Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PHIL HOGAN NEEDS TO RESIGN.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

road_high wrote: »
    Yea, just a pity he’s thick as two short planks and has a primary school grasp of trade and anything economic

Still though. No other Irish politician has anything like his negotiation experience with the British

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Needhome

From the sun news
    BIZARRE CLAIM Phil Hogan says gardai wouldn’t have stopped him for using phone if they knew he was ‘EU commissioner or politician’

That says it all about these corrupt parasites in government AND cops🀨

The lot should be sacked. When will people ever realise thst they dont represent the people of this country 🀨 most of them are alcaholics making desissions on our behalf.an the cops are all commiting crimes under that uniform that we paid for an pay their wages too🀨

Again i say, say goodbye to your freedoms an rights in this country,while they keep theirs

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

This might make sense if the same politicians didn't keep getting elected time and again. It seems that those with the power to sack TDs don't often use that power to punish these "long serving politicians".
    TDs can't really be fired, just ministers. I think the only circumstance is if there is a conviction. I recall a sentence of 6 months being the requisite but open to correction on that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,448 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

If?! We’ve lost it and gave it up willingly in a spectacular case of small minded petty foot shooting of which we are famed for.

But sure at least we can all go to bed happy tonight.

Derek Byrne will be only delighted.

Water protests and all that.

Another victory for the man versus the establishment.

How it will benefit us in the long run?

Not one person can answer that one.

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Dual wheels

Varadkar in particular is led completely by the baying mobs on social media. He spends his life on it and virtually everything he does (which isn’t very much) is all for social media consumption and image cultivation. Was no surprise to see him lead with the pitchforks after he’d gauged the wind of the mobs

Yes I have to agree, Leo is false and tries to make out he’s down with the kids he’s a shallow individual who is just out for himself

I’m one of those , I see my mother through Perspex every few weeks , I also did lockdown completely alone along with thousands of others, missed trips abroad to see my only 2 kids. But i do NOT think Phil Hogan should have had to resign over this! He was wrong, he should have been sanctioned but that’s it.

We are incredibly small minded in this country. “Ive suffered so everyone else has to“ , people baying for blood when they barely know what the EU Trade commissioner does. The media also have a lot to answer for, Newstalk in particular , apart from Pat Kenny morning who sounded quite disturbed at the level of hostility in people.

Calling a poster a lackey for having an opinion that is different to yours is another example of the ****show of social media, cowards behind keyboards baying for blood.

I don’t like Phil Hogan but I don’t think he should have been witchhunted out of his job, we should have been proud to have had an Irishman as EU trade commissioner, we needed him there, but the “we’ve all suffered brigade “ won out.

Great post.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Phils problem was he thought he was smarter than everyone else. He smirked his way though the interview last night. Thought he could lie to our face and all would be OK.

Agree

If he had done the I’m so so sorry routine yesterday he’d still be in a job

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    Phil Hogan wasn't hounded out of his job - he lost his job because he lied to his boss more than once, supplying inadequate by omission reports of his movements not once but three times.
    He also lost the confidence of the govt of Ireland.

Deep down I don’t think he lost the confidence of the Government , the Government were forced to play to the “we’ve all suffered “ brigade ! Lying is 2nd nature to all Government ministers, no matter what party , or at the very least being economical with the truth. Phil Hogan didn’t invent lying!

They were between a rock and a hard place. It was the PC thing to do. When one of their own Govenment ministers was also at the dinner and I’m sure plenty of his colleagues knew about it, and when Calleary resigned, they had no option but to go along with the outraged, foaming at the mouth , incensed mob. Media grabbed a hold of it and whipped the outrage into a frenzy! Our media have a lot to answer for, they did the same with CEO of Bord Failte 2 weeks earlier. This is Ireland.

We have suffered a huge loss not having an Irish minister as EU Trade Minister and time will prove this.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,300 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Are you 7? Have some honour.

An Ri Rua said

You replied.

I say you made it up to make a stupid point. You do not know several people who were caught on a mobile phone and did not get a fine/points. You do not know one single person I bet.

Let it go..

Gardai can use discretion...

I know of persons who were let off with warning/caution..

Why are you so bothered that Gardai have this discretion?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

aido79 wrote: »
    What's that got to do with this thread?

It has everything to do with the post it was a reply to.

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭The Belly

Bully but didnt care.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,033 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Lucinda Creighton was talking about a highly thought of Civil Servant, can't think of his name.

I think give it to Coveney, I'm sure his mastery of the Brexit brief has yurned a few heads.

Sending Coveney causes a BE. As I was just reminded over in Politics, Coveney's running mate for the last three elections (four with Clune) was Buttimer.

They'd just be handing a seat to SF. There's no obvious FG or FF candidate and the other parties bar are very weak there. If FG can find another Barry family member they might get somewhere but its unlikely; Boyle won't make it after whats happened to the Greens since February.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

If?! We’ve lost it and gave it up willingly in a spectacular case of small minded petty foot shooting of which we are famed for.

He actually wasn't that smart. He was asked by his boss to give her a full report on his little road trip over here and even then he thought he could pull the wool over her eyes.
    Forgetting all the time that every one of his lies would be torn apart.
    He's no-one to blame but himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Zebra3 wrote: »
    I look forward to your concern then for SF or socialist politicians when the "witch hunt" is directed at them.

And nobody has given any evidence that this is against the country's interest.

Oh yes because some person having some position in some party is of equal importance to the role the country's EU commissioner has. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,448 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Deep down I don’t think he lost the confidence of the Government , the Government were forced to play to the “we’ve all suffered “ brigade ! Lying is 2nd nature to all Government ministers, or at the very least being economical with the truth. Phil Hogan didn’t invent lying!

They were between a rock and a hard place. It was the PC thing to do. When one of their own Govenment ministers was also at the dinner and I’m sure plenty of his colleagues knew about it, and when Calleary resigned, they had no option but to go along with the outraged, foaming at the mouth , incensed mob. Media grabbed a hold of it and whipped the outrage into a frenzy! Our media have a lot to answer for, they did the same with CEO of Bord Failte 2 weeks earlier.

We have suffered a huge loss not having an Irish minister as EU Trade Minister and time will prove this.

Just like the media and the so called homeless situation.

Whip it up without ever actually reporting the real reasons.

Like Maggie Cash.

What a horrible country we are at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

If Ireland lose the trade portfolio it will be the next failure of this government

They seem to care more about what the angry mob on Twitter and Joe Duffy think than the greater good of Irish society

The future looks bleak for this country

If Trump wins a 2nd term and calls home his multi nationals It will be the final nail
    If anyone thinks Biden and the Democrats will be doing anything differently - well, I just don't know what to say.
    Obama was at it too.

And I don't blame them one bit, looking after their own people.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,156 ✭✭✭screamer

Varadkar in particular is led completely by the baying mobs on social media. He spends his life on it and virtually everything he does (which isn’t very much) is all for social media consumption and image cultivation. Was no surprise to see him lead with the pitchforks after he’d gauged the wind of the mobs

It’s that same baying mob that votes..... and that same baying mob that are sick of the chronism in Irish politics. The days of the cute hoor are numbered and I’m glad. This should be seen as short term pain for long term gain.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭stockshares

walshb wrote: »
    Let it go..

Maybe the person is bothered because of the Law and/or people can get killed on the roads as a result of it

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Lucinda Creighton was talking about a highly thought of Civil Servant, can't think of his name.

I think give it to Coveney, I'm sure his mastery of the Brexit brief has turned a few heads.

Robert Watt maybe? In Department of Public Expenditure. I think Coveney would prefer to stay in DoF to see us through Brexit stuff, it's his baby now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭LawBoy2018

Let it go..

Because there's no such legal basis for discretion from what I gather.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭joseywhales

If you take a step back, he probably had to resign because he flouted the restrictions at a very sensitive time.

But man, I've seen people want him to be arrested, absolutely foaming at the mouth, calling him endless names, ridiculing his physical appearance and his family even(talking about his brother), it's fairly pathetic.

He didn't embezzle money or physically or sexually assault anyone, he was just arrogant and stupid which most of us have been at some point.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,895 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Oh yes because some person having some position in some party is of equal importance to the role the country's EU commissioner has. :rolleyes:

So go ahead then, tell us how we, the Irish people, will lose out.

It's already been established that he a mé féiner and incompetent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Needhome wrote: »
    From the sun news
    BIZARRE CLAIM Phil Hogan says gardai wouldn’t have stopped him for using phone if they knew he was ‘EU commissioner or politician’

That says it all about these corrupt parasites in government AND cops��

The lot should be sacked. When will people ever realise thst they dont represent the people of this country �� most of them are alcaholics making desissions on our behalf.an the cops are all commiting crimes under that uniform that we paid for an pay their wages too��

Again i say, say goodbye to your freedoms an rights in this country,while they keep theirs

Here's the horse's mouth.

https://twitter.com/soundmigration/status/1298360080111407104?s=20

• Registered Users Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

If you were being coldly rational

Adams is the first choice for next commissioner

He terrifies the British

He is head and shoulders over the rest of the Irish political class.

Except for when he keeps quiet about murderers and kiddy fiddlers.

LawBoy2018 wrote: »
    Because there's no such legal basis for discretion from what I gather.

They can use discretion..

And have done so, and not just to Phil Hogan..

Why are people struggling to accept this?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

If Coveney gets the job Buttimer will be a shoo in the bye election 😀

Maybe the person is bothered because of the Law and/or people can get killed on the roads as a result of it

So maybe he/she should simply say this..

Doesn’t change my claim..that Gardai can, and have used discretion..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭LawBoy2018

They can use discretion..

And have done so, and not just to Phil Hogan..

Why are people struggling to accept this?

Nobody's denying the fact that they use discretion, we're highlighting the fact that it's illegal lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Needhome

Still though. No other Irish politician has anything like his negotiation experience with the British

"negotiation experience with the British"???
    Sure we still being controlled by the brits today so dont know what your talking about.
    what law are we under? Eh common law is the answer.,an common law is british law.so our socalled law is unlawful .every last bit of it.
    And our socalled "government" that we have representing us sat back an allowed our country to be controlled by the british law.

LawBoy2018 wrote: »
    Nobody's denying the fact that they use discretion, we're highlighting the fact that it's illegal lol.

We all know using a mobile phone is illegal..

Vast majority who get caught get sanctioned according to the law..

Some get off with a caution, which Gardai can use..