Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gary linekar fish and chips

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

How many Syrians were taken in by all the goms who rang up Joe Duffy offering accommodation?
    Strangely none of them were offering to accommodate traveller families who are living in squalor on halting sites.
    Not sexy enough of a cause to be mentioning at dinner parties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

GT89 wrote: »
    Funny thing is people saying it's his free time and money he put it to whatever cause he likes would be out with the pitchforks if he called for tougher border controls and deportations or even involved himself in something a lot less radical like black face or some saucy comments.

The liberals will always twist the argument to suit themselves. Look at the way they have treated Morrissey for supporting Anne Marie Waters versus the way they treat Linekar for supporting refugees.

Now you really are shi!t stirring.

Plenty of celebs cave or during Brexit and campaigned for what they want. That's fine, it's a free society.

Me personally, I'd complain at black face because that's obviously racism. But you know that and you put it in to stir it up a bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭Gentlemanne

Look at the way they have treated Morrissey for supporting Anne Marie Waters versus the way they treat Linekar for supporting refugees.

Why come the Liberalz treat Gary supporting a campaign of compassion for margalinised groups DIFFERENT to Morrisey supporting a far right candidate who advocates for white nationalist conspiracy theory??

These are equivalent to me because I am very smart.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

The fact the Irish left Ireland in the past to seek a better life abroad is completely irrelevant.

No it's not. It's actually a very apposite case study to compare what were the forces compelling people to emigrate, where did they go, how were they welcomed/treated, how did they fare?

Fortunately, the summary census statistics from the 19th century are readily available.
    Firstly during the famine which is an inncorrect term as it was actually a genocide the Irish would have been classed as genuine refugees. I am all for supporting genuine refugees like the Palestinians being persecuted by the Jews but not economic migrants.

I'd be careful about bandying around words like genocide. I don't think the British were clever enough to plan a genocide. I think the effective depopulation of Ireland in the second half of the 19th century (that's a true statement, go check the link--our population halved between 1841 and 1901) was more a sin of omission than commission.

They didn't give a ****, didn't bother helping the economy transform from a feudal subsistence-farming agricultural society to one suited for the technology advances of the 19th - 20th centuries. That's why our independence struggle was a moral imperative and the relative success of our economy in recent decades is an absolute testimony to the wisdom of that.

But it means that the mass of Irish who left these shores in the decades after the famine WERE economic migrants. They were leaving a "**** hole country" (to quote that great sage Donald Trump) for better prospects elsewhere. Even during the famine, the ones that left for the states were the ones who could afford the fare; the really poor stayed at home and starved.

The great irony is that one of the measures of our recent relative success is that we now have migrants wanting to come here.
    If you say but the Irish were once economic migrants too that is irrelevant and quite frankly not our problem.

Not sure I follow your logic. Not sure there is any, frankly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

The Palestinians are being persecuted by the Israelis, not by the Jews.

I'd call that a mask slipping moment but the mask was barely on to begin with.

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DelaneyIn

yoke wrote: »
    So once again, your specific problem is with the asylum system, not with migrants in general.
    You have pointed out that the asylum system is often used by migrants to come here on false pretences.

Do you think ireland should completely stop taking refugees, even when it could become a mutually beneficial arrangement?

Yes. The vast majority are purely using asylum as a mechanism to bypass our immigration laws.
    The number of people seeking asylum in the State increased by more than one third in the first six months of the year when compared to 2018, a period when numbers reached a 10-year high.

The Department of Justice said it was concerned that many of those making claims for asylum in the State were originating from places classified as “safe countries”.

Some 41 per cent of all asylum claims in the first half of the year were from Albanian, Georgian and South African nationals. All three countries are officially regarded as “safe countries of origin” by Ireland. This means the State considers them as safe and stable democracies. An asylum seeker from a country regarded as safe is much less likely to be granted leave to remain in the State.

“The rising numbers of applicants from countries considered safe countries of origin by the UN is a concern,” the department said in response to queries about the recent trends.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/concern-over-rise-in-people-seeking-asylum-from-safe-countries-1.3986377

https://twitter.com/orlaredchan/status/1303233922055241729/photo/1

yoke wrote: »
    I've just outlined in my post above how it could be turned into a mutually beneficial arrangement, like America used to do with the "send us your poor.." slogan.

The Statue of Liberty was a gift from the French. It was never immigration policy. America was a continent sized new world country, with the resources to boot, that needed cheap labour and cannon fodder. Many sickly and impoverished Irish were shipped back from Ellis Island. If you couldn’t provide cheap labour and it was possible you’d become a burden or destitute; you didn’t get social welfare, social housing, child benefit, education grants and a medical card.

You got shipped back. You’re not comparing like for like. If you wish for us to adopt the historical immigration policies of the United States, then a lot of people will be going home.

https://twitter.com/SpookyGh0st32/status/1269336499805401089

• Registered Users Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

You're quoting from a Twitter nutjob (Irish flag in his handle of course) who calls himself Indigenous Irish etc. Says it all.

Are the figures wrong? That’s all I care about.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,557 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

RWCNT wrote: »
    I'd call that a mask slipping moment but the mask was barely on to begin with.

Well, it wasn't the Buddhists...

If antisemitism is your bag give that Twitter account above a follow, should be right up your street.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,557 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

No, not at all

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

He has made an Excel graph though, cannot argue with that!

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭TragicJohnson

You are right, Larry David calls up Alan Shatter and that's where its begins.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

linekar is an insufferably self satisfied tosser

• Registered Users Posts: 13,460 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

DelaneyIn wrote: »
    Are the figures wrong? That’s all I care about.

Yes the figures in SpookyGhosts twitter post are wrong.

Example he refers to a 44% 'unemployment rate' for Nigerians within Ireland.
    This is wrong. He is deliberately conflating 'not working' with being unemployed. 'Unemployment rate' is a term reserved for those who are claiming any of the unemployment benefits.
    Within the 44% not working, there will be 3rd level students, retirees, people still in the direct prov system, housewives part of a single-income household.

We've discussed this before.

This is wrong. He is deliberately conflating 'not working' with being unemployed. 'Unemployment rate' is a term reserved for those who are claiming any of the unemployment benefits.
    Within the 56% not working, there will be 3rd level students, retirees, people still in the direct prov system, housewives part of a single-income household.

Gowls like this are great at misrepresenting data as it's lapped up all too readily by people who already have their mind made up and are happy to latch onto anything that feeds into their pre-conceived biases.

The antisemitism on that profile is vile as well, and I'd heard that twitter was apparently some sort of echo chamber where non-PC opinions are banned. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

He did a poo in his pants during a game at Italia ‘90.

He has made an Excel graph though, cannot argue with that!

The graph comes from the CSO. We have huge unemployment rate amongst some non EU immigrants.

We can’t afford this for much longer. They have to go back.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Champagne socialism is what it is. Russell Brand does be at the same nonsense. They convince themselves that they are doing their bit so that everyone can have a chance at having the lifestyle they enjoy. Makes them sleep easier in their mansions and not so guilty about being chauffeured about. One of the common folk really, deep down. Doesn't hurt that your peers will all think you're a legend too for your latest high profile virtue signalling. That Fish n Chips ad comes across as a scene from a new David Brent special. Throw in a few nervous looks at the camera and it'd be spot on for Gervais's next Brent offering.

Within the 44% not working, there will be 3rd level students, retirees, people still in the direct prov system, housewives part of a single-income household.

The figures come from the CSO. Get on to them if you think they’re wrong. SpookyGhost is obviously more reliable with his claims than you lads!

https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/ep/p-cp11eoi/cp11eoi/lfnmfl/

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

In fact, it was the 1-1 against us that he took a sh1t on the pitch. We should demand an injustice and the 3 points. It must have been disgusting for our players and no doubt prevented them winning the game. We would have tipped the group then and avoided Romania, Italy in the knockouts. We probably would have won this World Cup with big Jack in charge had we not had to inhale the stink of Gary Linekar. Can somebody contact FIFA and demand we get awarded the trophy or minimum restart from quarters vs the Belgium team from back then.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Champagne socialism

Another dopey buzz-term from the big pop-up Dictionary for Reactionaries.

'You have money therefore seeking a more just/equal society is hypocritical'.

Bad logic for small minds.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,802 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

RWCNT wrote: »
    I'd heard that twitter was apparently some sort of echo chamber where non-PC opinions are banned. :rolleyes:

Jaysus, I've heard the same about Boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭AllForIt

https://twitter.com/GaryLineker/status/1303635455028666368

As if proof were needed Lineker is on a wind up.

*in relation to new max 6 gathering Covid rule.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭Penfailed

AllForIt wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/GaryLineker/status/1303635455028666368

As if proof were needed Lineker is on a wind up.

*in relation to new max 6 gathering Covid rule.

Proof that he has a sense of humour.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Ride, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

Penfailed wrote: »
    Proof that he has a sense of humour.

Why dosen't he let 5 homeless Englishmen live in his house instead of economic migrants who will be let stay in a hotel anyway? Charity starts at home.

I'm sure if you asked homeless people sleeping on the streets of London or indeed Dublin would they like to be put up in a direct provision centre or the UK equivalent they'd be delighted with it.

Why dosen't he let 5 homeless Englishmen live in his house...

tenor.gif?itemid=12540386

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Another dopey buzz-term from the big pop-up Dictionary for Reactionaries.

'You have money therefore seeking a more just/equal society is hypocritical'.

Eh, he (/they) are not doing anything which will result in a more just/equal society, that's the point. Just saying that's what he's doing, doesn't make it so. Telling the UK's public that they can thank refugees for Fish 'n bloody Chips is just more nauseating pontificating from the liberals. 'Seeking a more just/equal society' - please. That's the last thing Linekar and his mates will achieve all of whom are just trying to outdo one another to see who can be the most woke this week.
    Bad logic for small minds.

Insulting those you disagree with you won't make you right

justmorenauseatingpontificatingfromtheliberals

You're just eating up that culture war shit, ain't ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

It would be nice to discuss something (anything about here) without liberals this, woke that, nazi whatever.

It's like being back at school ffs.. lowest common denominator name calling.