Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minister for Agriculture attends 81-person golf event in breach of health guidelines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

MM was well able to mention a 20 second clip from some rogue bar in Dublin during his speach the other day. This had 80 people, many of whom are politicians of high ranking. Time for him to grow a pair of balls now.

Guess we'll get the usual ehh.. ohh.. hmm.. from him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

What have Sinn Féin got to do with this?

Are they not our main opposition party ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 30,681 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Shouldnt all attendees at least start self isolating now...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 40,032 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

These lads are aware they are playing senior hurling(or football for minister in question) yeah ? I mean in a week where their messaging has been questioned and they are asking us the Irish people to keep doing the things we need to do and yet this happens. Surely he'll have to resign now because he did something that the government and public health experts are asking us to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

We're all tired of the restrictions and a lot of people are only looking for an excuse to ignore them. He has just handed them the reason they need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Shouldnt all attendees at least start self isolating now...

Yeah the public should demand that at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Ireland's Cummings moment.
    So expect the gets to stay where they are.
    And Calleary was all over the news explaining and defending the new regs then off he goes to his do.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Sir Oxman wrote: »

Maybe it was a mass eye test? Perhaps Specsavers were clearing a backlog?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Why would the Oireachtas bloody golf society be organising any public events at this juncture, nevermind one that sails so close to the wind/actually breaches laws on public gatherings?

It beggars belief that any sitting politician who will be looking for reelection would be so tone deaf as to public opinion to attend a social event like this, at this moment in time.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,167 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Does splitting the hall in two make them all 'partitionists'?

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

He simply has to go, how is there any alternative outcome here?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,599 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

[QUOTE=Itssoeasy;114370481]These lads are aware they are playing senior hurling(or football for minister in question) yeah ? I mean in a week where their messaging has been questioned and they are asking us the Irish people to keep doing the things we need to do and yet this happens. Surely he'll have to resign now because he did something that the government and public health experts are asking us to do.[/QUOTE]

It wouldn't be unknown for those representing Mayo to fall asunder for no good reason :D

• Registered Users Posts: 26,986 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

You couldn't make this up, no doubt Barry Cowan having a good chuckle. So we're to now? All credibility with this shower gone now, if this government lasts September I'd be amazed, will he resign?? Something about this agricultural ministerial job brings out the gob@#€& in people.

The next few days will be interesting, Leo too must be grinning like a Cheshire cat, his devious plan is all coming together.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭quartz1

They want legalisation to enter Private Houses while partaking in Golf Lunches for 80 the day after the declare their intention and ask the Attorney General for advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

What a bunch of hipocrites, absolutely infuriating.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,156 ✭✭✭screamer

sesame_car_photo_7_redux-1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    And Calleary was all over the news explaining and defending the new regs then off he goes to his do.

Leo’s topless picnic party, at the time we were told we could exercise, but not hang around and definitely no picnics, was our Cummings moment. Do as I say, not as I do seems to be the message from our “superiors”.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

If any of the politicians who attended had a bone of integrity in their bodies they should step down, starting with Calleary, but not stopping with him.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,599 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Dempo1 wrote: »
    You couldn't make this up, no doubt Barry Cowan having a good chuckle. So we're to now? All credibility with this shower gone now, if this government lasts September I'd be amazed, will he resign?? Something about this agricultural ministerial job brings out the gob@#€& in people.

The next few days will be interesting, Leo too must be grinning like a Cheshire cat, his devious plan is all coming together.

https://twitter.com/higginsdavidw/status/1296519068506349568

Is there a full list of who attended?

And don't forget, the Norma Foley debacle is still to come (when she unhides herself from gibbering in a corner of her office)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

If I had to reduce my wedding numbers or wasn't able to attend a funeral of a loved one then I would be fuming at the moment.

The cheek of them for a fuping golf party.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

HOw many days before he is asked to "step down"?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Guess this makes paying for the convention center pretty indefensible also clearly tds and senators from both party’s saw no wrong - along with the hotel benefiting from the reduced vat rate.

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Stewball

RTE news already repeating guests were separated in 'two rooms'.... No they weren't - it was a ****ty partition wall.

This will probably be the angle pushed tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

The fact he came out on radio Wednesday too defending the restrictions, when he knew very well he'd be breaking them that night.

Would love to hear that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

El Tarangu wrote: »
    Why would the Oireachtas bloody golf society be organising any public events at this juncture, nevermind one that sails so close to the wind/actually breaches laws on public gatherings?

It beggars belief that any sitting politician who will be looking for reelection would be so tone deaf as to public opinion to attend a social event like this, at this moment in time.

One would also question whether it was appropriate for two experienced Judges - one a Supreme Court judge - to attended such a function. By displaying such poor judgement it is arguable that they're unfit to pass judgement on others.

The fact he came out on radio Wednesday too defending the restrictions, when he knew very well he'd be breaking them that night.
    ^This
    And the fact actual funerals have restrictions nevermind in memory dinners.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,081 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Leo’s topless picnic party, at the time we were told we could exercise, but not hang around and definitely no picnics, was our Cummings moment. Do as I say, not as I do seems to be the message from our “superiors”.
    You posted this same nonsense in the other thread....topless picnic party....ffs

At that stage you were allowed to meet people if outside and 2 metres apart, he didn't have to social distance from his partner. He didn't break any guidelines at that stage no matter what way you try to spin it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭thomas 123

One would also question whether it was appropriate for two experienced Judges - one a Supreme Court judge - to attended such a function. By displaying such poor judgement it is arguable that they're unfit to pass judgement on others.

They were probably drafting the new powers legislation for the cops.