Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minister for Agriculture attends 81-person golf event in breach of health guidelines

• Registered Users Posts: 8,589 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

He’s no loss.

Good riddance.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,156 ✭✭✭screamer

Ok he has done the only right thing at least.

Now, what about that judge that was there? He’s the one that would look down his nose at you or I.

Phil Hogan who is looking for a cushy job with WTO.

The senators who all received travel expenses when the entire country was on lockdown.

Who else?

We should stand them outside Leinster house in a non socially distanced group and fire rotten eggs at them!
    Only joking but you know nothing will happen to them, a few half hearted sorrys and then back to cushy jobs........ such is the privilege of the elite

• Registered Users Posts: 4,904 ✭✭✭gifted

Nothing on RTE about him going

• Registered Users Posts: 26,986 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

gifted wrote: »

Hes resigned

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭Jizique

gifted wrote: »

Confirmed on RTÉ

Jizique wrote: »
    Confirmed on RTÉ

Yes, breaking news, no wonder he didn't go on for interview this m

• Registered Users Posts: 8,041 ✭✭✭Patser

Is that a record for shortest Ministerial career?

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭bryaj

He has resigned, done the right thing, bollix he should have been sacked, he should resign his seat.

P hogan and the judge and the rest should follow, simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

Hotel saying they did nothing wrong??

No more than 50 in 2 separate rooms.

Does that mean we can have a wedding event of 100 in two partitioned rooms? Wasn't my understanding.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,904 ✭✭✭gifted

Yep, just heard it there

• Registered Users Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭Benimar

Patser wrote: »

I think his predecessor has that ‘honour’

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

He had no choice, 2 Agriculture ministers gone within 60 days

• Registered Users Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The government is all over the place.

Martin has no authority.

The Health and Education Ministers are amateurs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Can we come up with a better term for this than golfgate.

It lacks originality To say the least at this stage that every political controversy gets the word gate at the end of it.

It’s nearly 30 years since watergate FFS.

Plus the government has to fire Calleary or don’t dare issue anybody in this country with another guideline again.

This is Michaels Dominic Cummins moment, will he go all Boris on it and stick two fingers up at the people????

Shower of hypocritical, parasitic, elitist b@st@rds-gate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Calleary has resigned

Edit - oops, bit late - good news travels fast
    Now for the useless senators

• Registered Users Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

I don't see why any senators on this list should be getting away with this. Now that Calleary has gone, there should be just as much focus on any other public representative that attended this.

I see the hotel are putting the blame on the Hotels federation for hosting this..there should be examples made here.

It's not as if any of these senators would be a loss, clearout needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭bryaj

You can have 300 at your wedding if you wish in 6 rooms.

Happy4all wrote: »
    Hotel saying they did nothing wrong??

No more than 50 in 2 separate rooms.

Does that mean we can have a wedding event of 100 in two partitioned rooms? Wasn't my understanding.

Yep I could really see hotel staff standing up to a bunch of politicians to say you must stay in your allocated partitioned room no mixing, can you?????

Patser wrote: »

I actually think there was one way back even before Barry Cowan who lasted less time in the role, I'm open to correction.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Holy Jerry St Buttimer better f*ck off too. Always gave me the creeps.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,041 ✭✭✭Patser

bryaj wrote: »
    You can have 300 at your wedding if you wish in 6 rooms.

And a house party as long as no more than 6 in each room

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

Calleary should have resigned immediately last night following his "apology" so no question he was pushed out this morning, it was the only outcome that had to happen

• Subscribers Posts: 41,654 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Fcuk him, Good riddance.

Another public servant who thought he was about the people he serves

• Registered Users Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

So is he still a TD on the gravy train? People keep voting FF we deserve this.

Looks like his political career went over a
    Clif den.....

• Registered Users Posts: 16,349 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

This government is like a comedy sketch.

More like a blooper reel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

bryaj wrote: »
    He has resigned, done the right thing, bollix he should have been sacked, he should resign his seat.

P hogan and the judge and the rest should follow, simple.

Within FF no else will go but yes there's several more who should be off. Hogan is not famous for humility however.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

He was supposed to appear on morning radio to do interviews. That got cancelled and he resigned instead.

Essentially another sacking.

What's the odds, Leo or Ryan will pull the plug on this shambles of a government, its all playing out nicely for Leo, the most Cunning and Devious of them all