Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To Mask or not to two - Mask Megathread cont.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

Glenbhoy wrote: »
    Does Dr. Scally not know any 6 year olds, because if he did, that might answer the question for him. My OH is teaching 8yo, 2 or 3 wear masks from time to time, between constant adjusting, wearing on head and (i kid you not) a nose blowing incident (well, there must have been no tissue handy), it's quite easy to understand why their effectiveness might be limited in a primary school environment.

Asking if Dr Scally knows any 6 year olds is the same as asking if the members of the Covid-19 Expert Advisory Group who made up the mask exemption clause back in May know any 12 year olds.

The main reason cited in the minutes of that meeting was that masks might be a choking hazard to younger children, not that they might blow their nose, or fidget or position one as a headband. All these other things are secondary.

Choking is what 50% 1-3 year olds, 50% foodstuffs, the it's batteries, and small objects, crayons, marker caps. 3-6yo 25-35%? How often does a child in primary school in Ireland choke/choke to death? How often does a child in primary school in Ireland consume poison? Maybe having hand gel in primary schools is more dangerous to health. Where are the anti-handgel brigade?

Would the 8 year olds in your OH's classroom choke on a mask?

2 or 3 wear masks from time to time!? What does that mean?

This day, last year. A few extracts from the Covid-19 Expert Advisory Group meeting from March 9th 2020.

Discussion on the literature about HCWs infected in other countries highlighted that highest risk among HCWs was in those that used FFP3 and non-ID specialists that were not used to using PPE.

MC highlighted importance of good IPC practice so risk of transmitting should be mitigated even if these people are shedding while asymptomatic. The PPE being recommended now is the same as is recommended for management of patients with flu and for AGP of patients with any viral respiratory tract infection but the IPC precautions are not always practiced under these circumstances.

Suggestion to categorise a new group of HCWs currently asymptomatic but had performed AGP without correct PPE or with a PPE breach. EAG recommendation for this group would be that they stay out of work for 14 days after exposure but these would be second line group to be asked to return to work if demand on the services increases. If asked to return to work, this group should have twice daily monitoring for symptoms, the importance of hand hygiene and a high level of awareness of symptoms should be promoted among this group and the symptom monitoring should be supported by line managers and Occupational Health.

Concern that there will be a shortage of masks so in some settings can ask patients to hold tissue over nose and mouth e.g. in GP settings or if masks not available.

Importance of focussing on IPC practice was again reiterated and highlighted that wearing PPE is only a small part of this. COG highlighted that the more sick patients in ICU will be less able to tolerate masks, particularly if supplemental oxygen is required – therefore important to point out that masks should only be used if clinically tolerated. VH suggestion that these patients be asked to wear oxygen masks to minimise droplet spread.

EAG advise that in cases where supplemental oxygen is required that it should be supplied by oxygen mask rather than nasal cannula.

Man becomes first person in Ireland to be jailed for not wearing a face mask while shopping.

Article Irish Mirror LINK

Judge Dunne warned Stokes: “This offence in the currency of a global pandemic is an offence of the higher end.”

And he said Stokes not only failed to protect himself but was indifferent and cavalier as to whether he could infect other members of the public.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,291 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Seanergy wrote: »
    Man becomes first person in Ireland to be jailed for not wearing a face mask while shopping.
    Judge Dunne warned Stokes: “This offence in the currency of a global pandemic is an offence of the higher end.”
    And he said Stokes not only failed to protect himself but was indifferent and cavalier as to whether he could infect other members of the public.

15 previous convictions. His indifference to other members of society is not limited to masks or the current pandemic.

And is that a shot of him trying to hide his face from photographers with his hands?
    Instead of you know, maybe wearing a mask...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Went to the shop to buy a face covering in December!!! When were they mandatory, last July? 5 months to buy a face covering. Absolutely delighted with that outcome and hopefully more people will start taking it seriously.

Fück it, saw a lad who must have forgotten his mask and went around the shop with his hoodie wrapped around his face and head. Since I pull people up for wearing their face mask wrong, I thanked this fella for having more consideration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Quantum Baloney

Jailed for not wearing a face mask in a shop? What an absolute farce. The judge and all those that support this kind of dangerous and absurd governing may be surprised when the history books do not account for them as being the virtuous and heroic fellows they are in their own minds.

All those that support this kind of dangerous and absurd governing?

It's never ok to infect others.

The anti-maskers and all those that support this kind of dangerous and absurd living may be surprised when the history books do not account for them as being the virtuous and heroic fellows they are in their own minds.

He got plenty of lax, but refused to cop on. AGS did their usual 4e's on the first encounter and went away. No FPN issued. Fairly sound considering it's the law at present. They had to return because your man was back at it again a short time afterwards. They didn't have to do the 4e's, issued an FPN. Then this character didn't pay his FPN and ended up in court.

The Judge had the power to look through the bull and used it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Sconsey

You are the one that is out of touch I am afraid, all you've got is the hope that someone in the future may find fault. Weak.

CDC's 'huge mistake': did misguided mask advice drive up Covid death toll for health workers?

Article in the Guardian. LINK

Researchers say ‘very low’-quality research led to outdated guidelines on who got the best PPE, leaving those most at risk exposed.

From c. 100 years ago.

fghj-e1615845079984.png

• Registered Users Posts: 9,168 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Does anyone know why some people refuse to wear the mask properly?

I think they are thick, put the fcuking mask over your stupid big nose.

people who don't wear the mask properly are as bad as people who wear no mask.

pgj2015 wrote: »

And we're 6 months into masks being mandated. You'd think they would have the hang of it by now. I'm now pulling people up on this kind of behaviour and if any of these eejits are around me, I tell them to pull their mask over their nose.

So America makes it illegal to discriminate against employees who want to provide and wear better masks in the workplace.

Is there anything over here on this side?

pgj2015 wrote: »

Various reasons, obviously.

- uneducated
    - as a form of protest
    - virtue signaling
    - easier to breath

• Registered Users Posts: 9,168 ✭✭✭pgj2015

And we're 6 months into masks being mandated. You'd think they would have the hang of it by now. I'm now pulling people up on this kind of behaviour and if any of these eejits are around me, I tell them to pull their mask over their nose.

I always ask my customers to pull the mask over their nose. they all do it no problem and look guilty for not wearing it properly so they obviously know they aren't wearing them correctly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭pottokblue

One year in and I have a decent collection of facecoverings 20+, my current favourite is a multicoloured one with umbereallas print.
    1 handmade, a few as gifts and the rest I find on the buses, street, parks, roads etc... I take them home machine wash and presto they're ready to go again!
    I'm still suprised about the amount of publicbus users that dont do handhygiene or open windows.....

COVID-19 Expert Advisory Group Meeting

On this day, 16th March, last year.

Additional question about whether asymptomatic close contact HCWs should wear masks when they return to work. There were discussions around the difficulties in procuring masks, even for those self-isolating at home, so beginning to move away from guidance recommending masks at home and looking at other options for IPC in the home. Everyone in broad agreement that masks should be procured for HCWs but agreement that masks are not required for derogated HCWs returning to work.

There's so much people who still don't know anything about opening windows and thinking masks will save them. Seen a taxi pass me by yesterday with all windows up, both taxi driver and passenger wearing masks. Of all places, a taxi should have opened windows.

So little being done on something that is so easy to do.

HSE website is funny. Airborne spread doesn't happen but can happen in certain situations. To protect yourself open windows and doors to let in fresh air if possible.

There's no if possible. Open them to fück. Have some clear messaging.

God, but fresh air might kill us so I can see why they wouldn't give clear advice there.

pottokblue wrote: »
    One year in and I have a decent collection of facecoverings 20+, my current favourite is a multicoloured one with umbereallas print.
    1 handmade, a few as gifts and the rest I find on the buses, street, parks, roads etc... I take them home machine wash and presto they're ready to go again!
    I'm still suprised about the amount of publicbus users that dont do handhygiene or open windows.....

Are you sure that’s wise?

Machine washing, grand, but the handling required to get it to that point?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭pottokblue

Probably not wise but I put them in a bag, dont touch my face and do hand hygiene and have had no trouble to date...

There's so much people who still don't know anything about opening windows and thinking masks will save them. Seen a taxi pass me by yesterday with all windows up, both taxi driver and passenger wearing masks. Of all places, a taxi should have opened windows.

So little being done on something that is so easy to do.

Improving guidance on ventilation along with masks is on the agenda, presuming it was put on the long finger with the heavy fire past while.

See HIQA : Current public health guidance for community settings and infection prevention and control measures in healthcare settings for COVID-19: a rapid review. Submitted to NPHET: 13 January 2021 Published 29th.

As a result of these new, highly transmissible variants, it has been suggested that advice for the public should be further strengthened — that is, additional measures may be required with respect to physical distancing, ventilation, use of face coverings and or other personal protective equipment (PPE), for example. Moreover, existing infection prevention and control guidance and measures should be reinforced.(2) As such, NPHET outlined the following policy question

“In light of increased transmission of COVID-19 and the identification of new variants of concern, is the current Irish guidance in relation to public health measures in community settings and infection prevention and control measures in healthcare settings appropriate?”

COVID-19 Expert Advisory Group Meeting

On this day, 18th March, last year.

KB asked if all HCWs should be wearing masks routinely. CB mentioned some centres are already providing masks for all staff. MC mentioned that in some hospitals where this is ongoing, HCWs are pulling them up and down and not wearing them appropriately. MC was clear that there is no evidence for routine mask wearing and it could actually be dangerous if they are not worn properly. He felt we could not recommend the use of a critical resource without good evidence that it would reduce the spread of infection. The EAG agreed that the routine use of masks is not recommended at this point.

Actions:
    • MC agreed to get out the message out that routine use of masks is not necessary.

Prof Karina Butler (KB) - Chair, National Immunisation Advisory Committee, Consultant Paediatric ID
    Prof Colm Bergin (CB) - Consultant Infectious Diseases, St James’s Hospital
    Prof Martin Cormican (MC) - Consultant Microbiologist, National Clinical Lead HCAI/AMR

PUBLIC HEALTH ADVICE FOR LEAVING CERT ORALS.

The oral language interviews must be arranged having regard to the public health controls required, and it is important that the schools have the following logistical arrangements in place to ensure they adhere to the health and safety guidance when facilitating the face-to- face oral language interviews:
    • The interviewer remains in the same room for the duration of the work
    • Candidates use their own pens to sign the Candidate Entry Roll and the Interviewer’s Sign-off Record.
    • No sharing of documents unless they can be sanitized between use – a fresh set for each candidate of the picture sequences, topic cards and role plays (as appropriate) is required, or else, for example, a laminated set should be provided by the school which can be sanitised between candidates
    • Adequate space to provide for at least two metres between the candidate and the interviewer (and any other person who may need to be present in the room).
    • Attention to hand hygiene and respiratory etiquette.
    • Perspex screens to be used between the candidate and the interviewer. Note that the wearing of masks is not appropriate for either the interviewer or the candidate, as this would interfere with proper and clear communication and with the creation of a clear recording that properly shows the candidate’s level of communicative
    proficiency.

• Cleaning of all surfaces and the digital recording equipment between interviews
    • Rooms to be adequately ventilated, even when taking account of the need to ensure that external noise does not interfere with the interview or its recording
    • Desk or table to be clear of any documentation other than that required for the
    conduct of the interview.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/education/ucd-professor-dolores-cahill-moved-from-lecturer-role-1.4514141?mode=amp

"University College Dublin professor Dolores Cahill’s claims at an anti-Covid-19 lockdown protest that children who wear face masks are being “starved” of oxygen and will have lower IQ "

Well if a professor says it then I would have to respect her expertise

JJayoo wrote: »
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/education/ucd-professor-dolores-cahill-moved-from-lecturer-role-1.4514141?mode=amp

"University College Dublin professor Dolores Cahill’s claims at an anti-Covid-19 lockdown protest that children who wear face masks are being “starved” of oxygen and will have lower IQ "

Well if a professor says it then I would have to respect her expertise

UCD’s student union today released a statement requesting that college authorities investigate Cahill over whether her activities and remarks at an anti-lockdown event in a Dublin park on St Patrick’s Day amount to gross misconduct.

AGS have launched an investigation into the gathering at Cahill's gaff on paddy's night.

https://www.thejournal.ie/dolores-cahill-party-probe-castle-5386356-Mar2021/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

I'm gonna bet she's in the social sciences.

JJayoo wrote: »
    I'm gonna bet she's in the social sciences.

Your following a headless chicken, bet away, I've no interest in your money and any posts to do with Professor Cahill should probably be filed in CP.

She has been thouroughly debunked, her claim that people will have “hardly any symptoms” if they get the virus once they have been eating healthily and taking vitamins C and D along with zinc reminds me of what Michael O'Leary said during the A/H1N1 outbreak "a couple of Disprins and a few Strepsils will fix the problem."