Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are council estates such high crime areas?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 140 ✭✭gailforecast

saabsaab wrote: »
    It is generally a small percentage that cause all the problems. 99% are fine. It is daft that one or two families can wreck a place and get away with it. These should be a policy of eviction for this continual criminal activity.

Where do they go some will say? Some form of direct provision perhaps or sent to another part of the country to cut their ties.

When rents are sky-high and accommodation is so short in the city centre, wasting housing on people like this is a bad idea.

agree about that second one: "earning decent money.... have received a cheap rent house, and therefore won't move on from it". This really does happen. And such people brag how hail fellow well met they are;- and they are! These same people then 'require' from the Council:- that any disadvantaged people are not to be put in 'their' estate. As do also the ones who buy their 'council' houses.

It's an issue that's been done to death. Personally I don't think buying should be an option and the ability to pay should be scrutinised a lot.

I'm all for helping people that need it but to see someone that makes the same actual net income as myself getting all these hand outs and pay **** all tax because it's nixers, is wrong

When this whole Covid thing blows over, the Govt should develop a new CoEst app that we can download so we all know who we're crossing paths with. Maybe ankle-bracelet the lot of them as well so we can spot that giveaway lurch or shuffle as they go about their nefarious day to day ne'er do welling.

saabsaab wrote: »
    It is generally a small percentage that cause all the problems. 99% are fine. It is daft that one or two families can wreck a place and get away with it. These should be a policy of eviction for this continual criminal activity.

Where do they go some will say? Some form of direct provision perhaps or sent to another part of the country to cut their ties.

It's not 1%. C'mon out of that. It's not even 1% in private estates!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭touts

Don't you know the reason council estate residents have higher rates of crime is because the middle class are to blame and the only way to correct that is to fight for what they want and take it by force if necessary.

At least that's the lie Sinn Fein, PBP, and other socialist extremists have been peddling around those estates for years. They have sown anger, division and discord and have opened a Pandora's box in many areas. Now we are seeing increasing random violent crime, racism etc.

But remember officially it's really all your fault for selfishly keeping too much (i.e. half) of the money you worked hard for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

If Sinn Fein ever get in government it will only get worse, all scumbags, burglars, drug dealers are great people in Sinn Feins eyes...they love travellers as well and they can do no wrong in their eyes so lots of stables will be in their house strategy on top of free rent all round

• Registered Users Posts: 39 kooreczka

You pay rent on council houses so bang goes your argument.

16% of the income wish my rent was this low 🀣 it's a joke the less they work the less they have to pay...

• Registered Users Posts: 41,072 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

When this whole Covid thing blows over, the Govt should develop a new CoEst app that we can download so we all know who we're crossing paths with. Maybe ankle-bracelet the lot of them as well so we can spot that giveaway lurch or shuffle as they go about their nefarious day to day ne'er do welling.

Of course yes. People from council estates should be eradicated. Lets bring back Eugenics. Sterilise and castrate all the council estate inhabitants.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Colonel Claptrap

Listening to my lovely Part V neighbor's house party where people are boxing the head off each other in the garden. Gardai have been and gone twice.

It's nights like tonight where you feel like a gobshiite for buying a new house and subsidizing these clowns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

A lack of willingness to engage with gardai, a lack of respect, a lack of personal responsibility . I could go on, its the residents fault and nobody else is to blame, in sure somebody will be along to bang on about if they had a swimming pool but thats absolute crap, its the residents own fault

Yes, however it only takes a few families in hundreds to ruin a neighbourhood. And the decent hardworking people can't up sticks and move away. We don't hear about them because going to work and paying taxes doesn’t make the news.
    If you were low income and lived in such a neighbourhood what would you do? You cannot tar everyone with the same brush.
    Poverty for the most part is a choice in Ireland.

The most stupid comment I've read in a long time and I'm on boards a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

kooreczka wrote: »
    16% of the income wish my rent was this low 🀣 it's a joke the less they work the less they have to pay...

Its nobody's fault but your own. Go out and get a better job and stop whinging.
    Easy right?

• Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭NovemberWren

Listening to my lovely Part V neighbor's house party where people are boxing the head off each other in the garden. Gardai have been and gone twice.

It's nights like tonight where you feel like a gobshiite for buying a new house and subsidizing these clowns.

claptrap Claptrap. there is no boxing; it is genial, hilarity, bon-viveur, joy, warmth, genteel, interaction, of the ultra-secure club, merely.
    ooo, add to that, cars, cars, vans; stockbroker accounts, computers that can access the FBI, the White House, how to split the atom.
    wot's not to like ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭The Unbearables

chicorytip wrote: »
    Many council tenants are working people earning low incomes and not just idle scroungers milking the system.

They know that, they just don't care. It's all about stereotyping.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭gar32

https://youtu.be/ZZuucE4R65Q " If someone doesn’t understand privilege, show them this"

If you are brought up by uneducated parents you will have less chance to break out of a working class life.

If you live in a working class estate you are much less likely to go to college.

I am all for punishment for crime. If your child breaks the law fine the Parents. (Reduce the welfare payments.)

If rent is not paid on council house. Take it a source from their dole.

Also more needs to be done to help children form respect towards people. Empathy should be part of all children's schooling.

I suggest that school should have these talks in class. Whats the point in teaching working class kids history if they don't understand whats happening around them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭coolbeans

They know that, they just don't care. It's all about stereotyping.

Just like you don't care about acknowledging facts where about half of social housing tenants in Dublin don't pay their token rents. You can only do so much for people before they have to start shouldering even some of the responsibility for themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Nothing wrong with a council house especially when houses designated for private housing worth €370,000 are sold to the council.

I was one of those people that put down a deposit on the 4 bed €370,000 but pulled out because I found a cheaper property.

Whoever gets those houses are lucky people. No mortgage, no property tax, no mandatory mortgage protection payments or insurance.

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭kapisko1PL

Reason is simple. Judicial system (not the justice system) is too soft in this country. Garda is doing a great job catching those people but the judges let them out straight away. Until a major overhaul of the system happens, it will never go away.

gar32 wrote: »
    https://youtu.be/ZZuucE4R65Q " If someone doesn’t understand privilege, show them this"

If you are brought up by uneducated parents you will have less chance to break out of a working class life.

If you live in a working class estate you are much less likely to go to college.

I am all for punishment for crime. If your child breaks the law fine the Parents. (Reduce the welfare payments.)

If rent is not paid on council house. Take it a source from their dole.

Also more needs to be done to help children form respect towards people. Empathy should be part of all children's schooling.

I suggest that school should have these talks in class. Whats the point in teaching working class kids history if they don't understand whats happening around them.

This isn’t America. College is accessible to every person in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭PerryB78

Whats worse is the inferior built house I bought for 400,000 in 2007 in an estate in West Dublin only to see scrotes galore get put up in the newer and better houses on the estate which was finished post crash, thats what gets me, 1600 mortgage while the leeches 50 yards away get it for feck all while popping kids out wily nily

• Registered Users Posts: 33,081 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

PerryB78 wrote: »
    Whats worse is the inferior built house I bought for 400,000 in 2007 in an estate in West Dublin only to see scrotes galore get put up in the newer and better houses on the estate which was finished post crash, thats what gets me, 1600 mortgage while the leeches 50 yards away get it for feck all while popping kids out wily nily
    Why did you buy it if it was so poorly built?
    Hey at least you will own it eventually

It doesn’t really matter. Like I said, everyone has access to college regardless of where you’re from. If you choose not to go, that’s your issue.

Ever consider that motivated people tend to have motivated children? Likewise, lazy Parents tend to sire lazy children.

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭PerryB78

gmisk wrote: »
    Why did you buy it if it was so poorly built?
    Hey at least you will own it eventually

Didn't know it was so poorly built until we moved in, bought off the plans as was the thing back then

It doesn’t really matter. Like I said, everyone has access to college regardless of where you’re from. If you choose not to go, that’s your issue.

Ever consider that motivated people tend to have motivated children? Likewise, lazy Parents tend to sire lazy children.

A child of an alcoholic is less like to go to college.

A child beaten is less likely to go to college.

A child who has taken drugs to try forget the ****ty life around them is less likely to go to college.

It is not as simple as you make it out. If bad things happen to you before your college age. Your less likely to give a Sh1t about college.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,783 ✭✭✭KungPao

We need 3 tiers of housing.

Private
    Council/Social
    Other

Other being caravans on desolate waste grounds in Offaly for cretins who think robbing and living on the dole while smoking hash all day with a few cans of Galahad is some sort of life.

Council estates would be better off. Social housing would continue to have a % in private estates, but the others can fook off.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

What do you mean “again”? You’ve never asked that in the first place.

But since you asked, I’d be 99% sure these scumbags are for Dolphins Barn or the Crumlin area.

If it's the same incident that I'm thinking it happened on the Northside between Ashtown and Castle knock. No where near Dolphins Barn or Crumlin which are on the Southside of Dublin. And for what it's worth both of those areas have calmed down a hell of a lot since I grew up there 20 + years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Randy Archer

Bowie wrote: »
    Most if not all of you have parents or grandparents came from council housing. Let that sink in my Tory friends.
    Poor people are more likely to commit more blue collar crimes. Its not all for fun. If it was it wouldn't be mostly confined to low/no income neighbourhoods. Arseholes come from every demographic.
    Read up on socio-economics.
    Some pure ignorance on here. Its shameful the 'I'm alright jack go **** yourself' attitude.

You scream ignorance than pursue to spout some utter horse manure that you will struggle to back up

Eh no ! Most people’s family’s , especially grandparents came from rural Ireland and then moved into towns . We ain’t all from Dublin here , boyo

Tory ? You haven’t a scooby doo . We have our own particular brand of conservative parties in FG and FF who flirted with dirty socialism every decade or so

Your point is not remotely the same as today’s standards. For a start, many of the “council houses” issued in the 1970-1980s went with options to buy off . Ireland is still a young Nation , just 100 years old and was a decade or two behind the Brits on sorting out the housing problems that plagued the 1930-1950s . Bar the usual spots in Dublin and other well known towns , most council housing areas of the 1970-1980s were crime free and definitely drug free . You certainly wouldn’t give lip to a Garda back then. There was no ombudsman to run to if they drag you into the station and kick the ****e out of you

Since the 1990s economic freedom for all walks of Life have been vastly superior to what our grandparents and parents were reared on . Very little excuse for a led bodied people not to be working or doing some education courses since the 1990s . People either bought out their “council house” or moved to bigger places and often got out of city centre or town centre

The dredges of society failed and refused to take advantage of their access to education and work . Drugs became more rampant since the 1980s . Now we have some no go areas

“More people are likely to commit blue collar crime”

Jesus Weep . Blue collar crime ? �� yes running drug empires making money that white collar would puke over . High tech Guns , ya, very blue collar

Blue collar crime Like burglary and criminal damage of property of hard working business people. Pretty sure that the welfare cheats in the council estates are very much of the I’m alright church

KungPao wrote: »
    We need 3 tiers of housing.

Private
    Council/Social
    Other

Other being caravans on desolate waste grounds in Offaly for cretins who think robbing and living on the dole while smoking hash all day with a few cans of Galahad is some sort of life.

Council estates would be better off. Social housing would continue to have a % in private estates, but the others can fook off.

As much as Offaly is a suitable spot , not sure it’s humane to force the dredge of society to live with the typical BIFFO . What did the knackers do to deserve that faith ?

Besides , Offaly as some good agricultural land to graze quality cows do it shouldn’t be dragged down to further depths . Maybe shove them into Longford or Cavan. Even better , away from everyone , out of sight out of mind ... the depths of Inishowen Donegal

A child of an alcoholic is less like to go to college.

A child beaten is less likely to go to college.

A child who has taken drugs to try forget the ****ty life around them is less likely to go to college.

It is not as simple as you make it out. If bad things happen to you before your college age. Your less likely to give a Sh1t about college.

Give over ffs . Nonsense

This island over decades , have plenty of kids whose parents were and are ranging alcoholics (a nation famous for it) and parents who bate the living ****e out for their kids for the simplest of things . There a whole generation of parents who were misdiagnosed for mental health issues and who took it out on their kids and spouses

Those kids still went to college or some form of education institute

You that stupid to believe that everyone who went to college had easy or happy childhoods and without legit adversity ? From the Angela’s Ashes kind of hardship to lesser guff

We make way too many excuses for those who refuse to do something positive for themselves . Harden up , people today seem to have gone soft

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

This is an actual crock of ****.

Even forgetting all of the other socio-economic issues, students from these areas can’t go to college because of financial blocks.

Assuming you don’t live 45km away from your college the max SUSI grant you can get is roughly €260 a month. Also assuming the combined income of you and both your parents isn’t more the €24500. And that someone is on a qualifying social welfare payment. You can’t get any other secondary benefits or most SW at the same time.

You and your parents can’t get loans because of your low income. You don’t have your parents financial support as a back up. So you get a 20 hour part time job to get by and earn about €200 a week. This is because of all the increased costs you have because of college. You need transport and you need to pack or buy a lunch everyday.

But next years SUSI application comes along and OOPS working brought you over the threshold for your grant so now your down to €130 a month.

So now your living on €930 a month. Working 20 hours, doing a full time degree while probably living in your parents ****hole that you have to commute to and from everyday.

We may pretend it’s available because they won’t refuse you based on where your from but the reality of the matter is we larger just price those people out instead.