Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minister for Agriculture attends 81-person golf event in breach of health guidelines

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

Jim O'Callaghan may be about to launch his leadership campaign now on RTE Radio 1 news

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Letter to the Examiner from a Doctor sums up just how stupid this 'rules lawyering' use of a partition was - did they think the virus wouldn't see the gap?
    ...We in healthcare isolate ourselves from family and friends when we are exposed. I have many colleagues who got Covid-19 in work and had a very difficult time with it and afterwards.

We are seeing more and more outbreaks now in congregated settings.

Then some muppet said it was OK because there were 40 in one side of the room and 40 in the other side...

This is like having a pissing section in a swimming pool or a smoking section in one half of the room.

Really. Are you having a laugh here? Talk about adding insult to injury. How arrogant, stupid, irresponsible are these idiots?

I don't write to newspapers but this was so outrageous that I had to comment.

The vast majority of people are genuinely trying to self isolate, wash hands, wear masks, socially distance, and minimise risk to themselves and others.

This is just reckless and incredibly dangerous behaviour....

Professor D William Molloy

Centre of Gerontology and Rehabilitation,

St Finbarr's Hospital, Douglas Road, Cork
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/yourview/arid-40036022.html#.X0FrfdXi0mI.twitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Jim O'Callaghan going rogue on Martin here?

He wants Hogan to remain in his position. Tbf his reasoning has merit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

O'Callaghan pulling back from outright hanging Hogan - "Ireland cannot afford to lose him basically". FF position.
    He says the govt 'had to say something' when asked was Martin/Varadkar wrong yesterday so!
    Jesus Christ.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Cute Hoor wrote: »
    Jim O'Callaghan may be about to launch his leadership campaign now on RTE Radio 1 news

Hogan to stay "in the national interest" according to the new Messiah

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

A bit miffed that he wasn't invited, or maybe he was and declined who knows?

He is also supporting Hogan as Trade Commissioner going through Brexit. And as I wondered last night he cannot be removed by the Government only by the EU Court for gross misconduct.

You live and learn.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

No, he's off rebuilding the party! He's the FF equivalent of Leo! There will be no leader challenge until we get to Part Deux, if we even do.

"I'm not going to criticise the TAoiseach..."
    Basically, criticises the comms up to now!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Jim O'Callaghan going rogue on Martin here?

He wants Hogan to remain in his position. Tbf his reasoning has merit.

Not for me. The punishment should fit the crime, not the person or their position.

MCdonald not saying much.
    "Bizarre" and trampolines were mentioned.
    But she did point out 'reflect on his position' to Hogan from Ireland must be taken up by the EU

Varadkar says Hogan needs to account for his movements while in Ireland especially in and out of Kildare.
    Apology welcome, but needs to account for himself and reaffirms the movements are paramount and if he can't account for them he needs to consider his position.

He is pretty strident but won't be drawn on Woulfe.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Ger Roe wrote: »
    There is a defined distance between the offices of the state and the judiciary.

How does that tally with members of the Oireachtas wining and dining a supreme court judge at an invitation only golf outing?

But you are right that they can't sack him, and I do think that's an important constitutional protection. Maybe the Standards in Public Office Commission need to look at potential conflicts of interest in this area?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Leo trying to have his cake and eat it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Not for me. The punishment should fit the crime, not the person or their position.

Agree, but we are in a very precarious position in relation to trade with the UK.

A Trade Commissioner from Estonia handling Brexit talks would not be in our favour. I get that Hogan's allegiance is first and for most to the European Union but he will have that small bit of bias within that could be crucial.

It's not a stance I like to have to take.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Vincent Browne says Seamus Woolf needs to resign.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,176 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Leo confirming for me anyhow that there is still more to come on Hogan.

That 'account for his movements in and around Kildare' could become what the next revelations are about.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Agree, but we are in a very precarious position in relation to trade with the UK.

A Trade Commissioner from Estonia handling Brexit talks would not be in our favour. I get that Hogan's allegiance is first and for most to the European Union but he will have that small bit of bias within that could be crucial.

It's not a stance I like to have to take.

Then what you are indirectly saying is that it is okay for politicians to act in their own self interest or in the interests of their party. That if a minister does something they shouldn’t, it’s okay for a Taoiseach to cover it up or dismiss it because in their view “it’s in the best interests of the country”.

This rationale is a very slippery slope to corruption.

That 'account for his movements in and around Kildare' could become what the next revelations are about.
    That's what i thought too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

I could have gotten an invitation to the office but if I did it was never passed on.......

deise08 wrote: »
    I could have gotten an invitation to the office but if I did it was never passed on.......
    Boxing clever

• Registered Users Posts: 69,176 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

deise08 wrote: »

How many invites would you get in the middle of a pandemic? Spoofing on that one...he knows rightly he was invited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    O'Callaghan pulling back from outright hanging Hogan - "Ireland cannot afford to lose him basically". FF position.
    He says the govt 'had to say something' when asked was Martin/Varadkar wrong yesterday so!
    Jesus Christ.

I find it funny saying we need Hogan in place to work for us. That is not Hogan's job. His job is to represent the EU as evidenced when he was Agri commissioner. I seem to recall Irish farmers very unhappy with the Brazilian deal he signed.

I agree.
    recently, he's being pulling on the EU jersey giving 'advice as in I'm not telling you what to do' to Ireland about giving Brussels taxation powers in return for possibly more covid cash.

I wish people could see beyond the 'Irish did well abroad' crap (bar sports)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

I agree.

I see no reason we 'need' Hogan there in his well known persona as a bully to represent Irish interests. He certainly has shown no inclination to do so up to now and I fail to see how Ireland's interests are best served on an EU stage by having a man who is 'too important to remove' so can flaunt public health restrictions without repercussions.

TBH I'm just sick to the back teeth of cute hoors being mistaken for shrewd political operators who have the interests of the Irish electorate at heart - they have only their own interests at heart and demonstrate this over and over and over again yet still we are told we 'need' them. We do in our jaxies.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,574 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Or maybe he's hoping there is? If Big Phil has transgressed quarantine regulations in some way or gets caught out in a lie it would provide a justification for Leo and Micheal to go to Ursula and flat out demand his head in a way they don't really have right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Mullaghteelin

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    Just hearing possibilities discussed on radio.
    Maybe garda investiogation, there are fines/jailtime etc for rule breaks etc
    I do not know if they apply here.
    Then there's viability of a supreme court judge's reputation -> his fellow justices

This is Ireland. There is no way the Gardaí will do anything except have a fake investigation to placate the plebs. The media will take their conclusions as gospel, fail to ask tough questions, and then bury the story.
    If, on the other hand, Sinn Féin were in power, I expect the Guards and media will spend every day harassing them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

I thought that too. He said it quite deliberately, and almost out of context, several times. The impression I got is that there is more to come from that aspect and that detail will be the smoking gun.

Over to Phil now..... thanks for the late and carefully scripted insincere 'tick the boxes' apology, but there are still questions to be answered.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Ger Roe wrote: »
    I thought that too. He said it quite deliberately, and almost out of context, several times. The impression I got is that there is more to come from that aspect and that detail will be the smoking gun.

Over to Phil now..... thanks for the late and carefully scripted insincere 'tick the boxes' apology, but there are still questions to be answered.

In fairness it wasn't the typical "sorry for the offence caused" non-apology, apology. He did acknowledge his failings, so for a political apology it was unusual.

Just in - the EU responding to RTE asking if Hogan will be resigning.
    "No".

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

This is key. He was supposed to be self isolating for 14 days, that means not leaving the house, not socialisg,with others, just stay at home.He claims he did this at the K-Club. Now does anyone actually believe that golf mad Phil Hogan had an Arnold Palmer designed golf course on his doorstep at the K-Club but didnt meet up with others and play it over that two weeks? Then the question is who did he play with, the K-Club is a well known favourite of Irelands biggest property developers. Theres more to run here yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,574 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

This is Ireland. There is no way the Gardaí will do anything except have a fake investigation to placate the plebs. The media will take their conclusions as gospel, fail to ask tough questions, and then bury the story.
    If, on the other hand, Sinn Féin were in power, I expect the Guards and media will spend every day harassing them.

I think you're being overly cynical here. Dara Calleary has had to resign as a minister and is likely finished as a politician. Good chance Hogan and Woulfe will suffer the same fate. To me that's a bigger deal than some slap on the wrist fine for breaching regulations. And don't forget we would never have even heard about this event if it wasn't for the dreaded 'mainstream media'.