Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aaron Brady Guilty as charged

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭phildub

markc1184 wrote: »
    Good enough for him.

Is there a difference in mandatory life terms for murder and capital murder?

yes capital is 40 years without the possibility of parole, life for murder in Ireland technically means life but you can be paroled before that

• Registered Users Posts: 86,757 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

The tramp got his just rewards 40 years plus 14 for robbery

40 years minimum capital murder is that correct?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,124 ✭✭✭Odhinn

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    40 years minimum capital murder is that correct?

Yep.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,611 ✭✭✭Treppen

phildub wrote: »
    yes capital is 40 years without the possibility of parole, life for murder in Ireland technically means life but you can be paroled before that

Could he get a few years off that if he dobbs the others in?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭political analyst

Treppen wrote: »

And be labelled as a tout? :rolleyes:

no that time has long sailed, he was convicted of capital murder, there is no other option for a sentence, he will serve 40 years minimum

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

Hope they’ll be a lot of dobbs put on his hole , hopefully he’ll see Adrian Donoghue face every time he’s getting screwed in prison.

And be labelled as a tout? :rolleyes:

yes especially in this case I can't see him doing that, with all the witness intimidation that is being talked about, sounds like he would be putting his own life in danger

phildub wrote: »
    yes especially in this case I can't see him doing that, with all the witness intimidation that is being talked about, sounds like he would be putting his own life in danger

He’d be doing himself and us a favour - 40 years at what 70k a year I suppose =2.8 million
    Piece of rope would be lot cheaper

• Registered Users Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭political analyst

Why didn't gardaí isssue an Interpol red notice in the immediate aftermath of the murder? If that notice had been issued, Brady probably wouldn't have got a visa to enter the US.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Fair old attack on Paul Reynolds here, by Gemma and Brady family supporters.

https://twitter.com/Orlaodo/status/1316414741544402944?s=20

• Registered Users Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭kravmaga

If he's really guilty then well done to all involved.

What are you saying dude? What do you mean if he is really guilty?

You drunk

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

Paul Reynolds getting an earful there. Did ya hear that little aul one with the voice that would drill through your brain say' there are no journalists in Ireland except for Gemma O Doherty'?

Just blatant intimidation and fingers up to the O Donoghue family, every other garda, the state and all decent people of the country who respect law and order and justice being served.

'Justice for Aron' they scream like manic lunatics. Lets just hope that the same justice that has that scumbag sitting in a tiny cell until 2060 will catch up with this mob too for they truly are deranged troublemakers of the lowest order.

Why didn't gardaí isssue an Interpol red notice in the immediate aftermath of the murder? If that notice had been issued, Brady probably wouldn't have got a visa to enter the US.

Im surprised that they did not revoke the Visa with the US Embassy here in Dublin. Seems strange that Brady was allowed to stay so long in the USA.

LuasSimon wrote: »
    I hope the head case that killed the guard in castlerea in rosscommon recently gets the same sentence and doesn’t get a soft sentence because he smoked a lot of cannabis .

That lad has serious mental health issues and is locked up in a padded cell.

Good enough for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,317 ✭✭✭pgj2015

imagine facing into 40 years in prison, lol delighted for him.

kravmaga wrote: »
    Im surprised that they did not revoke the Visa with the US Embassy here in Dublin. Seems strange that Brady was allowed to stay so long in the USA.

I believe he was on a tourist visa which lasts 90 days so he was obviously illegal after that. He was not staying at the address provided on his visa application as when the garda gave the details to the NYPD they could not find him there, I believe they found him through the GAA, they said they were following him around trying to get his DNA from bottles etc but he never threw anything away in public, not sure how long he was under surveillance for before he was arrested.

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭ollkiller

walshb wrote: »
    Same as in murder...

So capital murder sentence..

Unless you are suggesting he gets done for what, manslaughter? Or even not guilty due to “not feeling well.”

He will be found guilty. Most likely by reason of insanity but the outcome is kind of moot as he won't leave where he currently is for a very very long time.

Must be nice to be a fly on the wall in Brady’s cell hear the door slam for night the start of 40 years , to squirm like a baby for rest of the night .
    Not such a big man now !

WTF is Gemma O'Doherty defending Brady for?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,654 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Cos she is mental.

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭E mac

NIMAN wrote: »
    Cos she is mental.

What did she say? Was it a Euro conspiracy that killed Garda Donoghue? Is Aaron Brady an Irish patriot....I'm not trying to make light of a murder only trying to imagine what goes through her head

E mac wrote: »
    What did she say? Was it a Euro conspiracy that killed Garda Donoghue? Is Aaron Brady an Irish patriot....I'm not trying to make light of a murder only trying to imagine what goes through her head

I knew she was a bit off the wall but i am totally mystified why she would be defending someone convicted of murdering a Garda.

Because there's no such thing as the wrong type of attention for a certain level of madness

Ideally we'd have a robust enough system to fling every one of that lot into a padded cell too. A public nuisance is being too kind of a description.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,286 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Fair old attack on Paul Reynolds here, by Gemma and Brady family supporters.

https://twitter.com/Orlaodo/status/1316414741544402944?s=20

Truly vile people..

• Registered Users Posts: 56,286 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Because she is a horrible person.

ollkiller wrote: »
    He will be found guilty. Most likely by reason of insanity but the outcome is kind of moot as he won't leave where he currently is for a very very long time.

You can't be found guilty and insane.

The verdicts available will be guilty, not guilty, or not guilty by reason of insanity which means you did it but you were insane at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,052 ✭✭✭✭event

Decades of fighting the brits and all the misery and deaths that brought have created a numbness to normal life in many communities in the 6 counties which created people like Aaron Brady .

Ah. Its the brits fault, is it?

Did you ever hear such sh1te

• Registered Users Posts: 16,052 ✭✭✭✭event

What are you saying ? Republicans get 40 years but drug addicts get 10 years for shooting guards dead ?

So Aaron Brady was a republican? Haven't really seen it confirmed before, fair play to ye

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

event wrote: »
    So Aaron Brady was a republican? Haven't really seen it confirmed before, fair play to ye

What's a Republican? If you mean were his family former members of the PIRA then yes, he is. Did they use their former status as PIRA 'enforcers' to continue their campaign of murder, crime, and smuggling after the GFA - yes again. Were they once linked with 'Good Republicans' - yes again.

There's lots of sticks with which to beat SF (pardon the terminology). Linking this lad with them is spurious at best. They all came from the same gene pool, but that's as far as it goes. Murky auld stuff up there.