Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman pushed into Royal Canal

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Idiotic trying to reason with them. What did she think, because her cause was righteous a bunch of scumbags will suddenly see the light and repent.

Either sort them out with your fists/weapons or move on. Only thing they understand.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

nthclare wrote: »
    As my friend who's a retired prison officers said to me, the prisoners in the 80's and 90's were gentleman and having conversations with some they used to say,if you think we're bad wait until you see what's coming after us.

The system is too soft on scumbags nowadays, back in the 80's and 90's vigilantes would sort this out, I know it's frowned upon by SJWs, lefties, shi tty parents and the ivory tower brigade.

But as the op posted enough is enough....

Those type of groups are no better. They are a pack of bullies themselves.
    Acting like modern day heroes, when really they have just learned how to slyly work their way around the law.

Look at that mammy in her pyjamas in the garda station, after her little mite got arrested. & the screeching voice behind the camera, saying 'we pay your wages':rolleyes:
    How are those kids going to know right from wrong when you have adults acting like that on their behalf

• Registered Users Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Its made the BBC News website now.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-53794831

Pushing someome into a lake and causing no injury shouldn't be a lengthy prison sentence.

And if the poor woman couldn't swim? Do you think they asked or even thought about this first? If she couldn't get herself out do you think one of them would have jumped in after her to save her from drowning?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭wandererz

I fully support this woman, AND it reminds me of all the racist crap i've experienced in my life as well.

As JUST ONE example, something that happened on the southbound LUAS some years back.

One of my nephews came over to Dublin for Christmas.

He & his friend were working for EY (Earnst & Young) in the UK. So they weren't your average down & outs.
    They were young accountants then and are now leaders in industry.

We had a good night out in Dublin City Center at a great restaurant and a few pubs. They really enjoyed Dublin & the people by that time.
    On our way out of Dublin on the SouthBound Luas, this well dressed older gent began questioning us...
    About where we were from etc.

The moment one of the guys mentioned they were from South Africa, he snapped on my wife and called her a "Helga" and would not then stop at verbally attacking her.

The silly thing is that:
    1) she is totally Irish (from Dun Laoighaire)
    2) i designed part of the IT infrastructure for the LUAS line at the time - the same LUAS that he was on! - I wonder would he have traveled on it if he had known it was designed by a foreigner.

We were so embarrassed for our guests and ourselves that we got off at one of the stops after Charlemont & before Dundrum and hopped into a taxi instead.

Some of the LUAS passengers pleaded with us to get back on - i thank them for that.

That was 8 years ago. Things haven't changed.
    Racism exists and racists don't really care about the colour of your skin either.

It was perhaps easier (or more clearcut) in SA Apartheid times.

At what age does one stop being a "scrote"??

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

And if the poor woman couldn't swim? Do you think they asked or even thought about this first? If she couldn't get herself out do you think one of them would have jumped in after her to save her from drowning?

So how long do you think they should get?

Send each one away for attempted murder

• Registered Users Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

So how long do you think they should get?

Send each one away for attempted murder

5 years for assault.

What's your proposal? Increased welfare payment ?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Its made the BBC News website now.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-53794831
    They would never pass up the chance to report on racism. They dont report murders or rapes in Dublin but a woman being pushed in a canal with a few racial epithets they're all over it.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

And therein lies the problem: a passive response to the grey tracksuited skanger filth that inhabit our cities and suburbs.

Is this a country you want to live in? Where decent folk just going about their lives simply ignore the scumbags in some sort of misguided hope that they'll go away?

I see that this incident has made the news on the BBC (https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-53794831). No doubt those scrotes are doing their best Beavis & Butt-head hurr hurr tonight with one hand down their jocks having a furtive ****.

Christ, sometimes I despise this country.
    This is an Irish/UK issue. Where this type of scrote culture exists in the rest of Europe its almost entirely confined to immigrant communities (see Turks in Germany and Austria), but even there its nowhere near as pronounced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Time for an Irish Guardian Angel chapter to be set up.

People were opposed to it in New York in the 80's but it proved it's value by protecting people and highlighting anti social behaviour to the politicians so finally something was done about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭YellowBucket

There is a brazen racist issue growing too and there’s also a scumbag element that is very receptive to it. I’ve seen it too many times.

Unfortunately, and we don’t like to accept it, but we’ve an element that have a very similar mentality to English football hooligan types and they go around making people’s lives misery with agression like this.

We don’t police it very much and we don’t deal with it because we seem to just accept that thuggish behaviour is normal, but when something like this happens and gets us embarrassing headlines, especially abroad, you’ll have people telling you that it didn’t happen and trying to excuse and minimise it.

It’s generally a nice place but there’s a small and annoying element of our cities and towns, and frankly its part of our culture, that is utterly obnoxious and we just don’t seem to be willing to do anything about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Time for an Irish Guardian Angel chapter to be set up.

People were opposed to it in New York in the 80's but it proved it's value by protecting people and highlighting anti social behaviour to the politicians so finally something was done about it

Just heard this woman talk on Newstalk, it's very sad to hear her story. I agree with your post. Guards are powerless and politicians don't live in Ashtown and other poorer areas so don't see the issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,566 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

FionnK86 wrote: »
    Just heard this woman talk on Newstalk, it's very sad to hear her story. I agree with your post. Guards are powerless and politicians don't live in Ashtown and other poorer areas so don't see the issue.

One side of the coin is the Guards are powerless but the other is what use are they if they didn't even bother showing up when she rang?

JeffKenna wrote: »
    One side of the coin is the Guards are powerless but the other is what use are they if they didn't even bother showing up when she rang?

Stuff that’s happened to me in Ireland:

Gun pointed at me (Cork City Center on a Sunday afternoon. Zero follow up by police despite calling 999)

Car burnt out (Dublin 4 parked outside an apartment) about 10 years ago.

Aggressively harassed on street (multiple times - Dublin) - ranges from shouting of abuse to being pushed around for absolutely no reason.

Car stolen (three times over my lifetime so far)

House broken into three times. I’ve had continental visitors surprised that most homes here have complex alarm systems. It’s not normal btw elsewhere!

Living in a boring part of suburban leafy south dublin growing up in the late 80s, we had drug dealers move into the house a couple of doors away and I spent most of my early years witnessing all that went on around that and also we had a few high speed chases through the area thanks to gangland stuff.

While staying in a holiday apartment in a rural area, local drunk set a neighbouring unit on fire!

As for racism, one of my earliest memories is local kids harassing a Vietnamese friend of mine in Dublin and having to defend her. I’d say I was about 7 or 8 at the time. Same guys harassed a kid because his father was dead - literally shouting “you have no da” to make him cry.

A Spanish friend of mine was told to “go home to Africa” while on the train to Cobh. She was a tourist and she’s from Madrid.

Even going way back, was talking to an elderly relative of mine who was reminiscing about the north inner city of Dublin in the 1950s. She remembers walking through, wearing jeans and there were “auld ones” shouting “get them off ya Mrs!” from a balcony window, as they disapproved of women in trousers!!

Sorry but there’s an element of this country that is just not nice and it’s not new. We just chose to turn a blind eye to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

Easy PR win for the Triads here. Round these lads up and waterboard them.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Stuff that’s happened to me in Ireland:

Gun pointed at me (Cork City Center on a Sunday afternoon. Zero follow up by police despite calling 999)

Car burnt out (Dublin 4 parked outside an apartment) about 10 years ago.

Aggressively harassed on street (multiple times - Dublin) - ranges from shouting of abuse to being pushed around for absolutely no reason.

Car stolen (three times over my lifetime so far)

House broken into three times. I’ve had continental visitors surprised that most homes here have complex alarm systems. It’s not normal btw elsewhere!

Living in a boring part of suburban leafy south dublin growing up in the late 80s, we had drug dealers move into the house a couple of doors away and I spent most of my early years witnessing all that went on around that and also we had a few high speed chases through the area thanks to gangland stuff.

While staying in a holiday apartment in a rural area, local drunk set a neighbouring unit on fire!

As for racism, one of my earliest memories is local kids harassing a Vietnamese friend of mine in Dublin and having to defend her. I’d say I was about 7 or 8 at the time. Same guys harassed a kid because his father was dead - literally shouting “you have no da” to make him cry.

A Spanish friend of mine was told to “go home to Africa” while on the train to Cobh. She was a tourist and she’s from Madrid.

Even going way back, was talking to an elderly relative of mine who was reminiscing about the north inner city of Dublin in the 1950s. She remembers walking through, wearing jeans and there were “auld ones” shouting “get them off ya Mrs!” from a balcony window, as they disapproved of women in trousers!!

Sorry but there’s an element of this country that is just not nice and it’s not new. We just chose to turn a blind eye to it.

Seriously, guards not arriving after reporting a firearm crime - I don’t believe that for a minute. Your visitors from the continent lucky enough to live in a place which doesn’t require alarms, they are the exception rather than the rule. And the kids calling people names aren’t actually racist, as you have pointed out in the other example, they are just mean kids. There is no blind eye turned, newsflash kids can be complete arseholes, but they are kids.

With this case of the Chinese lady, a serious assault has taken place and the perpetrator should be dealt with accordingly, but if you have a rational solution for kids generally being arsholes then please do put it forward.

begbysback wrote: »
    Seriously, guards not arriving after reporting a firearm crime - I don’t believe that for a minute. Your visitors from the continent lucky enough to live in a place which doesn’t require alarms, they are the exception rather than the rule. And the kids calling people names aren’t actually racist, as you have pointed out in the other example, they are just mean kids. There is no blind eye turned, newsflash kids can be complete arseholes, but they are kids.

With this case of the Chinese lady, a serious assault has taken place and the perpetrator should be dealt with accordingly, but if you have a rational solution for kids generally being arsholes then please do put it forward.

And that’s PRECISELY the attitude you get in response to everything here. It doesn’t fit with your wonderful perfect view of the world thus it didn’t happen.

Blind eye turned to everything here from incompetent cops to the Magdalene laundries. Welcome to Ireland - the land where nothing ever happens.

Thankfully we now have video cameras in our pockets so this stuff appears online so we can actually hold a mirror up to what really happens.

From what she said she reported it at a Garda station and was fobbed off until it went viral and got news coverage.

Dealt with accordingly? As in nothing will happen?

Feisar wrote: »
    Easy PR win for the Triads here. Round these lads up and waterboard them.

Threads like this are usually a magnet for 2 types of people, the hanging section, and parent of the year section, my little tommy would never do something like that. Paradoxically, it’s parent of the year proposing a walk to the gallows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

And that’s PRECISELY the attitude you get in response to everything here. It doesn’t fit with your wonderful perfect view of the world thus it didn’t happen.

This - all the time - its like cries of "Fake News" .. and you see it on nearly every thread.

As time goes on, we seem to take fewer attempts to try and understand where another person is coming from. Much easier to stick the fingers in the ears and call out "lies".

(Not necessarily saying this happened here, but you see it all over boards).

• Registered Users Posts: 41,080 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

kenmm wrote: »
    This - all the time - its like cries of "Fake News" .. and you see it on nearly every thread.

As time goes on, we seem to take fewer attempts to try and understand where another person is coming from. Much easier to stick the fingers in the ears and call out "lies".

Yeah definitely. A woman got her car covered in "all lives matter" graffiti and on here they claimed she did it herself

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Ireland is a kip, probably one of the worst countries I've been too, beautiful scenery but so much scum

You see it everywhere. We don’t want to know that there’s a racist problem and we accept extremely lax policing and endless petty crime.

I mean we’ve even now got the rise of what amounts to something not too different from Britain First or the BNP and the media won’t even touch the topic as they’re either afraid to challenge it or it’s some notion of it doesn’t happen here, thus it must be a tiny issue on the fringes that isn’t worth even looking at.

Newsflash: that’s how all of those movements started across Europe. They “never happen here.” That stuff is always somewhere else, probably somewhere we look down our noses at like Brexit England, the French extreme right etc etc.

Some of the stuff being posted and done by a certain little group of so called patriots would be making headline news for hate crimes in the U.K. and that is growing as an ideology and we are completely failing to tackle it. Some people online are doing a great job. Some people have protested but official Ireland has its fingers firmly placed in its ears.

Cross that ideology with our existing issues and you’ve a major problem down the line in a few years time and you can already see it beginning to happen.

Yeah definitely. A woman got her car covered in "all lives matter" graffiti and on here they claimed she did it herself

I apparently lied about how they cook fish in Belfast - seriously wtf - its the serious and the ridiculous that gets called out..

Might I suggest that if that's the persons default position (that they refuse to believe others or accuse them of lies) then that's merely a reflection of their own behaviour and therefore they are really discrediting themselves?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,866 ✭✭✭daheff

Feel sorry she was shoved into the canal

But...she should have known better than to try take on a mob of scum like that. Lucky she didn't get stabbed or worse.

As one of our modern day philosophers has stated with social media, we are currently involved in a global experiment for which we never signed up for. Everyone nowadays is acts like they are on a stage, and have an audience, this means that people are more likely to embellish the truth, as clearly has been done in the post I quoted. Nobody is sticking their fingers in their ears, just calling out a post that has been dramatised for the purposes of social media.

It’s extremely ignorant to place every statement you disagree with into cries of fake news.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,466 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

wandererz wrote: »
    I fully support this woman, AND it reminds me of all the racist crap i've experienced in my life as well.

As JUST ONE example, something that happened on the southbound LUAS some years back.

One of my nephews came over to Dublin for Christmas.

He & his friend were working for EY (Earnst & Young) in the UK. So they weren't your average down & outs.
    They were young accountants then and are now leaders in industry.

We had a good night out in Dublin City Center at a great restaurant and a few pubs. They really enjoyed Dublin & the people by that time.
    On our way out of Dublin on the SouthBound Luas, this well dressed older gent began questioning us...
    About where we were from etc.

The moment one of the guys mentioned they were from South Africa, he snapped on my wife and called her a "Helga" and would not then stop at verbally attacking her.

The silly thing is that:
    1) she is totally Irish (from Dun Laoighaire)
    2) i designed part of the IT infrastructure for the LUAS line at the time - the same LUAS that he was on! - I wonder would he have traveled on it if he had known it was designed by a foreigner.

We were so embarrassed for our guests and ourselves that we got off at one of the stops after Charlemont & before Dundrum and hopped into a taxi instead.

Some of the LUAS passengers pleaded with us to get back on - i thank them for that.

That was 8 years ago. Things haven't changed.
    Racism exists and racists don't really care about the colour of your skin either.

It was perhaps easier (or more clearcut) in SA Apartheid times.

At what age does one stop being a "scrote"??

what is a helga?

Nobody is sticking their fingers in their ears, just calling out a post that has been dramatised for the purposes of social media.

It was a generalisation, a stated not necessarily what happened here.
    It’s extremely ignorant to place every statement you disagree with into cries of fake news.

It is, but happening more and more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

A few months ago I rang 999 about a seriously drunk driver during the middle of the day

She went into a hedge, reversed back out and went off swerving down the road with lots of kids walking around. Rang the local main station a few hours later to see what was the outcome and they never got a report of this!! System is seriously messed up here.

I wish it was embellished. I am still shook up by what happened that day. Parking car. Three guys walking along street who looked dodgy. As I was reversing car the one of them blocked the road in front of the car and pointed a gun at my windscreen. I had to decide to either drive around or at him. Accelerated away as far as I could get and called 999. Report taken. Whether they followed up or not with the actual incident by sending a car, I will never know but they never called me back and they were given details.

I’ve no idea if it was a real gun or a bunch of messers with a fake gun but it scared the hell out of me.

You implied that after calling 999 nothing was done after a reported firearm incident. And as dangerous as this country is made out on social media with some folk afraid to walk outside after reading fables on the internet, your chances of being the victim of a crime involving a firearm are minuscule. There’s a fair likelihood that it wasn’t actually a firearm, and that too much tripe had been ingested via social media and other media which attributed to your perceived experience.

I give up on boards and Ireland.

Sorry I ever posted and sorry I ever opened my mouth about being harassed, attacked and bullied.

I give up! Totally give up! You’re all assholes.