Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Murder of Joe Deacy

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

I'd imagine the perpetrators of this to be absolute s**thouses, obviously never met the young fella who lost his life but it's obvious from all the pictures and press coverage of him that he seemed sound out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭Treppen

dd973 wrote: »
    I'd imagine the perpetrators of this to be absolute s**thouses, obviously never met the young fella who lost his life but it's obvious from all the pictures and press coverage of him that he seemed sound out.

Dunno about perpetrators having never met him!
    Not what the newspapers and Facebook video is questioning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭LawBoy2018

Treppen wrote: »
    Dunno about perpetrators having never met him!
    Not what the newspapers and Facebook video is questioning.

Who are you referring to as the perp? I went to school with the friend Joe stayed with and I always had great time for him, most people did tbh. His life has also been completely ruined since the night Joe died. The question is, who is he protecting? He obviously knows who did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

LawBoy2018 wrote: »
    Who are you referring to as the perp? I went to school with the friend Joe stayed with and I always had great time for him, most people did tbh. His life has also been completely ruined since the night Joe died. The question is, who is he protecting? He obviously knows who did it.

if he's protecting a killer then he deserves his suffering

coward

if he's protecting a killer then he deserves his suffering

coward

I agree! It's disturbing to realise how easily someone can get away with murder in Ireland. €1.79 billion spent on AGS in 2019 and all they could muster was the questioning of two suspects, 2-3 days after a young man was found beaten to death? I despair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

I agree! It's disturbing to realise how easily someone can get away with murder in Ireland. €1.79 billion spent on AGS in 2019 and all they could muster was the questioning of two suspects, 2-3 days after a young man was found beaten to death? I despair.

Nothing new for guards in the area.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

Crazy case

It turns out that the DPP had already decided not to press charges:

https://www.thesun.ie/news/5841974/grieving-mum-joe-deacy-pain-no-charges/

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Pobby

You'd think the friend might have gone in the ambulance with Joe Deacy seeing as he had been found battered to near death outside his house.

I don't think I would have let a friend of mine go on his own in an ambulance in that situation. In fact it would have to have been exceptional circumstances to stop me going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,668 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Certainly is a bizarre case. Is it known why it took local Gardai three days to actually classify it as a murder? I mean he was beaten to death and the post mortem said he died of blunt force trauma to the head yet it took the Gardai a further 3 days to open up a murder investigation. What were the Gardai doing here, it sounds like gross incompetence to me

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Certainly is a bizarre case. Is it known why it took local Gardai three days to actually classify it as a murder? I mean he was beaten to death and the post mortem said he died of blunt force trauma to the head yet it took the Gardai a further 3 days to open up a murder investigation. What were the Gardai doing here, it sounds like gross incompetence to me

There are all sorts of wild conspiracy theories being thrown around online, but it seems that the Gardaí initially thought that Joe fell down the stairs and then somehow stumbled outside.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭jimwallace197

From the sounds of it, there was a female at the centre of the investigation according to the reports. I wonder did something get out of hand with all that booze and partying and someone (joe) got punched as a result of a perceived slight or drunken behaviour. Not that its acceptable in anyway at all but this is why one of the few reasons why I think the suspected parties may be staying silent because otherwise I have no doubt between 3 people, someones conscious would have gotten the better of them and they would have talked.

Local rural communities like this would have most likely heard about what happened that night too and the guy who told the uncle of Joe to leave it alone would suggest to me the local community are believing the suspects version of events.

Something along these lines is what I believed happened

From the sounds of it, there was a female at the centre of the investigation according to the reports. I wonder did something get out of hand with all that booze and partying and someone (joe) got punched as a result of a perceived slight or drunken behaviour. Not that its acceptable in anyway at all but this is why one of the few reasons why I think the suspected parties may be staying silent because otherwise I have no doubt between 3 people, someones conscious would have gotten the better of them and they would have talked.

Local rural communities like this would have most likely heard about what happened that night too and the guy who told the uncle of Joe to leave it alone would suggest to me the local community are believing the suspects version of events.

Something along these lines is what I believed happened

A local activist seems to be very critical of the mother of the household, which has led to speculation that she's the female at the centre of the investigation, however, I have 0 idea as to who they're referring to in the articles.

99% of the local community want whoever's responsible for his murder to be brought to justice. The other 1% need their heads examined.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭jimwallace197

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,668 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

There are all sorts of wild conspiracy theories being thrown around online, but it seems that the Gardaí initially thought that Joe fell down the stairs and then somehow stumbled outside.

Any ideas how they "thought" this, i.e were they told it by someone in the house at the time to throw them off the scent?

Also am I right to say that this is the case where the family put up a memorial to the victim somewhere locally and it got vandalised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

The Garda take their lead from the State Pathologists report on the incident. Garda Murphy just doesnt arrive on and say "Inspector Taggart theres been a murder"
    Of course if they had the expertise of the pissheads and village idiots on Boards they might have a different approach and just round up the usual suspects on the old "no smoke without fire" standard of proof

Any ideas how they "thought" this, i.e were they told it by someone in the house at the time to throw them off the scent?

Also am I right to say that this is the case where the family put up a memorial to the victim somewhere locally and it got vandalised?

I have no idea! Maybe it was the findings of the doctors who were tending to Joe's injuries who raised their suspicions with the Gardaí?

Yes, Joe's family erect a memorial every year on the anniversary of Joe's death outside the house where he was found dead. In 2018, they also set up a sort of shrine in the locality that was destroyed during the night.

https://www.joe.ie/news/joseph-deacy-county-mayo-memorial-vandalised-637110

They tried to erect a more permanent memorial but the County Council weren't happy and it was subsequently taken down, as far as I know.

Edgware wrote: »
    The Garda take their lead from the State Pathologists report on the incident. Garda Murphy just doesnt arrive on and say "Inspector Taggart theres been a murder"
    Of course if they had the expertise of the pissheads and village idiots on Boards they might have a different approach and just round up the usual suspects on the old "no smoke without fire" standard of proof

There's no need to be so rude? Why get involved in the discussion if only to fling insults at people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,738 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Looking at it from afar and with no connection to swinford it appears bizarre that progress hasn’t been made on this case.

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭Whestsidestory

Comments saying Swinford are is a ghost town with nobody around to witness anything are ridiculous. The house is in the countryside and all the people involved were socialising in the nearby town of Kiltimagh, where I'm pretty sure the household children attended school.So if there is a cover up its probably concerning the family and a small number of people, but it's hardly like the entire town of Swinford is closing ranks

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,800 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Looking at it from afar and with no connection to swinford it appears bizarre that progress hasn’t been made on this case.

Very bizarre (and sad) case.. but when you read a bit more on some of the facebook pages you can get a better idea of what is probably going on.. (a) a few people protecting each other and (b) the delay in investigating this as a murder means that there's no physical evidence, so as long as no one talks there's nothing to go on.. and whether there's a sinister connection between these two points is something I'd like to see investigated

Absolutely. It's mad to think that the Gardaí are putting more effort into investigating a murder from 21 years ago in Dublin city than they are for Joe's murder in a tiny village in Mayo in 2017:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/garda%C3%AD-renew-appeal-to-find-killer-of-dublin-teenager-raonaid-murray-1.4346174?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

the victim came from England, i wonder is that why he was attacked?

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Random Account

fryup wrote: »

I think so aswell. Targeted and is also a reason why no one seems to be demanding answers or standing up for him in Swinford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

I think lads ye would want to read up about the facts and not try and drag nationality into it. Joe Deacy was in the house that he was found dead outside the front of,drinking with the owners son,both of them sending snapchats till after 2am.

Evidence seems to be the main thing missing for a prosecution. There may be beliefs, but nothing can be proved without evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭sugarman20

I think lads ye would want to read up about the facts and not try and drag nationality into it. Joe Deacy was in the house that he was found dead outside the front of,drinking with the owners son,both of them sending snapchats till after 2am.

Agreed. I doubt nationality played much of a part here at all. There is some cover up going on here though and it likely goes beyond one family. Your heart would be broken for the Joe's family.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Upthepubs

People keep mentioning Swinford...it's BOHOLA not Swinford. The 'suspects' are welcome in the church, the local shop and the local Football club. Leading a lovely normal life (on the outside anyhow) while this poor lads family continue to go through hell. There are many people that should be totally ashamed of how they're behaving in that community...and I'm not just on about the 3 who were with that young fella in that house on that fateful morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Pobby

fryup wrote: »

I would doubt it. He has family and friends (some better than others it seems) in the area, his grandparents were born there, he was a regular visitor, a huge supporter of Mayo GAA and a player himself.

I expect he would have been at the All Ireland semi-final the following week and indeed the final if he hadn't been murdered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,919 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Absolutely. It's mad to think that the Gardaí are putting more effort into investigating a murder from 21 years ago in Dublin city than they are for Joe's murder in a tiny village in Mayo in 2017:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/garda%C3%AD-renew-appeal-to-find-killer-of-dublin-teenager-raonaid-murray-1.4346174?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

It’s amazing what people will do to “protect” family. Fair enough you take their side against attack or something “trivial” but if they’ve murdered someone there really has to be consequences.

I won’t say more on it as any thread mentioning that “case”, after it inevitable ends up back with the female suspect with close connections to a, former, high ranking provo, gets “locked”.

Possibly due to external pressure, even.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

It’s amazing what people will do to “protect” family. Fair enough you take their side against attack or something “trivial” but if they’ve murdered someone there really has to be consequences.

I won’t say more on it as any thread mentioning that “case”, after it inevitable ends up back with the female suspect with close connections to a, former, high ranking provo, gets “locked”.

Possibly due to external pressure, even.

Always found that unusual myself, Emmet. The ‘provo’ theory always gets shot down - if you’ll pardon the slightly dark pun.