Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fire destroys Co Galway house purchased by council for Traveller family

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

Another bonfire of taxpayer money. And the Travellers have no problem fuelling it provided they never contribute a solitary cent.

Maybe it was insured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭unhappys10

and did they say 'trick or treat, were travellers' or how did you tell ?

Don't be stupid, I have eyes in my head and 2 ears. I can spot travellers like most people can, just like I can spot eejits on the internet.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Zookey123

Travellers are oppressed but a council will spend 430K on a free house for them.

Sign me up to that oppression please!
    But they are oppressed in this case since their house just got burned down or did you not read the post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

I am speculating based on experience I had with that minority.
    I know of a house that was burnt out twice in 6 months. 1st time because of a feud. Council re-furbished the house and was almost ready. Then it was burnt out again by the family supposed to move back in. They didn't want to move back to the area as the feud would reignite when they did.

The average person who doesn't have much dealings with them doesn't actually have a clue as to what really goes on in that section of society. They are too insulated from reality. I could tell you stories you would not believe.

I know of a house that was burnt out twice in 6 months. 1st time because of a feud. Council re-furbished the house and was almost ready. Then it was burnt out again by the family supposed to move back in. They didn't want to move back to the area as the feud would reignite when they did.

The average person who doesn't have much dealings with them doesn't actually have a clue as to what really goes on in that section of society. They are too insulated from reality. I could tell you stories you would not believe.
    You're making incredible leaps in terms of your speculation because you don't like travelers. When somebody mentioned a traveller family not causing any trouble, you concluded they were drug dealers... That reflects on you more than anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

Must of been some 4 bed house for 430,000 in Carnmore !

You're making incredible leaps in terms of your speculation because you don't like travelers. When somebody mentioned a traveller family not causing any trouble, you concluded they were drug dealers... That reflects on you more than anything.

Maybe contact Galway Council. You could offer for them to move into your back yard for a few months. I'm sure you'd only be delighted to host a lovely traveller family for the winter when it must be oh so cold outside.

I have lived in close proximity to travelers for years and never had a good interaction but burning a families house down is ok?? They could have little kids inside. That was a real scummy move and whoever did it should face the full force of the law. You mightn't like travelers but they are human and some of them are actually all right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

unhappys10 wrote: »

Having said that, I live in a small estate (20 houses) and have a traveller family across the street. We've been renting here 2 years and there literally hasn't been a peep out of them, nothing, if I didn't see them coming and going I wouldn't know they were there at all.

So not all are bad.

Well said. I belive that the issue here is that no-one knows whether the family that was going to get the house in Galway (or in other locations where similar fires have occurred) was a completely inoffensive one - like the travelling family in your estate - or was one of the more anti-social, "neighbour from hell" families that some other renters and homeowners have the misfortune to live beside.

So, just to be on the safe side, the house was burnt down.

It's probably impossible nowadays due to various rights and PC agendas, but if the Council's Traveller Housing Officer was able to meet with locals and try to reassure them that the family earmarked for that particular home were a law abiding and "respectable" (please excuse the judgmental term) traveller family, then these kinds of incidents mightn't happen.

In an information vacuum, rumours travel fast and people tend to fear the worst and act accordingly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

Did the €430k include stables or were they extra?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Zookey123 wrote: »
    I have lived in close proximity to travelers for years and never had a good interaction but burning a families house down is ok?? They could have little kids inside. That was a real scummy move and whoever did it should face the full force of the law. You mightn't like travelers but they are human and some of them are actually all right.

the house was vacant, they hadn't moved in yet.

the only time travellers have ever had the house set on fire with them inside is that time in carrickmines the dad left the chip pan on when he fell asleep high on benzos and full of drink.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

It is the corruption in the council that wrecks my head the most.

Somebody somewhere got a backhander to sign for € 430,000. That is a lot of money for a gaff all things considered.

I hope the CnAG investigates Galway Co council over this.

I have no issue with travellers wanting to settle, but Co Council backhanders are where it seems to be at. They forked out a million for the family in Dunsink. Do they pay them in cash or bank draft? Somebody somewhere is getting a backhander there too.

It's probably impossible nowadays due to various rights and PC agendas, but if the Council's Traveller Housing Officer was able to meet with locals and try to reassure them that the family earmarked for that particular home were a law abiding and "respectable" (please excuse the judgmental term) traveller family, then these kinds of incidents mightn't happen

That is grand but the thing is none the locals will believe them. They will see it as the council coming out to convince them that they are a nice family so that they can off-load them there without opposition. It'll be seen as them trying to sell the travellers to the area and they harder they try to convince, the more people will be suspicious that they might not be so nice.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    It is the corruption in the council that wrecks my head the most.

Somebody somewhere got a backhander to sign for € 430,000. That is a lot of money for a gaff all things considered.

I hope the CnAG investigates Galway Co council over this.

I have no issue with travellers wanting to settle, but Co Council backhanders are where it seems to be at. They forked out a million for the family in Dunsink. Do they pay them in cash or bank draft? Somebody somewhere is getting a backhander there too.

The council paid €430k to someone to buy the house. Why would they need to pay a backhander when they are paying out that money to someone to buy a house?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

This isn't directed at yerself per se however you've provided an example of how we are so intrinsically set against travellers. Imagine we were talking about another minority, a comment like that wouldn't be allowed to stand. However like yourself I've never had a good traveller experience in fact any normal ones get marked as good almost like bonus points because they're a traveller.

First they came for the socialists...

the only time travellers have ever had the house set on fire with them inside is that time in carrickmines the dad left the chip pan on when he fell asleep high on benzos and full of drink.

But ultimately didn't that turn out to be all our fault?

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/carrickmines-fire-family-takes-legal-action-over-fatal-blaze-1.3470303

• Registered Users Posts: 25,984 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Well said. I belive that the issue here is that no-one knows whether the family that was going to get the house in Galway (or in other locations where similar fires have occurred) was a completely inoffensive one - like the travelling family in your estate - or was one of the more anti-social, "neighbour from hell" families that some other renters and homeowners have the misfortune to live beside.

In this case, Galway CITY Council purchased a property which is (just) inside Galway COUNTY council's boundary. Its likely that the city council are proposing to put this family out in the country for a good reason.

Feisar wrote: »
    This isn't directed at yerself per se however you've provided an example of how we are so intrinsically set against travellers. Imagine we were talking about another minority, a comment like that wouldn't be allowed to stand. However like yourself I've never had a good traveller experience in fact any normal ones get marked as good almost like bonus points because they're a traveller.
    I agree i should have worded that better.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,984 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

However like yourself I've never had a good traveller experience in fact any normal ones get marked as good almost like bonus points because they're a traveller.

I've had some good experiences - but many people didn't even realise that the family involved are Travellers.

You may well have had similar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

The council paid €430k to someone to buy the house. Why would they need to pay a backhander when they are paying out that money to someone to buy a house?

Maybe the house was only worth € 350k ?

Go figure.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,156 ✭✭✭screamer

I don’t agree with that kind of money being spent to house anyone on a public housing list being honest. However the overall outcome of this is that the house will be fully refitted or rebuilt and reallocated to the original family. Has happened before near MILs house, not travellers but scummy drug dealers house burned to the ground twice by rivals and rebuilt for them both times.

In this case, Galway CITY Council purchased a property which is (just) inside Galway COUNTY council's boundary. Its likely that the city council are proposing to put this family out in the country for a good reason.

Roughly how many similarly sized and priced houses would be available within the city boundaries?

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭excludedbin

I’m not sure what I’m more appalled by

Nah, you are and it's very clear that there's only one part that appals you. As usual, psychos torching buildings is okay with the right wing set here. As long as the buildings are torched for the right reasons, of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,461 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Nah, you are and it's very clear that there's only one part that appals you. As usual, psychos torching buildings is okay with the right wing set here. As long as the buildings are torched for the right reasons, of course.

You mean as long as those travellers aren’t moving in next door to YOU.

I agree i should have worded that better.

No no, worded perfectly because it's exactly what we think. There have been loads of examples over the years here where I'd think, if that was any other subset of people I'd be disgusted. However with no positive Traveller experiences it seems OK to me.
    There's a poster here called FatKnacker, would FatN!gger be allowed?

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

the house was vacant, they hadn't moved in yet.

I never heard anything about benzos and being full of drink?:confused: Just heard about a chip fan. Have you a link to that report?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

You mean as long as those travellers aren’t moving in next door to YOU.

Where do you draw the line here? Would you go setting things on fire (assuming thats the case)?

Will you (if you end up ever being able to afford that house and you find out travelers are living near by)?

I've had some good experiences - but many people didn't even realise that the family involved are Travellers.

You may well have had similar.

Doubt it, like most I can spot them a mile away but yea it's possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

FatN!gger be allowed?

The way some people post these days, I think it might be... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Electronic Writer

Jesus christ what people will say when they are anonymous on a Boards thread.

yes.