Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minister for Agriculture attends 81-person golf event in breach of health guidelines

• Registered Users Posts: 11,672 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Where did you hear this, thanks?

Katie Hannon from RTE posted the email on twitter, it’s under embargo until midnight and the tweet has since been deleted

Image of tweet attached

• Registered Users Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭Jizique

I reckon so! :)

Farage, the Mail and the Express will be delighted as the EU is in disarray

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Image of tweet attached

MM reacting again. Candidate now for worst Taoiseach ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Norma Foley could be the new Min for Ag, betcha. And the quid pro quo for getting out of the upcoming omnishambles of LC results and schools going back is that Bruton is back as Min for Ed!

You heard it here first, lol just having a laugh on a dry Saturday night.

Hogan is going nowhere, he is gone back to Belgium and is out of reach, sniggering up his sleeve. But the only saving grace I see there is that he is Trade Commissioner or something, and with his cojones, we probably need someone like him in the EU to fight our little corner re Brexit.

As a pp said, I'm loving all this, makes a change to have shenanigans going on during the Silly Season.

Honestly the minute FF got back in power it just disintegrated.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,179 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I'm guessing there is something coming out in the papers tomorrow that's pushed them to make a move now to protect themselves, I wonder if it's proof Hogan didn't isolate for 2 weeks on return from Belgium before going to the event?

Something afoot alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,129 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I'm guessing there is something coming out in the papers tomorrow that's pushed them to make a move now to protect themselves, I wonder if it's proof Hogan didn't isolate for 2 weeks on return from Belgium before going to the event?

It's not Phil's first resignation rodeo.

He walked the plank before more than 25 years ago and lived to tell the tale.

https://www.rte.ie/archives/2015/0209/678849-phil-hogan-resigns-following-budget-leaks/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,152 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Something afoot alright.

Although by all accounts he has to be “at work” on Monday in Brussels,once again a case of flouting quarantine guidelines....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,589 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I was saying a while back that you can be sure there is a table plan, and the picture of it has ome out.

That means that all the guests looked to check where they were due to sit, and it’s clear as day that there are At least ten tables with up to ten people Per table. Nobody at the meal can offer any excuse for sitting down in those conditions because they must have known

That should have raised flags.

I think it’s also telling that the hotel knew a minister was coming, so therefore knew he would be accompanied by a member of the Gardai and still went ahead and allowed the rules to be broken, knowing full well the Gardai were going to be there.

The same goes for the organisers, they booked the meal knowing the numbers, knowing the Gardai would have to be escorting the minister.

Fire them all.

Off at a bit of a tangent, but I have a dim recollection than when Duty Free intra-Europe disappeared twenty something years ago, a certain cohort of EU officials retained this as a “perk”. Am I completely off beam and if not, is it still available to them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Image of tweet attached

On the 6.1 News yesterday MM claimed that it wasn't within his power to ask the Dail to reconvene early.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

Seamai wrote: »
    On the 6.1 News yesterday MM claimed that it wasn't within his power to ask the Dail to reconvene early.

He can ask the Ceann Comhairle to do it

And he was quickly corrected by AK47, who pointed to Standing Order no 26 iirc

Alan Kelly then countered that saying he could...MM probably had Kelly badgering him all day and eventually caved...:D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Cannot believe how many isshhoooos have arisen since the bould FF took office again. It was overnight I think. You couldn't make it up.

Probably went straight back to Galway Tent mode. And look, I know there were FG there too but what about the Veggies? Ah they have no connections only locks for their bikes. Shoo.

Off at a bit of a tangent, but I have a dim recollection than when Duty Free intra-Europe disappeared twenty something years ago, a certain cohort of EU officials retained this as a “perk”. Am I completely off beam and if not, is it still available to them?

They certainly did, and you didn't need to be too high up the food chain to partake in the perk.

The scheme was run by a private company. There was a catalogue of nice things and the stuff was delivered by courier.

Don't know if it still exists.

Cute Hoor wrote: »
    He can ask the Ceann Comhairle to do it

What’s the betting he actually didn’t know that he could do it....wouldn’t surprise me in the slightest that it came as news to him that he could :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭physioman

Read this from dr. Hartys Twitter.... he should listen to his own advice. they have some neck.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Fann Linn wrote: »
    MM reacting again. Candidate now for worst Taoiseach ever.

He’s been in the job for less than a couple of months. Inglorious start but can’t be judged yet. Why is there always a rush to make statements like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

I read (sorry, some newspaper online I think the Indo) that Hogan met Varadkar in an 'essential' meeting at Leinster house and it was intimating it was during the period he was apparently isolating.
    If true, that is explosive IMO.
    Hogan's timeline must be about to be released.

LV would have to explain a few things - first thing most ppl ask if someone is back from abroad before/after pleasantries would be 'did you isolate' etc etc nevermind the 'face' of the pandemic, LV!
    Also, this is 2020 not c1900, pigeons and morse code for comms is long gone so face-to-face is not necessary.

jojofizzio wrote: »
    What’s the betting he actually didn’t know that he could do it....wouldn’t surprise me in the slightest that it came as news to him that he could :rolleyes:

Could well be.

Why else would he say it or was he playing with words?

A few wise old hands in Labour advising AK knew their stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

It could be game over for Phil, it's now looking like that he has lost confidence of Leo and Michael.
    Carrying country credibility in EU, he may have gone to Brussels to clear out desk.
    We will know soon enough. EU will do nothing he is our man so our credibility...

Mr.S wrote: »
    So, Dáil to be recalled.

What happens now?

MLMcD in full hairdryer mode.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

I hope no ones off out foreign on their holidays.

Healy reas won’t be happy goin back.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭golfball37

I was saying a while back that you can be sure there is a table plan, and the picture of it has ome out.

That means that all the guests looked to check where they were due to sit, and it’s clear as day that there are At least ten tables with up to ten people Per table. Nobody at the meal can offer any excuse for sitting down in those conditions because they must have known

That should have raised flags.

I think it’s also telling that the hotel knew a minister was coming, so therefore knew he would be accompanied by a member of the Gardai and still went ahead and allowed the rules to be broken, knowing full well the Gardai were going to be there.

The same goes for the organisers, they booked the meal knowing the numbers, knowing the Gardai would have to be escorting the minister.

Fire them all.

The owner of the hotel sat at the top table. A man with a history of debt write off too wouldn't you know. He put his staff and covid compliant guests in danger to scratch a few backs- the Irish way.

I’ve been reflecting on how MM said that Dara Calleary showed “leadership” by resigning on Friday morning.

I think that’s complete hokum.

True “leadership” would have been MM firing Calleary, without giving him the opportunity to resign. It would have demonstrated some resolve to try to sort out the absolute shambles it has become.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭stockshares

• Registered Users Posts: 69,179 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Any of the political historians about.

Would this be an unprecedented situation...an Irish commissioner who has been asked to consider his position by the leaders of FG and FF (Eamonn must have been having a nap as he isn't mentioned)

Surely Hogan is in an untenable position?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Sunday world saying Big Phil had just returned from a golf tournament in “covid hit Holland” before heading to clifden

He’s a goner

Good night and good luck!