Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To Mask or not to two - Mask Megathread cont.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Turn on your radio or tv and you can’t miss it. 24/7 with an extra push on the hour every hour.

You do know that you can turn stations and nobody is forcing you to listen to the hysteria?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Turn on your radio or tv and you can’t miss it. 24/7 with an extra push on the hour every hour.

Well you see, I read news probably once a day, don't watch live TV, because it's crap and usually listen just music on the radio. Must be lucky and escaping all the hysteria you are witnessing out there..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,402 ✭✭✭Tork

I think a limit on how often people can post in the Coronavirus forums on boards would help (yes, I get the irony of my posting in them). There are some people who seem to do nothing but post all day long, every day in them. That can't be helping anybody's mental health.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,178 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Tork wrote: »
    I think a limit on how often people can post in the Coronavirus forums on boards would help (yes, I get the irony of my posting in them). There are some people who seem to do nothing but post all day long, every day in them. That can't be helping anybody's mental health.

There is one person in particular who is posting anti lock down stuff since id say April, every day, all day. I feel sorry for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

pgj2015 wrote: »
    There is one person in particular who is posting anti lock down stuff since id say April, every day, all day. I feel sorry for them.

100% agree. There are posters on hoth sides of the fence who seem utterly obsessed with Covid.

A posting limit wouldn't be a bad thing. It would actually probably be beneficial for them

• Registered Users Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

[/B]

Yet there’s thousands of healthcare workers still infected.
    And thousands of cases of community transmission with mandatory mask wearing in place.
    Prof Lambert better review his claim me thinks.
    Problem here is you, thinking, not the observations of Prof Lambert.

Lambert is referencing a particular point in time, you linking a seperate point in time to Lambert's point in time does not hold water.

Also harping on about community transmission is not relevant to Prof Lambert's observations.

Your compulsion to discredit and or repaint logic and fact with anti-mask sentiment is pathetic.

Article from Medical Independent goes on to say:

A number of doctors told the Medical Independent (MI) they believed the
    guidance had a notable effect in reducing infections. According to a specialist in occupational medicine at a Dublin hospital:

“We can show that within five days in this hospital of insisting masks were worn, the numbers of staff coming down with Covid decreased significantly.”

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

We know without any doubt that bullet proof vests work.

Masks were just led to believe they do something.

Let’s just say if we had a month without masks and people refocused on sanitising there hands instead of thinking that their guaranteed protection from a mask . I’d say the cases would be the same as now if not lower.

All we see now is people constantly handling their masks and then everything around them all the while forgetting hands as they think I’m grand with this mask on.

If masks don't work then what exactly have you lost, what is the cost to you and how has your life been negatively impacted?

You now have an entire planet of potential case studies to show what kind of interventions work or don't work, and if the virus is real or not. Not every country, or region within a country, have followed the same rules. Show us the details on the place where they haven't had any mask wearing or social distancing or testing and the virus cases have disappeared? If masks are the problem then there must be some location you can point to out of 200+ countries/ states where it shows that masks are actually the cause of the virus spreading.

Also, if this is all just a hoax and there isn't any virus please point out which country it is that isn't in on the mass conspiracy? There must be one somewhere? If you know that it is a hoax then there has to be a government of some country that didn't get caught up in it and you'll be able to show that we've all just imagined it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Masks are the lowest cost restriction we have.

We wear a mask and dont touch our face when needed and it has an impact on transmission.

I doubt it would have a massive impact but if it means we can get back to normal a few days sooner than otherwise isn't it worth wearing a mask.

I'd rather wear a mask than put an extra 100,000 people out of work.

Masks are the lowest cost restriction we have.

We wear a mask and dont touch our face when needed and it has an impact on transmission.

I doubt it would have a massive impact but if it means we can get back to normal a few days sooner than otherwise isn't it worth wearing a mask.

I'd rather wear a mask than put an extra 100,000 people out of work.

I'd rather wear a mask than put someone onto life support.

If I get infected, and not know about it, and pass it onto someone else, they pass it onto someone else and so on... somebody will end up getting it bad.

I just don't understand how people don't see that their actions can cause this. It's like driving, we were all thought how important observation is and to look out for other road users (pedestrians, cyclists, drivers) and to drive safe. But somehow, a pandemic who cares about others?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭Irish Stones

If I get infected, and not know about it, and pass it onto someone else, they pass it onto someone else and so on... somebody will end up getting it bad.

They said a few times that the vaccine won't make people "clean", I mean vaccinated people may still be spreading the virus though not geting sick themselves.
    So, the vaccine won't save us from wearing masks, keeping distances, etc.

How will this thing ever end?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,641 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Glad to see some enforcement
    A 47-year-old man is due before a District Court judge in Wexford accused of not wearing a mask in a supermarket and refusing to identify himself to gardaí.

Gardaí were called to Pettitt's Supermarket in Wexford yesterday and arrested the man for allegedly failing to comply with emergency regulations made under the Health Act.

Following consultations with the Director of Public Prosecutions, the man was charged with two offences, failing to wear a face covering at Pettitt's supermarket in Wexford and failing to provide his name and address.

He was detained overnight and brought to Wexford District Court this morning.

He is due to appear before a judge later today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Glad to see some enforcement

Yes very good to see this. Hopefully an example will be made of this cretin and there will be no slap on the wrist token sentence.

They said a few times that the vaccine won't make people "clean", I mean vaccinated people may still be spreading the virus though not geting sick themselves.

I think what they have said that they don't know if it stops transmission. The trials weren't designed to see if it stops transmission. So they still have alot of work to figure all this out. I'm hoping it will stop transmission but who knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I just don't understand how people don't see that their actions can cause this. It's like driving, we were all thought how important observation is and to look out for other road users (pedestrians, cyclists, drivers) and to drive safe. But somehow, a pandemic who cares about others?

Same as with a flu, if you pass it onto an elderly person, or onto someone who passes it onto an elderly person with an weakened immune system. Been wearing a mask for years??

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0111/1188948-supermarket-mask-case/
    A 47-year-old man is due before a District Court judge in Wexford accused of not wearing a mask in a supermarket and refusing to identify himself to gardaí.

Have there been other cases like this already? It might change a few peoples minds about wearing masks, but I doubt it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

When a sufficient bulk of people get vaccinated it won't matter if a vaccinated person can spread it.

Hopefully the vaccine can stop or reduce spread. Breaking the chains of transmission will have an even bigger effect.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

If everyone is vaccinated but it ends up that the virus is still transmitted but with nobody getting sick then that is how it ends, at that point it really doesn't matter if you have the virus as we're all safe from it then.

But that isn't what will happen as some people will still get sick despite having had the vaccine or them not having had the vaccine for some reason, but the pandemic is then over as the numbers are then manageable. The reason we are in various states of lockdown around the world isn't so much because we are trying to save everyone from Covid, it's that we are trying to save our health services from being overrun.

Once the numbers are manageable then the pandemic is over, if we manage to irradiate covid or not at some point in the future is an entirely different problem and nothing to do with the current situation.

Same as with a flu, if you pass it onto an elderly person, or onto someone who passes it onto an elderly person with an weakened immune system. Been wearing a mask for years??

I think you know damn well by now that you shouldn't be comparing this pandemic to the flu. No flu season has ever had other medical care cancelled or had doctors deciding who gets care.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

This comparison belongs in Conspiracy Theories, not the Covid-19 forum

MarkR wrote: »

Have there been other cases like this already? It might change a few peoples minds about wearing masks, but I doubt it.

Nothing similar to date that has been posted here, anyway.

Your man want on to say that he did not wear a mask on religious grounds. He said he was an orthodox Christian who has deregistered from the Catholic Church and it was against his belief to cover up his face.

Strangley enough I read somewhere before in HSE literature(pre-covid) that religious grounds was a good enough reason not to wear a surgical mask.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,854 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

MarkR wrote: »

There was one of a guy on a Bus Eirean it was in the Freeman thread

https://www.rte.ie/news/regional/2020/1217/1185094-mask-bus-eireann/

robinph wrote: »
    The reason we are in various states of lockdown around the world isn't so much because we are trying to save everyone from Covid, it's that we are trying to save our health services from being overrun.

The NZ approach had the appearance of acting from a base of compassion rather than acting to save the health system from being overrun, at least that's the way it was communicated from the top.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

People must be very very soft if having to wear a mask is this big outrage, for any man to be cribbing over wearing a mask christ must have literally never done a hard days work in their life.

There was one of a guy on a Bus Eirean it was in the Freeman thread

mask thread too #2554

Tony Holohan wants people to wear masks outdoors. I don't know what they're at here.

I've been saying it for months that they should start indoors. Still only mandatory in certain places, a recommendation in other places. We all know what people think of recommendation, they see it as if you want to.

Masks aren't even mandatory in factories and they kept those places open!!!

Almost a year into this whole mess, it's about time they give us clear information, not recommendations where people can decide for themselves.

One easy solution to this is make masks mandatory in public buildings, anywhere where people go. It's not that hard to understand instead of compiling a list where it's mandatory and others where it's a recommendation.

Fuçking clowns.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Almost a year into this whole mess, it's about time they give us clear information, not recommendations where people can decide for themselves.

One easy solution to this is make masks mandatory in public buildings, anywhere where people go. It's not that hard to understand instead of compiling a list where it's mandatory and others where it's a recommendation.

Fuçking clowns.

The wearing of masks is already mandatory in most public buildings. The problem lies with slack enforcement of this.

Sainsbury's and Morrison's in the UK are going to start enforcing mask wearing and single shopping. Hope shops follow suit here.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,178 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I just saw a bus driver driving a mini bus with the mask under his stupid chin, down syndrome kid on the bus. That kind of stupidity and selfishness disgusts me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I think you know damn well by now that you shouldn't be comparing this pandemic to the flu. No flu season has ever had other medical care cancelled or had doctors deciding who gets care.

I bolded the relevant bit in your quote. I didn't compare the pandemic to the flu. I stated a medical fact. From the HSE, "In Ireland, between 200 and 500 people, mainly older people, die from flu each winter."

I never mentioned "medical care being cancelled", or "doctors deciding who gets care", you've added those in yourself to add a level of hysteria to my post that isn't there.

I pointed out that hundreds of people die of the flu every year. The flu is passed from person to person, and if someone gets it bad they can/may die. This is a basic medical fact, and not a "conspiracy". How do you think these people get the flu?