Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wokeism of the day *Revised Mod Note in OP and threadbanned users*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Feisar wrote: »
    It's a fairly universal symbol of solidarity/resistance.

Black power. That's what it is about. But i'll say that a lot of people haven't a clue what it is supposed to be about

If the hand was open and held at 45degrees, it would be fascist and considered highly offensive/racist.

Pick -n- mix racism.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

If the hand was open and held at 45degrees, it would be fascist and considered highly offensive/racist.

Pick -n- mix racism.

The origins of both salutes are rooted in racism for sure. You're not wrong.

Only thing is, one of them came from the oppressor, the other - from the oppressed. There's a bit of a difference like.

Jez lads ye really do have a quare view of racism in here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭ingalway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,937 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Jez lads ye really do have a quare view of racism in here..

Not really. Just because it was used in the past as a gesture of solidarity and defiance for justifiable reasons, doesn't mean that it signifies the same thing today. Sure, Black people could be using it to show their resistance to discrimination.

At the same time, it could, just as easily, be used to show Black supremacy, the same as many White supremacy groups use the same gesture.

I'm always amazed at the lengths that people go to ignore the behavior that went on throughout the BLM protests in the US. The armed Black militia in uniforms (or without) shouting slogans of Black power and their contempt for white people.

The sad truth is that the raised fist has been taken further than it originally meant to be. The Black Panthers used it, and they were something of a "dodgy" organisation, but they lived in dangerous times. However, we have groups associated with BLM, whether they're chapters or completely independent, using the salute while promoting the view of Black power... in a way that is very similar to the White supremacy groups.

Now, no doubt, you'll find excuses and justifications for all this, or dismiss it entirely. I've seen so many posters twisting themselves into knots to avoid acknowledging any negativity at all, that might be connected to the Black rights movements.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Not really. Just because it was used in the past as a gesture of solidarity and defiance for justifiable reasons, doesn't mean that it signifies the same thing today. Sure, Black people could be using it to show their resistance to discrimination.

At the same time, it could, just as easily, be used to show Black supremacy, the same as many White supremacy groups use the same gesture.

I'm always amazed at the lengths that people go to ignore the behavior that went on throughout the BLM protests in the US. The armed Black militia in uniforms (or without) shouting slogans of Black power and their contempt for white people.

The sad truth is that the raised fist has been taken further than it originally meant to be. The Black Panthers used it, and they were something of a "dodgy" organisation, but they lived in dangerous times. However, we have groups associated with BLM, whether they're chapters or completely independent, using the salute while promoting the view of Black power... in a way that is very similar to the White supremacy groups.

Now, no doubt, you'll find excuses and justifications for all this, or dismiss it entirely. I've seen so many posters twisting themselves into knots to avoid acknowledging any negativity at all, that might be connected to the Black rights movements.

Don't waste your time. Sure this is the woke thread

It took me.. what? 3 minutes to type that up. It's not a chore.. and this kind of stuff should be resisted.

We've seen what happens to society when such movements and the messages they promote aren't resisted (radical feminism, toxic masculinity, etc). Nah. Stand up, and argue what you perceive to be wrong. Ignoring it will simply ensure that your descendants will have to live under it too.

If we want a country free of the racial/social stresses that the US and the UK has, we need to balance the scales and stop pandering to this rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

Currently yes, however it’s history is more varied:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Raised_fist

First they came for the socialists...

It took me.. what? 3 minutes to type that up. It's not a chore.. and this kind of stuff should be resisted.

We've seen what happens to society when such movements and the messages they promote aren't resisted (radical feminism, toxic masculinity, etc). Nah. Stand up, and argue what you perceive to be wrong. Ignoring it will simply ensure that your descendants will have to live under it too.

If we want a country free of the racial/social stresses that the US and the UK has, we need to balance the scales and stop pandering to this rubbish.
    Yes, I brought up the "silent majority" point earlier and how it allowed a pro-brexit vote to be passed, another poster instead of commenting on the silent majority point, diverted attention onto what he thought my opinions are about brexit (and getting it completely wrong)!

Resisting extreme"woke-ness" is every bit as important as opposing extremism, in reality woke is another form of extremism where minority views are forced into the mainstream and all opposition is bulldozed out of the way using tactics such as comparing opponents to fascists.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭V8 Interceptor

[/LIST]
    retalivity wrote: »
    As long as it takes for you to stop being a fascist dammit

Oh deary me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

[/LIST]

Oh deary me

He did a hate speech i believe .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Laws are about to be passed halting the spread of hate speech online in Ireland now in the next few days.

I wonder will it affect boards?

He did a hate speech i believe .

On 2nd thoughts I think he might've been joking.

Laws are about to be passed halting the spread of hate speech online in Ireland now in the next few days.

I wonder will it affect boards?
    Extreme censorship will be the most likely outcome, no one wants to risk a criminal conviction by being too "relaxed" with what is or isn't hate speech, this is such a subjective matter.

All it needs are a few Karen's to flag something for it to be added to the "banned" list.

How can they do this without amending the Constitution?

Extreme censorship will be the most likely outcome, no one wants to risk a criminal conviction by being too "relaxed" with what is or isn't hate speech, this is such a subjective matter.

All it needs are a few Karen's to flag something for it to be added to the "banned" list.
    I for one welcome our new Karen over lords!

I SAY ladies ...you do look well! Kisses arse! :)

I for one welcome our new Karen over lords!

I SAY ladies ...you do look well! Kisses arse! :)

I wouldn't be in such a rush if I were you. You've come out with some really oddball comments in threads which could be interpreted as being 'suspect'.

This is the problem with such things. Agendas will decide what/who gets censored, and punished for their words...

Stepping point my hole, that's horseshīt, frankly.

That's the aul gay marriage argument "sure what's next, lads marrying horses wha?".

That's actually been vindicated. Since gay marriage abortion has been brought in, they're trying to overturn the citizenship referendum and now they're forcing so-called hate speech laws on us.

Given them an inch...

You've come out with some really oddball comments in threads which could be interpreted as being 'suspect'.

I can throw even balls!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

“One sometimes gets the impression that the mere words ‘Socialism’ and ‘Communism’ draw towards them with magnetic force every fruit-juice drinker, nudist, sandal-wearer, sex-maniac, Quaker, ‘Nature Cure’ quack, pacifist, and feminist in England.”

― George Orwell, The Road to Wigan Pier

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭CarProblem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

How can they do this without amending the Constitution?
    The same way they are trying to reverse the 27th amendment (anchor babies) to the Constitution that 80% of us voted for.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Cultural appropriation. Ah yeah, here we go again... Sometimes there's a point to be made over clumsy nicking of cultural bits and bobs and Lord knows indigenous peoples can have good reasons for being twitchy about such things, but having a meltdown over it? No.

In my brief time with twitter a couple of years ago I saw a tweet by a Chinese American guy ranting about cultural appropriation by the usual boogeyman of White Westerners. I pointed out in reply that in the accompanying pic of him in his room, about the only thing in the picture that was Chinese was him and the rest was "appropriated" and mostly from the West, including the glasses perched on his offended nose. This didn't go over well.

Never mind that I thought the current western ideal for some was a melting pot of diversity with free exchange of ideas, fashions even totems? Apparently not or only OK in one direction.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Never mind that I thought the current western ideal for some was a melting pot of diversity with free exchange of ideas, fashions even totems? Apparently not or only OK in one direction.
    A melting pot, yes.
    However, melting pots also separate out as well as meld together, the issue is who controls the sieve being used to "syphon off" the bad stuff!
    All I see is culture replacement as opposed to culture integration.

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭CarProblem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

During the holiday season, HO HO HO is yet another reminder of the patriarchy and the fight against oppressive language directed towards women on OnlyFans ...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

There's a period drama set during the early 1800s coming up on Netflix about a black duke :confused:
    I trhink the writers should have payed more attention during history class.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

There's a period drama set during the early 1800s coming up on Netflix about a black duke :confused:
    I trhink the writers should have payed more attention during history class.

Othello ?

I think the writers should have paid more attention during history class.

History, they're rewriting it, having obviously learnt a version that is incompatible with their wokeness!

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Othello ?
    Probably not as Shakespeare was around a couple of centuries earlier.

Was he?

Was he?
    He was

They're saying that the hullabaloo over Joe Biden's wife using "Doctor" before her name wouldn't have kicked off it she were a man.

I disagree. If Kamala Harris' husband was using the prefix despite not being a medical Doctor I think someone would probably have ridiculed him too to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,417 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

They're saying that the hullabaloo over Joe Biden's wife using "Doctor" before her name wouldn't have kicked off it she were a man.

I disagree. If Kamala Harris' husband was using the prefix despite not being a medical Doctor I think someone would probably have ridiculed him too to be honest.

Has she earned a doctorate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,056 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Pretty sure she has a doctorate.

Then, what's wrong with her using Dr? Theres nothing ridiculous about it.

Othello ?
    No it's a new show. Starts with N I think. It is being promoted like crazy atm.

There is an unspoken rule among academics: If you are not a medical doctor and you urge people to address you as Doctor Murphy or whatever, you are a bit of a tool.

The N word?

I found it. Bridgerton, starts on Christmas Day.

There is an unspoken rule among academics: If you are not a medical doctor and you urge people to address you as Doctor Murphy or whatever, you are a bit of a tool.

I think anyone who urges or insists on a professional title, especially outside of their professional capacity of Dr or academic, is a bit of a tool. But that doesn't mean your mail, formal introductions or situations that require formal address shouldn't include your correct prefix. It's one thing inisting everyone address you as Dr, X and another thing entirely for someone to refer to you or address you as Dr X.

We are very informal here in Ireland, quickly using first names and most of us insist on it. The States is more formal. The First Lady would be expected to be addressed as Mrs X. In this case, she's not a Mts, she's Dr. That is her correct, formal title so if people want to observe good manners and convention they should address her with her correct title.

My German friend wss amazed st the informality of acsdrmics here. He said there was no way a student or junior staff could get away with anything other than the correct title whereas here we all mostly just used first names when addressing our department staff and lecturers, regardless of title or position.

Sardonicat wrote: »
    My German friend wss amazed st the informality of acsdrmics here. He said there was no way a student or junior staff could get away with anything other than the correct title whereas here we all mostly just used first names when addressing our department staff and lecturers, regardless of title or position.

The difference being Ireland doesn't have the amount of Professors in third level education that other countries have, nor the history/culture built up around them. Irish universities and colleges lean heavily on lecturers, rather than professors...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Here we go again with actors - https://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-55361273
    The Stand: Anger over actor cast in deaf role for Stephen King TV series

Members of Hollywood's deaf community are boycotting CBS's new mini-series The Stand, based on Stephen King's novel, after a hearing actor was selected to play a deaf character.

I found it. Bridgerton, starts on Christmas Day.

Wow, that looks appalling, they even managed to throw in a token funny phat bird, eugh.

No sale. It looks like one of those stupid princess diaries' tripe they show on the other channel when a match is on.

Tokenism is evil. Is it supposed to be a piss take?

The difference being Ireland doesn't have the amount of Professors in third level education that other countries have, nor the history/culture built up around them. Irish universities and colleges lean heavily on lecturers, rather than professors...

In Iteland, Professor is an awarded title, bestowed by a University,, usually but not always attached to the position of Department or Faculty Head. in the States, it's a job title given to anyone with a doctorate teaching at third level. The same in most European countries, as Itelsbd, I believe.

There is a difference between a Professor and a professor.

ETA, I dont know where you studied, but the vast majority of my lecturers had Doctorates a tiny minority were on the final stages of completion of a Doctoral thesis and these had all had work published. My tutors were all Doctoral candidates in the early stages of research.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 61 ✭✭whysobecause

Famous deaf and blind activist Helen Keller had White privilege.

“However, to some Black disability rights activists, like Anita Cameron, Helen Keller is not radical at all, 'just another, despite disabilities, privileged white person,' and yet another example of history telling the story of privileged white Americans."
    https://www.washingtonexaminer.com/news/woke-mob-helen-keller-another-privileged-white-person-time-article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭griffin100

Sardonicat wrote: »
    In Iteland, Professor is an awarded title, bestowed by a University,, usually but not always attached to the position of Department or Faculty Head. in the States, it's a job title given to anyone with a doctorate teaching at third level. The same in most European countries, as Itelsbd, I believe.

There is a difference between a Professor and a professor.

Not so much anymore. Every lecturer now for example in UCD is a 'Professor' of some sort - assistant / associate / full etc.

griffin100 wrote: »
    Not so much anymore. Every lecturer now for example in UCD is a 'Professor' of some sort - assistant / associate / full etc.

The point remains that in the States professor is the word used to describe a person with a doctorate who teaches at University. I'd love to know what an assistant Proffesor does! Surely, you're either a Professor or not?

I just had a look at a Staff Directory for UCD and can see what you mean. A quick look at my own Alma Mater shows they haven't gone the same way, yet.

griffin100 wrote: »

Is it a pay grade rather than an academic achievement?