Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland Team Talk/News/Rumours 2020/2021 - see Mod Note in OP [18/11/20]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Molumby has gone to PNE on loan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,036 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Good! Be great for him to be back playing week in week out. He's too good not to be. This pretty much establishes him as the first name on the teamsheet in midfield for Ireland I think... the lack of gametime was the only concern about playing him in the next batch of internationals.

As a bonus, it would be nice if he could strike up a bit of an understanding with Maguire too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,796 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

To think it would have been Byrne but for his decision to go to APOEL. Will be interesting to see who comes out best.

You'd hope it wasn't an either/or, given that they're completely different types of players...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Good! Be great for him to be back playing week in week out. He's too good not to be. This pretty much establishes him as the first name on the teamsheet in midfield for Ireland I think... the lack of gametime was the only concern about playing him in the next batch of internationals.

As a bonus, it would be nice if he could strike up a bit of an understanding with Maguire too.

I wonder will this move mean that Preston will now sell Browne who is now joint 5th best rated Central Midfielder in the Championship.

https://twitter.com/secondtierpod/status/1346397245474799616?s=21

I wonder will this move mean that Preston will now sell Browne who is now joint 5th best rated Central Midfielder in the Championship.

https://twitter.com/secondtierpod/status/1346397245474799616?s=21

He's starting pretty much every game for them, so seems fairly safe.

It's probably bit part fellas like Tom Bayliss and Ben Pearson that are gonna be displaced.

sugarman wrote: »
    More than likely, out of contract at the end of season and will leave for nothing if they dont sell now.

Ah, didn't realise he was out of contract. Maybe there's a move afoot so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

He's starting pretty much every game for them, so seems fairly safe.

Will Browne want to stick around though if he is earning 8k a week when the average Championship wage is 29k especially now that Molumby can takeover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,914 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

That's 5 Irish players they have now.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Byrne got on for the final 5 mins tonight, APOEL lost 2-1. Mick probably on borrowed time there.

APOEL got the early goal and all after 8 minutes still managed to lose it. Conceded Pen in 75 min.

Poor auld Mick's arse is in a bacon slicer, after barely three months in the job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Glad to hear Molumby got a loan to Preston, once he is playing regularly there is a high chance he will start for us in midfield as Kenny seems to rate him and he was captain of his 21s. Regarding Knight and the rumours of him getting a PL move, it's hard to know what he should do. I'd say if he went to Burnley he would have a good chance of getting regular enough game time but the style of play would not be very conducive to improving him as a footballer, West Ham I could see him struggling for game time, they have too much money and unless he really hit the ground running they would just sign another player in his position six months down the line. Palace I think would actually be a good move for him but we will see what happens.

On the topic of Knight, it is great to see him doing so well for Derby, but I don't think he is guaranteed to become a good premier league player in future. He is doing well but so were Jeff Hendrick and Alan Browne when they were at a similar point in their careers, both goalscoring young midfielders who were doing very well in the Championship but I'd argue neither ever really became better than that (so far). The step up from championship to PL is huge, I think you need to nearly be a specialist in some form to step into a PL midfield outside of maybe the bottom 4 or 5 clubs who are fighting relegation.

It will be interesting to see if Knight or Molumby or any of our young midfielders can really step up to the next level or if they will be good solid pros who can do a job at upper championship/lower PL level that we always seem to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

McCarthy didn’t last long

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I doubt Jack Byrne is too happy this morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭TheadoreT

Hard to frame that in any other way than a big negative for Jack. Hos talent may still come to the fore but youd have to think Mick was a large part of his reasoning for going there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Oh ffs I see mick McCarthy has been sacked from Nicosia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭Guffy

It would be hard to imagine that Byrne signed that contract completely blind to the possibility that Mick would be gone in the next couple of games.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭tastyt

This isn’t going to be a popular post around here but why does anyone think Molumby would take over from Browne in midfield for Preston?

Browne has proved himself year on year as a quality goal scoring championship level midfielder. I know we are desperate for a hope and a shining light but Molumby is being blown out of all proportion. He couldn’t get into the Brighton match day squad , he’s 22 this year so he’s not a 17 ye old hot prospect.

I like the lad and he has a brilliant attitude and is possible captain material because of his drive and passion but he’s had one decent loan spell with Millwall who’s fans loved him for his heart on sleeve approach.

This is a good move for him and I hope he makes an absolute dope out of me and turns into a premier league regular with a top club .

I’m not sure he has the quality though , I just hope in the long run he offers us more than Hendrick , McCarthy , Hourihane, Browne

The very best of luck to him though and I hope we don’t put too much pressure on him

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

The equivalent of the Cyprus Tony Pulis to be handed the top job. Jack Byrne (the fancy Dan) can take a hike and continue from where he left off in Kilmarnock in 2018... back to the slow descent... You have to feel for Jack. Maybe he'll be lucky with new manager but they seem like a trigger happy basket case of a club.

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭TheadoreT

Feels like a much lower class version of what happened to Robbie when he went to Inter.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,713 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

tastyt wrote: »
    This isn’t going to be a popular post around here but why does anyone think Molumby would take over from Browne in midfield for Preston?

Nothing to do with talent I thought just that he's been signed as a replacement because Browne is in the last 6 months of his contract and theres a good chance Preston will sell him now rather than lose him for free in the summer.

In fairness to Mick, it does look like a lot of the fans anger is directed towards the owners, rather than Mick himself, who seems to be viewed as a pawn in something larger clusterfuk.

Regardless of what happens, this cannot be good for Byrne. As one of Mick's players, he's going to be under pressure to prove himself, and given how happy APOEL are to turnover personnel, he will not be afforded time.

Phil Kitromilides
    @PhilKitro
    ·
    50m
    Looks like Mick McCarthy's foray into the chaotic world of Cypriot football as manager of APOEL is over. He's leaving the biggest club on the island after nine games just above the relegation zone following their worst run since 1957. https://m.kathimerini.com.cy/gr/athlitismos
    Worst run since 1957!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Wow! That's pretty unsurprising and if Jack is surprised he needs to sack his agent. An odd move is looking more puzzling now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The same Mick McCarthy who was 100% sure to get us to the Euros had he stayed on.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

What's the Cypriot for "get the ball into the box!"?

Spare a thought for Joe Garner as well, who Mick also just brought in a few days ago after working with him at Ipswich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭henke

Odd that he sanction Mick to bring in his own signing merely days before they sack him. I hope it works out for Byrne.

henke wrote: »
    Odd that he sanction Mick to bring in his own signing merely days before they sack him. I hope it works out for Byrne.

Byrne and Garner both being on frees probably helped a lot. Byrne in particular has a lot of resale value given his age and ability. Garner is 32, so not so much.

Yeah, really hope it works out ok there. He's good enough that it should - but it's not ideal to be going straight into a situation of playing for a manager that didn't sign you, and perhaps didn't even know of your existence until a few days ago.

It is Greek or Turkish with their own slant on it.

Apparently - 'Get the ball in the box' in Greek is:

Πάρτε την μπάλα στο κουτί

Pronounced (Párte tin bála sto koutí)

-

However, I think 'My arse is in the bacon slicer' is more appropriate for Mick.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2002/jun/11/worldcupfootball2002.sport28

Ο κώλος μου είναι στο μπέικον

Pronounced: (O kólos mou eínai sto béikon)

The same Mick McCarthy who was 100% sure to get us to the Euros had he stayed on.:pac:

I think he would have, he would have been a lot more pragmatic and less naive and idealistic than Kenny. He handed a great position on a plate to Kenny and he managed to make a pigs ear of it no matter how you dress it up.

I can't really make sense of this argument... naive and idealistic? We kept a clean sheet, played well, and created some great chances, including an absolute sitter. You think a more defensive approach, sitting back and giving Slovakia more of the ball would have made more chances for us? Mick's away record was especially awful, so there's really nothing to point towards to say he'd have done any better.

Also, how did he hand Kenny a good position? Literally nothing that happened in Mick's tenure had anything to do with us being in a playoff. We got handed a playoff by default, despite finishing dead last in our NL group.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

He handed a great position on a plate to Kenny and he managed to make a pigs ear of it no matter how you dress it up.

Seriously? What great position?
    Martin O'Neill gave Kenny the playoff.
    MM gave him a team that only managed to (barely) beat Gibraltar away and with no striker to speak of.
    SK was expected to go away to Slovakia and Bosnia and win?
    I assume you are joking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Wuff Wuff

either "topu kutuya sok" or "πάρτε την μπάλα στο κουτί" as Turkish and Greek are their national languages.

Edit: only seen Gormdubhgorms post now.... serves me right for trying to be a smartarse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I can't really make sense of this argument... naive and idealistic? We kept a clean sheet, played well, and created some great chances, including an absolute sitter. You think a more defensive approach, sitting back and giving Slovakia more of the ball would have made more chances for us? Mick's away record was especially awful, so there's really nothing to point towards to say he'd have done any better.

Also, how did he hand Kenny a good position? Literally nothing that happened in Mick's tenure had anything to do with us being in a playoff. We got handed a playoff by default, despite finishing dead last in our NL group.

Slovakia also had chances in that game. That match has been hyped up to almost mythical levels because it was the best of a truly horrendous run of games. It's also been written out of history by the same people who constantly remind us of Kenny's bad luck with Covid cases that Slovakia at the time went into the game missing three key players.

You say there's nothing to point towards McCarthy doing any better but there is: McCarthy's sides scored more goals and earned more points. For all the undeserved praise that Kenny's supposed attacking approach brings, the end result was 1 goal scored from a set-piece. We were embarrassed against lesser ranked sides under Kenny in a way that didn't happen under McCarthy.

Anyone taking enjoyment from McCarthy's failure at Apoel should familiarise themselves with where Dunfermline ended up under Kenny.

I find the whole idea that one supports Kenny and despises McCarthy or vice versa kinda strange.

Who has taken enjoyment from McCarthy's difficulty at Appoel? And these people really exist, why would studying Dunfermline influence their view of McCarthy's tenure in Cyprus? I'm not really sure of the correlation at all..."if you think he did well or badly, compare it with this effort by a different manager in a different country 15 years ago"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

The FAI may have a job opening soon, once they get the “Mr 8 games 0 wins, 1 goal” project out of their system. I’d take Mick back in a heartbeat.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

I find the whole idea that one supports Kenny and despises McCarthy or vice versa kinda strange.

Who has taken enjoyment from McCarthy's difficulty at Appoel? And these people really exist, why would studying Dunfermline influence their view of McCarthy's tenure in Cyprus? I'm not really sure of the correlation at all..."if you think he did well or badly, compare it with this effort by a different manager in a different country 15 years ago"

Everything and everyone must be divided up into camps these days.

Slovakia also had chances in that game. That match has been hyped up to almost mythical levels because it was the best of a truly horrendous run of games. It's also been written out of history by the same people who constantly remind us of Kenny's bad luck with Covid cases that Slovakia at the time went into the game missing three key players.

You say there's nothing to point towards McCarthy doing any better but there is: McCarthy's sides scored more goals and earned more points. For all the undeserved praise that Kenny's supposed attacking approach brings, the end result was 1 goal scored from a set-piece. We were embarrassed against lesser ranked sides under Kenny in a way that didn't happen under McCarthy.

No doubt that match ultimately wasn't good enough for us, but I fail to see any real argument that Mick in particular would have made things any better. Like, if we had conceded, I could see an argument that he might have kept us tighter and at least got a 0-0. But we ended up with a clean sheet anyway, so what exactly was he gonna bring to the table? Mick had a few chances at win-or-bust and failed them all (that last home match against an utterly apathetic Denmark still irritates the fuck out of me - that game was so clearly there to be won!), so I just fail to see how it wouldn't have ended up the same or worse in this instance. Two bad options with two bad outcomes imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Done deal.

Unusual way to sell/loan him but its amazing what you can get there......:pac:

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Seriously? What great position?
    Martin O'Neill gave Kenny the playoff.
    MM gave him a team that only managed to (barely) beat Gibraltar away and with no striker to speak of.
    SK was expected to go away to Slovakia and Bosnia and win?
    I assume you are joking?

OK the 'on a plate' line was a bit tongue in cheek.

But there were a number of reasons I think McCarthy would have done better.
    1) He knew his players
    2) He had a set way of playing
    3) Concentrated on set pieces Ireland's strength - based on the players available
    4) Would have played more direct than Kenny what the Irish team is/was used to - and would have more chance of unsettling the opposition.
    5) The opposition were hardly world beaters and could have been beaten

All just my opinion of course. I have nothing against Kenny but I feel he tried too much, too soon. Should have just tweaked things a little bit - but kept a bit of directness and focus on set pieces (Ireland's best chance of scoring - some would say only chance). At least kept the tempo and urgency.

I have nothing against Kenny he was thrust into crucial matches and basically had to learn on the job. I feel Kenny is making the mistake of trying to fit a system to unsuited players, rather than get a system and method of playing which suits the players available. Just my opinion.

Much like when Mick McCarthy tried to play Roy Keane as a sweeper. I think it was against Iceland - maybe 1996?

I also think the players are not there to play the way Kenny wants Ireland to play. Results have proved this and Ireland offer even less threat as they are much easier to defend against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

The FAI may have a job opening soon, once they get the “Mr 8 games 0 wins, 1 goal” project out of their system. I’d take Mick back in a heartbeat.

Here come the glory days!

I suppose Mick's last term is so far in the past that you have whipped out the rose-tinted glasses already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Stunning revisionism there.
    McCarthy oversaw one of the poorest goal to game qualifying campaigns the country has had in a hell of a long time (7), tied with heavyweights like Georgia and Luxembourg's in the same campaign.

But its alright, Mick would have pulled it out of the bag on the night and again against the North.

The jury's firmly out on Kenny. But there isn't the slightest hope in hell McCarthy would have suddenly found the goals in that team needed to win through 2 knockout games in the space of a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Mark Travers looks set to go on loan to Swindon in League One until the end of the season.

Good move, needs to be playing more games.

Supposedly there's a 24hr recall clause in his loan deal.

James McCarthy wanted by Burnley, Villa and Celtic apparently. He's in the final six months of his contract and was told he's free to go according to some.

Here come the glory days!

I suppose Mick's last term is so far in the past that you have whipped out the rose-tinted glasses already.

Mick, like any manager who has his successor crowned before he even starts, had one arm tied behind his back by the FAI the last time. He had one job, qualify for the Euros. He wasn’t allowed finish that job. I believe that if Kenny wasn’t hovering in the background that Mick would have brought through a few young lads to prime them for the WC campaign. But as it was he had one job, knew he was going after it, so stuck with the players he knew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

Kenny will be sacked soon anyway so it'll be interesting to see who the FAI decide to bring in.

I doubt anyone would be able to get anything out of the team so it'll be a vicious cycle.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Mick, like any manager who has his successor crowned before he even starts, had one arm tied behind his back by the FAI the last time. He had one job, qualify for the Euros. He wasn’t allowed finish that job. I believe that if Kenny wasn’t hovering in the background that Mick would have brought through a few young lads to prime them for the WC campaign. But as it was he had one job, knew he was going after it, so stuck with the players he knew.

He did finish the job and failed. His job was to qualify for the euros. He didn't.
    The playoff from the nations league campaign is irrelevant to that process as MM had no part in that. They were 2 separate campaigns.

I agree with you though that naming a successor at the same point as MM appointment was a shambles of a decision but then the FAI are not the laughing stock of world football for no reason.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    He did finish the job and failed. His job was to qualify for the euros. He didn't.
    The playoff from the nations league campaign is irrelevant to that process as MM had no part in that. They were 2 separate campaigns.

I agree with you though that naming a successor at the same point as MM appointment was a shambles of a decision but then the FAI are not the laughing stock of world football for no reason.

The playoff was part of the Euro qualifying campaign. Whether you like it or not. :rolleyes:

ASOT wrote: »
    Kenny will be sacked soon anyway so it'll be interesting to see who the FAI decide to bring in.

I doubt anyone would be able to get anything out of the team so it'll be a vicious cycle.

How soon is soon?

I think no wins/goals in the next window sees him gone.

At minimum the end of qualifying when his contract is up, they don't have the money.

Even then I doubt it, unless the qualifying campaign plays out like the 3-0 loss to England where lads looked like they couldn't give a f*ck.

If younger players come through and the style of play improves he'll get a second campaign IMO, because they haven't got a pot to piss in as you said. Now if Paul Cook is still available somehow come this time next year, then I wouldn't mind the FAI approaching if Kenny moves on.