Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sinn Fein Omerta

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,235 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

jm08 wrote: »
    But it was Bertie Ahearn who said it was criminal activitiy originally. He had got his information from the Gardai/PSNI.

Garda says Quinn killing a criminal feud - Ahern

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/garda-says-quinn-killing-a-criminal-feud-ahern-1.982248

This is exactly why supporters of Sinn Fein get such a bad reputation on social media.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/ahern-apologises-to-family-about-unintended-slur-on-son-26339831.html

Ahern apologised for his remarks and cleared Paul Quinn of any blame of criminality, yet a Sinn Fein supporter on social media repeats the withdrawn remarks without the clarification. Typical disgusting disingenuous behaviour. Is it surprising that so many distrust Sinn Fein.

Here is a timeline of events.

https://www.thejournal.ie/paul-quinn-sinn-fein-conor-murphy-4994057-Feb2020/

Two interesting points

(1) Adams: "This murder is in our view linked to fuel smuggling-involving criminals. " First, he has never withdrawn the slur on Paul Quinn. Secondly, is anyone else surprised that fuel smuggling involving criminals happen to be good republicans?

(2) "McDonald said that Murphy would meet with Breege Quinn." He never did, again, is anyone surprised? Another Mary-Lou lie.

smurgen wrote: »

Lol....whole thread is rubbish based on incorrect hearsay.......almost as if ffg need to distract from the farce that is the covid crisis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

What have I said about Paul Quinn that others haven't?

Way to avoid the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,742 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Pkiernan wrote: »

The 'have you stopped beating your wife' question.

I have no interest or see no value in hurting the parent of a dead child.
    That doesn't alter what others have said about this case, which ia what I have quoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Pkiernan wrote: »

*Ahem*

McMurphy wrote: »
    What posts would you envisage might be hard to repeat to their faces might I ask?

I don't think copying and pasting, and linking to reports would be anything anyone wouldn't want to stand over?

The bigger question for me would be if any of the lads from FFG that unashamedly used his parents for political gains during the election, which ultimately failed anyway have been in touch with them since the election, and if not, would they be comfortable explaining why not, to their faces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

blanch152 wrote: »
    This is exactly why supporters of Sinn Fein get such a bad reputation on social media.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/ahern-apologises-to-family-about-unintended-slur-on-son-26339831.html

Ahern apologised for his remarks and cleared Paul Quinn of any blame of criminality, yet a Sinn Fein supporter on social media repeats the withdrawn remarks without the clarification. Typical disgusting disingenuous behaviour. Is it surprising that so many distrust Sinn Fein.

Two interesting points

(1) Adams: "This murder is in our view linked to fuel smuggling-involving criminals. " First, he has never withdrawn the slur on Paul Quinn. Secondly, is anyone else surprised that fuel smuggling involving criminals happen to be good republicans?

(2) "McDonald said that Murphy would meet with Breege Quinn." He never did, again, is anyone surprised? Another Mary-Lou lie.

This is exactly why supporters of Fine Gael and it's leader Leo Vardkar get such a bad reputation on social media.
    Willfully misrepresenting people. It was a true statement.
    But it was Bertie Ahearn who said it was criminal activitiy originally. He had got his information from the Gardai/PSNI.

Also using the families of murder victims in an election.

If this is the case the Journalist should retract and the Garda should be sacked, for leaking and it being inaccurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

mynamejeff wrote: »
    is politics about making money now ?
    Leave "making money" to the Workers Party. Any sign of Lynchy these days?

Bowie wrote: »
    If this is the case the Journalist should retract and the Garda should be sacked, for leaking and it being inaccurate.

FG and the journalists seem to be asking alot about online trolls lately.i really really think we need to start asking the relationship between FG and media/journalist pile ons. It's looking more and more like state ran media. These journalists also seem to have an unhealthy relationship with Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,713 ✭✭✭✭maccored

it shows the gossip that constitutes debate on this forum. disgraceful. though Im sure the usual anti SF crew will now deny they ever suggested anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭jm08

blanch152 wrote: »

This is what Bertie said:
    Taoiseach Bertie Ahern was forced to withdraw a so-called "slur" that linked the murder of South Armagh man Paul Quinn to a criminal feud.
    However, despite the concession, Mr Ahern revealed there is still no evidence to back up the belief of Mr Quinn's family that the attack was authorised by the IRA.

Two interesting points

[/QUOTE]

Whats this then?
    'I apologise for those remarks and I unreservedly withdraw them': SF's Murphy issues apology to family of Paul Quinn

https://www.thejournal.ie/sinn-fein-apology-paul-quinn-murder-4992967-Feb2020/

As for meeting Breege Quinn - didn't she say she wouldn't meet him unless he went on national tv and apologised to her.

It was this,what ultimately compelled me,from spoiling my vote to giving shinnerz number 1

Such bare faced cynicism irked me in ways i cant describe......not a single word or arrest sinve the election

Yep the same party leader, Leo dusted off the victim families for the elections, 4 months later he was having his spokesperson refute the statement of Ruth Morrissey's widow on the day she died of cervical cancer. As scandal he presided over. Absolute scum.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Who the hell is Liam Browne? I wouldn’t take the word of some crank on Twitter over that of a respected journalist working for our paper of record.

You’d rather take the word over some shill for a rag than someone who knows the individuals involved? Sums you up! All credibility lost after this. Mortified for you.

You have to admit - it's gone very quiet in here though?

....Dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Triangle

No it isn't right.
    Lots of things about a post conflict/war society are not right.

The fact is that large parts of communities that went through the conflict/war still do not trust the gardai.
    Many in what is considered normal society do not trust the Gardai and frankly, this further evidence of leaking info for political purposes is very concerning to me. How many times does it need to happen until people ask questions?

More likely he was in fear of disappearing himself and didn't trust the folks that tend to do that. AGS don't have a history of making people dissappear, unlike some......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Triangle wrote: »
    More likely he was in fear of disappearing himself and didn't trust the folks that tend to do that. AGS don't have a history of making people dissappear, unlike some......

Just evidence.

So he lets the people you guys say would do the disappearing know he has information about a crime you guys are insinuating SF was involved in, in order not to be disappeared if he gives info that nobody else knew he had until he told the people who might disappear him?

As the plot of a Netflix comedy spoof maybe with a large, very large dollop of 'willing disbelief'...as something likely to be a motivation/what someone would do in real life...nah.

They're just no good at it. Sure didn't they,Tusla and FG make an attempt to make Maurice McCabe dissapear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Triangle

So he lets the people you guys say would do the disappearing know he has information about a crime you guys are insinuating SF was involved in, in order not to be disappeared if he gives info that nobody else knew he had until he told the people who might disappear him?

As the plot of a Netflix comedy spoof maybe with a large, very large dollop of 'willing disbelief'...as something likely to be a motivation/what someone would do in real life...nah.

Looking to get advice on what to say if anything. Not complex and it's been seen in many places with terrorists or mafia historically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,285 ✭✭✭jh79

We'll just have to wait and see who's telling the truth.

Even more curious about this attempted slur here is why there's no mention of the character witness provided to the murderer by a former GAA star?

Looking to get advice on what to say if anything. Not complex and it's been seen in many places with terrorists or mafia historically.

He didn't have to say anything. The Garda weren't aware of him or his evidence until...wait for it.... the SF councillor gave them 'the break in the case'. (The Irish Times story)

Even more curious about this attempted slur here is why there's no mention of the character witness provided to the murderer by a former GAA star?

Who was that?

Surprised too no mention of the Crossmaglen GAA trip to New York as a pseudo IDA while Brady was over there. Nice cover for a family reunion. Is it normal for GAA teams to go abroad to attract industry to their locality?

jh79 wrote: »
    Who was that?

Surprised too no mention of the Crossmaglen GAA trip to New York as a pseudo IDA while Brady was over there. Nice cover for a family reunion. Is it normal for GAA teams to go abroad to attract industry to their locality?

" a character reference from Brady's former coach at Crossmaglen Rangers, Tony McEntee, was also handed to Judge McDonnell which said the GAA man had known Brady 'all his life' as a member of the club and in the local community." Oh and

"Mr McEntee described Brady as a 'reliable and trustworthy' and it was also stated that Brady's father, Tony, was heavily involved with Crossmaglen Rangers, and is a former chairman."

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/argus/news/six-months-for-ramming-three-taxis-and-garda-van-35790219.html

" a character reference from Brady's former coach at Crossmaglen Rangers, Tony McEntee, was also handed to Judge McDonnell which said the GAA man had known Brady 'all his life' as a member of the club and in the local community."

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/argus/news/six-months-for-ramming-three-taxis-and-garda-van-35790219.html

Crossmaglen have gotten off lightly so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭jm08

jh79 wrote: »
    Who was that?

It wouldn't be that unusual.

New York GAA worried too many are knocking on their door for funds
    “St Vincent’s are out soon, and Crossmaglen were here a couple of weeks ago. In fairness to Crossmaglen, they had a wider vision, they were looking for investment and invited all the GAA people.
    “I’ll say that much for them - they picked up the phone and said ‘we’re coming, this is what we’re doing’.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-20402434.html

jm08 wrote: »
    It wouldn't be that unusual.

New York GAA worried too many are knocking on their door for funds

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-20402434.html

Fair enough but when your son is hiding in plain sight over there maybe some of the other members should of suggested Boston