Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman pushed into Royal Canal

• Registered Users Posts: 41,080 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

statesaver wrote: »
    Sure. :rolleyes:

Didn't matter who it was they were going to get fuked into the water anyway.

No thats not true - she was clearly targeted because of her ethnicity

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Not looking for a perfect world just one where they were arrested or the Garda at least pretended to give a **** about the safety of people who are just going about their business.

If she went about her daily business nothing would of happened.
    Lesson learned for her.

Do not go near scumbags. Gards don't .......

• Registered Users Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

statesaver wrote: »
    If she went about her daily business nothing would of happened.
    Lesson learned for her.

Do not go near scumbags. Gards don't .......

She was going about her business when they started abusing her.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,343 ✭✭✭✭walshb

No thats not true - she was clearly targeted because of her ethnicity

Not sure here..

I think they were just there to harass, and she was the one they targeted...Because she just happened to be there at that time..

Young teens can be like this..many don’t have the maturity and worldly experience etc..

Probably alcohol in them as well. Recipe for trouble..

It’s rampant in society..

• Registered Users Posts: 17,066 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Finally there will be justice for scum like this because of the racist element, I'm sure they've plenty of prior offences (really would be surprising if this was the first incident ) not acted upon and now with social media pressure they'll actually get the sentence they deserve.

This is part of the problem.

If this happened to some young white, brown haired fella up from the sticks who got lost and came across these scrotes there wouldn't be a word about it in the media.

There was a caller from Asia on Liveline a few months ago who got attacked while cycling past a halting site. When somebody who has lived locally for years came on to give out about the type of people who attacked the Asian guy, the host cut him off in case he said anything about travellers that would get RTE into trouble.

walshb wrote: »
    Not sure here..

I think they were just there to harass, and she was the one they targeted...Because she just happened to be there at that time..

Young teens can be like this..many don’t have the maturity and worldly experience etc..

It's beyond dispute that there was a racist element to this - the facts as we know them are clear.

It's very possible that these yobs wouldn't be adverse to picking on other people too for whatever excuse, but that would make them something else on top of their racism.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,343 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Phoebas wrote: »
    It's beyond dispute that there was a racist element to this - the facts as we know them are clear.

It's very possible that these yobs wouldn't be adverse to picking on other people too for whatever excuse, but that would make them something else on top of their racism.

I know there was the racism element to it.

I was more saying that it was opportunistic as opposed to targeting.

They were up to no good. She was visible, became a target and it went from there...

• Registered Users Posts: 35,023 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

There are never garda along the canal and they didn't bother coming out after being called.

I literally went for a walk along the canal an hour ago and there was a garda car there along with an ambulance and a gaggle of drunks/junkies up to no good.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,080 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

walshb wrote: »
    Not sure here..

The video is very clear that there were racist slurs involved. There is no "not sure" about it.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

o1s1n wrote: »
    I literally went for a walk along the canal an hour ago and there was a garda car there along with an ambulance and a gaggle of drunks/junkies up to no good.

How long are we goin to indulge these animals...pissing away resources on ****in vermin, as ambulance for these **** same in city centre every day ...let the overdose let them die tip them into the canal or river from the boardwalk...job done no more money or time wasted...they're a disease without cure get rid of them

• Registered Users Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Boards has become a strange place.

A thread about an attack that clearly had a racist element to it and we have some posters bending over backwards to deny the racism and other posters trying to steer it into a thread about the left.

Never fails to be amusing. The sheer simple mindedness of some posters on here that look for a way, any way, to place blame on "the left" for something they actually have no real say in. It's a base stupidity on a staggering level.

The Left haven't been in power in any significant way for decades, yet they are to be endlessly faulted by gobshites in every single instance. Forever trying to chip away at some non-existent bogeyman, who's magically responsible for every societal ill they can think of.

It's utterly laughable.

And to guy who taught that criminals in the 80's were "gentlemen"...well, that's a load of old bollocks. There's no other word for it. I remember the 80's and there was plenty anti-social behaviour of this type going on.

Little dirtbags like these have been around for a long time I can assure you.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

True for me racism itself isn’t so much the crime, it’s the severity of the resultant crime which should be treated as such

In an inflammatory age even perceived racism can be a catalyst for people to become deeply offended, and become confrontational this is why it’s a bad idea to give it oxygen or the environment to breath and take hold. By preventing it at its very source

• Registered Users Posts: 16,583 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

She was going about her business when they started abusing her.

And thats when she should have kept her head down and walked away.

Does the national party have a youth wing? these scrotes would fit right in with Justin and his shower.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

:pac::pac:

MayoSalmon wrote: »
    :pac::pac:

Whats funny about that?

It's not funny. It's the usual, predicable, blame the victim stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭shootermacg

I would interpret this as a murder attempt and punish it as such. That would send a message to any scumbag regardless of location.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,023 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

How long are we goin to indulge these animals...pissing away resources on ****in vermin, as ambulance for these **** same in city centre every day ...let the overdose let them die tip them into the canal or river from the boardwalk...job done no more money or time wasted...they're a disease without cure get rid of them

I actually work with ambulance drivers on a daily basis and know a lot of them, the amount of effort they've to go to with PPE at the moment for each call out is insane.

They've to then give the ambulance a deep clean before going out again. Takes about an hour to turn it around and get it back out on the road.

Really feel for them anytime I see them having to deal with scumbags like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

Whats funny about that?

Nothing its sarcasm at the idiots that roams these threads

Show me where I blamed her?

You must be very naive if you think you can reason with scumbags, never confront them because it won't end well which is what the victim here found out.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Where are the parents FGS lol.

Under age stuff like this should result in the parents being fined or whatever.

I sound like an old fogey here but WTF are the powers that be to do now?

MayoSalmon wrote: »
    Nothing its sarcasm at the idiots that roams these threads

So I'm an idiot now, wow you are as bad mannered as the lads in the video.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Where are the parents.

Their parents are probably scum too. The same type of scum from the 80's and 90's who spawned these delightful articles.

It's not a given, but shit often breeds shit.

In cases like this, the parents don't really know or care what their little angel is up too.

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

Just as a matter of interest...what would you advise your mother to do if placed in the same situation?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

Yes it was but how do we confront it?

They have no fear of the Gardai or prison so what needs to change because I don't know the answer.

I’m blue in the face saying it on threads like these that crop up every so often. Lock them up forever or bang bang. Society doesn’t have an appetite to solve the scumbag question. It’s not about right or wrong. It’s about removing the sh!te.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Three More Big Sleeps

And therein lies the problem: a passive response to the grey tracksuited skanger filth that inhabit our cities and suburbs.

Is this a country you want to live in? Where decent folk just going about their lives simply ignore the scumbags in some sort of misguided hope that they'll go away?

I see that this incident has made the news on the BBC (https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-53794831). No doubt those scrotes are doing their best Beavis & Butt-head hurr hurr tonight with one hand down their jocks having a furtive ****.

Christ, sometimes I despise this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

It’s pure cold logic that if she had walked on it wouldn’t have happened.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Where are the parents FGS lol.

Under age stuff like this should result in the parents being fined or whatever.

I sound like an old fogey here but WTF are the powers that be to do now?

The parents are sitting on their holes in free houses paid for by idiot tax payers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

They've got wetsuits on and towels so they must swim there all the time .. how ****in6 hard can they be to trace..

I'd laugh my head off if I passed and one of them was in trouble in the water...not sure what I'd do.. throw a breeze block or try find something less buoyant and more heavy....

The parents are probably on the bank getting pissed..white Irish trash or salt of the earth as the old saying goes