Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How Long do Power Supplies Last....(Typically)

Options
  • 29-08-2020 12:36am
    Registered Users Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭

Quick one lads,

I am currently building a new rig and I am taking some parts from my current rig to keep the costs down and also as they are working 100%.

My question is this, I have a Coolermaster Real Power 1000w that I am going to be using and it has never missed a beat but it is 10yrs old!!!

Would it be okay to use in my new rig or would you get a new one? Would it do more harm then good if it was not as efficient as when new.....Also if I do decide to get a new PSu I think a lower wattage would be better (I got this is a sale when I was getting my last rig) Something like the Corsair RM750X 80+ Gold.

Its going to be powering a Ryzen 9 and hopefully a RTX30xx series card.

This is the model I have....
    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/coolermaster-real-power-1000w-modular-power-supply-ca-146-cm.html

Thanx in Advance.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Yes, 100% replace.

The PSU is outside its warranty window (5 years), doesn't have 80 Plus certification, and conforms to the older ATX12V 2.3 spec (current is ATX12V 2.4).

An 850W unit is practically the same price as 750W, I'd overbuy as the RTX 3000-series looks to be power-hungry.

Also check the bargain alerts thread for an Ryzen 9-3900 deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Ahh ****, I bow to your superior knowledge K.O. Real shame that as it a super PSu.