Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aaron Brady Guilty as charged

• Registered Users Posts: 21,053 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Terrible stuff altogether. Bet this is all Dissident Republican stuff.

What is their motive?

nothing to do with that at all

robbing cash for themselves

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

nothing to do with that at all

robbing cash for themselves

Is there a difference?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭francois

touts wrote: »
    The 4 thugs who killed Garda McCabe hardly served 10 years and are heroes in the Sinn Feil Party. Sinn Fein can't let this lad rot in jail. What would they say to the rest of their Fuel Launderers in their fundraising department. The old "Don't worry we'll look after you" line rings hollow if they don't look after him. Sure it looks like he did a solo run on the credit union job but......

They were released under the (admittedly disputed vis-a-vis IRA members and the early release program) terms of the GFA, distateful as it may sound. Brady won't be out anytime soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,770 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Don't forget Johnathan Dowdall in your list.

And McCauley who managed to get a muppet Shinner psychiatrist to marry him before nearly killing her.

Aforementioned muppet is now a TD.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

I see people still throwing the Republican line around and absolutely no connection but don't let that get in the way of your narrative.

Anyway hopefully he has to serve every year of the sentence handed down. This is just adding insult to injury.

http://justice4aaronbrady.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

He'll do 30 years afaik given the remission

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

you're gonna have to go and do some reading and come back to us....

yes they both killed cops and both deserve life in jail ... but do some reading before you post.

Maybe include some content in your post instead of smart arse comment

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Scoundrel wrote: »

He won't, unless appeals come through he will serve a minimum of 40 years

• Registered Users Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Think it’s minimum 40 for capital crime

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭touts

bmcc10 wrote: »
    I see people still throwing the Republican line around and absolutely no connection but don't let that get in the way of your narrative.

Anyway hopefully he has to serve every year of the sentence handed down. This is just adding insult to injury.

http://justice4aaronbrady.com/

Disgraceful but hardly surprising. The criminal lobby groups like the Irish Council for Civil Liberties will leave the media hype die down and then will be all over this like a rash

• Registered Users Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

No remission for a life sentence.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,052 ✭✭✭✭event

People had some sympathy for his parents when this happened but after seeing their disgraceful website and facebook pages, they can p*ss off.

I see Crossmaglen GAC are still happy to have the father on the committee too. Imagine him being involved with the coaching of minors. Laughable really

event wrote: »
    People had some sympathy for his parents when this happened but after seeing their disgraceful website and facebook pages, they can p*ss off.

I see Crossmaglen GAC are still happy to have the father on the committee too. Imagine him being involved with the coaching of minors. Laughable really

The Provos/ Sinn Fein/ IRA/ Troubles/ Brits/ Partition/ poisoned that entire area. Criminality is an accepted way of life up there for many and the death of a Guard is merely "regrettable/unauthorised/ unintended/ etc etc "but sure..........."

• Registered Users Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭political analyst

One would've assumed that anyone who is on a Gaelic games committee is a pillar of the community and thus that Aaron Brady's father would've felt some sense of shame about what Aaron did.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

He will do 16,610 days and nights. No more and no less. He is lucky he is not getting strung up. That's what you get when you decide to murder people who are paid to protect your wellbeing. He will think twice the next time he is stuck for a few grand even if he is in his 60's. He has 16,610 nights to think about the family he destroyed with his sawn off for a few grand. Greedy wee chunt.

ED E wrote: »
    The level of knuckle draggers outside the CCJ earlier. Christ. Water cannons would be far too good for them though maybe the shower would be productive.

Can anyone identify the Free Aaron Brady rep in the suit and red tie making the speech outside Court - on Independent.ie website?

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nika Bolokov

Disgusting to see the behaviour of those nutjobs outside the court.

As for the website, absolute tripe.

Doesnt mention he legged it to America, was casing the place the day before, lied multiple times changing his statement frequently etc etc, the actual evidence.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I’ve some sympathy for them but if they had done a better job raising their child this wouldn’t have happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭cal naughton

Truthvader wrote: »
    Can anyone identify the Free Aaron Brady rep in the suit and red tie making the speech outside Court - on Independent.ie website?

Just on the news. Kealan Harrington.

Ex Irish army, naval service and French foreign legion according to his website!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

I hope the head case that killed the guard in castlerea in rosscommon recently gets the same sentence and doesn’t get a soft sentence because he smoked a lot of cannabis .

• Registered Users Posts: 56,291 ✭✭✭✭walshb

LuasSimon wrote: »
    I hope the head case that killed the guard in castlerea in rosscommon recently gets the same sentence and doesn’t get a soft sentence because he smoked a lot of cannabis .

Spot on..

The two sentences handed down should have been consecutive..

First serves his 14 years and then his 40 years.

This man will most likely be free in 30 years or so..

Although, no remission for life sentences?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Truthvader wrote: »

Sinn Fein would have no hesitation in springing him if they get in. Long history of negotiating free passes for killers

Quit living in the past. Killers were set free to make a more peaceful Northern Ireland possible. Both sides had to make concessions.
    It's not like that anymore. Even if they got into power they wouldn't get away it with, even if they tried.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Why should he be treated the same? Totally different set of circumstances.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,317 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Effects wrote: »

Best place for the castlerea guy. you don't want people like that roaming the streets.

Same as in murder...

So capital murder sentence..

Unless you are suggesting he gets done for what, manslaughter? Or even not guilty due to “not feeling well.”

There is no doubt those who signed the treaty dividing up the island created a mess . Whoever thought putting crossmaglen and south Armagh under British rule would ever work ? We should have all stayed under british rule or else had a United ireland .
    Decades of fighting the brits and all the misery and deaths that brought have created a numbness to normal life in many communities in the 6 counties which created people like Aaron Brady .

What are you saying ? Republicans get 40 years but drug addicts get 10 years for shooting guards dead ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

There is no doubt those who signed the treaty dividing up the island created a mess . Whoever thought putting crossmaglen and south Armagh under British rule would ever work ? We should have all stayed under british rule or else had a United ireland .
    Decades of fighting the brits and all the misery and deaths that brought have created a numbness to normal life in many communities in the 6 counties which created people like Aaron Brady .

Plenty of people in similar circumstances didn't go down that route. He chose to be a scumbag and he deserves no pity.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Plenty of people in similar circumstances didn't go down that route. He chose to be a scumbag and he deserves no pity.

He's as ugly and twisted inside as he looks on the outside.

He's a sociopathic scumbag.