Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

you need €1000 fine for householder for any house with too many in it. There should be a legal requirement to tell Gardai how many are there and while they cannot go in, a fraudulent count should result in a €10,000 fine.
    All fine in theory but then in Dublin where NPHET are screaming that it is on the verge of going out of control you realise that there is no Garda presence anywhere in the capital as the Gardai seem to be cocooning themselves

No enforcement of public health regulations contributes to increasing cases

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

kona wrote: »
    Problem solved! No homeless, less cases and affordable housing, 5 sam maguires .

No Brazilian and Eastern European women though

Everyone knows Gaelic football was invented for the lads who couldn't make the hurling team!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Done marginally better than Leo? While I can't stand Leo, and perhaps it's down to perception, I think he did a far better job at convincing the general public to do what was necessary at the outset.

The duo of MM and SD is an entirely different story.

Not fair to compare then to now.

We were terrified in March. 80,000 dead was being touted as a death toll with some estimates as high as 120,000 dead.

Now we know that it wasn’t anything even close to that and we only have 7 people in ICU in the entire country.

Very different climate now even with the media and NPHET doing their best to scare the sh1t out of the public on a daily basis.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭growleaves

Beanybabog wrote: »
    You can’t though. They announced the possible penalties for households previously without even running it by the AG, then quickly copped on that enforcing such measures in private households is a legal minefield and any legislation will risk being unconstitutional... The problem is when they give advice, ie 6 to a house, lots of people will actually follow it, but they probably weren’t the people throwing massive parties in the first place, and the people who ignored previous measures will
    Continue to do so. I don’t know what the answer is. The only way we prevented this before was the lockdown and strict limits of travel from home and I don’t think that’ll be imposed again unless things are dire

When everything's illegal enforcing the law is suddenly very hard work. No wonder so many posters are daydreaming about €10,000 fines and beatings with rubber truncheons and riot shields.

George Orwell said that the law is a powerful illusion, and outside of totalitarian societies its more a collection of observed social customs than anything else.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

No Brazilian and Eastern European women though

Everyone knows Gaelic football was invented for the lads who couldn't make the hurling team!

Hurling is for spud gobblers, started when they got bored of watching the dubs win the all irelands and decided to beat the **** out of each other with the sideline flags and the lump of cabbage for their sangwich:pac:

How do you fine someone who is unemployed and on PUP payments €10,000?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

If the non food pubs reopen it might just release some pressure on the house party gatherings. Just musing here.

I dunno, 11.30 closing or whatever it is won't make revellers go home, so back to someone's house again.

But has to start somewhere and see how it goes I suppose. People like meeting other people in their houses, flats, apartments and having a blast. By the sound of the non food pubs it will be quite a clinical set up for socialising. But anyway.

What is the solution? Seems to me NPHET are trying to reduce house gatherings. Then leave the pubs open till 4am or something. LOL.
    I'm scratching my head as to why everyone including the government believes so much of the population are going permanently again rush out to pubs from the 21st paying €5-6+ a pint when they full well know that a significant amount of the Vintners will not enforce social distancing in pubs which will be riskier to them than socialising in their houses for a fraction of the cost which they are used to now after 6 months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Ohmeha wrote: »
    I'm scratching my head as to why everyone including the government believes so much of the population are going permanently again rush out to pubs from the 21st paying €5-6+ a pint when they full well know that a significant amount of the Vintners will not enforce social distancing in pubs which will be riskier to them than socialising in their houses for a fraction of the cost which they are used to now after 6 months

Because pubs are part of the social fabric and integral to the mental health of the nation. It is an Irish right to piss your wages up the side of a wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Ohmeha wrote: »

The ride.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,549 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

We need vaccine subjects...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

odyssey06 wrote: »
    We need vaccine subjects...

FFS lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Dressoutlet

If a person had covid in say March and then lost their antibodies and contracted it again, wouldn't the 2nd infection be milder than the original?
    I might be completely wrong but don't we produce Memory T cells so if you've fought it once your body remembers and goes straight to fighting it faster than the 1st dose. Isn't the whole thing that this is a New virus so, in theory, we are all like new born baby catching a virus and have no memory cells to fight it?
    Might explain why so many under 40s were so sick with the 'flu' at Christmas and now have very mild illnesses or Asymptomatic when test positive for Covid. Could this be the 2nd dose and immune systems working how they are supposed to?

If a person had covid in say March and then lost their antibodies and contracted it again, wouldn't the 2nd infection be milder than the original?
    I might be completely wrong but don't we produce Memory T cells so if you've fought it once your body remembers and goes straight to fighting it faster than the 1st dose. Isn't the whole thing that this is a New virus so, in theory, we are all like new born baby catching a virus and have no memory cells to fight it?
    Might explain why so many under 40s were so sick with the 'flu' at Christmas and now have very mild illnesses or Asymptomatic when test positive for Covid. Could this be the 2nd dose and immune systems working how they are supposed to?

It is certainly possible. T-cell immunity will show presence of virus in someone infected but the person will remain asymptomatic.

It’s plausible that this virus has already infected far more people than is currently estimated.

We’ll never know for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Don't know if this was posted earlier - Scotland are applying tough new restrictions nationwide.

The number of people allowed to meet up in Scotland has been cut to six amid concerns about the coronavirus pandemic "accelerating".

It came as First Minister Nicola Sturgeon announced a "tightening and extension" of lockdown rules.

Changes planned for next week have been put back until at least 5 October.

It means that theatres, live music venues, indoor soft play facilities and indoor contact sports will not now open next Monday.

Until now, eight people from three households had been allowed to meet indoors in Scotland, and up to 15 from five households outdoors.

This will change to six people from two household, and will apply both indoors and outdoors - including in homes, gardens, pubs and restaurants.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-54093110

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

No. Thays not the way t cells work.

It is certainly possible. T-cell immunity will show presence of virus in someone infected but the person will remain asymptomatic.
    It’s plausible that this virus has already infected far more people than is currently estimated.
    We’ll never know for sure.

Not sure how reliable they were but antibody testing in Dublin showed 3% and London 13% last month.
    Much higher than official counts but far from herd immunity.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Don't know if this was posted earlier - Scotland are applying tough new restrictions nationwide.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-54093110

Whats tough about that ?? Essentially what we already have

• Registered Users Posts: 38,321 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Can't see a Dublin lockdown because its our capital and brings all the essentials of that

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Very slowly, over a long period of time

• Registered Users Posts: 38,321 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Very slowly, over a long period of time

Throw them in a room for 30 mins with the Irish Army

No holds bared

Whats tough about that ?? Essentially what we already have

In Scotland and NI they are backed by police powers to enforce I think.
    More than just advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

PTH2009 wrote: »

No holds bared

The irish army probably consist of their brothers and cousins.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,665 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Lads, they need to take Greece off that fecking green list.
    Fella I know in my town returned from Zante a week and a half ago, tested positive during the week. He had been all over the fecking town since he arrived. I'm involved in the GAA club and we've just had to have emergency meetings because one or two contacts of our players got tested (negative thank god) and possibly more. No confirmed cases other than the original but if there is one then the whole town will have to shut down.
    How the f*ck is Greece on that green list?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,501 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Is there any actual evidence of thiis other than anecdotes?
    Rates of asymptomatic illness are just as high among older infected as they are among younger people actually, funnily enough. just the elderly who show symptoms are prone to serious complications while young symptomatic obviously are not.

Anyway not enough studies have been done on this to know but of the few confirmed reinfections worldwide the man in Hong Kong suffered much worse complicatons on the second infection and was hospitalised, so certainly not in all cases will second infection be milder anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

PTH2009 wrote: »

No holds bared

And holes bared!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

Lads, they need to take Greece off that fecking green list.
    Fella I know in my town returned from Zante a week and a half ago, tested positive during the week. He had been all over the fecking town since he arrived. I'm involved in the GAA club and we've just had to have emergency meetings because one or two contacts of our players got tested (negative thank god) and possibly more. No confirmed cases other than the original but if there is one then the whole town will have to shut down.
    How the f*ck is Greece on that green list?

14 day per 100k of population is lower in Greece than in Ireland.
    If anything, Ireland is at risk of being removed from Greece's green list.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,665 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Irish Aris wrote: »
    The Brits removed all of the islands from their list because of the incidence there. Course we're behind.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,659 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Irish Aris wrote: »

Somebody was espousing a theory today that Greece can be the source, with spread among tourists who bring it home and aren't then recorded as cases in Greece but in their home countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

hmmm wrote: »

The fact the vaccine trials are so tied into the stock of the companies says a lot about them and why they are so important.

€£$