Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is Boards so quiet on Seamus Woulfe, Brian Hayes and these?

• 27-08-2020 9:22am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭

Judges
    Supreme Court judge + former AG Seamus Woulfe,
    Circuit Court judge Pat McCartan,

Commissioners and MEPs (current and former)
    EU Commissioner Phil Hogan - resigned
    Brian Hayes (Former MEP)

Ambassadors
    Moroccan Ambassador(said to be Guest of Lorraine Higgins)

Ministers
    Dara Calleary - Resigned from Ministry

TDs(current and former)
    Independent TD Noel Grealish
    Frank Fahey(Former)
    Noel Dempsey(Former)
    Gerry Brady(Former)
    Áine Brady(Former) currently ThirdAge Ireland
    Brian Hayes(Former) currently BPFI
    Gerry Reynolds(Former)
    Dr Michael Harty(Former) and Oireachtas Health
    Paul Daly

Civil Servants/Oireachtais
    John Flaherty Oireachtas Health+Safety - resigned
    Cait Hayes(head of protocol for Oireachtas) sister of Brian Hayes

Senators(current+former)
    Paul Daly,
    Aidan Davitt,
    Niall Blaney,
    Paddy Burke,
    John Cummins
    Jerry Buttimer - Demoted
    Donie Cassidy
    Imelda Henry(Former)
    Cait Keane(Former)
    Lorraine Higgins(Former) Barrister and Digital Business Ireland(Lobbyist)
    Cait Keane(Former)

Councillors
    Paudge Connolly Monaghan(Former TD)
    Martin Brett (Killkenny) - Resigned
    Enda McGlion(Longford) - Resigned

Journalism
    Sean O Rourke

Unknown
    3 guests of Brian Hayes
    Guests of Gerry +Áine Brady

Station House Hotel
    John Sweeney

• Registered Users Posts: 16,642 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

We don't need threads on every one of them do we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

I am hoping the Saturday/Sunday papers have some more information on the Hayes guests. He is a slippery eel. Mad to think how he first started politics as a member of De Rossa's Democratic Left.

I cant believe Frank Fahey is still being invited to these elite dinners. He is the template FF gombeen. Very dodgy dealings.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭stockshares

Phishnet wrote: »
    Maybe, just maybe, Mr Séamus Woulfe, after all, he was our ex Attorney General and is now a Supreme Court Judge (now that’s what I call Separation of Powers). His attendance at the Oireachtas Golf Society along with other Judges is topical to say the least, particularly as he was acutely aware of the new Covid guidelines. If a Supreme Court Judge can make such a basic error of judgment, has he got the basic cop on to be a Supreme Court Judge?

That alone deserves its own thread compared its some of the drivel that appears on this forum as current affairs, but oh no, boards dumped the thread entitled “ SEAMUS WOULFE MUST RESIGN” in with “Minister of Agriculture attends 81 person Golf event in breach of Health guidelines” type thread and it got lost in the 200 pages of posts. Was this deliberate?

Wasn't aware of that. I seen the thread last night but couldn't find it this morning.

Very pretty to do that.

Do they not realise that large threads become unreadable. Jesus Christ the Main Coranvirus Thread has 10+ versions now.

Wolfe and Hayes deserve their own thread because what's going on with the Vulture Funds amounts to treachery.

NAMA has lots of questions to answer, the wealth of the country Is being moved Stateside.

• Registered Users Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Fuascailteoir

I am hoping the Saturday/Sunday papers have some more information on the Hayes guests. He is a slippery eel. Mad to think how he first started politics as a member of De Rossa's Democratic Left.

I cant believe Frank Fahey is still being invited to these elite dinners. He is the template FF gombeen. Very dodgy dealings.

Didn't know Hayes was first involved with democratic left. Quite the transformation

There's a thread on Twitter about it.

Apparently he was inspired by Prionsais Da Rossa because he stood up to the Shinners/Provos without realising that Prionsais former history wasn't too far removed, in that he was a member of the Workers Party who were the Political wing of another paramilitary group.

Prionsais was a gas man himself. He deserves a thread of his own too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Cáit Hayes is skilled in non profit organisations says on her profile. While her brother works with vulture funds.

Roman Shortall drew attention to something that I hadn't realised earlier. Judges can get appointed with no experience.

If they are not appointed impartially and on merit who watches the watchers.

Political Partys are running one big racket.

https://twitter.com/RomanShortall/status/1298531763048853510?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭crossman47

Hayes has no public role so how can he be asked to resign from anything? This has become ridiculous. Spring and Kenny were smart - they played golf and left.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

I propose show trials like Saddam Hussein ran in Iraq.

The TDs can stand up in the Dail and denounce each other.

Twitter, Facebook and Boards can vote on the outcome.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

The actual event lasted two days culminating with the Oireachtas golf society dinner on the evening of the second day.

The dinner itself sheds light on the reality of “non lobbying lobbying” where the elite rub shoulders together over two days and deals are done, drink is had, jokes are made and golf is played. The invitees to the dinner itself also gives an illuminating insight into what makes up the “establishment”, there where journalist, past and present TD’s and Senators, senior members of the Judiciary and of course the the corporations.

I ask the readers to read the following quote. This Is taken from what the Nazi’s propaganda leader, Doctor Josef Goebbels called his Bible.

“The conscious and intelligent manipulation of the organized habits and opinions of the masses is an important element in democratic society. Those who manipulate this unseen mechanism of society constitute an invisible government which is the true ruling power of our country. ...We are governed, our minds are molded, our tastes formed, our ideas suggested, largely by men we have never heard of. This is a logical result of the way in which our democratic society is organized. Vast numbers of human beings must cooperate in this manner if they are to live together as a smoothly functioning society. ...In almost every act of our daily lives, whether in the sphere of politics or business, in our social conduct or our ethical thinking, we are dominated by the relatively small number of persons...who understand the mental processes and social patterns of the masses. It is they who pull the wires which control the public mind.”

― Edward Bernays, Propaganda

I’d be very careful about linking the nazis in any way to this golf outing.
    They could sue you for defamation. The nazis that is.

Gods Gift wrote: »
    I’d be very careful about linking the nazis in any way to this golf outing.
    They could sue you for defamation. The nazis that is.

They have history together. What a legacy.

I think we need a Christy Moore Song. Scroll to 2mins 22secs
    https://youtu.be/xQbXO828Vio

The words in another version say it all
    Many Irishmen heard the call of Franco
    Joined Hitler and Mussolini too
    Propaganda from the pulpit and newspapers
    Helped O’Duffy to enlist his crew

The word came from Maynooth, “support the Nazis”
    The men of cloth failed again
    When the Bishops blessed the Blueshirts in Dun Laoghaire
    As they sailed beneath the swastika to Spain

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭jam17032010

The actual event lasted two days culminating with the Oireachtas golf society dinner on the evening of the second day.

The dinner itself sheds light on the reality of “non lobbying lobbying” where the elite rub shoulders together over two days and deals are done, drink is had, jokes are made and golf is played. The invitees to the dinner itself also gives an illuminating insight into what makes up the “establishment”, there where journalist, past and present TD’s and Senators, senior members of the Judiciary and of course the the corporations.

I ask the readers to read the following quote. This is taken from what the Nazi’s propaganda leader, Doctor Josef Goebbels called his Bible.

“The conscious and intelligent manipulation of the organized habits and opinions of the masses is an important element in democratic society. Those who manipulate this unseen mechanism of society constitute an invisible government which is the true ruling power of our country. ...We are governed, our minds are molded, our tastes formed, our ideas suggested, largely by men we have never heard of. This is a logical result of the way in which our democratic society is organized. Vast numbers of human beings must cooperate in this manner if they are to live together as a smoothly functioning society. ...In almost every act of our daily lives, whether in the sphere of politics or business, in our social conduct or our ethical thinking, we are dominated by the relatively small number of persons...who understand the mental processes and social patterns of the masses. It is they who pull the wires which control the public mind.”

― Edward Bernays, Propaganda

I posted this in the other thread but it seems more relevant here given your post...

When you see that both Sean O'Rourke and Brian Hayes were both at the golf event and how often O'Rourke gave Hayes a platform on his show (see tweet below) while ignoring other MEPs, you have to be cynical about his journalistic integrity.

Not surprised by Pat the Kenny's earnest defence of Phil Hogan yesterday given his boss won a substantial contract for installing water meters while Phil Hogan was the minister in charge of water charges, but we really should expect better of RTE and O'Rourke.

A lot of mainstream media in this country stinks to high heaven IMO.

https://twitter.com/donnghaile/status/1275553534642192384?s=19

I posted this in the other thread but it seems more relevant here given your post...

When you see that both Sean O'Rourke and Brian Hayes were both at the golf event and how often O'Rourke gave Hayes a platform on his show (see tweet below) while ignoring other MEPs, you have to be cynical about his journalistic integrity.

Not surprised by Pat the Kenny's earnest defence of Phil Hogan yesterday given his boss won a substantial contract for installing water meters while Phil Hogan was the minister in charge of water charges, but we really should expect better of RTE and O'Rourke.

A lot of mainstream media in this country stinks to high heaven IMO.

https://twitter.com/donnghaile/status/1275553534642192384?s=19

Seen that. It's accurate. They are far too close. We're being fed propaganda and he and his like deliver it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

Why are people not asking about the ridiculous knee jerk reaction of Donnelly and Martin on Tuesday 18th Aug when without any warning or notice to anyone, they introduced strict new guidelines as a knee jerk reaction to a group of 6 people having some fun in a dublin pub.

it was kneejerk
    It was ridiculous
    It was stupid.

It was so mis-understood that only the indo actually reported on it. It was missed by Irish times, daily muck, mirror, examiner & star.

Irish Hotels federation did not know about it, nor did most other venues like golf clubs and community halls.

If the dinner was on the Tuesday, it would have been fine (assuming the separation between the 2 rooms was ok). If it was a "cultural" event or a wedding it would have been fine too.

The utter mishandling of announcements by donnelly and martin is the primary blame imo.

They need to go back to Friday announcements and flag them in advance - as worked perfectly well since March

• Registered Users Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

Judges
    Supreme Court judge + former AG Seamus Woulfe,
    Circuit Court judge Pat McCartan,

Commissioners and MEPs (current and former)
    EU Commissioner Phil Hogan - resigned
    Brian Hayes (Former MEP)

Ambassadors
    Moroccan Ambassador(said to be Guest of Lorraine Higgins)

Ministers
    Dara Calleary - Resigned from Ministry

TDs(current and former)
    Independent TD Noel Grealish
    Frank Fahey(Former)
    Noel Dempsey(Former)
    Gerry Brady(Former)
    Áine Brady(Former) currently ThirdAge Ireland
    Brian Hayes(Former) currently BPFI
    Gerry Reynolds(Former)
    Dr Michael Harty(Former) and Oireachtas Health
    Paul Daly

Civil Servants/Oireachtais
    John Flaherty Oireachtas Health+Safety - resigned
    Cait Hayes(head of protocol for Oireachtas) sister of Brian Hayes

Senators(current+former)
    Paul Daly,
    Aidan Davitt,
    Niall Blaney,
    Paddy Burke,
    John Cummins
    Jerry Buttimer - Demoted
    Donie Cassidy
    Imelda Henry(Former)
    Cait Keane(Former)
    Lorraine Higgins(Former) Barrister and Digital Business Ireland(Lobbyist)
    Cait Keane(Former)

Councillors
    Martin Brett (Killkenny) - Resigned
    Enda McGlion(Longford) - Resigned

Journalism
    Sean O Rourke

Unknown
    3 guests of Brian Hayes
    Guests of Gerry +Áine Brady

Station House Hotel
    John Sweeney

All in this together, has been the country's mantra in recent months. In that case they should all be fired 'together' from public office. Its a deplorable example of the political class believing they dont need to conform. I would also fire the garda commissioner Drew Harris in part for his failure to convey the importance of his force's application of the law after one of his underlings failing to fine Phil hogan for driving while on a mobile phone. There seems to have been zero change in the culture within the gardai since Harris came on board.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Christ, surprised to learn that too.

dr jekyll and mr hayes.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭touts

Brian Hayes was doing his job as a lobbyist for the Banks by being at the dinner. Morally it's low down on the bank **** list.

As for Fine Gael Supreme Court Justice Seamus Wolfe. He is a gonner but they will let Susan Denham's investigation pull the trigger on that one. But don't feel too bad for him. As a former AG and SCJ he'll be back practicing in the Four Courts within weeks making more money than he could spend in a lifetime.

touts wrote: »
    Brian Hayes was doing his job as a lobbyist for the Banks by being at the dinner. Morally it's low down on the bank **** list.

As for Fine Gael Supreme Court Justice Seamus Wolfe. He is a gonner but they will let Susan Denham's investigation pull the trigger on that one. But don't feel too bad for him. As a former AG and SCJ he'll be back practicing in the Four Courts within weeks making more money than he could spend in a lifetime.

Was he.

There are rumours that he was there with Promontoria/Cerberus Hedge Fund employees.

Moroccan Ambassador also present.

In Galway during a Pandemic, during a Storm.

^^^^ this one right here

Golfing in Cabo Roig, not isolating and then heading down to this soirée. Shouldn’t have gone to Spain in the first place imo.

What his story?
    A psychiatric nurse and part-time secretary of the Health Services Branch of the SIPTU trade union,

• Registered Users Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

osarusan wrote: »
    We don't need threads on every one of them do we?

No. No we dont.

Mod

Thread closed.