Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minister for Agriculture attends 81-person golf event in breach of health guidelines

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

jelutong wrote: »
    Wigs on the green so to speak..
    What are you insinuating? That hair is his own hair. As Scrap Saturday said years ago about Cassidy's hair". "We have seen the receipt"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭Damien360

is_that_so wrote: »
    For attending a meal? Talk about a disproportionate reaction. They didn't get rid of the judge in the child porn case, they won't do it here.

Every government has always said they won’t interfere with the judiciary and they are in effect a law on to themselves. They won’t get heavy with this judge either.

As for the Kerry judge caught with the child porn, his warrant was technically a couple of minutes too old and therefore illegal. He then claimed to be too unwell to attend court and strangely every single news outlet along with the courts let him off the hook. Bet his pension wasn’t touched. He should be able to keep his own contributions but loose the state ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Hogan will have to be sacked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Based on what law?
    Just hearing possibilities discussed on radio.
    Maybe garda investiogation, there are fines/jailtime etc for rule breaks etc
    I do not know if they apply here.
    Then there's viability of a supreme court judge's reputation -> his fellow justices

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

Umaro wrote: »
    lEHJCB3.png

There you go folks, the apology everyone wanted.

Thread can be closed now, right?

He has cheek for another arse, he's going nowhere. Pressure back on Martin and Varadkar

• Registered Users Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

That last paragraph is pure "I don't answer to you saps".

• Registered Users Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭Damien360

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    Then there's viability of a supreme court judge's reputation -> his fellow justices

If you honestly think the judicatory give a damn about reputation then a quick look at the courts every week should put that view aside pretty quick. How many times has a criminal with 100 plus convictions come before the court and he gets a suspended sentence due to having a hard life. That judge doesn’t give a damn about what the law abiding plebs think of him.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Point was made on the radio this morning that it's highly questionable for a Supreme Court judge to be attending this sort of event even in 'normal times'. They were talking about the procedure for 'sacking' a judge but you would imagine the government would be very reluctant to go down this road.

The government can't go down that road. There is a defined distance between the offices of the state and the judiciary. The legal eagles themselves are the only people who can act in this specific regard.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,270 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Hogan will have to be sacked.

By whom ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

Surely if Phil Hogan had/has/gets Covid19 it will get covered up or he'll never get tested unless he is really bad given the arrogance of the man.

Looking at his travel movements, interactions with people, golf trips etc. he must be a contender for Ireland's biggest super spreader if he did catch the virus.

This is clearly a man who thinks he's bigger than the virus and has no regard for anyone he interacts with.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    I would love to know who the 8 with Donie Cassidy were.

Cassidy co signed the invitations. There could be some real skeleton there. You would wonder why these people were not named.

These names will inevitably come out, and there could be some entertainment.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Gardai will not get into this as everyone's apologised anyway. That would be the club anyway, some journalists are really wetting themselves over this. Much bigger issue is next week.

If it means the media are still screaming about it next week rather than looking at the schools reopening the government won't be too unhappy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

I hear The Coronas were the band for the night.

Surely if Phil Hogan had/has/gets Covid19 it will never covered up or he'll never get tested unless he is really bad given the arrogance of the man.

Looking at his travel movements, interactions with people, golf trips etc. he must be a contender or Ireland's biggest super spreader if he did catch the virus.

This is clearly a man who things he's bigger than the virus and has no regard for anyone he interacts with.

If even one of the 80+ gets as much as a sniffle they will all have to get tested. Also the hotel staff and any other guests.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

funny, no regulations were broken on the first day of the event.

It was because of the knee jerk reaction of Micheal Martin and Stephen donnelly that new recommendations were announced on Tuesday to take effect the next day.

The fact that most news outlets did not give full details and that not many realised the sudden change happened seems to be ignored.

Certainly Calleary had to go as he was fully aware of the new regulations - but the rest, it's just a witch hunt imo.

If it was held on friday - different story.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,152 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

DeanAustin wrote: »
    I’d assume the 105 minute rule applied to them. Probably a minor detail but wonder if that was observed.

Well nothing else in the regulations was,so I would doubt it very much...

Damien360 wrote: »
    If you honestly think the judicatory give a damn about reputation then a quick look at the courts every week should put that view aside pretty quick. How many times has a criminal with 100 plus convictions come before the court and he gets a suspended sentence due to having a hard life. That judge doesn’t give a damn about what the law abiding plebs think of him.
    I think they do when it may encroach on their and the institution's reputation (in this case)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,152 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

silver2020 wrote: »

It was because of the knee jerk reaction of Micheal Martin and Stephen donnelly that new recommendations were announced on Tuesday to take effect the next day.

The fact that most news outlets did not give full details and that not many realised the sudden change happened seems to be ignored.

Certainly Calleary had to go as he was fully aware of the new regulations - but the rest, it's just a witch hunt imo.

Martin was specifically asked at the press conference on Tuesday if the regulations were effective from midnight or immediately and he responded “immediately “

If it means the media are still screaming about it next week rather than looking at the schools reopening the government won't be too unhappy.
    The fallout surely from schools reopening will be at least two weeks away (hopefully no fallout due to big rises in cases)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Liamo57

I think Muttonhead Hogan should be made Taoiseach ASAP. He's a bully and they are all afraid of him. MM is a wimp, he walks like someone who's underpants is too tight for him. Up Big Phil. I bet he'll brazen it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

jojofizzio wrote: »
    Did Donie Cassidy have a table to himself coz he insisted on social distancing??
    Or did nobody want to sit with him??

There were a few bigwigs at his table by all account.

Also re-Hogan, the investigation into his timeline while here is not fully clear or nailed down.
    He insisted he self-isolated for 14 days but reports are he moved from Kildare after 7/8 days there to Dublin (meeting) and Kilkenny (home)

I think they do when it may encroach on their and the institution's reputation (in this case)
    He was at it in a private capacity and just eating and drinking. It had nothing to do with the institution.

silver2020 wrote: »

Ordinary Joes across the country were cancelling kids football/making alt arrangements etc the evening of the announcement so...

The fallout surely from schools reopening will be at least two weeks away (hopefully no fallout due to big rises in cases)
    Oh, I think it'll be a daily report from day 1, like the hospital trolley count!

He was at it in a private capacity and just eating and drinking. It had nothing to do with the institution.
    I don't think that matters when you're on the Supreme Court.

Oh, I think it'll be a daily report from day 1, like the hospital trolley count!
    Jaysus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Liamo57

Cassidy has a car boot full of wigs for every ocassion. He has a formal wig for dinner dances so that the strobe lighting makes him look like John Travolta on the dance floor when he'd be jiving to 'Stop the world and let me off"

Three on Radio 1 shiortly, Varadkar, McDonald and someone else I didn't catch name of. <--Jim O Callaghan
    Interestingly, they announced all the others by name who they contacted to come on and who were 'unavailable' including Sean O'Rourke ?<---RTE turning a corner?
    Are even RTE wholly pissed off as the majority of the country are?