Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it time for a Dublin lockdown?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

You and people like you are the reason covid is spreading like wildfire. You are absolute disgrace. The only thing that would be more entertaining than seeing you in a cell would be seeing you struggle to breathe with covid (once you didn’t spread it to anyone else) caught by your blatant ignorance and refusal to listen to what we are being asked to do to stop spreading the virus.

Don’t go to house party’s, don’t go to 40th birthday’s, don’t go to pubs and especially don’t go down the country to pubs possibly bringing the virus with you. Just stay at home, it’s very easy.

You, your ilk and the anti-maskers etc are the dregs of society and any sh*t that comes your way is well deserved.

Why are you so gullible? You should be annoyed at yourself and your own ignorance. Why have you followed inconsistent and illogical restrictions so tightly the last few months?

Some examples;

1) Airports weren't closed in March as apparently we are part of the EU and it would be pointless. Then we were told that actually you can't go abroad at all, which was followed by a green list which didn't follow the rest of the EU (remember the EU? The same reason we apparently couldn't close the borders back in March). We were told, even with green list travel, it was not advised to travel unless essential. You needed to self-isolate for 2 weeks when returning from other countries. Complete spoof and just this week the State have argued in court with Ryan Air that none of the travel restrictions were legally binding, just advisory. This was to force Irish people to absorb the cost of cancelling their flights by themselves as the government wanted to say "don't fly, but pay for your own cancellation".

2) Nursing and residential homes. The bulk of our deaths came from these settings. Yet, there wa flip flopping around allowing visitors or not, complete ignorance of the risk. Combined with health staff not wearing their protective equipment, it spread like wildfire in these settings.

3) Meat factories - while people were being spoon-fed nonsense like "Worrying trend", "we need to do better" and "the next 2 weeks we're crucial", the government ignored and gave a free pass to meat factories to ignore any social distancing and allow migrant workers to work on top of each other after it materialised there were big risks with not shutting them like they had shut all businesses.

4) Pubs are closed since early March and have been closed longer than any other business. The problem has been house parties according to the government. Pubs serving 9euro meals can open with restaurants, all of which have been open for months now, yet pubs not doing food with your drink still cannot open. There is no sense to that.

Remembering that covid is an extremely old and/or extremly vulnerable person's disease in the vast majority of cases (93% of deaths are over the age of 65 despite being 25% of cases and 94% of deaths had clinical underlying conditions - these are conservative stats as we have not tested everyone who has ever had covid).

Parsnips wrote: »
    Diublin needs to go into lokdown since last week.
    Idiots making the decision based on economical constraints.
    Busineeses must stay open. this is being left way too late.

this thread is also going way off kilter.
    Unfollowed.

Head in the sand. Typical of anti-relaxers. They are extremist, like the loopers out protesting masks. Good riddance from this thread.

After a fortnight of people not wearing masks and being smug about it in shops, and after months of reading people here suiting themselves and shouting down anyone who disagrees, I've decided I'm going to do likewise. So lockdown or not, I'm heading away on Saturday morning. You can't win, so just join the other side.

After a fortnight of people not wearing masks and being smug about it in shops, and after months of reading people here suiting themselves and shouting down anyone who disagrees, I've decided I'm going to do likewise. So lockdown or not, I'm heading away on Saturday morning.

I'm in Wicklow Saturday, as planned, for a day of hiking and going to one of the towns for a nice lunch. Next weekend is Kinsale for the weekend. Nothing will change this, particularly "recommendations" or "advice".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭stockshares

Level 3 for Dublin and possibly other Counties on the way.
    https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/dublin-to-be-cut-off-from-rest-of-country-for-next-three-weeks-as-concerning-trends-emerge-in-three-other-counties-39538525.html

Donnelly delayed implmenting the measures which were recommended last week.

Simon Harris seems to be deliberately undermining him going by this article.

Simon Harris sought assurances at the last Cabinet meeting that the Government will act sooner on public health advice than it did on Nphet recommendations on Dublin. Harris asked for an assurance that if Nphet made a recommendation it would be made quickly so we don't have a situation like the last week," a source said.

"We have lost five days in the fight against the virus because they didn't move and he's really not happy about it," the source added.

Nphet is due to meet at 10am today to discuss the increasing number of new coronavirus cases in Dublin and elsewhere in the country.

The expert health group's recommendations will then be reviewed by the newly formed Covid-19 Oversight Group chaired by Department of the Taoiseach secretary general Martin Fraser.

Mr Fraser and Nphet's recommendations will then be forwarded to the Cabinet Committee on Covid-19 which will meet tomorrow morning.

An online Cabinet meeting may be organised later in the afternoon if a decision is taken to introduce new rules for the capital before the weekend.

Another Quote(shocking attitude here)
    While the recommendations were received by the Government last week, they were only announced on Tuesday and came into force for the first item yesterday.

A senior Cabinet member defended the delay in reacting to the advice by noting that the rise in cases has yet to lead to a significant increase in hospitalisations or deaths.

"Yes, there is an increase but bear in mind during an average flu season there are hundreds of deaths and we don't get into lockdown," the source said.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,915 ✭✭✭✭listermint

ive a staycation booked for next week.

if the govt advise me not to go, but dont order it, are they going to refund me?

if not, will travel insurance or whatever refund me?

will the venue themselves cancel?

its a ****in ridiculous move. lockdown or dont.

ppl blame the govt for a pandemic, which is moronic.

ppl blame the govt for ppl not complying with public health advice, which is moronic.

but clear instruction is surely a low bar to set.

If it's a staycation then you've nothing to worry about. You'll be in your house.

Or did you mean going on holiday in Ireland ? Staying in a hotel or BnB and not your own home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/dublin-to-be-cut-off-from-rest-of-country-for-next-three-weeks-as-concerning-trends-emerge-in-three-other-counties-39538525.html

Simon Harris sought assurances at the last Cabinet meeting that the Government will act sooner on public health advice than it did on Nphet recommendations on Dublin. Harris asked for an assurance that if Nphet made a recommendation it would be made quickly so we don't have a situation like the last week," a source said.

"We have lost five days in the fight against the virus because they didn't move and he's really not happy about it," the source added.

Nphet is due to meet at 10am today to discuss the increasing number of new coronavirus cases in Dublin and elsewhere in the country.

The expert health group's recommendations will then be reviewed by the newly formed Covid-19 Oversight Group chaired by Department of the Taoiseach secretary general Martin Fraser.

Mr Fraser and Nphet's recommendations will then be forwarded to the Cabinet Committee on Covid-19 which will meet tomorrow morning.

An online Cabinet meeting may be organised later in the afternoon if a decision is taken to introduce new rules for the capital before the weekend.

While the recommendations were received by the Government last week, they were only announced on Tuesday and came into force for the first item yesterday.

A senior Cabinet member defended the delay in reacting to the advice by noting that the rise in cases has yet to lead to a significant increase in hospitalisations or deaths.

"Yes, there is an increase but bear in mind during an average flu season there are hundreds of deaths and we don't get into lockdown," the source said.

Why is that attitude shocking?

According to the article no travel to or from Dublin unless it is work related, education related or other essential journeys.
    Not much of a lockdown then. Especially with colleges starting back soon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

After the RTÉ documentary on Harris and his collusion up North, he might not be around to police these himself

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

After a fortnight of people not wearing masks and being smug about it in shops, and after months of reading people here suiting themselves and shouting down anyone who disagrees, I've decided I'm going to do likewise. So lockdown or not, I'm heading away on Saturday morning. You can't win, so just join the other side.
    It's not in shops and not really you and others heading off. By the looks of it some people have attempted to return to normal life with all the attendant contacts that brings. The message is about contacts and minimising the number of them as much as we can.

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭random_banter

According to the article no travel to or from Dublin unless it is work related, education related or other essential journeys.
    Not much of a lockdown then. Especially with colleges starting back soon.

Do we see policed roads as part of this , as with Kildare? Or is it much looser? So unclear.

• Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭Dublinandy3

So how will level 3 actually look?
    Will we be forced to stay within the county, turned back if we try to go outside of it?
    Will the airport shut down given it serves not just Dublin county will it stay open and they filter who they let fly if there is an address outside of Dublin?
    What happens whenthe new EU traffic light scheme kicks in in 4 weeks time?
    Will all the shops shut down? (I can't see mention of them)
    Willthe covid payment kick in again but just for people in Dublin who lose their just regained jobs again?

All of tese are genuine questions, especialy the travel thing.

Will hotels/bnbs events outside of county Dublin turn away Dublin folk or will they not. When desperate for revenue I ccan't see people being turned away.

I had a staycation in Kerry a few weeks ago, various attracctions I went to did a tempurature test, asked us questions like have we been outside of Ireland in 14 days etc, will those questions now turn to Dublin?

Is anything actually legally enforcable as i thought the polices new powers were temporary and had expired by now?

Do we see policed roads as part of this , as with Kildare? Or is it much looser? So unclear.

Is it even feasible to police all roads out of county Dublin? I'm just guessing here but there must be quite a few.

Why is that attitude shocking?

Because of how casual it was towards the possibility of people dying .

In other words they took a chance in delaying the restrictions and it worked out because deaths didn't increase. So that's grand then.

GT89 wrote: »
    Hypocritical much? Calling someone a disgrace for their actions then wishing extreme suffering (which covid doesn't cause for healthy people) on someone.

Are you actually being serious? You think healthy people can’t get very sick from covid?? Of course they can. Regardless if this people need to respect the rules to protect the people who can get sick from it even if they themselves have a lower chance of getting sick.

What’s so hard about staying at home, not going to pubs, not going to house parties etc. Honestly could you imagine if you were asked to go to the front line in WW1 rather than being asked to sit at home? The country is full if imbeciles, a lot of whom are dubs which is no surprise.
    I'm in Wicklow Saturday, as planned, for a day of hiking and going to one of the towns for a nice lunch. Next weekend is Kinsale for the weekend. Nothing will change this, particularly "recommendations" or "advice".

Hopefully you will be sent home by a Garda check point, even better if you were fined but unfortunately they appear to be slow to hand out fines. There should have been thousands and thousands of fines handed out already for breaching the first lockdown, people having and attending house parties etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Because of how casual it was towards the possibility of people dying .

In other words they took a chance in delaying the restrictions and it worked out because deaths didn't increase. So that's grand then.

Politically it was to try to avoid what is likely to happen tomorrow. In terms of deaths we've had 14 in September and as we know it can generally take a patient quite some time to reach the final stages.

Hopefully you will be sent home by a Garda check point, even better if you were fined but unfortunately they appear to be slow to hand out fines. There should have been thousands and thousands of fines handed out already for breaching the first lockdown, people having and attending house parties etc.

Fines are the answer to that ****e. No more money for their caannnns

is_that_so wrote: »
    Politically it was to try to avoid what is likely to happen tomorrow. In terms of deaths we've had 14 in September and as we know it can generally take a patient quite some time to reach the final stages.

Correct.Yet being the operative word in the quote below

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

You can't fine people for breaching a request or guideline buddy.

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭jv2000

You can't fine people for breaching a request or guideline buddy.

Completely agree, what is the legality of a fine based on a "recommendation". The Government need to follow through properly and not impose half-measures. At this stage after months of this people are not going to listen to recommendations.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

We're going to be yo-yo'ing around for a while as this virus grows, and as it is suppressed, until we get a vaccine. Restrictions could be imposed on any county with short notice. It's really disruptive for businesses when that happens.

Instead I suggest the whole country should "lock down" for a couple of weeks, every few months. Announce the dates in advance and let business, schools etc prepare.

We're fooling ourselves perhaps with this thing of chasing the virus.

Am i right in thinkingthe purpose fo the first lockdown was to stop the spike in deaths/hospitilsations so the hospitals could cope? THey always accepted people would get sick and die.

If that's the case then the government needs to be held to account for not preparing the hospitals etc in the mean time. As another lockdown should only be for the same purpose.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,110 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Putting thousands of people out of there jobs, many permanently this time is not living with the virus

It will be tough to get fined or sent home based on government "advice" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭yawhat?

What an incredibly selfish and arrogant way of behaving.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

If they move Dublin to level 3 then surely Donegal & Waterford have to follow too.
    I think the majority of cabinet will oppose this for Dublin for economic reasons but it will be passed for fear of Martin looking like he hasn't acted promptly enough.

Still time for them to fudge it so I'm thinking it will come into effect on Sunday night at midnight giving the Dubs a weekend to tear the arse out of it.
    Expect 100+ cases in Wicklow by next weekend :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭circadian

It'll be a huge outbreak after our resident pub crawler and socialite wherever they're heading this weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Cancelling a trip tomorrow to because I predict we will be at level 3 in Dublin in the next 36 hours.

The response I was met with was, that I was unnecessarily worrying and that work colleagues of the person I'm going with are even heading away around the country this weekend. My response was, if that's the case they are doing the wrong thing and have a different moral compass to I. The data presented yesterday was stark AF.

Also have you noticed that people who say "you watch to much of the media" tend to get a lot of their information from Facebook.

I really hate that some people are not taking it seriously. I'm ****ing worried because I don't want to spread the virus to anyone and into areas where it is not as high. Each one of us has a massive role to play.

Anyway that's probably the end of that relationship. Can't be dealing with people with such different value systems.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,407 ✭✭✭✭road_high

yawhat? wrote: »
    What an incredibly selfish and arrogant way of behaving.

Just living their lives. Nothing wrong with that. The Covid zealots can stay at home if they want?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Cancelling a trip tomorrow to because I predict we will be at level 3 in Dublin in the next 36 hours.

The response I was met with was, that I was unnecessarily worrying and that work colleagues of the person I'm going with are even heading away around the country this weekend. My response was, if that's the case they are doing the wrong thing and have a different moral compass to I. The data presented yesterday was stark AF.

Also have you noticed that people who say "you watch to much of the media" tend to get a lot of their information from Facebook.

I really hate that some people are not taking it seriously. I'm ****ing worried because I don't want to spread the virus to anyone and into areas where it is not as high. Each one of us has a massive role to play.

Anyway that's probably the end of that relationship. Can't be dealing with people with such different value systems.

PM4Ol_iQrRMFs9BlcOc3IjYol7eoQW68--_WV7D1s1v7JbKzgMEYerge2yZhkdlY3LySUncS_LRmJrHxwItP2SgRfG-Lh6v3Gxu7Q-3d1P1dU1DoXpBAEaXnI_WsG_uOWOfGI68ZF7Qvjkoj5IBWph1bvXVOAyr2mLTvKQ