Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wokeism of the day *Revised Mod Note in OP and threadbanned users*

• Registered Users Posts: 33,332 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

AllForIt wrote: »
    That was hilarious from start to finish. Yer man things Nike trainers and Beats headphones are an authentic look. What does he think white coaches wear? A tuxedo?

When I lived in London (Daley's from Hackney) there were Tennis courts nearby anyone could go to, you didn't have to be a member, you just rocked up and paid your fiver, often playing with empty courts around you. And another one in Brixton with even easier access. You didn't pay if the man that came round to collect the fee didn't turn up and when he did you could get away with giving him a couple of quid iirc. I've never seen anything like that in predominately white Ireland. It's not Tennis's fault you can't go to the park and play there like teens do with a football.

I quite like the 'stuffy' upper class look of Wimbledon that you don't get in the other tournaments. I certainly don't wan't to see people wearing street clothes and beats headphones in the Royal box. It would spoil the look.

Eh, Wimbledon was entirely cancelled last year and isn't there some big football tournament going on currently with fans leaving Leicester Square looking like a waste facility? Not so much strawberries and champagne but hot dogs and cans of lager. And Neville, one doesn't stuff strawberries down your neck, try to have some class despite your upbringing.

What did Mr. Neville say about the decision to allow obviously classist football to host a football match in July with 60 000 fans?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭AllForIt

What did Mr. Neville say about the decision to allow obviously classist football to host a football match in July with 60 000 fans?

Pass

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭bossdrum

https://www.bbc.com/sport/tennis/57163219

So tennis is "too white and too male" , don't they see the irony in the racism and misandry in this ?

Imagine if anyone said "Basketball is too black"

Just imagine what would happen to that person as a consequence ....

"Daley coaches children in Newham and says he uses his individuality - wearing Nike Jordan trainers, Beats headphones and a NBA vest - to break the mould of what youngsters might think are "normal" tennis coaches."

This guy thinks he's showing his individuality by wearing mass produced overpriced basketball footware and clothing, and I've never seen anyone playing tennis wearing headphones? Maybe that's why his students aren't making it to the top level.

According to the population statistics in Britain there are far too many black premier league footballers but I don't see the BBC reporting on this inequality.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

With that attitude you will go far in life

"The problem is middle-class, white, stale, male, small conservative attitudes do still run pretty deep in the leagues. We have three successful teams but still face thinly veiled passive aggression.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 4,465 ✭✭✭KevRossi

https://www.bbc.com/sport/tennis/57163219

So tennis is "too white and too male" , don't they see the irony in the racism and misandry in this ?

Imagine if anyone said "Basketball is too black"

Just imagine what would happen to that person as a consequence ....

According to the article above, people of ethnic minorities are over represented when it comes to elite players, monthly participants and yearly participants.

It's just the officials, coaches and volunteers where they are under represented.

Also the Indian lady interviewed said it's an Indian cultural thing that prevents their kids getting involved, they view sport as a waste of time rather than a recreational thing. Unless it brings some sort of monetary or status reward. It's nothing to do with white UK culture.

So what's the issue?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Tyrone212

Black athlete Gwen berry turned her back on US national anthem the other day. Now Right wing media and conservatives in the US are calling for her to be kicked off the team. I thought they were against cancelling people? Freedom of expression is off limits now apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,566 ✭✭✭jackboy

Tyrone212 wrote: »
    Black athlete Gwen berry turned her back on US national anthem the other day. Now Right wing media and conservatives in the US are calling for her to be kicked off the team. I thought they were against cancelling people? Freedom of expression is off limits now apparently.

It depends. Has she received funding?

a roasting is fair enough

https://twitter.com/TheBabylonBee/status/1409544291656081409

jackboy wrote: »
    It depends. Has she received funding?

but she has qualified for the olympics on her own merit,its too late to be demanding she be thrown off the team now?

I don’t think she should be thrown off the team. She wants drama so they should just ignore her actions.

I think she could do with a good dose of cop on and stop making a show of herself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Tyrone212

I don’t think she should be thrown off the team. She wants drama so they should just ignore her actions.

I think she could do with a good dose of cop on and stop making a show of herself.

They want her cancelled though. The hypocrisy is hilarious. All for free speech and freedom of expression when it suits their opinion only. Go against it and you're cancelled. Massive hypocrites.

Turning your back and bending your knee is now a mortal sin apparently. Snowflakes galore. Who would have known body positions would be so triggering for them.

What's next? A witch hunt for clicking your fingers LOL

They want her cancelled though. The hypocrisy is hilarious. All for free speech and freedom of expression when it suits their opinion only. Go against it and you're cancelled. Massive hypocrites.

Turning your back and bending your knee is now a mortal sin apparently. Snowflakes galore.

I agree that there is hypocrisy with both sides there.

Meh...at worst,i think its harmless peaceful protest....seen james mcclean given horrendous abuse for not wearing the poppy,and felt he was right to not back down

If shes doing for similar reasons as she claimed,this is as about as far opposite of shallow wokism,yous are likely to find imo

Turning your back and bending your knee is now a mortal sin apparently. Snowflakes galore. Who would have known body positions would be so triggering for them.

leaving aside the fact that Republicans would be split on the idea of something like flag burning say, some would defend your right, some would think it ought to be frowned on so its probably similar here but I dont think you are comparing like for like, nobody has dug into her Twitter history for something mean she said 10 years ago. I dont think its snowflakey to expect a bit of decorum on certain occasions

Well it is an international competition, one in which you are supposed to represent your nation.

The Olympics should probably allow individual entries as well though, I think it is doing that for Russian athletes.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,930 ✭✭✭Cordell

• Registered Users Posts: 652 ✭✭✭ingalway

Cordell wrote: »
    Fake news, unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,293 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

fvp4 wrote: »
    Well it is an international competition, one in which you are supposed to represent your nation.

The Olympics should probably allow individual entries as well though, I think it is doing that for Russian athletes.

the whole spirit of the Olympics is you representing your country.. Be like club football teams trying to enter the World Cup.... it would detract a lot from the ethos of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,773 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

ingalway wrote: »
    Fake news, unfortunately.

But ultimately possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 652 ✭✭✭ingalway

BattleCorp wrote: »
    But ultimately possible.
    Of course. I'm constantly having to make sure I don't lacerate my female testicles. I'm cursed with massive ones, and don't get me started on my lady penis.

Now it appears you can transition to become another nationality!

Oli London, assigned at birth as a white British male, has come out as a non-binary Korean - and has undergone surgery to appear as a Korean.

The question is: does this mean we will now be compelled to say that Oli London is a Korean, and always was a Korean?
    "I know a lot of people don't understand me, but I do identify as Korean, and I do look Korean now. I do feel Korean. I don't identify as British, so please don't... refer to me as British, because I identify as Korean.

"That's just my culture, that's my home country. That's exactly how I look now, and I also identify as Jimin—that's my Korean name... I know it's a little bit confusing for some people. Nobody's ever come out as Jimin or Korean, but this is something that you guys know if you've followed my journey for the last eight years.

"I've really struggled with identity issues, with who I am... It's a very tough one, So I've finally had the courage. I've undergone my racial—I can't think of the word—transitional surgery. I've transitioned to a non-binary person—they/them, Korean/Jimin and I finally have the Korean look, so I'm actually really happy."

Oli London, assigned at birth as a white British male, has come out as a non-binary Korean - and has undergone surgery to appear as a Korean.

The question is: does this mean we will now be compelled to say that Oli London is a Korean, and always was a Korean?

You can change nationally very easily already.

I think there's something quite different about holding a passport of another nationality, from claiming that it is your in-born identity and that you need to surgically alter your body to appear as a different ethnic group / race.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,926 ✭✭✭dogbert27

You can change your outside features too with surgery but his DNA will still show him to be of British descent.

I think there's something quite different about holding a passport of another nationality, from claiming that it is your in-born identity and that you need to surgically alter your body to appear as a different ethnic group / race.

Again nothing new. Michael Jackson did it. And let's not forget Racjael Dolzeal.

I think it depends on what is meant by 'identify'. I mean, I have much more in common with other Europeam regions - particularly Scandinavia (I feel much more 'at home there) - than I do with Ireland, and I do connect with the culture much more. That's just fact.

But does it mean I 'identify' as being Scandinavian? I don't think so.

(Also I think the Oli London thing is just publicity)

Again nothing new. Michael Jackson did it.

I think it depends on what is meant by 'identify'. I mean, I have much more in common with other Europeam regions - particularly Scandinavia (I feel much more 'at home there) - than I do with Ireland, and in do connect with the culture much more. That's j just fact.

But did it mean I 'identify' as being Scandinavian? I don't think so.

(Also I think the Oli London thing is just publicity)

I've spoken to many transgender people who condemn transracialism in very extreme terms.

Which is odd. Where is the inclusion for transracialists?

Even if I find transracialism nonsense myself, I do wonder why many transgender people cannot accept transracialists into the community.

Surely the more consistent view is to accept what they are saying / doing to their bodies.

The trans Korean thing is satire.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,773 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

eskimohunt wrote: »

Batsh1t Fookin Crazy (if real).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭zom

eskimohunt wrote: »
    Wonder if I can demand citizenship this way?
    Strumms wrote: »
    the whole spirit of the Olympics is you representing your country.. Be like club football teams trying to enter the World Cup.... it would detract a lot from the ethos of it.
    USA national pride was one of the last tolerated in western world - good to see it is falling down like all the others. Now I wait for something like that in Israel.