Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland Team Talk/News/Rumours 2020/2021 - see Mod Note in OP [18/11/20]

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭RoryMac

It was strange move for him professionally to leave Celtic and go part time with Ireland just as his reputation was building. He left during the lockdown for Covid and maybe that played a part in him wanting to go home as travel was disrupted.

I don't really see a return to Celtic happening at this stage and if he was to return what capacity would it be? Certainly can't see him being offered the managers job and can't think who he'd be going in as assistant alongside unless the board are picking names from a hat(which unfortunately is possible)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Parrott starts for Millwall, live on BT extra.

Arter starts for Forest.

Coleman starts for Everton.

To name a few.

Max Bardell starting for Derby with Festy Ebosele and Ola Ibrahim on the bench. Ebosele probably not match fit to start as Barbell is also a RB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,481 ✭✭✭pgj2015

its a pity Stephen ward isn't still in the squad, would love another whatsapp voicemail about what went down over the video before the England game.

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭TheadoreT

We don't get to pick British players with the most tenuous irish links and then not be respectful of their beliefs. You cant have your cake and eat it too. Either pick only irish players and lay on all the Easter rising videos you want if that's your idea of how to motivate a side or lay off the come out ye black and tans outdated nonsense if you're gonna have a GB and ireland side like we do.

You wouldn't pick a mostly black USA side and show them Tucker Carlson videos to inspire them.

TheadoreT wrote: »
    We don't get to pick British players with the most tenuous irish links and then not be respectful of their beliefs. You cant have your cake and eat it too. Either pick only irish players and lay on all the Easter rising videos you want if that's your idea of how to motivate a side or lay off the come out ye black and tans outdated nonsense if you're gonna have a GB and ireland side like we do.

You wouldn't pick an all black USA side and show them Tucker Carlson videos to inspire them.

if they don't want to play for us then they don't have to. They are most likely just playing for Ireland because they aren't good enough to play for England. They either get with the program or stay in England, it doesn't matter if they were born in England, when they are playing for Ireland they are Irish. no Irish person would have been offended at watching the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭The White Feather

They are either with us, all in or they shouldn't be playing for us.

We aren't just an avenue to play International Football. If you aren't motivated by an Easter Rising video around the nations anniversary then you shouldn't be playing with us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

They are either with us, all in or they shouldn't be playing for us.

We aren't just an avenue to play International Football. If you aren't motivated by an Easter Rising video around the nations anniversary then you shouldn't be playing with us.

What a stupid statement.

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭TheadoreT

It's not mutually exclusive to find some things the IRA have done absolutely appalling(similar to the other side) and still want to play for us. It shouldn't be dragged into football as a motivational tactic in the first place. We're completely in the wrong here.

What a stupid statement.

Speaking of stupid statements, it looks like your repeated insistence that Duff was leaving because he could not work with Kenny is right up there.

The Examiner also going with the video issue, saying...

"Indeed, rather than any fallout with Kenny, sources indicate that Duff no longer wished to work for the FAI, and that the drama relating to a leak about the video had taken its toll..."

I get that you hate Kenny and it permeates every post, but making up stuff is a bit lame...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

TheadoreT wrote: »

You wouldn't pick a mostly black USA side and show them Tucker Carlson videos to inspire them.

What a load of nonsense.

Bit more detail confirming it was the situation around the video and the FAI's handling of it that lead to him stepping down. He'll be a loss to the coaching team as similar to his time at Celtic he seems to be a very good coach who goes into a lot of detail with players individually about what it expected from them.

Will be interesting to see where he goes from here if he wants to stay in Ireland with his family

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-40203872.html?type=amp&__twitter_impression=true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Maybe the video was Duffer's idea in the first place?

RoryMac wrote: »
    It was strange move for him professionally to leave Celtic and go part time with Ireland just as his reputation was building. He left during the lockdown for Covid and maybe that played a part in him wanting to go home as travel was disrupted.

I don't really see a return to Celtic happening at this stage and if he was to return what capacity would it be? Certainly can't see him being offered the managers job and can't think who he'd be going in as assistant alongside unless the board are picking names from a hat(which unfortunately is possible)

Is it impossible though, they'll be looking for a new manager?

And while they've had some top-class ones like Rodgers and O'Neill. They've had more than their share of left-field ones too - John Barnes, Ronny Delia anyone.

Desmond tried to hire Keane for the top job before as well.

While I would like to see Keane get it or O'Neill to go back, don't think it's completely impossible for it to be Duff. :o

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I don't think the RA was in the video, so saying that we shouldn't be using that in motivational videos is nonsense. At the end of the day, our ancestors fought a war of independence against the British Empire and anyone who is eligible to play for Ireland will understand that. Some of their families may have fought in that war. It sounds to me as if Duff believes that the suits are too involved in the running of the team and that Kenny doesn't have the autonomy that he deserves, it's not their place to tell a manager how to motivate his team.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Would anyone here want to give Duff the job if Kenny was to go? A bit unlikely but he seems to well respected although it sounds like he doesn't like the FAI!!

Is it impossible though, they'll be looking for a new manager?

And while they've had some top-class ones like Rodgers and O'Neill. They've had more than their share of left-field ones too - John Barnes, Ronny Delia anyone.

Desmond tried to hire Keane for the top job before as well.

While I would like to see Keane get it or O'Neill to go back, don't think it's completely impossible for it to be Duff. :o

No it's not impossible as the Celtic board will most likely try to narrow the list down to people who played for Celtic and/or Irish so he'll make the shortlist.

But I can't see it getting much support from fans so can't see him make it over the line. His coaching qualities at the minute seem more suited to an assistant role where he acts as a middle man between the players and manager expanding on the manager's instructions but who knows

RoryMac wrote: »
    Bit more detail confirming it was the situation around the video and the FAI's handling of it that lead to him stepping down. He'll be a loss to the coaching team as similar to his time at Celtic he seems to be a very good coach who goes into a lot of detail with players individually about what it expected from them.

Will be interesting to see where he goes from here if he wants to stay in Ireland with his family

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-40203872.html?type=amp&__twitter_impression=true

Can see where he's coming from, but wouldn't it be better to stay where you are working alongside Kenny and co, as walking away now further plays into the hands of whoever is trying to undermine things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭henke

Anybody see how Parrott got on today? I see he played 80 mins. Yet to break his duck but his fitness must be getting to decent shape now and he's staying clear of injury for now.

Rangers fan??

More of a Keane fan and it could restart his career.

Would you not take O'Neill back?

Max Bardell starting for Derby with Festy Ebosele and Ola Ibrahim on the bench. Ebosele probably not match fit to start as Barbell is also a RB.

Both Ebosele and Ibrahim came on to make their debuts. Hopefully now that he's back from injury that Festy remains with the seniors.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,713 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Gavin Kilkenny starting for Bournemouth today as well

Anthony Scully scored and got motm too supposedly in Lincolns draw with Peterborough, Sean Roughan was an unused sub in the game.

That's 4 goals and 2 assists in his 16 league games. Including cup games he's at 9 goals and 6 assists. If Lincoln get promoted hopefully Scully gets another season on loan there to play in the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭secman

Fair play to Wes Holohan, 38 years old now and he's just had an assist and a nice finish himself to put Cambridge 2-1 up in FA cup.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,713 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

secman wrote:
    Fair play to Wes Holohan, 38 years old now and he's just had an assist and a nice finish himself to put Cambridge 2-1 up in FA cup.

It was a League 2 game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,796 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

It looks like Byrne's APOEL career is over. Not in the match day squad for the game tonight. Neither is Mick's other signing, Joe Garner. Needs to get a loan move pronto.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭tastyt

sugarman wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/McDonnellDan/status/1347959911561490432

Makes sense, hasnt had a pre season and hasnt really played since October, before he caught Covid.

I’m a huge Byrne fan, I really think he is our most talented midfielder and want him to start for us

But if the reason he isn’t in the squad is because he’s nowhere near fit Is true it’s a poor sign . Jack and everyone else in the country knew he was on his way to a league that was in progress. He should have made sure he was in the perfect condition to get straight into playing wherever he was going,especially when he is trying to make an impression for his new club and break into the national team with all eyes on him and his attitude towards kicking on at a higher level.

If it’s an injury ( or long term Covid complications ) that’s fair enough but if it’s just a lack of fitness and condition it’s very unprofessional stuff

Gavin Kilkenny starting for Bournemouth today as well

Kilkenny getting good reviews, some talking that he was motm for Bournemouth. Played as the pivot in a three man midfield. Interesting that they played him as a deep lying playmaker though, when I've seen him before he's played out wide or as an attacking midfielder.

I think Hendrick went an entire half against Arsenal there without getting a single touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Kilkenny getting good reviews, some talking that he was motm for Bournemouth. Played as the pivot in a three man midfield. Interesting that they played him as a deep lying playmaker though, when I've seen him before he's played out wide or as an attacking midfielder.
    He is a lad many said might make it big. Still time as he still young enough. Would like see him break into first team though in next 18 months or so. Least he making bench regularly now

Alex Gilbert making his debut for Brentford. Left West Brom in the summer to join Brentford. Has been on the bench lately for them, so hopefully a good performance from him gets him more game time after today.

I think Hendrick went an entire half against Arsenal there without getting a single touch.
    Hendrick did a bit better in the second half, but was still very poor. Newcastle are a pretty mediocre team, but even compared to Longstaff who partnered him in midfield, he was poor.

Clark had a decent game on the other hand, unfortunately he made a mistake in extra time that led to an Arsenal goal.

secman wrote: »
    McGeady scored for Sunderland there, he's probably been the best player on the pitch.

If McGeady or Hoolahan were just a few years younger they would walk into our first eleven.

Keane was a great player. He’s not a manager.

O’Neill was a decent manager, but football has completely passed him by.

16 year old Evan Ferguson has joined Brighton from Bohs.

Cap him now before Southgate finds out he's eligible :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭RonanG86

O'Neill & Keane regressed during their time managing Ireland and brought that regression with them when they went to Notts Forest.

No thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

Not really squad related because he’ll never get a call up but Padraig Amond should start today for Newport v Brighton.

If he scores it’ll be his 13th FA Cup goal, making him the all time leading Irish goal scorer in the competition. Currently tied with Robbie Keane & Jonathan Walters.

The game is live on BT Sport 1. Kick off 19:45.

Newport love the FA Cup and are a great price @ 6/1 for a bit of added interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,775 ✭✭✭eire4

16 year old Evan Ferguson has joined Brighton from Bohs.

That was agreed a while ago. I did not know his mother was born in England as that is obviously how they got around the new rules which do not allow Irish players from moving to the UK until after they turn 18 now as a result of brexit.

Talk that U19 International and Man City youngster Timi Sobowale could be on the move to Real Salt Lake City. He's held talks with the MLS club, and Crystal Palace, Millwall, Stoke and Blackburn are interested in him too supposedly.

• Registered Users Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Zico !

awful abt duff hell be some loss -talks o shea will step up

https://twitter.com/The42_ie/status/1348615453325877248

Hopefully Luca Connell makes his debut tonight. Knowing his luck he's probably one of the players that has to self isolate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

I thought Scottish football was cancelled til Jan 31?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,775 ✭✭✭eire4

I thought Scottish football was cancelled til Jan 31?

The top 2 tiers are still playing well at least for now they are.

Randolph also starting for West Ham in the cup tonight with 18 year old striker Mipo Odubeko named on the bench.

Pity the talk is he's waiting for England, as the lad looks the real deal.

Yeah? Hadnt heard. How does he qualify for England? I thought both his parents are from Nigeria and he was born/raised in Ireland until moving over to United.

Moved to England in 2015, so possibly waiting to see if he'll qualify through residency.

2015, he must feel a real strong connection to the place. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭henke

Maybe nothing worth reading into but went looking and he follows the England national side on Instagram and does not follow Ireland. Also has an English flag beside his name on FlashScore which again might mean nothing. Anyway it would be quite poor form for someone raised in Ireland. I thought there was a rule in being schooled in England for a certain number of years though and it turned out Okoflex didn't qualify for them? Not that I think he was going to get near their team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

Okoflex is on for Celtic now

henke wrote: »
    Maybe nothing worth reading into but went looking and he follows the England national side on Instagram and does not follow Ireland. Also has an English flag beside his name on FlashScore which again might mean nothing. Anyway it would be quite poor form for someone raised in Ireland. I thought there was a rule in being schooled in England for a certain number of years though and it turned out Okoflex didn't qualify for them? Not that I think he was going to get near their team.

Think his move to Celtic messed that up. He'd have only been in England four years before moving to Scotland at 16.

Okoflex is on for Celtic now
    Playing centre forward, one or two nice touches so far. Crappy service though.