Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 2)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Nobotty

Would one be correct in saying that sinn fein got approval off the last remaining members of the.1st dail??

Was that a quorum :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

mynamejeff wrote: »
    sf ira and the dissidents feeling like they have achieved something with the death of a garda

must be just like the good old days for you guys

Working very hard to try turn any comment into a dig at SF. Not much in the way of a discussion but what ever floats your boat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Bowie wrote: »
    I certainly don't understand what you are on about. I'm okay with that.

I am unsurprised by you as usual matt.

is it time for another new name ? mary o shea perhaps

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Working very hard to try turn any comment into a dig at SF. Not much in the way of a discussion but what ever floats your boat.

sure them sf lads founded the state right ? :):):)

I am unsurprised by you as usual matt.

is it time for another new name ? mary o shea perhaps

Ran out of road?
    Point being the cost is not of paramount concern and its not believable that any in FF/FG are concerned considering what they get up to for their own.
    The Storey and Horkan funerals were identical in flouting Covid. End of. Both should have been handled better.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,020 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Ran out of road?
    Point being the cost is not of paramount concern and its not believable that any in FF/FG are concerned considering what they get up to for their own.
    The Storey and Horkan funerals were identical in flouting Covid. End of. Both should have been handled better.

They're getting real desperate now. All the outrage they can manage to throw is coming out. :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

sf ira and the dissidents feeling like they have achieved something with the death of a garda

must be just like the good old days for you guys

Mod:

Don't post in this thread again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Solutionking

Would one be correct in saying that sinn fein got approval off the last remaining members of the.1st dail??

Did the current Sinn Fein form the state? as claimed by the poster. Yes/no?

Your contention that the IRA formed the 'current' SF is a nonsense.

There is a direct line back to the original SF. It split in the 70's the 'current' SF deciding to stick with abstentionism from Westminster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Nobotty

They're getting real desperate now. All the outrage they can manage to throw is coming out. :)

I wouldn't say its a they
    Its individuals, keyboard warriors arguing with little else to do in their spare time
    There is an irrational political apartheid applied to Sinn Féin by some and its wrong and misguided
    They've no respect for the principles of the good Friday agreement

As well as that,Sinn Féin IMO are a populist party
    Their popularity would stall or slide if they were in government here making peoples lives worse despite what they agitate on route to office
    They won't want that
    Besides again,they'd be entering a coalition, meaning more than just their view will always prevail in government

Nobotty wrote: »
    I wouldn't say its a they
    Its individuals, keyboard warriors arguing with little else to do in their spare time
    There is an irrational political apartheid applied to Sinn Féin by some and its wrong and misguided
    They've no respect for the principles of the good Friday agreement

As well as that,Sinn Féin IMO are a populist party
    Their popularity would stall or slide if they were in government here making peoples lives worse despite what they agitate on route to office
    They won't want that
    Besides again,they'd be entering a coalition, meaning more than just their view will always prevail in government

I think it only sensible to treat SF exactly like FF/FG should they behave in such a manner.
    I hope they don't. They won't have the opportunity Kenny's FG had to build the country but I hope they don't squander the moves they might have.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,658 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

You got it reversed. The Horkan funeral had Calleary and Flanagan and its never raised where the storey one is a go to each time FF/FG embarrass themselves.

Nobody has defended them. We see this yarn posted every so often. Merely claims of hypocrisy from hypocrites. This isn't defending SF either by the way.

Did FG and FF send out an email to its members telling them that the Horkan funeral was a public affair.
    People comparing this funeral to the Bobby Storey political rally are engaging dishonestly.

The Horkan funeral was a hugely reduced affair. The president didn't attend, the Taoiseach didn't attend. Normally there would be hundreds if not thousands of Gardai at it, in this case there was nothing like that.
    And lets not forget, he was a member of the states police force.

Covid changed that funeral hugely, while the Bobby Storey funeral it was SF/IRA business as usual for a common criminal and an abuser of women, with a political rally at a cemetery for a person/body who was not even going to be buried there.

Its a completely dishonest argument.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,964 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

McMurphy wrote: »
    Didn't blanch try and imply a state funeral was exempt from having to follow the HSE guidelines about social distancing etc.

Has that story changed again?
    One would have to enquire,if harris and flanagan attendence was mandatory at said event....should martin resign for not doing his job ,by staying away

A strange corner,poor blanch has painted himself into

When Sinn Fein are in trouble, attack the messenger. Sad but true.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

What have SF contributed to the state or the EU since it's inception? Was the question.

Please read it correctly.

markodaly wrote: »
    Did FG and FF send out an email to its members telling them that the Horkan funeral was a public affair.
    People comparing this funeral to the Bobby Storey political rally are engaging dishonestly.

The Horkan funeral was a hugely reduced affair. The president didn't attend, the Taoiseach didn't attend. Normally there would be hundreds if not thousands of Gardai at it, in this case there was nothing like that.

Covid changed that funeral hugely, while the Bobby Storey funeral it was SF/IRA business as usual for a common criminal and an abuser of women, with a political rally at a cemetery for a person/body who was not even going to be buried there.

All irrelevant. Both had crowds not socially distance. Thats it. Your post is just a futile attempt to find some differences.

Most of that is just your opinion and reason for not going to the man's funeral.

Doesn't change the fact that both funerals got it wrong. The PSNI will not be deliberating on your opinion of either SF or the man.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭mattser

Up Cavan ����

You have hit the nail on the head, and the example shown by Sinn Fein at that funeral as well as Arlene not knowing what to do have combined to see people die as a result. Not that people dying ever bothered SinnFein, they often celebrated it.

Not a normal political party

blanch152 wrote: »
    You have hit the nail on the head, and the example shown by Sinn Fein at that funeral as well as Arlene not knowing what to do have combined to see people die as a result. Not that people dying ever bothered SinnFein, they often celebrated it.

Not a normal political party

Political potshots using the death of people in a pandemic. The bar lowered again.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    What have SF contributed to the state or the EU since it's inception? Was the question.

Please read it correctly.

A very short answer - nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,658 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

All irrelevant. Both had crowds not socially distance. Thats it. Your post is just a futile attempt to find some differences.

Not irrelevant, but inconvenient for some here, because the Horkan funeral is used a s a shield against the Bobby Storey political rally.
    Let us not forget that SF lied about the funeral, saying that the PSNI agreed to it.

Running for cover is now what we are seeing here.

It is easy to find differences because there were are are many differences. Only a fool would think the world is that black and white, where all funerals are the same.

It's like saying a funeral with 10 people, where 3 of those don't socially distance for a few moments is like saying its the same as this.

5efb4b87eda51.jpg

2020-07-01_new_60050729_I1.JPG

image.jpg

Now we have some truth that SF asked its members to attend this funeral.....
    People who defend this action and use the Garda Horkan funeral as a shield are being dishonest.

Political potshots using the death of people in a pandemic. The bar lowered again.

There is a direct line between the Storey funeral and the decline in numbers in the North. Prior to the Storey funeral, the North was actually doing slightly better than the South. That event tipped the numbers, whether as a direct effect or the indirect example shown by Michelle et al.

It is quite stark. There is no doubt people have died as a result of the callous example shown by Sinn Fein. A tipping point in the pandemic is what the figures show.

In a normal party it would be the end of the road for Michelle and Mary-Lou.

Not irrelevant, but inconvenient for some here, because the Horkan funeral is used a s a shield against the Bobby Storey political rally.
    Let us not forget that SF lied about the funeral, saying that the PSNI agreed to it.

Running for cover is now what we are seeing here.

It is easy to find differences because there were are are many differences. Only a fool would think the world is that black and white, where all funerals are the same.

It's like saying a funeral with 10 people, where 3 of those don't socially distance for a few moments is like saying its the same as this.

5efb4b87eda51.jpg

2020-07-01_new_60050729_I1.JPG

image.jpg

Now we have some truth that SF asked its members to attend this funeral.....
    People who defend this action and use the Garda Horkan funeral as a shield are being dishonest.

Inconvenient how? Both were wrong for the same reasons. Its not a competition. All you've done is explain irrelevance in an effort to differentiate between two funerals, wrong for the same reason. Lack of social distancing.

There is a direct line between the Storey funeral and the decline in numbers in the North. Prior to the Storey funeral, the North was actually doing slightly better than the South. That event tipped the numbers, whether as a direct effect or the indirect example shown by Michelle et al.

It is quite stark. There is no doubt people have died as a result of the callous example shown by Sinn Fein. A tipping point in the pandemic is what the figures show.

In a normal party it would be the end of the road for Michelle and Mary-Lou.

Self serving unbacked up nonsense which could be said of the many mistakes made with social distancing across the island.

Do the numbers lie?

Can you refute the trend?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

People are still talking about a funeral up north. My god. Wait til they hear all the scandals that have broke in the south since!

Its pretty pathetic. Months later, we've moved on. It was wrong. Nobody has defended it yet some want to ignore one instance to try make points off another. Its all been said. We're all going in circles. Sad.

Do the numbers lie?

Can you refute the trend?

We're in Level 5...there is a direct line back to Clifden. Do the numbers lie? Can you refute it?

Don't mind political debate blanch but please stop using victims. You really need to ask yourself a few questions about that habit.

Its pretty pathetic. Months later, we've moved on. It was wrong. Nobody has defended it yet some want to ignore one instance to try make points off another. Its all been said. We're all going in circles. Sad.

Pathetic it is. And sad when the victims get exploited again.
    Not going to give them anymore oxygen. It's become a twisted smokescreen for everything else that's going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

When Sinn Fein are in trouble, attack the messenger. Sad but true.

Blanch, stop the act - you did try and spoof - got promptly called out, and now try and play the victim.

There was no exception ref social distancing guidelines at either the Storey funeral, or the funeral of Garda Horkan.

One of us seemed to be trying to spoof. Which one of us do you think it was?