Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aaron Brady Guilty as charged

• Registered Users Posts: 21,055 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I think you didn’t read the article

The article says a sin Féin member ( ie a border dwelling republican meathead) thought he was living in the past and sought guidance from a TD who said tell the Gardai everything you know

• Registered Users Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Asus X540L

pgj2015 wrote: »
    The trial heard that at the time of the Lordship robbery, Brady was renting a small prefab with a friend on the Lough Road near Annaghmare, Co Armagh.
    It became the venue for late-night parties after nights out in Dundalk where Brady and another suspect would pose in balaclavas and sing IRA songs.

Every catholic scumbag in the country sings "RA" songs on the piss.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Get Real wrote: »
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/sinn-f%C3%A9in-witness-consulted-party-over-aaron-brady-case-before-speaking-to-garda%C3%AD-1.4332502?mode=amp&__twitter_impression=true

Whoever the TD is, he felt he had to consult with the ranks first, rather than assist Gardaí. Luckily he was "allowed" to assist.

The implication is obvious. If the murder had been carried out by any local "very nice man" or good republican the witness would have been told that they would "prefer" if he said nothing - no pressure though matter for himself. Sinn Fein would of course publicly urge anyone with information to assist the Guards.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

Get Real wrote: »
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/sinn-f%C3%A9in-witness-consulted-party-over-aaron-brady-case-before-speaking-to-garda%C3%AD-1.4332502?mode=amp&__twitter_impression=true

Whoever the TD is, he felt he had to consult with the ranks first, rather than assist Gardaí. Luckily he was "allowed" to assist.

You're reading that wrong the TD was the one who was consulted with

Truthvader wrote: »
    The implication is obvious. If the murder had been carried out by any local "very nice man" or good republican the witness would have been told that they would "prefer" if he said nothing - no pressure though matter for himself. Sinn Fein would of course publicly urge anyone with information to assist the Guards.

It proves that Brady or his family have no republican links though given that the witness was given the nod to testify and it seems quite crucially as it was this witness who told the guards about the others in New York.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 onh81

Scoundrel wrote: »
    It proves that Brady or his family have no republican links though given that the witness was given the nod to testify and it seems quite crucially as it was this witness who told the guards about the others in New York.
    But he sang IRA songs drunk so he must have been at least commander of south Armagh brigade...

• Registered Users Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Larsso30

I don't think we will know for certain if he is a republican member, but I do think it's impossible to discount given the location, the crimes and the fuel laundering etc.. and the wall of silence surrounding it.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

So mafia boss says it is ok to testify against criminal, therefore criminal is not associated with mafia, yet we should vote for the mafia.

Have I got that down correct?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

Larsso30 wrote: »
    I don't think we will know for certain if he is a republican member, but I do think it's impossible to discount given the location, the crimes and the fuel laundering etc.. and the wall of silence surrounding it.

For certain he is not. Nor is any of the rest of the gang that was involved in the robbery.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,317 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Asus X540L wrote: »
    Every catholic scumbag in the country sings "RA" songs on the piss.

Are you saying all catholics are scumbags?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,317 ✭✭✭pgj2015

The Director of Public Prosecutions declined to use the non-jury Special Criminal Court to prosecute Aaron Brady for the murder of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe, despite the recommendations of the investigating gardaí.

The decision to prosecute Brady before a jury was met with surprise by legal observers at the time due to the nature of the crime and Brady’s connections to paramilitaries and organised criminals.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/dpp-tried-aaron-brady-case-before-a-jury-despite-garda-recommendations-1.4332510

The Director of Public Prosecutions declined to use the non-jury Special Criminal Court to prosecute Aaron Brady for the murder of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe, despite the recommendations of the investigating gardaí.

The decision to prosecute Brady before a jury was met with surprise by legal observers at the time due to the nature of the crime and Brady’s connections to paramilitaries and organised criminals.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/dpp-tried-aaron-brady-case-before-a-jury-despite-garda-recommendations-1.4332510

Are we still getting ira hardons?

blanch152 wrote: »
    So mafia boss says it is ok to testify against criminal, therefore criminal is not associated with mafia, yet we should vote for the mafia.

Have I got that down correct?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,631 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

“Connections to paramilitaries” That could mean he plays football with a Ra head. It doesn’t mean he was a member, it doesn’t mean it was sanctioned & it certainly doesn’t mean the IRA would seek retaliation against witnesses. Sinn Fein instructed one of their party members to cooperate with Gardaí in the investigation against Brady & his gang.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Asus X540L

Are you saying all catholics are scumbags?

No.

People who are both catholic and a scumbag.
    As mentioned already on this thread every Irish town is full of wannabe Ra hardmen scumbags like Brady.

Unfortunately for Adrian and his family, Brady was a particularly vile type.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,167 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

in February 2017 as well. Doing what they said they would do...'anything to see the Donohue family get justice.

it's simple really there is a void where once there was provos now there's criminals and ex provos, we're nearly there but not there yet!

We also have gardai leaking information (I would call it sensitive and with political motivation) about an ongoing investigation. Beggars belief.

Asus X540L wrote: »
    No.

People who are both catholic and a scumbag.
    As mentioned already on this thread every Irish town is full of wannabe Ra hardmen scumbags like Brady.

Unfortunately for Adrian and his family, Brady was a particularly vile type.
    I think he had a personality disorder, definitely two sides to him

We also have gardai leaking information (I would call it sensitive and with political motivation) about an ongoing investigation. Beggars belief.

Where and what?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/witness-in-adrian-donohoe-murder-trial-consulted-with-former-sinn-fein-leader-gerry-adams-before-providing-information-to-gardai-39459065.html

it was a shinner td that gave the information , obviously before it came out on its own

seems like Brady was thrown under a bus by the party because he was involved in something too high profile , surprising given that the shinners first backed away from the McCabe murders and then backed them up .

all in all it shows that sinn fein are still a criminal organisation in this country

• Registered Users Posts: 12,504 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Blame the messenger or in this case the retired messenger?

Dont address the issue?

mynamejeff wrote: »
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/witness-in-adrian-donohoe-murder-trial-consulted-with-former-sinn-fein-leader-gerry-adams-before-providing-information-to-gardai-39459065.html

it was a shinner td that gave the information , obviously before it came out on its own

seems like Brady was thrown under a bus by the party because he was involved in something too high profile , surprising given that the shinners first backed away from the McCabe murders and then backed them up .

all in all it shows that sinn fein are still a criminal organisation in this country

Jesus Christ it takes an absolutely insane bias to read it that way

mariaalice wrote: »
    Blame the messenger or in this case the retired messenger?

Dont address the issue?

What is the issue exactly? Adams told him to go to the guards??

Try and read the story right first.

The Sinn Féin TD’s comments come after the Irish Times reported former Detective Pat Marry saying that he had to approach a Sinn Féin TD when he was having a difficulties getting a statement from a witness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

come on now shinner bots ,

the party said ye were to shut down the company accounts

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/sinn-fein-says-good-riddance-as-twitter-troll-resigns-from-party-39440987.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 onh81

Really indicative of the obsession some people have with Sinn Féin and Republicanism in general.

Not ONE shred of evidence suggesting Aaron Brady or anyone associated with him as being in any way, shape or form connected to Republicanism. It’s also telling that none of the usual suspects either political or in the media have alluded to such. Still doesn’t stop the fantasists on boards.

I also see earlier in this thread Crossmaglen Rangers (and the town itself) getting a few veiled digs, I have it on very good authority that there were ructions within said club regarding this particular individual and not everyone is or was a fan of his, even going back to his teenage joyriding days. So this notion that minor criminals are given a bye ball in south Armagh maybe somewhat wide of the mark.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

onh81 wrote: »
    Really indicative of the obsession some people have with Sinn Féin and Republicanism in general.

Not ONE shred of evidence suggesting Aaron Brady or anyone associated with him as being in any way, shape or form connected to Republicanism. It’s also telling that none of the usual suspects either political or in the media have alluded to such. Still doesn’t stop the fantasists on boards.

I also see earlier in this thread Crossmaglen Rangers (and the town itself) getting a few veiled digs, I have it on very good authority that there were ructions within said club regarding this particular individual and not everyone is or was a fan of his, even going back to his teenage joyriding days. So this notion that minor criminals are given a bye ball in south Armagh maybe somewhat wide of the mark.
    so why do witnesses have to get permission from Gerry Adams to assist the Guards

Truthvader wrote: »
    so why do witnesses have to get permission from Gerry Adams to assist the Guards

Can you link to a source for this?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

onh81 wrote: »

A footballer is the main suspect involved in the witness intimidation. The father of the murderer was the chairman of Cross and is currently a coaching officer. He was also implicated in the witness intimidation. A former manager of the club gave him a glowing reference in court AFTER he was extradited, at a time when everyone knew he was involved. The club and it's chairman/his father visited New York when he was in hiding and didn't bring him home. If they want to clean their reputation they need to make a statement and clean house.