Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Aoibheann Ni Shuilleabhain Harassment Story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Not to downplay this but the thread title is misleading. It has nothing to do with the Rose of Tralee and abuse has very different (more serious) connotations to harassment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

What is not shocking is the incompetence of the HR dept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭Tork

What a disingenuous thread title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/aoibhinn-n%C3%AD-sh%C3%BAilleabh%C3%A1in-two-years-of-harassment-at-ucd-1.4346015?mode=amp

UCD academic, Aoibheann Ni Shuilleabhain recounts her episode of harassment. I have to say it's a shocking story.

How can a professional organization let such a thing carry on for so long? Absolutely shocking.

Not surprising considering it involves UCD HR, I've never dealt with so many useless individuals as I have from there. It's not even laziness, it's genuinely that they are that thick.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Your Face wrote: »
    What is not shocking is the incompetence of the HR dept.

Yes and from what I can see that professor is still in his job. The man sounds a complete liability and cannot believe he's still representing UCD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭circular flexing

smurgen wrote: »
    Yes and from what I can see that professor is still in his job. The man sounds a complete liability and cannot believe he's still representing UCD

Says towards the end of the article that he has left UCD.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,518 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

He’s left UCD and is now apparently working at the Dublin Institute of Advanced Studies.

Academic communities are small, now that this has come out it’ll probably destroy his reputation, and rightly so.

I had never heard of the DIAS before so I thought I would have a look at their website.

There is a page with a fairly emphatic denial that a professor is NOT an employee of them, but says he has been on a board and been a visiting professor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Read that story yesterday and it chilled me to the bone.

Had an ex go through stalking episode and it genuinely frightened the bejaysus out of of me at the time as the guy was threatening me aswell through all my social media channels. The threats were off the wall including one of him in an army uniform threatening to shoot me.

A horrific lack of action by UCD in this case, it could have ended very differently.

I was so shocked when I read that story yesterday. I had just finished my PhD in physics in UCD a few months before these incidents started occurring and didn't know anything about them until yesterday.

The accused was a lecturer of mine during my undergrad and someone I had lunches and chats with occasionally during my PhD. He came across as a very friendly, easy to talk to guy and seemed like the last person you would suspect of something like this. Just goes to show that you can never fully assume that you know somebody based on what you've seen of them academically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

Read this as well yesterday.
    Felt so sorry for her.
    Sounded like a nightmare. Imagine not feeling safe at work like that.

How is that allowed to happen and how is this fella still knocking around here.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

5uspect wrote: »
    He’s left UCD and is now apparently working at the Dublin Institute of Advanced Studies.

Academic communities are small, now that this has come out it’ll probably destroy his reputation, and rightly so.

Didn't realize that. He's still currently linked as professor on LinkedIn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Yeah that seems like an absolute sh1tshow by HR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭circular flexing

Yeah that seems like an absolute sh1tshow by HR

I don't think UCD would be abnormal here. Getting rid of tenured professors is almost impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,024 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Title of Thread a little odd but I was actually shocked to learn the professor at the centre of this appalling story appears by all accounts to be still employed BY UCD, after reading what occurred to the victim on a visit to Cork, which included an alleged arrest and the victim requiring a garda escort out of Cork, it's utterly bewildering no sanction seems to have been taken, extraordinary stuff.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

If I were her brother, and had known about this matter, I would have taught him a lesson. Distinguished professor, my arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I was so shocked when I read that story yesterday. I had just finished my PhD in physics in UCD a few months before these incidents started occurring and didn't know anything about them until yesterday.

The accused was a lecturer of mine during my undergrad and someone I had lunches and chats with occasionally during my PhD. He came across as a very friendly, easy to talk to guy and seemed like the last person you would suspect of something like this. Just goes to show that you can never fully assume that you know somebody based on what you've seen of them academically.

A standing cock has no conscience.*

*Old Chinese proverb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Heard something on RTE this morning that the UCD president had apologised to Ms. Ní Shúilleabháin, yet she'd had no communication from him at that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,270 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Effects wrote: »
    Heard something on RTE this morning that the UCD president had apologised to Ms. Ní Shúilleabháin, yet she'd had no communication from him at that point.

It is likely that she is suing UCD so they would be directed not to have any correspondence on the matter other than through both parties solicitors I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Effing nutcase..

Nutty Professor..

Very tough ordeal for that woman!!

The fact that this thread continues to have this trashy, misleading title on it tells a story of its own :mad: It doesn't matter what Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin has achieved in the 15 years since she won the lovely girls competition. She has been reduced down to being a fcking Rose of Tralee.

It isn't abuse either but a very real problem that some people continue to experience in different ways. Harassment by colleagues and inept HR departments. But no, let's leave that stupid thread title there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Tork wrote: »
    The fact that this thread continues to have this trashy, misleading title on it tells a story of its own :mad: It doesn't matter what Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin has achieved in the 15 years since she won the lovely girls competition. She has been reduced down to being a fcking Rose of Tralee.

It isn't abuse either but a very real problem that some people continue to experience in different ways. Harassment by colleagues and inept HR departments. But no, let's leave that stupid thread title there.

i think you are clutching at straws here.
    the whole world knows she is a clever lady, it's continually in the media.

she should be more aggrieved about being constantly referred to Tubridys ex.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Woeful thread title

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭hayoc

Whats the Rose of Tralee got to do with any of this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭FHFM50

Someone on Reddit said the complete opposite. That he would shout during lectures and was a bully. Many students complained about him to the programme office.

Source = https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/imxz2r/aoibhinn_n%C3%AD_sh%C3%BAilleabh%C3%A1in_two_years_of_harassment/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,978 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I am not sure why so many are getting upset over the title. She is a former Rose of Tralee. Most women that have won it are very proud of the achievement. It not your usual beauty contest. Yes all the ladies taking part tend to be good looking. However nearly all who take part are intelligent and the winners all tend to be extremely intelligent and very personable women.

It interesting that you seldom see any winners degineraging the competition. As well most tend to continue to support the competition. Even region winners look on it as a badge of success. Yes Aoibhinn has been successful since and most refer to both her achievement. The only flaw in her CV is she dated that muppet Tubridy for a good few years before she copped on to him

Slava Ukrainii

After reading about his antics, he deserves to have his reputation destroyed. The Reddit thread isn't doing him any favours either.

The UCD HR department will escape more lightly because they're faceless. I expect the kerfuffle about this will die down and they'll continue to be the incompetent shower they've always been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

What a nightmare that must have been. Fair play to the Gardaí for handling the incident in Cork too.

Also, yeah, change the thread title. FFS.

I am not sure why so many are getting upset over the title.

The title indicates that some abuse story is related to the Rose of Tralee itself, as opposed to the real story which is nothing to do with the Rose of Tralee but about workplace harassment in UCD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Tork wrote: »

Woeful thread title

Mod

The thread title has been updated. Calm it down. Report first and leave it to the mods please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Will the " King of Kindness" Ryan Tubridy have her on the Late Late...give her a national embrace on behalf of us all..

He really represents the country well and speaks for us all...so so kind....

Always knows the mood of the country...telepathically linked to us all..hes so kind...

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

It's absolutely disgusting how UCD could have failed so abysmally, on so many levels, for so long....... What a horrifically low standard, doubt they've changed much since.

If the same personnel are in charge today they should be removed from their positions.

They're lucky they didn't have a a murder on their tiny consciences IMO.

FHFM50 wrote: »
    Someone on Reddit said the complete opposite. That he would shout during lectures and was a bully. Many students complained about him to the programme office.

Source = https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/imxz2r/aoibhinn_n%C3%AD_sh%C3%BAilleabh%C3%A1in_two_years_of_harassment/

Wow that's quite surprising too. He was my lecturer in 2009 so before these bullying accusations and he certainly never raised his voice and was always very helpful and approachable after class.

It was however a fourth year class in a small room composed of about 10 people and so there was no need to shout to try to control the class. He probably treated us final year students like his colleagues and so didn't berate any of us. It was also a module closely associated with his specific research area so it was probably a class he was looking forward to lecturing in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,507 ✭✭✭cml387

Will the " King of Kindness" Ryan Tubridy have her on the Late Late...give her a national embrace on behalf of us all..

He really represents the country well and speaks for us all...so so kind....

Always knows the mood of the country...telepathically linked to us all..hes so kind...

She's his ex, but then I think you knew that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

The guy sounds like a creepy fantasist alright. Loads of them in workplaces all over Ireland. Can be any gender to be fair. Would be a right pain having to deal with one I'd say.

Not sure I'd be afraid of them as much as finding it irritatingly exhausting. I guess it would depend on the type and content of communication.

There should be a well thought out playbook, for companies and employees, for spotting and stopping this kind of harassment at an early stage.

Wombatman wrote: »
    Not sure I'd be afraid of them as much as finding it irritatingly exhausting. I guess it would depend on the type and content of communication.

I would be afraid if I were a woman who lived alone being followed and harassed like this. Seems like he had no ability to control himself if he was getting removed from a hotel TWICE by the Guards. Who knows what someone like that will do next.

In academia she may also have been afraid he could ruin her career.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Effects wrote: »

I think she has now (belatedly) received the apology.
    https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2020/0906/1163575-aoibhinn-ni-shuilleabhain/

A horrible story. He got away with the harassment for far too long.
    The part about following her to the hotel in Cork :mad: ...I can't even imagine how creepy that was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

The college reacted very poorly it was obvious he was harassing her,

About 35 years ago the wife of a friend of my then-husband ended up in a situation when this neighbor would call around to her when her husband was out it was all very subtle but it was harassment, she did not want to say anything to her husband as she knew what he would do and the neighbor worked in a position of authority, anyway she told my husband as she was so upset, so they arranged that anytime the neighbor called around she would make a quick phone call to my husband and he would call over, say nothing just chat, the neighbor soon got the message and it stopped.

For the harassment that is not related to a mental health issue a lot of it is about having power over women.

It has a much bigger effect on someone that you would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

I think she has now (belatedly) received the apology.
    https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2020/0906/1163575-aoibhinn-ni-shuilleabhain/

A horrible story. He got away with the harassment for far too long.
    The part about following her to the hotel in Cork :mad: ...I can't even imagine how creepy that was.

I read the Irish Times article on Saturday. Shocking stuff. The bit that stood out to me was that she was "really, really, really scared he would show up to my wedding":eek::eek:. Imagine how that felt, I'm no bridezilla or get caught up in any type of wedding fever, but the majority of brides on their wedding day are hoping for the best day of their lives. Not living in fear that her stalker would show up.

hayoc wrote: »
    I would be afraid if I were a woman who lived alone being followed and harassed like this. Seems like he had no ability to control himself if he was getting removed from a hotel TWICE by the Guards. Who knows what someone like that will do next.

In academia she may also have been afraid he could ruin her career.

Even to take the trip to Cork in the first instance, get removed by Gardai and turn up again is just the sign of an absolute raving lunatic.

I would say she is quite lucky. In another instance UCD could have blood on their hands. Surely there is legitimate grounds for compensation in this instance for the trauma suffered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,605 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

razorblunt wrote: »
    What a nightmare that must have been. Fair play to the Gardaí for handling the incident in Cork too.

Also, yeah, change the thread title. FFS.

What happened in Cork?

She got her media fame as a presenter from her time as a Rose but awful ordeal she went through

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

Very pretentious person imo, and now making it public has obviously been done to promote her name even more.

You again. That's quite a habit you have of victim blaming across the site.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    What happened in Cork?

From the linked article in OP;

At one point, Braun travelled across the country and turned up at a hotel in Cork demanding to see her after Ní Shúilleabháin had mentioned on social media that she was on a weekend break with female friends. The professor was removed by gardaí from the hotel twice, on two consecutive days, and Ní Shúilleabháin received a Garda escort out of Co Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,257 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Thanks for dropping in Professor Braun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,426 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Wombatman wrote: »
    The guy sounds like a creepy fantasist alright. Loads of them in workplaces all over Ireland. Can be any gender to be fair. Would be a right pain having to deal with one I'd say.

There should be a well thought out playbook, for companies and employees, for spotting and stopping this kind of harassment at an early stage.
    He followed her to Cork.
    Got to the hotel
    Asked for her at reception.
    Reception called the room and she told them to tell him she had gone out.

But he did not believe that, because he said that he saw her car in the car park.

She then realized that he knew what car she drives.

If that isn't enough to make someone afraid I don't know what is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

If he felt entitled to stalk and harass another academic like that, think of how he probably behaved around young female students. I'd say the likelihood is low that he didn't have previous. Men like that have a modus operandi.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Even to take the trip to Cork in the first instance, get removed by Gardai and turn up again is just the sign of an absolute raving lunatic.

I would say she is quite lucky. In another instance UCD could have blood on their hands. Surely there is legitimate grounds for compensation in this instance for the trauma suffered.

Yes, I thought of this too when I read the article. This is someone not operating with any understanding of reasonable behaviour. Anything could happen.

That he was getting students to phone her, telling nurses he loved her, following her to hotels etc... Just no. Dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭StevenToast

cml387 wrote: »
    She's his ex, but then I think you knew that.

How traumatic it must have been for her...she must wake up in cold sweats thinking about it....

She has been through alot that poor girl, imagine dating ryan tubridy...

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Not working at the Dublin Institute of Advanced Studies anyway.

https://www.dias.ie/2020/09/06/dias-statement-in-relation-to-professor-hans-benjamin-braun/