalk racecourse that same year.
    During his arrest he made a sinister threat to Det Gda Donohoe, stating he knew where the detective's family home was located.

Suspect C: The alleged robber was one of the youngest suspects at the time of the Adrian Donohoe murder. The Armagh man, who is also linked to fuel laundering, was named in Aaron Brady's notice of alibi as directing him to move fuel waste cubes at a diesel yard that night, but gardai suspect he was actively involved in the credit union raid.

Analysis of Suspect C’s phone showed that, like Brady, Suspect A and Suspect B, his phone was also inactive an hour before and an hour after the raid. Suspicions around this individual increased and he presented at a PSNI station the following month, on February 22, with his father.

The interview was carried out by gardai and Suspect C claimed that on the day he was collecting a trailer from a yard in Blanchardstown. When asked to account for his movements at the time of the robbery, he refused to engage with the detectives and left the station. His contempt for the process was shown when he refused to sign any memo of interview and told the gardai, investigating the murder of a close colleague, that he would not cooperate with them in any way.

The Boston Suspect: The brother of Suspect A is being investigated for assisting the robbery gang before the crime and having knowledge of the raid that was due to take place that night. Aged in his early 30s, it is the prosecution's case that a 999 call made by him from his home near Lordship credit union five nights before the raid was to test garda response times. The Boston Suspect told the emergency operator he saw three suspicious males in his front garden, while Aaron Brady claimed he saw two men. Gardai arrived but saw no evidence of any intruders. The reason behind the bogus phone call would only become apparent much later. He is also suspected of being in Clogherhead the night the Volkswagen Passat used in the Lordship murder was stolen, while gardai have not ruled him out for actual involvement in the raid.

Suspect A’s Father: The only other person to be arrested as part of the Adrian Donohoe murder investigation, the father of Suspect A was detained at the time Aaron Brady was being questioned in 2018. Gardai suspect the man, aged in his 60s, was involved in scouting the escort prior to the robbery. His car was seen driving at speed past Lordship credit union moments after the raid. At the time of the murder the man was unlawfully at large from prison. After witnesses identified his vehicle being near the scene, the car was flagged on the garda Pulse system.
    …..
    The man attended every day of the trial, being asked to leave court at times during particular legal arguments, and he continued to profess his family's innocence.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 23,640 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

No “they’re” not
    Leopard

Ash.J.Williams

Really, spelling and grammar? Cop on or dont bother posting in the thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭kerry cow

the border zone criminals think that they are above the powers of the law and that they have the God given right on all things that breath and move .
    its mafia like , untouchables ,

that young paul guy beaten to death in a shed , the torturing of kevin lunney and the death of garda o donoghue .

at the end of it all, there still is some big chief in charge and he is the guy that needs to fall .

• Registered Users Posts: 33,989 ✭✭✭✭listermint

alot of people involved there for a sums involved.

and what is a guy with a successful business doing robbing what abouts to a second hand cars shares worth of money.

The whole thing seems so pointless.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,930 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

sounds they don't have any physical evidence on any of the other suspects or they would be charged by now, and no boasting, can only hope to get them on other crimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

sounds they don't have any physical evidence on any of the other suspects or they would be charged by now, and no boasting, can only hope to get them on other crimes.

That's what they were saying about the case against Brady

• Registered Users Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

Even before the raid he was well-known to gardai for involvement in serious crime and was arrested by Det Gda Donohoe for the previous armed robbery at Lordship credit union in August 2011, as well as a separate armed raid at Dundalk racecourse that same year.
    During his arrest he made a sinister threat to Det Gda Donohoe, stating he knew where the detective's family home was located.

Jesus.

Was it a targeted execution?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

“ The court also heard that members of Aaron Brady’s family had contacted trial witnesses through social media.”

People from Armagh are sub human slime. Crossmaglen should be boxed off from civilisation.
    Your mother should have swallowed you

• Registered Users Posts: 11,930 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Edgware wrote: »
    That's what they were saying about the case against Brady
    I said "and no boasting"

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭White lighting

Suspect A's family seem like a nice bunch, Whole family of the c**ts involved

Garda Tony Golden was also killed by some provo knacker from Armagh in 2015, they’re nothing but thugs, criminals and should be put down like the rabid dogs they are.
    No he wasn’t. Are you always this fúcking stupid or are you just putting on a special show today?

• Registered Users Posts: 52,012 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

armaghlad wrote: »
    Fùck there is some shíte posted on here by numpties who know fa squared - not just you cranky, couldn’t read past your post seen enough crap.

IRA by and large didn’t rob credit unions. Especially not in their own areas. The IRA that you all are referring to, the provos, no longer exist. And if they did as half of you will no doubt try to argue, why tf would they be robbing €7k from a fücking credit union!? They’d find more down the seats of their 2020 BMW X5!

I’m from Armagh and vote SF and I think the man is guilty - May or may not be the trigger man but he was in my eyes involved and deserves every second that he spends behind bars. South armagh has a lot of criminality these days and it isn’t all “IRA”. Crossmaglen for example is awash with cocaine. It’s no longer the “pure” republican stronghold it once was. A lot of this new generation are not politically minded. Brady was what, 22 when this happened? He’s like a lot of young fellas who come from certain backgrounds, they think they’re untouchable and can do as they like. It’s the same as this crowd behind all the atm robberies. Keep this mind before you go blaming the provos on everything that happens in South Armagh

It’s odd though that this towrag was running around up to this in stolen cars, diesel laundering and being involved in petty crime and nobody from the Republican movement had a word with him. Very odd when you consider what they did to another similar petty criminal, Paul Quinn.
    That puzzles me. I wonder if it was something to do with his daddy’s standing in the community?

It’s odd though that this towrag was running around up to this in stolen cars, diesel laundering and being involved in petty crime and nobody from the Republican movement had a word with him. Very odd when you consider what they did to another similar petty criminal, Paul Quinn.
    That puzzles me. I wonder if it was something to do with his daddy’s standing in the community?
    If the IRA was to start acting on crime the way it did 20 years ago then the north would be under direct rule and stormont in ruins. Paul Quinn is alleged to have been in a fight with/battered the wrong person and it ultimately led to his demise. The IRA (who if you go by some of the nutjobs on this thread are responsible for this failed heist) aren’t going to get involved in the actions of petty criminals unless they’re seriously stepping on someone’s toes.

I said "and no boasting"

Have you seen all the statements?

Or left him drip off her leg and on to their seat covers

listermint wrote: »
    alot of people involved there for a sums involved.

and what is a guy with a successful business doing robbing what abouts to a second hand cars shares worth of money.

The whole thing seems so pointless.

The amount of money is irrelevant in this instance. A more important figure is the amount the gang stole over the course of the previous years.

Most crime isn't hugely lucrative as a once off.

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭Dionysius2

begbysback wrote: »
    Is stating something while drunk in a pub drunk considered sufficient evidence for capital murder, or was there any actual evidence?
    Has anyone ever heard of someone claiming again and again, to different people, unknown to each other, to have committed a murder ?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,055 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The other stupid thing they did was driving around in a blatent criminal looking bmw

• Registered Users Posts: 623 ✭✭✭mikekerry

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 140 ✭✭gailforecast

No he wasn’t. Are you always this fúcking stupid or are you just putting on a special show today?

“ Born on February 9th, 1990, Mackin spent the early years of his childhood in Portadown, Co Armagh.”
    https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/adrian-crevan-mackin-the-making-of-a-garda-killer-1.3475556%3fmode=amp

Go back to sleep you knuckle-dragging northerner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

“ Born on February 9th, 1990, Mackin spent the early years of his childhood in Portadown, Co Armagh.”
    https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/adrian-crevan-mackin-the-making-of-a-garda-killer-1.3475556%3fmode=amp

It fairness you're coming across as simple and being a knob tarnishing all Armagh people with the same brush.

There are good people up there aswell as some bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,519 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Mod: Don't post in this thread again.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

mikekerry wrote: »

and all for an innocent man!!

• Registered Users Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Larsso30

and all for an innocent man!!

Asking defence witnesses to chat to the accused father for 5 minutes in search of the truth. Absolutely dispecable, anyone attempting to contact witnesses should be charged plain and simple.

That makes him a “provo knacker”? His dad a social worker and his mother worked with the elderly. He was a psychopath, even his family took nothing to do with him, but don’t let that get in the way of your imagination running wild you reprobate

Mod: 3 day ban for ignoring thread ban.

I’m confused about the leaked video that was circulated. Was it from a Garda station interview room? Who leaked it to begin with?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

That makes him a “provo knacker”? His dad a social worker and his mother worked with the elderly. He was a psychopath, even his family took nothing to do with him, but don’t let that get in the way of your imagination running wild you reprobate

Eh.... he was on bail on a charge of being a "provo knacker" at the time and killed a Guard. Seems to be standard "provo knacker" behaviour to me

Truthvader wrote: »
    Eh.... he was on bail on a charge of being a "provo knacker" at the time and killed a Guard. Seems to be standard "provo knacker" behaviour to me
    You honestly think someone that unhinged with ADHD, Aspergers and a penchant for riding animals was genuinely an active member of the provisional IRA? Is this what you actually believe?

Also, what’s with the anti-traveller slurs? Is your remedial level of debate so low that you can’t make a point without using them?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I’m confused about the leaked video that was circulated. Was it from a Garda station interview room? Who leaked it to begin with?

Defendants certainly get a copy of the entire "the book of evidence" before the trial. All statements*, forensic reports, etc. - even stuff that the prosecution is not going to use in the trial. I'm not 100% sure if it includes copies of video evidence, or just transcripts.

*in this case, I think the prosecution asked the judge to rule that some of the witness statements should be withheld from the defendent, out of fear of intimidation.

According to this, the defendent has the "right to inspect all exhibits mentioned in the list of exhibits." - so he'd definitly get to see the videos, still not 100% sure he'd get a copy.