Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minister for Agriculture attends 81-person golf event in breach of health guidelines

• Registered Users Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I don't know how but we need to put pressure on Dara Calleary and the other TDs at the event to resign. Not to give up his responsbility while trying to keep his money but actually resign, leave the government and Fainna Fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

markodaly wrote: »
    Deflect?

We are talking about Enda Kenny who is not even a TD anymore and has not been Taosieach since 2017. VB is also retired... so what has this to do with the topic on hand?

Hey Mark, did you hear the one about the FF Minister for Agriculture that had to resign after a month because he ignored restrictions that his cabinet had imposed just 1 day before?

Or the other FF Minister for Agriculture who was fired after a month because he was was caught drink driving and driving on his own with a provisional license?

The clue is in the thread title.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Hey Mark, did you hear the one about the FF Minister for Agriculture that had to resign after a month because he ignored restrictions that his cabinet had imposed just 1 day before?

Or the other FF Minister for Agriculture who was fired because he was was caught drink driving and driving on his own with a provisional license?

And Enda Kenny and VB has what to do with this?

Exactly.

https://www.independent.ie/opinion/comment/three-phone-calls-sealed-callearys-fate-hard-to-believe-public-will-be-satisfied-with-just-one-person-out-of-80-losing-their-job-39468996.html
    Three telephone calls sealed Dara Calleary’s fate and ended his short lived career as a Cabinet minister.

The first came not long after Taoiseach Micheál Martin learned about his deputy leader’s attendance at an Oireachtas Golf Society dinner the previous evening.

Calleary doesn’t play golf, but attended the dinner which was also honouring former Fianna Fáil minister of State Mark Killilea who is a close family friend.

You'll love this one.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/commentanalysis/arid-40036139.html
    An empowered Mr Calleary even took to the airwaves on Tuesday evening after the latest lockdown measures were announced, scolding the irresponsible young people and those damn house parties that were to blame for the latest spread of the virus.

Resolute, and with the weight of his position as a senior member of Government, he warned the nation "Covid loves to party".

Less than 24 hours after his public warning, he was out enjoying himself with dozens of others — offering two fingers to his own advice, and that of the Taoiseach and health experts.

So Enda Kenny and VB have zero to do with this topic you agree.

You brought it up to deflect.

Hey check this one out...

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/dara-calleary-angry-and-disappointed-at-not-making-minister-1.4291326
    New chief whip Dara Calleary has admitted he was angry and disappointed at not being appointed a full Minister in the new Cabinet.

Speaking on Mid West Radio, Mr Calleary said the weekend had not gone as he had expected.

When asked what new Taoiseach Micheál Martin had said to him, he replied he was not going to reveal what had been “a private and incredibly painful” conversation.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Acosta

The flippant remark was a disgrace. If any journalist said that today, they would be fired within a day.
    I 100% stand by Enda not bothing talking to 'that man'.

It was a stupid and crass thing to say for which he immediately apologised. He hardly meant it literally. It was a silly way of describing his view at the time on Kenny's future as FG leader.
    It turned about to be a gift for Kenny as he used it as an excuse to avoid VB interviews for the next decade.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

No more than anyone else. Have you broken a restriction yourself?

But going on national radio that morning of golfgate and telling people what they should be doing during covid and knowing he was going on a jolly boys night out, show how much self entitlement he has , sure when mayo didn’t get a ministry he throughout the rattle out of the pram.
    Maybe he kicks up now to the gaa his self entitlement might get you Sam from the gaa.

https://www.thejournal.ie/mayo-dara-calleary-council-barry-cowen-fianna-fail-taoiseach-5150811-Jul2020/
    IN Mayo, the mood was buoyant yesterday after it was confirmed that Fianna Fáil deputy leader Dara Calleary would take up the vacated post of agriculture minister – a silver lining of sorts for the party’s western branches after a disastrous start to Micheál Martin’s tenure.

‘Delight’ was the watchword for Fianna Fáil councillors who spoke to TheJournal.ie, even as they played down the damage Martin’s initial snub had caused to internal party relations.

Over here MarkO ;)

Where do ye get those blinkers?? They are foolproof...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Acosta wrote: »
    It was a stupid and crass thing to say for which he immediately apologised. He hardly meant it literally. It was a silly way of describing his view at the time on Kenny's future as FG leader.
    It turned about to be a gift for Kenny as he used it as an excuse to avoid VB interviews for the next decade.

Also off topic, but it was hilarious when Kenny fell over a flower pot trying to get away from Ursula Halligans questions, even funnier was Kenny's handlers claim that
    Halligan assaulted Kenny.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,179 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Acosta wrote: »

What mark is also ignorinf is that as well as apologising Browne offered to stand aside as host of the debate but Enda still refused.

When you see the cosy relationships you can guess it was about control.

You brought it up to deflect.

No, I think you must be terribley confused. Other posters brought it up, your buddy Francie for example.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

New details of the dinner have also emerged which reveal guests complained about the partition between the two sections of diners in attendance.

Guests also complained they could not hear speeches because of the division.

The wall between the two rooms also had to be parted to allow Fianna Fáil senator Niall Blaney walk through to accept the president's prize after winning the tournament.Some guests described the event as a "damp squib" due to the restrictions.

It has also emerged there was discussion about cancelling the event.However, it was decided it was possible that it could go ahead without breaching the safety guidelines.
    https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/phil-hogan-still-defiant-amid-anger-over-clifden-golf-event-39469466.html

Meanwhile Im getting ready for tonights house party with 30 people invited. We've got partitions walls to stop the virus spreading so Im just putting 6 guests in the kitchen, living room and each of the three bedrooms.
    That stratgey wont give the virus a chance whatsoevericon14.png

• Registered Users Posts: 69,179 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Muahahaha wrote: »
    https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/phil-hogan-still-defiant-amid-anger-over-clifden-golf-event-39469466.html

Meanwhile Im getting ready for tonights house party with 30 people invited. We've got partitions walls to stop the virus spreading so Im just putting 6 guests in the kitchen, living room and each of the three bedrooms.
    That stratgey wont give the virus a chance whatsoevericon14.png

All overseen by the Dail health and safety officer.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Great post/read.

The Irish Examiner is a fine newspaper.

Just as good, and from the same newspaper is this addition but Mick Clifford.

Kind of hard to argue with some of his points.
    On Thursday, the Irish Examiner broke the story of the Oireachtas golf society outing that was in complete breach of public health guidelines. Aoife-Grace Moore and Paul Hosford detailed the attendance at a function of 80 people, including senior politicians, a supreme court judge, an EU commissioner, and the head of the Irish Banking Federation.

Resignations rightly followed, but basic questions arise about how so many with leadership roles thought they were above and beyond the guidelines that apply to everybody else.

Did any among them for a second wonder how it might look when, not if, this got into the public domain? Surely such a collection of individuals, with their respective experience, knew that it would not remain inside the walls of the function room where they gathered?

Did any of them consider the funerals, weddings, children’s parties, family gatherings that have been foregone in order to comply with guidelines we have been told must be observed?

Or, to quote a tweet from the former health minister Simon Harris: “A right kick in the gut & middle finger to everyone in our country who has worked so hard & sacrificed so much, to everyone who has lost a loved one or been sick with Covid-19, to every frontline worker and to every responsible business owner who have suffered so much. Shameful.”

Except Mr Harris wasn’t referencing the golf gathering there, but a group of relatively young punters who had a few moments of madness in the Berlin D2 venue in Dublin last weekend. Such strong words tend to be reserved for others than those who aspire to lead.

On Leo.
    Then we have the antics of another leader, Leo Varadkar. The farrago over mixed messaging is reported to have some of its origins in divisions in the Cabinet, opened up by Mr Varadkar.

Since the formation of the Government, the Fine Gael leader has given the impression that he doesn’t see his current role as subservient to that of the Taoiseach. He has repeatedly taken positions that appear designed to undermine Micheál Martin — a little dig here, a pre-emptive press briefing there.

Mr Varadkar appears to be gaming for a political future where his party capitalises on a Fianna Fáil slide towards irrelevancy.

That’s standard fare in politics as usual, but we were told that the current Government was put together in the national interest, in order to guide the country through the dark valley of the pandemic. And this is Mr Varadkar’s version of responsible leadership in a time of crisis?

And not forgetting Michaél.
    Not that the Taoiseach did anything to enhance his own reputation this week.

Ultimately, the confusion around new guidelines issued on Tuesday are his responsibility.

For whatever reason — his persona, the string of controversies, rustiness, a deficit of confidence — he has not been able to convey the impression that he is in charge, that he is leading, that he knows what is required.

Also gets a deserved dig in at the meat processing plants, and yet the govt trying to imply its the low hanging fruit of "the younger crowd" spreading the virus.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/columnists/arid-40035863.html

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40036097.html

Phil has done a runner this morning. Back to Brussels before any questions could be asked.

On Newstalk Breakfast with Eamon Torsney this morning, Junior Minister Martin Heydon said the senators involved have “paid a massive price.”

“The six senators have all lost the party whip and have lost their respective roles in the Seanad so I think a very clear message has gone to people in power here,” he said.

A massive price???? They are still senators doing nothing but junkets while on a great salary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Phil has done a runner this morning. Back to Brussels before any questions could be asked.

its recommended by Belgian authorities that he quarantines for 14 days. Wonder will the big eejit even bother.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    its recommended by Belgian authorities that he quarantines for 14 days. Wonder will the big eejit even bother.

He also knows that when he returns to Ireland he has to lay low for 14 days. The press will never get near him. Untouchable as usual.

I wonder will Leo answer any questions on his movements and his knowledge of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Big Phil talking pure and utter scutter - and he dam well knows it.

These two sentences are not compatible with each other at all.
    Having declined to initially, Mr Hogan has apologised for attending the event, but said that he had been assured it would follow the Covid-19 guidelines.

A statement last night apologised for "the distress" his attendance had caused.

Mr Hogan had been isolating at an address in Kildare following his return from Brussels.

These two to be precise.
    but said that he had been assured it would follow the Covid-19 guidelines.

Mr Hogan had been isolating at an address in Kildare following his return from Brussels.

Kildare was and still is under lockdown, and big Phil ignored covid guidelines leaving the county to go to Co Galway no ifs, no buts, no exemptions and no excuse.

Neck on Jim like a jockeys bollox.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭stockshares

I was a fan of O'Rourke, and agree...at times you wanted him to keep pressing with the questions.

You have to ask now was the backing off because of the invitation on his mantelpiece. You'd also have to ask would the likes of Vincent Browne be invited to something like this?

FG made it quite clear to Vinnie that he was off Enda's xmas card list if he asked any hard questions.

His Wife worked for Charlie Flanagan when he was Minister for Justice https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/rte-stalwart-leaves-to-advise-justice-minister-36799190.html

I think she also advised Enda Kenny at one stage but I could be wrong about that.

Enda Kenny's wife worked for Fianna Fail believe it or not. There was no chance of him going hard on any of the in crowd. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fionnuala_Kenny

The last person they wanted presenting his show was Sarah McInerney. Claire Byrne suits them down to the ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

McMurphy wrote: »

These two to be precise.

Kildare was and still is under lockdown, and big Phil ignored covid guidelines leaving the county to go to Co Galway no ifs, no buts, no exemptions and no excuse.

I think his claim is that he was quarantining in Kildare, went to Dublin for a hospital appointment/procedure, and went to Kilkenny to convalesce before heading from Kilkenny to Galway for the shindig. That was the version I heard somewhere yesterday, but tbh I wouldn't believe the sky was blue from him. I am waiting for somebody to come up with conclusive evidence to disprove him.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,105 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

McMurphy wrote: »

These two to be precise.

Did he not say he was in Kilkenny self isolating? I think the last statement said he left Kildare a few days before the lockdown for a doctor's appointment in Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Cute Hoor wrote: »
    I certainly wasn't trying to do that, as probably can be seen from any of my previous posts

Thank you for that post.
    I didn't read it as being 'Civil War' politics, I read it as a well written reminder that the FG side of the current govt showed scant regard for those deemed the most vulnerable while they had sole control of the reins.

Nothing appears to have changed now they share control.

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭WAW

Bring me the head of Phil Hogan...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

This will make a great film or miniseries. Who will play the main characters though?
    Eugene Levy or Dan Hedaya as Dara C maybe?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭Chiparus

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    You and I did, get over it. Taxes get paid by the many and the few.

You're also paying for the Garda enquiry (into a phucking golf dinner:mad:) ....and the broken traffic light in Kilnaleck, it all costs money.

No, I dont think I did, as there would be records through government expenditure this event may have been sponsored , I would like to know by whom and for how much.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭stockshares

WAW wrote: »
    Bring me the head of Phil Hogan...

Phil has returned to Brussels
    https://twitter.com/PTHosford/status/1297202130290434055?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 8,589 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I presume we all understand that Calleary resigned his ministry in order to ensure no more backlash in an effort to quell the public dissatisfaction to a Level that allows him retain his Seat first and foremost the next time round. Hopefully his constituents seek greater representation.