Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Adele accused of 'Cultural Appropriation'

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

So we what different cultures to mix and begin intergrated within the west, but got forbid a white person likes something from an non white culture...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Cultural appropriation is the ultimate bullcrap - everyone and everything is appropriated over the millennia, if this wasn't the case we'd all be far worse off.

I've just had a look at twitter and the "top" threads are backing her right and wondering about ideological shortcomings of Black Americans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭slipperyox

How efficient are hijabs as covid face masks?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

So we what different cultures to mix and begin intergrated within the west, but got forbid a white person likes something from an non white culture...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

Should i throw out my Public Enemy CD's in case i offend someone by listening to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I'm completely out of fûcks to give about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Is Paul Daniels on this thread?
    Someone disappeared a lot of posts.

• Registered Users Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Psychiatric Patrick

Should i throw out my Public Enemy CD's in case i offend someone by listening to them?

Well I’m offended so yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

Cultural appropriation is the ultimate bullcrap - everyone and everything is appropriated over the millennia, if this wasn't the case we'd all be far worse off.

That's what I tell myself whenever I go fill up at anyone of the 50 gas stations in Kanahwake, the Mohawk reservation nearby. I don't begrudge them their casinos either. On the other hand, since Covid started, non-Indians ain't allowed onto the reservation, except for route 132, where their big businesses are. Lol

whippet wrote: »
    I object to the way that some african people wear three piece suits - surely that is cultural appropriation also.

**** 100% tongue in cheek to show how ridiculous this whole argument is

You were Beaten to by few minutes

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

RTE have gone to sh.t over the years.
    Imagine some employee is getting paid top dollar to nosey around on Twitter and write stupid fluff piece, non-stories like these, and even worse, we are paying their wages. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,907 ✭✭✭daheff

There is a difference between mocking a culture and copying a culture, or parts thereof.

Mocking is making fun of it, copying is because the person likes it.

This SJW bandwagon isn't getting the difference and thinks its all about making fun of the culture and get outraged at every little thing they can because they ultimately want to make trouble for the person they are being outraged at.

Absolute Nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Imagine some employee is getting paid top dollar to nosey around on Twitter and write stupid fluff piece, non-stories like these, and even worse, we are paying their wages. :mad:

If lads moving furniture around the stage are getting over a hundred grand a year, just imagine how much you could make with hard hitting investigative journalism like this:

"Supermodel Naomi Campbell, whose mother was born in Jamaica, also commented with two love heart emojis and two pictures of the Jamaican flag.

Jamaican musician Popcaan shared a fist emoji and a love heart.

And actress Tessa Thompson, who stars in sci-fi TV series Westworld, commented with a flame emoji."

Eat your heart out Woodward and Bernstein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Is this similar to the concept of being a "plastic paddy"?

I tried to educate myself on this and to be honest I understand how this example, relating to people who reduce a culturally significant item or outfit to something that is a novelty or a gimmick, would be offensive:
    For the [Native American] communities that wear these headdresses, they represent respect, power and responsibility. The headdress has to be earned, gifted to a leader in whom the community has placed their trust. When it becomes a cheap commodity anyone can buy and wear to a party, that meaning is erased and disrespected, and Native peoples are reminded that our cultures are still seen as something of the past, as unimportant in contemporary society, and unworthy of respect.
    Maybe it's the same for this hairstyle Adele had.

However this is a load of bollox:
    In Britain, the rough tweed cloth clothing of the Irish, English and Scottish peasantry, including the flat cap and Irish hat were appropriated by the upper classes as the British country clothing worn for sports such as hunting or fishing, in imitation of the then Prince of Wales. The country clothing, in turn, was appropriated by the wealthy American Ivy League and later preppy subcultures during the 1950s and 1980s due to both its practicality and its association with the English elite.

Flat caps and tweed outfits are surely not, or never were, a core aspect of an Irish persons culture.

What ethnicity are the RTÉ employees that typed the article, that approved it etc.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Oh for God’s sake. Culture isn’t something finite like land or resources; me utilising an aspect of a given culture doesn’t deprive someone else from doing something. For instance me cooking a curry or doing yoga doesn’t stop Indians from doing it either, we’ve always swapped and drawn from other cultures. If we follow this logic onto its natural conclusion then listening to reggae or doing salsa or karate etc is all “cultural appropriation”; I mean what do people want? People to behave solely within the confines of their assigned ethnicity? There’s a word for that like. Honestly I think a lot of this mad wokelord stuff ends up going full circle and becoming racist in itself.

There are arguments about black hair being penalised in school and work etc, or culture being mocked and degraded - the argument with that is with straight up racism, not Adele wearing a Jamaican flag bikini or some lad making miso soup.

This culture war stuff is such a load of draining b*llocks and completely misses the issues we need to be focussing on collectively. If the CIA wanted to sabotage the viability of ‘left’ politics then they couldn’t have done a better job than insert all of this rubbish into left discourse.

Urquell wrote: »
    "A Twitter user said "

How ...but How is that news? It makes us all a bit more stupid ... that National Broadcasters seek this nonsense out and give weight to it. Making the opinionated think their guff is somehow valid, worth even ... and perpetuates it further.

Is there nothing more important happening and where in the world? What a stupid age. Damn kids ... *shakes fist

Did someone on twitter really post that?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

wow she looks amazing fair play to her, as for the cultural appropriation, another loony leftism from a loony millenial no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,826 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I'm taking to twitter to see whats the funniest response to the farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,559 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

What ethnicity are the RTÉ employees that typed the article, that approved it etc.?

Why do people keep asking this rhetorical question? I imagine most people at RTE are white so what's your point?

Is the suggestion that only black people should care about black issues? It's common in gender wars threads, for men to complain that it shouldn't be just left to men to advocate for men's issues, but in this case it seems you want to mock non-black people for getting involved in a black issue.

As it happens I disagree with whatever people are having a go at this wan for wearing bantu style hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Adele is wealthy enough, famous enough and smart enough to tell all these people to **** off.

A bit like JK Rowling has with her own recent views.

Why do people keep asking this rhetorical question? I imagine most people at RTE are white so what's your point?

Is the suggestion that only black people should care about black issues? It's common in ge der wars threads for men to complain that it shouldn't be just left to men to advocate for men's issues, but in this case it seems you want to mock non-black people for getting involved in a black issue.

As it happens I disagree with whatever people are having a go at this wan for wearing bantu style hair.

I think you missed the point of the post.

Wind your neck in and relax

I think you missed the point of the post.

Wind your neck in and relax

Ah. OK. What was the point of the post?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Not having it. We bang on about globalisation and we talk about the mixing of cultures being a product of it. This is, for me, the result. If you put a keen eye over history you will see that cultures have mixed overtime or have borrowed from each other. It says nothing of the person if they admire a certain style/fashion of a culture. Provided it's not a sacred garment or done in a derogatory way or something then go for it.

Notting hill carnival is a celebration of Caribbean heritage, does this mean folks who do not have Caribbean roots may not celebrate? Can people around the world not celebrate St. Patricks day and have to take of the Tri Colour paraphenellia too? It's such a stupid slippery slope you could sit there and argue a huge number of things are cultural appropriation if you really wanted to.

It's a stupid argument in most cases and I think all it does to do is draw strong lines between each other i.e. "this is us and this is you, so let's keep it that way" All smacks a little bit of racism to me.

Just don't misappropriate a Hell's Angels jacket. But there is a solution for that too.

A local company sells criminal biker wannabe wear, Headrush. A lot of folks wanna look like pirates, it's a good thing there aren't too many of them left that could feel they are being misappropriated.

I remember Johnny Depp saying he had copied Keith Richards' look for his Pirate of the Carribbean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Adele was born in Tottingham and lived in Brixton so she will have been surrounded by the people who gave London the Carnival all her life.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Mainly Micks and Paddys I reckon. But from the same family, roughly speaking.

I can't wait for the hardcore Aran Islanders to demand removal of all those Aran sweaters on the market. Oy veh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,512 ✭✭✭Wheety

Have RTE now changed the image? I'm sure they had the offending picture of her on the article earlier?

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭Sarcozies

Does using electricity or American social media platforms count as cultural appropriation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Cultures are open source

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Mainly Micks and Paddys I reckon. But from the same family, roughly speaking.

You have something against Micks and Paddy I think

Ah. OK. What was the point of the post?

Of course now I have to explain it because if I posted “go figure it out, you thick” then you would drone on and on

Are the RTÉ employees who posted this story of the appropriate ethnic and cultural background to be reporting on this, etc. etc. blah blah blah...

I know someone who opines about cultural appropriation incessantly. She wears full on wedding bindi to music festivals (as do many), but that's just a fashion thing, and completely different.

Of course now I have to explain it because if I posted “go figure it out, you thick” then you would drone on and on

Are the RTÉ employees who posted this story of the appropriate ethnic and cultural background to be reporting on this, etc. etc. blah blah blah...

Then how did I miss the point. That's exactly what I thought your point would be.

So now you really did miss the point of the post. Wind your neck in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

You have something against Micks and Paddy I think

So does the rest of the world, you need to get out more. Don't wear your cap though Paddy, there are bigots and prejudices everywhere.

Candie wrote: »
    I know someone who opines about cultural appropriation incessantly. She wears full on wedding bindi to music festivals (as do many), but that's just a fashion thing, and completely different.

What is a wedding bindi?

I looked it up but it is pages of the Crocodile Hunter’s kid’s wedding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

Wheety wrote: »
    Have RTE now changed the image? I'm sure they had the offending picture of her on the article earlier?

still there for me at this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

I'd expect no different from RTE. Who ever runs the site is a far leftie, social media ****.

Nothing but left leaning, and "Twitter Users said" type articles.

I picture some female in her 30s wearing a "Repeal" jumper.
    The kind of girl I'd end up arguing with 24/7 if we dated :)

What has political persuasion got to do with liking social media celebrity articles? Or women and repealing the 8th? Your comments sound like those of an absolute crazed madman looking for links to things where there are none :pac:

This sort of celebrity gossip sh!te has been in the papers for decades. The article doesn't condemn or condone, just reports on this twitter based "story".

Pure garbage article, nothing to see here..

What is a wedding bindi?

I looked it up but it is pages of the Crocodile Hunter’s kid’s wedding

It's the usually red, yellow or sometimes blue dot worn between the eyebrows by women in India. Usually Hindus. Wedding bindi can be a bit more elaborate, a pattern above both eyebrows or a series of dots petaling the usual centre one.

Calling your daughter bindi is a bit nuts. It means dot or spot in Hindi.

Then how did I miss the point. That's exactly what I thought your point would be.

So now you really did miss the point of the post. Wind your neck in.

Not according to your original response to my question.

I would quote it here except that when I follow the links in the quotes back it doesn’t lead to your post. It is as though the post has been deleted.

Or the fault might be with my device

EDIT: I cannot find the post where I asked the question either

It's the usually red, yellow or sometimes blue dot worn between the eyebrows by women in India. Usually Hindus. Wedding bindi can be a bit more elaborate, a pattern above both eyebrows or a series of dots petaling the usual centre one.

Calling your daughter bindi is a bit nuts. It means dot or spot in Hindi.

Why do women wear them at music festivals ?

I doubt Steve Irwin was referencing the Hindu culture in naming his daughter. Most likely Bindi means something to Australians. Perhaps it is an word from the Aboriginal language?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,849 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I thought cultural diversity was our strength, but on the other hand cultural exchange is bad? Right so. More retarded and contradictory nonsense from the progressive loudhailers as usual?

Never mind that these mental cases if they divested themselves of stuff from other cultures would be likely walking around in the nip living in a shed. I saw one Asian American(well the latter is a near given) eejit lose his head on both youtube and twitter over White people appropriating Asian culture, yet there he was sitting in an armchair in jeans wearing glasses with books lining a shelf behind him and a telly in the background using the internet on a computer. All inventions of the same pale of hue people. Needless to say when this was pointed out he lost the plot.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Why does the duck have disembodied balls for arms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

"Bantu knots are NOT to be worn by white people in any context, period."

The above comment is racist.
    The irony :D

Bambi wrote: »
    Cultures are open source
    Quite right.
    Imagine if we refused to allow any other cultural influences in to Ireland. Think of all the lovely food you would miss out on for a start.

And we are doing better out of the deal than the other cultures, we get all the nice grub, they get characterless Irish theme pubs.

Why do women wear them at music festivals ?

I doubt Steve Irwin was referencing the Hindu culture in naming his daughter. Most likely Bindi means something to Australians. Perhaps it is an word from the Aboriginal language?

No, Bindi (as in Irwin) does seem to be of Aboriginal origin, to be fair. I wouldn't name a daughter Bindi because I'd just feel I called her Spot. I wouldn't even call a dog Spot. I'd probably feel differently if I was Australian.

I think they're worn as part of a more bohemian aesthetic by the festival-going-bindi-wearing public. it's just a fashion or style thing. I suppose it's reserved for festivals because a bunch of white girls in shorts and wellingtons with their foreheads decorated in wedding bindi might look a little over the top for your average night out in downtown Dublin or Cork or Newcastle, but I'm no expert on the subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,366 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

daheff wrote: »
    There is a difference between mocking a culture and copying a culture, or parts thereof.

Mocking is making fun of it, copying is because the person likes it.

This SJW bandwagon isn't getting the difference and thinks its all about making fun of the culture and get outraged at every little thing they can because they ultimately want to make trouble for the person they are being outraged at.

Absolute Nonsense.

Yeah context is lost on some people these days. I do find it funny at times when someone on Twitter gets utterly offended on someone’s behalf over something said about that person and then the person who’s supposed to be offended says that’s they don’t take offence to it. You can literally see in tweet form the person who’s offended head explode.

No, Bindi (as in Irwin) does seem to be of Aboriginal origin, to be fair. I wouldn't name a daughter Bindi because I'd just feel I called her Spot. I wouldn't even call a dog Spot. I'd probably feel differently if I was Australian.
    Maybe her real name is Dorothy > Dot > Bindi.
    It might be her nickname.