Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minister for Agriculture attends 81-person golf event in breach of health guidelines

• Registered Users Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Be some laugh if meehole gave Barry the job again. Could he?

🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Will Yam

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    MM apparently not a happy man tonight

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/minister-apologises-for-attending-indoor-event-with-over-80-people-1.4335287

.... As well he might be. Martin has no choice now really but to fire him given the Cowen controversy only a few weeks ago

Catherine Martin was quick to demand the resignation of Michael Cawley.

Will she do the same for Dara?

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭bryaj

Maybe we should cut them some slack, their inability to count, reference dail voting shenagins.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,701 ✭✭✭jd

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Closest I read was Workers Party and Lorraine Higgins from Labour.
    Pat McCartan is a long time out of the WP (I think he's more FG these days), and Lorraine Higgins is no longer a member of the LP

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

From the Irish times article

“Senior political sources also expressed fury at the news. One person close to the centre of Government described it as a “disaster”, while a cabinet minister initially expressed disbelief at the revelations, then extreme anger.”

Well now. Let’s see what happens

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭new2tri19

You actually couldn't make this stuff up, as a frontline worker and my wife also we have made huge sacrifices. We are not alone, low paid workers with very little breaks these last few months. Yet Phil can fly in from Brussels for a knees up no quarantine, its a kick in the teeth this country is rotten to the core with corruption.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Barry cowen is loving this anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,655 ✭✭✭giveitholly

He will be gone in the morning

• Registered Users Posts: 82,819 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

appledrop wrote: »
    Rorys Stories has a brilliant sketch this evening if anyone can post it up trying to explain to child how farcical the whole thing has become.

https://twitter.com/RorysStories/status/1296517755022254083

• Registered Users Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

new2tri19 wrote: »
    You actually couldn't make this stuff up, as a frontline worker and my wife also we have made huge sacrifices. We are not alone, low paid workers with very little breaks these last few months. Yet Phil can fly in from Brussels for a knees up no quarantine, its a kick in the teeth this country is rotten to the core with corruption.

Not sure what to say to you, you’re dead right. After all people in the front line Have done this is a kick in the nuts, It’s not as if this is a timing issue and they were confused. This was against guidelines last week too. Hogan and Calleary hVe to go.

Struggle to see this government surviving, they are killing themselves with their stupidity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    MM apparently not a happy man tonight

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/minister-apologises-for-attending-indoor-event-with-over-80-people-1.4335287

.... As well he might be. Martin has no choice now really but to fire him given the Cowen controversy only a few weeks ago

Did Martin know then becomes the question....

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

When was hogan last in brussels?

This is comedy gold. FF and FG, same wolf just a different jacket. Oh Dear.

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Will Yam

I doubt it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

The politicians went to town on those in their 20s who broke the guidelines in Berlin D2 and rightly so.

If they don't call out fellow TDs for the same blantent disregard for public health, it's completely hypocritical.

At these those is Berlin D2 have the excuse of being young & stupid. They also aren't employed as public representatives and expected to have more sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭appledrop

There is leaks that Kildare may have to continue on with lockdown.

If that happens after these idiots at their dinner dance there will be uproar.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,156 ✭✭✭screamer

Will Yam wrote: »
    I doubt it

He’ll have to be or Mehole could be in deep water himself

The only ones needing lockdown are the 166 asses we elected to the dail.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,156 ✭✭✭screamer

bryaj wrote: »
    The only ones needing lockdown are the 166 asses we elected to the dail.

They’re too busy fncking up to lock down

NPHET are saying the lockdown should continue in Kildare apparently. It was on news earlier

From the Irish times article

“Senior political sources also expressed fury at the news. One person close to the centre of Government described it as a “disaster”, while a cabinet minister initially expressed disbelief at the revelations, then extreme anger.”

Well now. Let’s see what happens

They were painting it as journalists ****stirring earlier. Suddenly the winds have changed.

Would be interesting to know was there a garda presence in the hotel, providing security for ministers etc

Did they think the event was perfectly acceptable or turn a blind eye maybe?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,867 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Did Martin know then becomes the question....

From the tone of the quotes in the IT article it would suggest he didn't. He's more likely furious that this is "another fine mess they've gotten him into" than the actual breach of the restrictions though.

Cause political priorities > anything really - regardless of the lecturing to the public that accompanied the announcements this week.

Only for FG having some high profile people there, he'd likely have Leo kicking up too. Tomorrow's meeting on deciding the fate of the LOK restrictions is likely to be even more firery than the meeting that preceeded the decisions earlier in the week.

It won't be complied with whatsoever.

It's is so important in our recovery that he is swiftly sacked.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I agree.

No way out.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,867 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

gmisk wrote: »
    I wonder will they let Sarah Mcinerney rip into him on her last day lol

She has feck all to lose.
    It's not as if Claire Byrne will be asking the hard questions!

Nah she won't. Sean is still one of RTE's own after all, and Sarah will be very mindful of her next gig in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

Who would Hogan have to answer to if he's broken quarantine rules?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

Phil Hogan and Sean O'Rourke were there.

I cant wait to see the whole list.

• Registered Users Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Fuascailteoir

Reeling in the years for 2020 will have to be a couple of hours long to fit in all of this and still a sizeable chunk of the year remaining. Next up will be Norma unless she blends into a table in the background

They will need to be v brave to continue to lockdown kildare, ag minister at knees up while meet factories he is in charge of spread covid like wild fire. What was Hogans brief in ireland.
    They need to eat some calf nuts and grow balls, sack the hypocrites before attempting to continue to lock kildare down.

Who would Hogan have to answer to if he's broken quarantine rules?

Ursula von Der leyen?