Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland Team Talk/News/Rumours 2020/2021 - see Mod Note in OP [18/11/20]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

The commentator on the stream I was watching last night praised him, said he was doing a lot of work in the Newcastle CM

I was like WTF

maybe he has another job on the side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Egan, Stevens and McGoldrick start for Sheffield, Stevens playing CB today.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,713 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Egan, Stevens and McGoldrick start for Sheffield, Stevens playing CB today.

Thought Egan had to do 14 days isolation after being a close contact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Thought Egan had to do 14 days isolation after being a close contact?

Yeah it's strange, Browne playing for Preston today too and O'Dowda in the squad for Bristol yesterday too. Maybe it's different rules in the UK is it? But still only a week or 8 days since they were deemed a close contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,160 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Stevens back at LWB now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭Citizenpain

pgj2015 wrote: »
    maybe he has another job on the side?
    Must be doing something right. He’s on 30-40k a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,160 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Aurier keeps the RB slot for Spurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,508 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I see Duffy getting some implied criticism in some media for his performance yesterday, particularly playing Goldsmith inside.for first rangers goal.

Anyone watch it live? How'd he do in first big SPL test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

noodler wrote: »
    I see Duffy getting some implied criticism in some media for his performance yesterday, particularly playing Goldsmith inside.for first rangers goal.

He did fine, himself and Ajer had to cover for Welsh back there at times. The midfield was woeful in front of them though, Duffy actually ended up with most touches in the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭radiata

NewMan1982 wrote: »
    Forgot smallbone. He’s more a squad player though.

Coventry doesn’t get game time does he?

Smallbone not getting much game time at Southampton, and Coventry not getting anything at West Ham. I think Coventry came on as a sub in 1 of those league cup games.
    Wish Brighton had loaned Molumby to Millwall for a 2nd season, he wasn't part of Brightons squad today.
    Hopefully Cullen will get regular game time with Anderlecht. Midfield is an area Ireland really need to improve on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

radiata wrote: »
    Smallbone not getting much game time at Southampton, and Coventry not getting anything at West Ham. I think Coventry came on as a sub in 1 of those league cup games.
    Wish Brighton had loaned Molumby to Millwall for a 2nd season, he wasn't part of Brightons squad today.
    Hopefully Cullen will get regular game time with Anderlecht. Midfield is an area Ireland really need to improve on

The Molumby thing is weird, really surprised they didn't give him another loan.
    Today they played a CB in midfield, and Molumby still wasn't even in the squad.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Josh Cullen starts for Anderlecht. Game kicking off in 20 mins.

• Registered Users Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Stewball

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    The Molumby thing is weird, really surprised they didn't give him another loan.
    Today they played a CB in midfield, and Molumby still wasn't even in the squad.

In a standard season the loan window is usually still open past the transfer deadline day - is that the case this season?

Stewball wrote: »
    In a standard season the loan window is usually still open past the transfer deadline day - is that the case this season?

Think it's closed until January, except for free agents I'd assume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,774 ✭✭✭eire4

noodler wrote: »

He was ok. Certainly not his fault the loss. Not great but there were far worse players on the day then Duffy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Sweet jesus christ.

What a ****ing embarrassment the FAI are. If Kenny agreed to it then he is a idiot

• Registered Users Posts: 328 ✭✭scouserstation

Maybe this is the work of new CEO Jonathan Hill?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Just when I thought my estimations of the FAI couldn’t sink any lower. What a money grabbing farce.

We are right on the edge between pot 2 and pot 3 for World Cup qualification, a loss will likely tip us over while a home friendly against a beatable side could have secured pot 2. Braindead stuff, but the masses will lap it up as an opportunity to “stick one in” on Grealish and Rice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,843 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Jesus this will be embarrassing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭Raoul

Yeah, plus why not give Stephen Kenny an easy friendly against a beatable team for actual practice. Premier league clubs often play against lesser sides to allow players to gel together and get in a rhythm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,951 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Money grabbing??

Be some cut of the gate.

Not in favour of it but what do people expect the FAI to do now?

Organise a friendly away to Georgia?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Wuff Wuff

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Money grabbing??

Be some cut of the gate.

Not in favour of it but what do people expect the FAI to do now?

Organise a friendly away to Georgia?

how are Oman fixed these days?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

Wuff Wuff wrote: »
    how are Oman fixed these days?? :D

Same as they always were, phone call by someone in the previous regime to Sheik Salem al Wahaibi :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Interesting choice of fixture. Although, given recent previous matches between the sides, it could end up an extremely dull affair.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

I presume the geographical convenience was a factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭henke

It will be interesting to see with Rice and Grealish play against us or be left out anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭NewMan1982

Very tough fixture for Kenny.
    I think a softer touch for a chance to win and score goals would be better.

Someone mentioned logistics being a factor and that makes a lot of sense with covid 19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,508 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I presume the geographical convenience was a factor.

Yup.

Can't really win.

We've been playing "crap" teams non-stop in NL and the playoff apparently but now England are deemed to strong to play.

Makes more sense than heading over to Bosnia like they were supposed to. They can stay based in the UK then for that and the Wales game which also makes more sense

• Registered Users Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Zico

sugarman wrote: »
    England friendly confirmed for next month in Wembley.

Wow!

I didn't agree with the appointment of Stephen Kenny but I'm being won over with better performances and now an epic display of balls like this.

It's a hugely risky fixture but a decent showing could save the national team from it's current spiral of decline and get some buzz behind them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

If people are wondering why some are peed off,

It's not because we might get hammered to England

Its because we lose this game and we go from Pot 2 to Pot 3 for the World Cup draw.

No fixture and that's not a worry. Now if we win happy days but let's get real....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Its because we lose this game and we go from Pot 2 to Pot 3 for the World Cup draw.

No fixture and that's not a worry. Now if we win happy days but let's get real....

It's an insanely stupid decision by the FAI but I suppose I shouldn't be surprised.

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭hurlingman97

It's such an unnecessary risk 😀

• Registered Users Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Was there some chat about a 3rd place play off v Bosnia? They must’ve shelved that. Daft time to play England, new manager needs to get wins into his team

TheCitizen wrote: »
    Was there some chat about a 3rd place play off v Bosnia? They must’ve shelved that. Daft time to play England, new manager needs to get wins into his team

england were due to play bosnia in a friendly and we stepped in after Bosnia pulled out

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭Starlord_01

Wuff Wuff wrote: »
    england were due to play bosnia in a friendly and we stepped in after Bosnia pulled out

No - we were meant to play Bosnia and England had New Zealand.

oh right haha cheers

And whatever about that, it's also an unnecessary game that makes the risk of catching covid higher. Should have just stayed together as a group near Wales and use the extra training days before returning to Dublin.

The U21s have a must win game against Iceland next month. The last thing they also need is lads being pulled from the squad because senior players picked up injuries or covid related in a stupid friendly game against England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,794 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

That is not necessarily true though.

At the moment, we are just 1 point ahead of Slovakia. 7 points ahead of Iceland, and 8 ahead of Northern Ireland. All three of those countries will be playing final round knock-outs for the Euro's which have a much higher importance than our friendly with England. The chances are some of these teams will gain ranking points to overtake us.

Slovakia play Northern Ireland and the winner of that game in regular/extra time will get 12.5 ranking points. Should Iceland beat Hungary in regular/extra time, they will gain 12 ranking points.

If we lose to England, because the game is only a friendly and they are ranked so far ahead of us, we're probably only going to lose 2 points or so. In fact, we actually only have to draw the match and we will actually gain about 2 points.

There are so many permutations on how the rankings will pan out with 3 games to go and a half dozen teams in the hunt, but the potential loss of 2 points should we get beaten by England will not likely be the difference.

Looking at the games ahead, at an absolute minimum (and assuming we don't somehow beat England), we MUST beat Bulgaria, and we MUST not lose to Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,951 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

TheCitizen wrote: »
    Was there some chat about a 3rd place play off v Bosnia?

3rd place of what? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Not sure, but if you had've offered it to Mick at the start of the campaign he'd have snapped your hand off

There was some agreement that the losers of the two play off semis would play each other like how they do with third place play offs in international tournaments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭adaminho

In fairness England haven't beaten us since 1985! That includes the European championship finals, World cup finals and and a Euro qualifier.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

adaminho wrote: »
    In fairness England haven't beaten us since 1985! That includes the European championship finals, World cup finals and and a Euro qualifier.

I agree, I think we have a great record v England. This isn't a great time for us to be playing them though.

SK has balls.

Big Balls

Some Irish people have Big Balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

So they're due...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭henke

sugarman wrote: »
    Nathan Collins straight red card for Stoke there and Darragh Lenihan with an OG for Blackburn. Not the greatest of evenings for the Irish in the Championship.

Didn't Collins have a straight red last season too. Don't know much about the incidents but I wonder does he suffer from ill discipline or is he reckless in the tackle.

sugarman wrote:
    I noticed McClean failed to make their squad again, must have been a bit of a falling out with either the club or management behind the scenes because he played a big part in keeping them up and was excellent for O'Neill when he came in. Didnt he win their Player of the Season award not 2 months ago?

Injured, out for a few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Not to forget the Big Craic at Lansdowne in 1995. We were winning that too!

fyfe79 wrote: »
    Not to forget the Big Craic at Lansdowne in 1995. We were winning that too!

A former Garda I know reckons there was more trouble after the game in 1990. Gardai had to escort/batton the English fans from O'Connell St to the port through places you'd never park your car.