Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE 1: 'Today' with Claire Byrne

I know vaccine administration is a bit of an involved process with the admin etc, but the idea of doctors etc having to be asked the list of questions to ensure they understand what having the vaccine is all about, is just so tedious. I know they "have" to do it for legal reasons, but it seems so ridiculous. Surely they could read and sign consent on the way in and just roll up the arm and get the fcuk into observation area for the required 15 minutes.

I exaggerate here, but ya get the point...

"Doctor/nurse, have you ever seen a needle before? Do you know what it is for?"

"Are you of sound mind? Do you understand what consent is, and do you consent?"

"Now I must explain that the needle may briefly hurt when it goes in, so fi t be shocked by it"

Doctor/Nurse on receiving end:
    "Gosh I never knew all that!"

• Registered Users Posts: 9,442 ✭✭✭Macy0161

dulpit wrote: »
    So just to check - PBH is better and worse than Claire Byrne. And he's been on top of and also got beaten down by ministers. And he's both for and against Covid or something?
    I didn't listen to the second hour, for the above mentioned reason. I thought it was a score draw with O'Brien tbh.

Is he better or worse than CB? Just standard Irish Current Affairs standard, trying to make the story rather than get to the facts.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I know vaccine administration is a bit of an involved process with the admin etc, but the idea of doctors etc having to be asked the list of questions to ensure they understand what having the vaccine is all about, is just so tedious. I know they "have" to do it for legal reasons, but it seems so ridiculous. Surely they could read and sign consent on the way in and just roll up the arm and get the fcuk into observation area for the required 15 minutes.

I exaggerate here, but ya get the point...

"Doctor/nurse, have you ever seen a needle before? Do you know what it is for?"

"Are you of sound mind? Do you understand what consent is, and do you consent?"

"Now I must explain that the needle may briefly hurt when it goes in, so fi t be shocked by it"

Doctor/Nurse on receiving end:
    "Gosh I never knew all that!"

I hear what you say Cat...... but rest assured if the lads in the striped trews in the courts of law get a hold of a case, it will become very important.

Unfortunately that’s why this stuff has to be gone through.

As I know you well realise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Hmmm partly agree there, but we always need to take the vested interests, into account. The vested interests will always try to tilt the bar towards the vested interest, and thus queer the pitch

I guess you could argue that the other contributors are also vested interests, in that they risk their jobs if they adopt a contrary position to the group think. Particularly the HSE employees that are regularly wheeled out in front of us.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Fair play to Darragh O’Brien.....ripped out Boucher-Hayes a new one.

Funny I just thought O'Brien was just an a$$.

I guess you could argue that the other contributors are also vested interests, in that they risk their jobs if they adopt a contrary position to the group think. Particularly the HSE employees that are regularly wheeled out in front of us.

Bit confused by that Gerard, could you maybe give an example?

I’m a bit slow this morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,838 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Funny I just thought O'Brien was just an a$$.

It's what government TD's do on RTE in Brendi-land...'rip presenters new ones'.

When it's opposition TD's, it's the RTE presenter that's ripping new ones. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

:confused: Bit confused by that Gerard, could you maybe give an example? I’m a bit slow this morning.

Well if you took Ryan Tubridy this morning for example. He is allowed by RTE to say "the vaccine is coming, just wait everything will be fine", but if he were to say "the vaccine will make no difference, we are in an eternal lockdown", he would certainly be risking his job.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,907 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Well if you took Ryan Tubridy this morning for example. He is allowed by RTE to say "the vaccine is coming, just wait everything will be fine", but if he were to say "the vaccine will make no difference, we are in an eternal lockdown", he would certainly be risking his job.

The first is fact (maybe phrased hopefully), the second isn't? :confused:

See Dulpits post.......

The first is fact (maybe phrased hopefully), the second isn't? :confused:

So if the vaccine is incompetently rolled out and people die needlessly, will 'everything be alright'?

The first statement is not automatically true, hope or not.

So if the vaccine is incompetently rolled out and people die needlessly, will 'everything be alright'?

The first statement is not automatically true, hope or not.

The first statement is based on scientific fact, with the assumption that the healthcare teams will administer it safely. The second statement is wilfully false and misleading. They are obviously different and you'd need to be quite obtuse not to recognise that.

I think that what Gerry & it's were getting at is that one or two presenters, in particular, have been giving the line out over months that everything would be alright in the shorter to mid term, rather than the realism of the longer term which was always going to be the case with this pandemic. It could be said that some presenters were trying to lift the spirit of the nation & give hope etc, but phrases such as "the virus can't come here, we're an island, and even if it does it won't kill us" (Duffy), and "Covid can't cancel Christmas" (Tubridy) were wishful thinking, off the top of their heads, and not very helpful in preparing people for what we were headed for. It would have been better, maybe, to say to us something along the lines that the vaccine would eventually come, but that we might have to be very patient and do out best to cope with a horrible situation in the meantime.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,128 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Claire is miles ahead when it comes to discussing moisturiser though.

Jokes aside I'd say that PBH would easily outdo her on this topic; then again he easily outdoes her on pretty any topic that airs on the show.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,418 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Jokes aside I'd say that PBH would easily outdo her on this topic; then again he easily outdoes her on pretty any topic that airs on the show.

Agreed. Philip would actually research the subject. Claire would probably get her favourite influencer and Dermot Bannon to build a model of a beauty salon in the radio studio so she could inform us properly.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,058 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Did that nurse Michelle Kingston say "we've a lot if furrin doctors coming in [next week]?" and we don't if they are self-isolating

• Registered Users Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭RINO87

Claire's WFH setup today seems pretty poor. Lots of sibilance from her mic, bandwidth seems low too.

Bríd Smith getting a new one busted out for her on CB

That lad is taking no bull from her.

I arrived home and turned on the show around 1145, idly wondering how well PBH would handle the "debate" that runs on a Friday late morning. I listened to the cacophony of two of the contributors shouting over one another for a couple of minutes and thought, "Claire's back!"

I'm psychic, you know...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭Cole

I arrived home and turned on the show around 1145, idly wondering how well PBH would handle the "debate" that runs on a Friday late morning. I listened to the cacophony of two of the contributors shouting over one another for a couple of minutes and thought, "Claire's back!"

I'm psychic, you know...

Mr Smuggy McSmug had the same sh1tshow yesterday when he had two guests arguing about the rioting on Capitol Hill...about 5 minutes of utterly pointless 'analysis'.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Bríd Smith getting a new one busted out for her on CB

That lad is taking no bull from her.

Slightly exaggerating their Brendan ! ,if anyone got 'a new one busted out' for them it was Patrick O Donovan who received a killer punch from Claire no less.

Patrick O Donovan interrupting Smith later might play to his own audience but it doesn't play to the majority.

You can agree or a disagree with Smiths zero covid strategy but O Donovan saying it doesn't exist after getting a sucker punch from Claire on government ignoring NPHET earlier does not play out well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Patrick O Donaghue, is he the man trapped in a boys body?

Infoanon wrote: »
    Slightly exaggerating their Brendan ! ,if anyone got 'a new one busted out' for them it was Patrick O Donovan who received a killer punch from Claire no less.

Patrick O Donovan interrupting Smith later might play to his own audience but it doesn't play to the majority.

You can agree or a disagree with Smiths zero covid strategy but O Donovan saying it doesn't exist after getting a sucker punch from Claire on government ignoring NPHET earlier does not play out well.

Info, we have to study the situation closely and the nuances involved.

First of all what I was referring to was the fact that Patrick didn’t let himself be ridden ragged by Smith like she normally does.

Let’s ignore the content for a while here.

You see it’s very easy for those with no skin in the game like Smith .

The Government have to take all the nuances into account, you are putting thousands out of work and have to take care of the fallout and all the intricacies associated with these decisions.

I could say... “Shut the country down for three months and Bobs your uncle”. I don’t have to look at the 360 degree view, and that’s NPHETs view.

So sorry Info you make valid points but we need to look at the problems in the round.

Info, we have to study the situation closely and the nuances involved.

First of all what I was referring to was the fact that Patrick didn’t let himself be ridden ragged by Smith like she normally does.

Let’s ignore the content for a while here.

You see it’s very easy for those with no skin in the game like Smith .

The Government have to take all the nuances into account, you are putting thousands out of work and have to take care of the fallout and all the intricacies associated with these decisions.

I could say... “Shut the country down for three months and Bobs your uncle”. I don’t have to look at the 360 degree view, and that’s NPHETs view.

So sorry Info you make valid points but we need to look at the problems in the round.

That wasn't the issue being discussed.
    The issue was the government taking the 360 view, making a balls of it and having to revert again and again to the advice they were fecking given in the frst place.

Criticise the radio show...not some pretend show.

That wasn't the issue being discussed.
    The issue was the government taking the 360 view, making a balls of it and having to revert again and again to the advice they were fecking given in the frst place.

Criticise the radio show...not some pretend show.

I think the populace made a balls of it, Francie, couldn’t hold back and follow the instructions given, then of course blame the Govt for everything.

We already know the FG cohort here blame the people. But the adults in the room know the government of the day have responsibilities for which they are accountable.

We also know that cohort like to take it out on those who want to hold them to account. Be it radio/television journalists, the opposition and even satirists/comedians.

We already know the FG cohort here blame the people. But the adults in the room know the government of the day have responsibilities for which they are accountable.

We also know that cohort like to take it out on those who want to hold them to account. Be it radio/television journalists, the opposition and even satirists/comedians.

We also know that those who have the chutzpah to evaluate the big picture and evaluate the real reasons for our current dilemma,are not quite so thick as to try to blame the govt. for everything.

:P

We also know that those who have the chutzpah to evaluate the big picture and evaluate the real reasons for our current dilemma,are not quite so thick as to try to blame the govt. for everything.

Nobody is blaming the government for 'everything' (that is a delusion of overly sensitive souls) they are though blaming them for getting things within their sphere of responsiblity profoundly wrong again and again. I.E. having to U-Turn and follow advice that they arrogantly ignored or thought they knew better.

I'm blaming the government. I can take personal responsibility for my own actions, but I don't have any control over people who, quite legally, were going to restaurants every night of the week leading up to Christmas, and socialising with friends and family. The government could have controlled that, but didn't.

By doing what, instituting a day and night curfew.

This is not a police state, in case we haven’t noticed.