Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minister for Agriculture attends 81-person golf event in breach of health guidelines

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    So much for GDPR.

I hope and expect the Garda get the information from twitter and arrest that person. Bring the full force of the law against them

GDPR for a seating plan at an Oireachtas Golfing get together in a public hotel.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph and the wee donkey in Bethlehem, will someone please help me, I can't breathe here. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 28,215 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Has the full list of names been published, only seen the 2 pictures of the table layouts?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

He is a hypocrite. Didn't see anything wrong with avoiding property related taxes in Portugal while pushing them through here.

Just to play devil's advocate here, it wasn't a property tax it was a service charge to the management company of which as a property owner he would likely have been a member.

It's completely different to a property tax.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

McMurphy wrote: »
    This being the same Phil Hogan who flat out refused to take a token pay cut at the height of our recession, Fine Gael deputy on e110,000 'can't take wage cut'

And while introducing property tax here was in dispute with management in Portugal for charges on his own get away because "he wasn't happy with the service".

Phil Hogan refuses to pay €4k service charges on his Portugal holiday penthouse

But at the same time had no qualms whatsoever about threatening the plebs who either refused of couldn't afford to pay for the clusterfcuk Irish water he had a strong hand in introducing, to reduce their water supplies to "a trickle"

Hogan confirms €240 water charge – and says non-payment will reduce supply to 'a trickle'

Something tells me big Phil will not give a shiny shimmering turd.

I hope this fat headed cockroach chokes on his ****ing breakfast ..and for any cnut that voted for fianna fail . Jesus h christ I taught the other shower were skum but this lot are pure ****in skum....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    What has a TD holiday got to do with this? Maybe try to keep personal/professional life seperate

Hogan was 100% right, people should have been made pay for Irish Water.

He was not up to the task.
    If he had known what he was doing he would have presented in such a way that we be paying for maintainence and what ever to make water fit for everyday use. Instead they were saying how much cost to have a shower etc.
    We should never have being paid for water as there is plenty of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

I have just seen the Seating Plan.

Table 1 was Grealish, Hogan, Dara Calleary + 1 and Noel Dempsey + 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

This being the same Phil Hogan who flat out refused to take a token pay cut at the height of our recession, Fine Gael deputy on e110,000 'can't take wage cut'

And while introducing property tax here was in dispute with management in Portugal for charges on his own get away because "he wasn't happy with the service".

Phil Hogan refuses to pay €4k service charges on his Portugal holiday penthouse

But at the same time had no qualms whatsoever about threatening the plebs who either refused of couldn't afford to pay for the clusterfcuk Irish water he had a strong hand in introducing, to reduce their water supplies to "a trickle"

Hogan confirms €240 water charge – and says non-payment will reduce supply to 'a trickle'

Something tells me big Phil will not give a shiny shimmering turd.

Seen him a few years ago at the Ploughing championship. He was coming out of a tent with two lads in front of him rolling out a carpet. God forbid he'd get sh1t on his shoes walking a whole 10 feet to his car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

Edgware wrote: »
    Probably consulting with Jennifer O Neill to see where they can bring Bobby Storey in to it

In all fairness, Bobby Storey cannot be blamed for the actions of his slobbering acolytes after he had gone to hell.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭PressRun

A few days ago Simon Harris was falling over himself to tweet about bars not adhering to the rules. Now it's his colleagues breaking the rules, he has nothing to say. Calleary seems to be the sacrificial lamb. Once again, FG staying quiet as if this has nothing to do with them. Several FG senators and a judge in attendance. How long are people going to let them get away with playing dumb?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,459 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

He is a hypocrite. Didn't see anything wrong with avoiding property related taxes in Portugal while pushing them through here.

Not to defend him but you appear to be confusing or failing to understand the difference between a tax and a management fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

Resigned and not sacked by MM. Really weak leadership. He's having a nightmare.

I would imagine that MM advised him to consider his position. Every politician - even a dumb one like DC - knows what that means.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Seamai wrote: »
    I've had dealings with him, he's a waste of space. Typical of the cute hoors that politics in this country attracts.

I’ve unfortunately had dealings with buttimer too.

Leech comes to mind.

Always looking for what he can get out of it or if he can claim expenses etc.

not 1 bit interested in the substance of the issues the voluntary group I was with wanted to discuss with him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Shock. Horror.

Paul Murphy wasn’t invited

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

what is the connection between a service charge for a property and property taxes?

The connection being - ,that Phil couldn't afford the pay cut, and refused to pay his property fees in Portugal because he wasn't happy.

Yet (as I pointed out) if you couldn't afford to, or refused to pay for the omnishambles of Irish Water - he was instrumental in setting up because it was a complete and utter clusterfcuk, Phil was threatening to turn your water down to a trickle.

One rule for big Phil, another for his subjects.

I'm surprised I have had to join them dots for you tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

deisedevil wrote: »
    Ya, that's right. And open up the partitions for the speeches. Shur if tis good enough for politicians and judges.

And also allowing hotel staff attend each table throughout. So basically destroying any hope of social distancing.

And to add to that there’s reports of no masks and plenty of handshaking and backslapping etc

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

Since when has any politician cared about the people.?

We buried him recently, John Hume. RIP.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Don't forget lots of well-known FGers at the dinner too.

Besides, as I said last night, the guest list shows that for all the notion of differences between them, the establishment parties and their hangers-on in the media and other high-profile position are actually very cozy and friendly. Golf isn't the only big club they're all a member of.

Do they know something we don't ?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

How did they not see how ridiculous going to that event was, what was the thought process, it’s genuinely baffling.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

How did they not see how ridiculous going to that event was, what was the thought process, it’s genuinely baffling.

Arrogance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

Has the full list of names been published, only seen the 2 pictures of the table layouts?

There’s more than 2 I posted a tweet earlier in this thread with all of them

Should the hotel be investigated too?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,647 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Arrogance

Or stupidity.

Or both. Probably both.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,466 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The connection being - ,that Phil couldn't afford the pay cut, and refused to pay his property fees in Portugal because he wasn't happy.

Yet (as I pointed out) if you couldn't afford to, or refused to pay for the omnishambles of Irish Water - he was instrumental in setting up because it was a complete and utter clusterfcuk, Phil was threatening to turn your water down to a trickle.

One rule for big Phil, another for his subjects.

I'm surprised I have had to join them dots for you tbh.

i asked what the connection was between a property management fee and a property tax. you seem to think you have answered me but haven't mentioned property taxes at all. bizarre.

Yep. And hotback Diablo should be given a refund :D

There’s more than 2 I posted a tweet earlier in this thread with all of them

But if your not a member of the twitteratti.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

And their organisation that gave them the "advice" that ok if split in 2 rooms. This a common occurrence??

Gods Gift wrote: »
    But if your not a member of the twitteratti.

Gimme 20 mins. I’ll list everyone on the table plan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

Has Simon Harris tweeted his condemnation yet?

I think all the FFG TDs will try and deflect on the radio interviews today. I heard one of them saying earlier that we needed to focus on important topics like the return-to-school ;)

Sarah McInerney starting now on Radio 1.

Gimme 20 mins. I’ll list everyone on the table plan.

I WANT IT NOW