Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman pushed into Royal Canal

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

And therein lies the problem: a passive response to the grey tracksuited skanger filth that inhabit our cities and suburbs.

Is this a country you want to live in? Where decent folk just going about their lives simply ignore the scumbags in some sort of misguided hope that they'll go away?

I see that this incident has made the news on the BBC (https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-53794831). No doubt those scrotes are doing their best Beavis & Butt-head hurr hurr tonight with one hand down their jocks having a furtive ****.

Christ, sometimes I despise this country.

You are right for the most part however no point in making a stand if one lacks the firepower

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,583 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Feisar wrote: »
    I’m blue in the face saying it on threads like these that crop up every so often. Lock them up forever or bang bang. Society doesn’t have an appetite to solve the scumbag question. It’s not about right or wrong. It’s about removing the sh!te.

Will never happen here, only upside is most of these scumbags die young.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,512 ✭✭✭bb1234567

It's odd how many people almost seem pissed off this is getting attention because she's foreign

It's not that, I'm glad she will get justice for the crime committed against her but many similar crimes occur regularly around Dublin to others with no media attentiontion and very lenient punishment for repeat offenders because there's no pressure from social media on law enforcement to be seen doing something in the majority of other instances.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

The absolutely sad thing is that amenities like walkways are just a no go area now.

The taxpayer funds them but the low lifes destroy them and haven't contributed.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

southstar wrote: »
    Just as a matter of interest...what would you advise your mother to do if placed in the same situation?
    My mother never took advise from me, but comes from a generation who wouldn't be inclined to take any guff from these little fkers.

Of course if you bow down, sit at the back of the bus where you belong, you'll have a quieter life. But we do need brave people who are williing to stand up.
    There used to be a time when standing up for yourself was an admirable attribute. Nowadays, judging from this thread, your either an idiot or youre bringing trouble on yourself.
    It’s pure cold logic that if she had walked on it wouldn’t have happened.

I don't know what logic you are using that makes you think that a group of yobs that racially abused a woman and then pushed her into a canal would have just walked away if she had just accepted her abuse.
    There is nothing to suggest that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,611 ✭✭✭Treppen

It’s pure cold logic that if she had walked on it wouldn’t have happened.

And that's why they'll continue to do it to the next passer-by.
    At this stage most Irish people know you are on your own if you challenge them.
    Law is totally in their favour.
    Other countries though and any group can jump in to help sort it out and there's no problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Three More Big Sleeps

You are right for the most part however no point in making a stand if one lacks the firepower

Sigh. Yes.

This is another discussion altogether, but this incident has got me up on my hobby horse: scoobs and why their abhorrent behaviour seems to be escalating.

The closing of Patrick's Institution? The (perceived) softly-softly approach of Oberstown? The horrendous recividism* in the IPS (https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.irishprisons.ie/images/pdf/recidivismstudyss2.pdf&ved=2ahUKEwjN1u3ItaDrAhVHXhUIHe8YDPMQFjAAegQIAxAB&usg=AOvVaw181shb2jww8MZfgsn512Ll)? The (again perceived) gravy train of the Irish judicial process? Free legal aid? The lack of political will for any kind of judicial reform? The lack of beat Gardaí and/or their will to pass cases onto the DPP? The DPP prioritising?

I don't have any kind of answer, but I do know the current system is broken.

(* From 2013; 2020 under review here: https://www.cso.ie/en/methods/crime/prisonrecidivism/)

Phoebas wrote: »
    My mother never took advise from me, but comes from a generation who wouldn't be inclined to take any guff from these little fkers.

Of course if you bow down, sit at the back of the bus where you belong, you'll have a quieter life. But we do need brave people who are williing to stand up.
    There used to be a time when standing up for yourself was an admirable attribute. Nowadays, judging from this thread, your either an idiot or youre bringing trouble on yourself.

I don't know what logic you are using that makes you think that a group of yobs that racially abused a woman and then pushed her into a canal would have just walked away if she had just accepted her abuse.

She decided to give them a telling off. Had she walked on she wouldn’t have been there to be pushed.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/family-gun-victim-left-vegetative-13954369

Like you, this poor guy wanted to take no **** and helped some guy being beaten.. I suggest you read it and admit in some areas and situations, the odds are simply stacked in their favor. you never know who you;re hitting really. she should have indeed kept walking if only because she was outnumbered, that's the common sense of it all.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Pkiernan wrote: »
    The parents are sitting on their holes in free houses paid for by idiot tax payers.

The only types of people I see with those haircuts are the middle class. One of them is wearing an expensive looking wetsuit.

A few years ago in Thurles everyone was blaming the children of council tenants for graffiti, until a group of emos were caught doing it at the back of the estates.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,544 ✭✭✭LeBash

Often times I don't even feel like it's the gardaí at fault - it's the judicial system in general that seem to be leniant even on repeat offenders.

It comes down to a lack of respect for others. Social media has a large part to play in that, along with poor role models.

Can you imagine the job of getting scumbags up to a court, watch them walking free and having to deal with them again, then repeat.

All the while the next gen of scumbags are on the go as well and instead of having to deal with just them, you have 5 or 6 generations of scumbags all in the one area but the same amount of cops.

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

So can I Infer that you would advise her to walk away...and she would probably ignore that advise

• Registered Users Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

The only types of people I see with those haircuts are the middle class. One of them is wearing an expensive looking wetsuit.

A few years ago in Thurles everyone was blaming the children of council tenants for graffiti, until a group of emos were caught doing it at the back of the estates.

Since lidl and aldi brought wetsuits to the masses, kids from rough areas have had them and jump into local waterways in them. Same around grand canal docks etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,583 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Well there is a gravy train of free legal aid available to them even if a case gets to court with a solicitor coming up with every excuse as to why the scrote in the dock should be let off with a slap on the wrist.

There is something seriously wrong when we read of someone up in court again with multiple appearances over the years for previous bad behaviour and they get off with another warning.

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭Fleetwoodmac

And therein lies the problem: a passive response to the grey tracksuited skanger filth that inhabit our cities and suburbs.

Is this a country you want to live in? Where decent folk just going about their lives simply ignore the scumbags in some sort of misguided hope that they'll go away?

I see that this incident has made the news on the BBC (https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-53794831). No doubt those scrotes are doing their best Beavis & Butt-head hurr hurr tonight with one hand down their jocks having a furtive ****.

Christ, sometimes I despise this country.

This is worldwide... it's not confined to Ireland.

This issue with it reaching MSM is they will acquire a type of glory from peers and at this age, the peer group is the most powerful motivator for them. These incidents are recorded simply to gloat and gain credit. Snapchat is full of it. They are unlikely to be shamed or to gain a sudden sense of morality. If anything it will encourage others to replicate this.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

rusty cole wrote: »
    https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/family-gun-victim-left-vegetative-13954369

Like you, this poor guy wanted to take no **** and helped some guy being beaten.. I suggest you read it and admit in some areas and situations, the odds are simply stacked in their favor. you never know who you;re hitting really. she should have indeed kept walking if only because she was outnumbered, that's the common sense of it all.
    Of course it's the easiest option to just keep quiet and accept your abuse.

Some people are just bigger than that.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I would interpret this as a murder attempt and punish it as such. That would send a message to any scumbag regardless of location.

Genuinely could’ve been murder

• Registered Users Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭jackboy

I would interpret this as a murder attempt and punish it as such. That would send a message to any scumbag regardless of location.

Some children are not going to be convicted of murder for pushing a woman into a canal, regardless of how scummy their behaviour is.

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

It's not about choosing the easiest option....perhaps the safest one.Personally I tend to be gobby enough in these situations.However I would advise a vulnerable person to walk on for their own safety.....this is not about the victim shaming that you were slyly trying to dump on a couple of other posters...

Stay, tell them off, situation escalates. At what point does one run? Because if one doesn’t one isn’t the victim of an assault one is involved in one. Basically fighting on the street. Sorry but I’ll jog on, I’ve more going on in life than fighting on the street, maybe get stabbed or end up in court for fish hooking a minor.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,343 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Can people quit the pathetic “you’re blaming the victim” simply because the best course of action in these situations is to get out, not get involved and protect yourself...

Even the Gardai will advise this.

Anyone advising anyone to stand up, confront, call out, tackle, or any other sort of direct involvement is simply giving dangerous and reckless advice!!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

The site is going down imminently. Once again a 504 message.

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭celticWario

Kids know there is no consequence for their actions, remember that clip of the Gardai who had chased a young kid on a motorbike to his house, and he just stood behind mammy and they both said "he's underage you can't do anything", that's the mentality, and from personal experience a lot of these dirtbags are the sons/brother/cousins of violent drug dealers, so they know they can throw their weight around and no one will dare challenge them. Where I'm from bad is good, bad is fun, doing bad things to people is funny, and there's no sanction for it, police are powerless, and schools can't even suspend kids anymore, what do people expect?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Im a typical lefty sjw and yet i agree, for some reason progressive politics in this country cant embrace the fact that scumbags are making life difficult for ordinary people and need to be dealt with, its depressing, look at Brexit, trump etc, the left are so far up their own arsers

Good point and fair play to you for admitting what you did.

I believe what is happening is that because these kinds of scum come from the lower social classes, there are ppl like your typical swj, i.e. a lefty but particularly socialist's, who excuse away this behaviour because of 'inequality'. I don't believe that for a second.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭bfa1509

Not sure why everyone is calling this a racist attack. It would have been racist if they didn't push her in the water. Anyone who confronts a gang of thugs regardless of their ethnicity can expect to get pushed in. That's just the grim reality.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Does the national party have a youth wing? these scrotes would fit right in with Justin and his shower.

Do you think these little fcuknuggets have any interest in politics? Seriously? They probably chant ''Sinn Fein'' and ''IRA'' during the Fields of Athenry and that's the height of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭celticWario

bfa1509 wrote: »
    Not sure why everyone is calling this a racist attack. It would have been racist if they didn't push her in the water. Anyone who confronts a gang of thugs regardless of their ethnicity can expect to get pushed in. That's just the grim reality.

Because they were racially abusing her beforehand and that's why she confronted them.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,343 ✭✭✭✭walshb

bfa1509 wrote: »
    Not sure why everyone is calling this a racist attack. It would have been racist if they didn't push her in the water. Anyone who

Sorry, what?

• Registered Users Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Oscar Madison

LuasSimon wrote: »
    You think the scum should be allowed to take over our towns and villages ?

All I'm suggesting is that it could have ended a lot worse for her!

Fortunately it didn't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Find them sterilize them sterilize their parents and anyone closed to them that's likely to spit out their futures litters.....