Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Any idea of how long its taking to get a test?

Rang doctor at 9am and they said expect a call in the morning and to be tested today. Still no call

Depends probably on where you are and how much a priority you are (school/healthcare workers)

My OH rang 9am wed morning, gp call back 10am, test appointment text at 11am for test at 10.30am thursday morning. Result back 9am today Friday. (School worker) in Cork

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

ixoy wrote: »
    There's not been the slightest indication that schools would be in jeopardy. If anything, it's the opposite.
    They've also said there'll be no new restrictions until next week when the plan is published (as I suspected). The new figures aren't probably high enough for it go earlier.

If community transmission stay increasing they will have to close. Too many teachers sick etc. Only 1 in 7 schools in USA are open.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

210 Today
    121 Dublin

where on the covid19 site do ye get the figures this early?

cheers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 466 ✭✭DangerScouse

Dublin needs stricter restrictions ASAP. Absolutely riddled at the minute.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,117 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

copeyhagen wrote: »

cheers.

If they told you they'd have to kill you, its the first rule of Beer Club :D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Any idea of how long its taking to get a test?

Rang doctor at 9am and they said expect a call in the morning and to be tested today. Still no call

From our own experience about 2 weeks ago, although busier now.

Refereed Monday evening, text Tuesday morning, test Wednesday 11.30am, result by around 11am Friday and negative

• Registered Users Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Indestructable

It's not legal, the Government have to be very careful. It's Grand for NPHET to come out with things as if they are mandatory, there not and implying they are is an abuse of power.
    NPHET need to be taken off the air waves, Government needs to start doing its job.

I agree, it's totally unenforceable so what would the harm be if the Government came out and said they were requesting it, just in the hope people will follow it.

I do think leadership has been lacking from this lot for quite awhile. There is nobody taking the bull by the horns, one way or another.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,031 ✭✭✭Patser

What happened in Louth to suddenly make a dramatic appearance?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,458 ✭✭✭celt262

Any details on what the restrictions are going to be that are been announced next week?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

What is it now 2,000 cases the last two weeks and 1,200 of those cases located in Dublin?

Hopefully the majority of those cases don't require hospital treatment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

Patser wrote: »

Her own fault, didn't socially distance herself from Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

In relation to household transmissions, I remember going babysitting for a neighbour of mine back in winter of 2005 or 2006. One of the family members at the time was in bed sick with flu. A few days after that, I came down with the same dose. It just goes to show how important it is, to follow the guidelines. Like, if you are ill, don't have anyone visit or if you a confirmed case or a close contact of a confirmed case, don't have anyone visit into the home and don't go visiting into other peoples homes to reduce the close contacts.

Seamai wrote: »
    Reducing down the groups of people visiting households from 3 to 2 is not going to make a tap of difference, what "expert" came up with that brainfart? I'm not saying that there needs to be another lockdown but there needs to be more than making that "suggestion" (because that's all it is) in order to get things under control in Dublin.

It wont make much difference, but what option is there to restrict household mixing? This has at this stage got to be about personal responsibility and peer pressure, and its difficult to legislate for people who have none. Even in France and Italy and Spain the new measures rely on personal responsibility. We can't lock people in their homes again, and short of closing down raves and large scale and obvious house parties, there are very few legal options.

We could close cafes and pubs and non-essential retail, but we are in enough economic trouble and there is no evidence that they are causing transmission

In short, there are few options at this stage other that get testing and tracing ramped up, and getting our hospitals as ready as they can be

celt262 wrote: »
    Any details on what the restrictions are going to be that are been announced next week?

The document with the different levels is being published next week.

If anything it'll be reduce contacts mixing in household settings thats what the NPHET recommendation was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Patser wrote: »

Given it's close proximity to Dublin, I'd imagine there are tens of thousands moving back and forth every day between between the two counties.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,665 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

The rest of the country seems relatively stable at 60-80 cases per day. Dublin really driving the figures now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Zero deaths I hope ?

The rest of the country seems relatively stable at 60-80 cases per day. Dublin really driving the figures now.

While high, Dublin seems to stay around the same each day when averaged out. If anyones listened to the message of reduce contacts you'd hope to see that in the numbers in the next 10 days maybe ? These infections would have been seeded probably a week or more ago

Wouldn't need to come down by alot to be proportional based on population

• Registered Users Posts: 20,742 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

copeyhagen wrote: »

cheers.

Your new :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,665 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Visitors being restricted from Monday at Dublin nursing homes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

What is the situation with collages? Are collages due to return? Or will it be online learning for a lot of people? Surely the return of colleges are going to be an absolute fcuking nightmare. There will be students living together, going into colleges, socialising together. Where I'm from, a lot of their socialising isn't even focused around drinking. It's all drugs. Then students are likely to go home for weekends. A lot of students also have to work.
    Cases are just going to explode left, right and centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,953 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Wonder what has happened in Dublin now. All along so far Dublin didn't really register as a major hotspot. Higher numbers than elsewhere proportionate to population alright, but now?

Baffled as to what is causing this spike in positive cases. Anyway hope those testing positive don't need a hospital admission.

Must be worrying for the hospitals though. Is there any good news out there please!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,928 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Crap
    53 hospitalised now, was at 48 (Hub) Yesterday and 51 on the HSE report at 22pm + last night

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,117 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

spookwoman wrote: »
    Crap
    53 hospitalised now, was at 48 (Hub) Yesterday and 51 on the HSE report at 22pm + last night

Any figure for swabs yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭wowzer

227 positives from 13,073 tests

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭the corpo

Visitors being restricted from Monday at Dublin nursing homes

Crap (though good obviously). Do you know if similar is planned for community hospitals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭d161

Arghus wrote: »
    I'm stunned by the poor quality of that article, usually what Ferriter has to say is balanced and knowledgable.

That piece is an absolute mess.

Is that because his viewpoint doesn't align with yours?

"Why didn't we have 20,000 deaths" - that was based on a prediction of uncontrolled transmission with no containment measures. He's an intelligent man, how can he not put two and two together?

"Why the changing guidelines on masks? " - has he been asleep for the last six months?

"Sweden has had no restrictions" - Yes, they have.
    Didn't the Imperial modeling (same one) when applied to Sweden, predict 100,000 deaths in Sweden if they didn't change?

He even talks up the insight of "Nobel Laureate" Michael Levitt - I really couldn't believe my eyes when I saw that.
    Again is this because you disagree with the "Nobel Laureate" ?

I find it worrying in its implications for the standard of future public debate that one of Ireland's most prominent public intellectuals is putting his name to such a shapeless mish mash of hot takes.

Do you not think it's about time there was a national debate on the way forward?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

It wont make much difference, but what option is there to restrict household mixing? This has at this stage got to be about personal responsibility and peer pressure, and its difficult to legislate for people who have none. Even in France and Italy and Spain the new measures rely on personal responsibility. We can't lock people in their homes again, and short of closing down raves and large scale and obvious house parties, there are very few legal options.

We could close cafes and pubs and non-essential retail, but we are in enough economic trouble and there is no evidence that they are causing transmission

In short, there are few options at this stage other that get testing and tracing ramped up, and getting our hospitals as ready as they can be

Well, I'd continue to leave people go to restaurants, cafes and bars that serve food but do everything to limit people visiting houses, unless it's an emergency but we know that's impossible to implement or patrol.

Arghus wrote: »
    I'm stunned by the poor quality of that article, usually what Ferriter has to say is balanced and knowledgable.

That piece is an absolute mess.

"Why didn't we have 20,000 deaths" - that was based on a prediction of uncontrolled transmission with no containment measures. He's an intelligent man, how can he not put two and two together?

"Why the changing guidelines on masks? " - has he been asleep for the last six months?

"Sweden has had no restrictions" - Yes, they have.

He even talks up the insight of "Nobel Laureate" Michael Levitt - I really couldn't believe my eyes when I saw that.

There's more than that too.

He raises the odd good point about some of the contradictions of NPHET's advice and his central argument that authority should always be subject to scrutiny is totally valid, but his scattergun approach to just throwing out badly misinformed questions or completely out of date debate points is not the way to make a convincing argument.

I like Ferriter a lot as a historian and I always find him to be an engaging and perceptive speaker when I hear him talk, but, what a car crash of an opinion piece - I actually think a good lot of us on here are more clued in and informed about what he is writing about than he is. For real.

I find it worrying in its implications for the standard of future public debate that one of Ireland's most prominent public intellectuals is putting his name to such a shapeless mish mash of hot takes.

The list of people questioning the notion that thousands more are at risk of dieing in ireland over the next 12 months of covid is growing:

Dr. Alan Farrell
    Professor Carl Hennigan
    Leo Varadkar- tweeted little serious disease in Europe despite months into second wave
    Ivor Cummins
    Ferriter- Irish Times journalist

If increases in cases is not causing serious illness what do you suggest to do? Pretend they are causing serious illness as they were in March. Nobody disputes what happened in march april may was a serious situation. This is not the same now and the penny is beginning to drop with some. If we tested for other coronaviruses we would find lots too.

owlbethere wrote: »
    What is the situation with collages? Are collages due to return? Or will it be online learning for a lot of people? Surely the return of colleges are going to be an absolute fcuking nightmare. There will be students living together, going into colleges, socialising together. Where I'm from, a lot of their socialising isn't even focused around drinking. It's all drugs. Then students are likely to go home for weekends. A lot of students also have to work.
    Cases are just going to explode left, right and centre.

Seems to be up to each college. I know some are fully online. My brother is in DIT and they've not been told yet, the latest suggestion a few weeks back was they'd have to wait until timetables were finalised along with class sizes to see what lectures would be in person and what would be online.

Due to return in 2 or 3 weeks I think it is.