Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PHIL HOGAN NEEDS TO RESIGN.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,486 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Needhome wrote: »
    Wake up will ya,common law is common law,its origin is from england,fact is were still been ruled by british law. An pur socalled government is going by it. Our governement has ALWAYS bowed down to the british,an always will too.

You really need to look up and educate yourself as to what common law is, what it means and how it's used as it does not dictate our laws as you seem to think.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

It certainly doesn't seem to be a smart move...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,557 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Who could have seen this coming?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,230 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

The man quite literally hated Ireland. He did shag all for us in the 9 years since he last won an election. He brought in property tax, septic tank charge, tried to bring in water charges and fecked off to Europe to have a grand auld life for himself with the EU top brass. A random fella plucked from the street in Romania would do a better job

• Registered Users Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭buried

We F**ked up bigtime. What we all shuda f**king done is all gone to that Clifden Golf Gig along with the rest of the lads, then poor auld Big Phil wudda got to save his job playing golf all over the globe without knowing how to use bluetooth in his 2020 Merc. Sean O'Rourke would have saved his upcoming job impartially interviewing him about the whole thing too. Ahh we F**ked it up. For Shame.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

There was literally nothing said about him leaving being bad for Ireland when he was gunning for the top job at the WTO.

It’s a red herring. Phil Hogan only ever looked out for himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Nihh Logap wrote: »
    I'll jump on board with this. How can we make it happen?
    You can't. Pensions are personal assets of the individual. The state can't just be seizing people's assets because they don't like them.

This comes up a lot, some people seem to think that any form of political scandal should leave someone tarred, feathered, homeless and destitute.

If the state could take a politician's pension away for being fired, then they could also take away your pension because you got fired.

Nihh Logap wrote: »
    I'll jump on board with this. How can we make it happen?

Wait for him to talk some more noise. This guy is so entitled it isn't beyond the realms of possibility he will come out within the next few days or hours saying "I'm finished with Ireland" If he does, then we can say "Class Phil, we are finished with you too, so say goodbye to everything you thought you were going to get from us including your gold plated pensions"

seamus wrote: »
    You can't. Pensions are personal assets of the individual. The state can't just be seizing people's assets because they don't like them.

This comes up a lot, some people seem to think that any form of political scandal should leave someone tarred, feathered, homeless and destitute.

If the state could take a politician's pension away for being fired, then they could also take away your pension because you got fired.

Just change the rules like we've been doing the last 6 months for everything else.

Private pension companies have zero problem grabbing their clients pension pots whenever suits them. Should be no different for us, the people paying Phil's 4.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Hibernicis

L1011 wrote: »
    You presumably also don't remember him resigning from the cabinet in 1995 for leaking the budget

He was a junior minister. He couldn’t have resigned from cabinet because he wasn’t a member of cabinet.

• Registered Users Posts: 545 ✭✭✭CageWager

Left wing environmental types: We need a new kind of politics that delivers more equal wealth distribution and a focus on pragmatic environmental measures.

Same left wing environmental types while in the full flush of Fianna Fail/Fine Gael derangement syndrome: Big Phil is a POS, all he ever did was bring in property tax and water charges.

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭The Oort Cloud

Remember this from Phil...
    Phil Hogan... Water pressure will be turned down to a trickle for basic human health reasons, and that won't be too attractive for them
    Yes, he would have turned our water completely off if he could have got away with it but only for health reasons he would turn it down to a trickle. Good riddance to him. Karma as always at work and yes he had contempt for the Irish citizens of Ireland in my opinion. Piece of useless **** he was. In my opinion.

Individual people have different thoughts and understanding in regard to others opinions, but the problem is this... there are some people out there that will do everything in their power to cut you off when they do not like your opinion even when it is truth.

https://youtu.be/v8EseBe4eIU

• Registered Users Posts: 82,819 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

An EU commissioner must at all times represent the EU, never a member state, if he was doing favours for this country alone he should have been sacked

• Registered Users Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

The man quite literally hated Ireland. He did shag all for us in the 9 years since he last won an election. He brought in property tax, septic tank charge, tried to bring in water charges and fecked off to Europe to have a grand auld life for himself with the EU top brass. A random fella plucked from the street in Romania would do a better job

Eh, no. Just no.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Bit of an own goal but the mob had to be appeased. Damaging for Brexit for sure, especially the farmers, in fact Justin McCarthy from the Irish Farmers Journal called this a disaster.
    Cutting off your nose in spite your face.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Apparently he hated ireland? Evidence?
    He is a POS? Don't think anyone is that.
    Left wing environmental types? So communists are environmental, what has environmentalism got to do with economic ideology?
    A politician was arrogant and resigned folks, he didn't murder your children.

This place has lost it

• Registered Users Posts: 31,722 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

... he's been one of the key men with Barnier in negotiations over Brexit. And most importantly, he was a really important Irish influence on proceedings, and a major reason for the clear position of the Irish land border with respect to trade. It's an important position, with an important voice, which we may lose to another country now.

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭The Oort Cloud

Left wing environmental types? So communists are environmental, what has environmentalism got to do with economic ideology?

This place has lost it

You are not living in the real world at all. Educate yourself.

Individual people have different thoughts and understanding in regard to others opinions, but the problem is this... there are some people out there that will do everything in their power to cut you off when they do not like your opinion even when it is truth.

https://youtu.be/v8EseBe4eIU

This place has lost it

Did it ever 'have' it?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There's not going to be any Brexit trade agreement anyway. The Brits won't get their finger out in time.

His value to Ireland in the EU is massively overstated.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Did it ever 'have' it?

It's ridiculous, people are full of contempt and dieing to lash out at anyone. It's not healthy. There is a lot to be thankful for in the world too, it's not all suffering.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

CageWager wrote: »
    Left wing environmental types: We need a new kind of politics that delivers more equal wealth distribution and a focus on pragmatic environmental measures.

Same left wing environmental types while in the full flush of Fianna Fail/Fine Gael derangement syndrome: Big Phil is a POS, all he ever did was bring in property tax and water charges.

I think that both of the above were good pieces of legislation, but does that somehow exempt Phil from the laws that apply to the rest of us when he decides to come back to Ireland to play a bit of golf on his holidays?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭kingtiger

He was caught out with a bare face lie, he had to go

walshb wrote: »
    Bad form this..

Says more about you than him..

He's right. Guy is a total and utter sycophant. This overpaid gombeen showed complete and utter contempt for the Irish people who gave up their lives for weeks on end to ease the burden on the Health Service. He blatantly flounted the guidelines and then brazenly dug his heels in. He's not fit for any political office. A horrible odious individual.

Even his blueshirt cronies cut him loose. Sadly, he'll ride off into the sunset with a massive pension if he is not stuffed onto some quango when we've all forgotten.

You are not living in the real world at all. Educate yourself.
    Insightful, I will go away and ponder this wisdom you have bestowed upon me.

If you could be kind enough to help a fellow traveller, where is the real world located?

kingtiger wrote: »

It's funny that Europe didn't seem too bothered. We've successfully hounded an Irish voice out of a European job.

He was a bit dumb, but I have trouble seeing anything he did as being worth that. It would have been one thing if he actually held domestic office and had anything to do with the event he was invited to.

We're swiftly driving towards a situation where literally no-one can ever do anything wrong or they're met with overwhelming vitriol and anger and demands they be burned at the stake. It's all very hysterical.

• Registered Users Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Psychiatric Patrick

kingtiger wrote: »

More than one.

I don't any one person can keep count of the lies he told.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,928 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

If Hogan had gotten the WTO job we would still be in this scenario. Hogan only looks after number and he does'nt care who he has to fook over to get it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

It doesn't matter that he's not in the Irish government.
    What matters is he choose to enter this country and then travel around it to various counties and play golf and have dinner with 80+ people who were obviously not from his immediate family.

Are we supposed to feel sorry for this guy, or for any of the rest of them?

Why the hell should we?

People spoke of missing loved ones funerals, people cancelled weddings, holiday, communions, the state exams ffs, so no one will convincee that this guy and others like him shouldn't pay.

And pay heavily.

• Registered Users Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Psychiatric Patrick

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    It's funny that Europe didn't seem too bothered. We've successfully hounded an Irish voice out of a European job.

He was a bit dumb, but I have trouble seeing anything he did as being worth that. It would have been one thing if he actually held domestic office and had anything to do with the event he was invited to.

He was there.

He long list of lies and disregard for Irish people is readily available on line

Now... who is the next "poor lamb" to the slaughter?