Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minister for Agriculture attends 81-person golf event in breach of health guidelines

Really sorry to hear that.

This bunch of entitled pricks have no appreciation of what ordinary people have had to go through. And I include SF with their fake funeral in that. Fcuk 'em all.

If there’s cameras and reporters at the hotel. Give us all a wave a hold up a sign saying “hello boardsies”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

Mark Killilea Jnr. Former Galway FF TD and MEP who died in 2018. His father was also a FF TD. Mark was very loyal to Haughey.

His son is a FF councillor trying to get elected to the Dail from Galway East.

The gobsh1te who, when wished "bon appétit" at the start of a meal in Brussels was reputed to have responded "Mark Killilea, how do you do."

• Registered Users Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

I think we're being very hard on Dara Calleary here.

Simple miscommunication, that's all.

New to the job, assistant tells him there's a potential photo opportunity involving pigs and troughs in Galway, he turns up, BAM!!! Both barrels. Give the pigminder a break lads.

Seamus Woulfe saw it was an AG gig, again 'confused' (the guidelines use big words) plus he gets frothy mouthed when he sees little piggies prime for skewering.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,589 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

So, yet another FF minister resigning? Did they fall so fast and thick under the previous government?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Lads losing their sh;t at a harmless event in Galway while billions have been flushed away over the last 6 months with barely a peep.

The Irish electorate get the exactly the politicians they deserve, they are a bunch of children.

Are you just upset that noone's in your echo chamber with you today? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

boardise wrote: »
    This is the guy who spent years grilling government politicians for not being perfect in their policy execution. Looks like a bit of a hypocrite now eh ?
    Just another well paid media shít stirrer.

Well he is retired. He can do what he wants.

Now there's no Minister for the West?!?!?

Who has done this to them??

Who???

WHO!?!?!????????

Edit: mandatory 'Jaysis'..

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

How does the virus know they are politicians and want to have a good time. Using the same logic they should be telling the population that the risk is low so go on about your business especially if you want to have a good time. But stay away from funerals - bad time.

That's exactly what people be doing, going about their business!

It's patently obvious at this stage from looking at the basic data there is a minimal risk of contracting or dying from this virus and this excuse of a mystical second wave is just an excuse to keep restrictions in place. Nobody is getting

Government knows the whole thing is a fugazi, do you really think if they thought that this was the killer virus we were told that politicians would be the first to put themselves in the line of fire?

Not to mention Sean O'Rourke, a few weeks ago he was advocating restrictions on the radio and then he goes along to the golf outing. People really need to put some perspective on this and start thinking rationally for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

what is the fine for breaking restrictions?

Tippex wrote: »
    “Have spoken with the Taoiseach. He has refused my request to recall the Dáil.
    He is wrong. The government is increasingly chaotic, confused, with no direction. They must be held to account.” Tweet from Mary Lou in last few minutes.

Rather silly of Big Mac. She really should have waited until the schools have reopened - because that's when the sh1t will really hit the fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

general election on the way, there's not a chance in hell they can possibly ride this one out, they've somehow managed to survive scandal after scandal but this is straw that broke the camels back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

That's the recovery gone out the window. Perception and optics drives people's behaviour.

Have just seen some staggering underlying data for Kildare, the case numbers have been hectic in the more populated towns. Goosed.

Trickle Hogan is an absolute ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,904 ✭✭✭gifted

Unless something else turns up about this golf get together then the wind has died out of this....judge and hogan have apologised....ministers now circling the wagons....

Next cock up please.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭josip

I cannot wait for the press conference later where they have the balls to extend the Kildare lockdown. I hope to god that the media tear them apart completely.

The media who replaced Sean O'Rourke, etc ?

jonnny68 wrote: »
    general election on the way, there's not a chance in hell they can possibly ride this one out, they've somehow managed to survive scandal after scandal but this is straw that broke the camels back.

A GE will take place only if MM fails to win a Dail vote of confidence. So how do you see this happening?

That's exactly what people be doing, going about their business!

It's patently obvious at this stage from looking at the basic data there is a minimal risk of contracting or dying from this virus and this excuse of a mystical second wave is just an excuse to keep restrictions in place. Nobody is getting

Government knows the whole thing is a fugazi, do you really think if they thought that this was the killer virus we were told that politicians would be the first to put themselves in the line of fire?

Not to mention Sean O'Rourke, a few weeks ago he was advocating restrictions on the radio and then he goes along to the golf outing. People really need to put some perspective on this and start thinking rationally for themselves.

TDs implementing policy such as this while knowing it's not required would be like turkeys voting for Christmas.

You're not well. Take an afternoon nap.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

It's patently obvious at this stage from looking at the basic data there is a minimal risk of contracting or dying from this virus and this excuse of a mystical second wave is just an excuse to keep restrictions in place.

Why would the Government want to keep the restrictions in place if there was no need for it?
    Because the like shelling out billions on the covid payment an grants? They want to lose the revenue generated from tourism and the pubs?

Or just for the craic?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Funny how some people here seem to be holding Sinn Féin, who had no input into the restrictions that the Clifden 81 broke, to a higher standard than the Government.

WTF does this mean? Most people would just be happy if they didn't celebrate and glorify thugs and murderers - and run them as candidates or allowed people give evidence against murderers. If they even managed that they could get a "pass" on their "magic porridge pot" economic policies

What is wrong with Fianna Fail though? This was there chance to redeem themselves but we are immediately back to cowboy politics. Makes you weep for them. Looks as if Leo had plenty to be arrogant about - though Phil Hogan should be taking a walk too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

McMurphy wrote: »

She knew what she was at. Rightly so.

She should have got the gig but was up against the likes of these pigs.

gifted wrote: »
    Unless something else turns up about this golf get together then the wind has died out of this....judge and hogan have apologised....ministers now circling the wagons....

Next cock up please.

Up on the block for the chop is it?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

If you could understand what the clown was mumbling on about it would help, always sounds like he is talking with his mouth muffled by something.

Supposed to be very bright, then again the same was said about Brian Cowen

• Registered Users Posts: 5,052 ✭✭✭endainoz

Lads losing their sh;t at a harmless event in Galway while billions have been flushed away over the last 6 months with barely a peep.

The Irish electorate get the exactly the politicians they deserve, they are a bunch of children.

I thought I already had you on my ignore list, thanks for reminding me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

They just played a clip on the radio from Dara Calleary this week where he blamed young people for the rise in cases and said 'Covid loves to party'. Unreal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Tippex

josip wrote: »
    The media who replaced Sean O'Rourke, etc ?

no the likes of Gavin Reilly and Aoife Grace moore who have broken the story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

An Ri rua wrote: »
    TDs implementing policy such as this while knowing it's not required would be like turkeys voting for Christmas.

You're not well. Take an afternoon nap.
    Why would the Government want to keep the restrictions in place if there was no need for it?
    Because the like shelling out billions on the covid payment an grants? They want to lose the revenue generated from tourism and the pubs?

Or just for the craic?

Are you really that naive? This is what politicians live for, have you never heard the political expression "never waste a crisis" ?

The simple facts are that people are not getting sick from this virus, so why do we need these restrictions?
    Politicians love this type of thing because it gives them an opportunity to implement policies that they will ultimately benefit from.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

Truthvader wrote: »
    they could get a "pass" on their "magic porridge pot" economic policies

SSJ I've heard it all now, someone talking about Sinn Fein's 'magic porridge pot', while this government has money trees growing on every street corner for the last few months. Brilliant!!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,215 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

what is the fine for breaking restrictions?

Nothing, 6mts in prison for not wearing the mask getting a liter of milk is the only one.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭josip

no the likes of Gavin Reilly and Aoife Grace moore who have broken the story.

Do they get invited to the NHPET pressers?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Are you really that naive? This is what politicians live for, have you never heard the political expression "never waste a crisis" ?

The simple facts are that people are not getting sick from this virus, so why do we need these restrictions?
    Politicians love this type of thing because it gives them an opportunity to implement policies that they will ultimately benefit from.

*Unfollows thread