Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will we survive the 'Triple Whammy"?

• 11-09-2020 12:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,275 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Global Warming, Coronavirus (Covid-19) & Brexit.

Obviously Brexit is not going to wipeout the human race, but it's an annoying sideshow that only adds to the current noise from the other two Biggies!

God help us if something else arrives...

Personally, I'm keeping an open mind about all three. Not much we can do about Global warming (man made or not), and coronavirus needs a vaccine, so we'll just have to wait for that, and as for Brexit, well we in Ireland could be severely impacted, although I suspect things will be ironed out between Ireland & Britain, and will not be half as bad as some predict..

All thoughts welcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

We didn't start the fire. Life will move on and we will all adapt to whatever the reality is of the day.

Brexit will eventually turn out to be much to do about nothing. Are WT0 terms even that restrictive? Isn't the whole point of the WTO to bring about global free trade? The EU and other supranational blocs are just intermediaries at this stage in the development. So over the next decades, the UK should align itself more with the EU especially as the dust settles and the divide wanes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

We'll be fine just throw more money at it and we'll be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,095 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

In the past a pandemic would have wiped out half the population of Europe. If you include the "Third World" in We, just be grateful to live in one of the most prosperous places on the planet. And at the best time in history to be alive from the point of view of life expectancy and medical treatments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Surely 'migration' (the illegal-economic type) would be the 3rd significant localised factor (not global warming).

The uk is experiencing hundreds of (non-eu) arrivals across the Eng Channel, per day (excluding haulage).
    In a post-brexit world, wouldn't Ireland will be the new destination of choice from Calais etc, rather than the uk.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Food shortages next probably? Terrible summer for arable crops.
    Bees being wiped out too which has a knock-on effect.

Surely 'migration' (the illegal-economic type) would be the 3rd significant localised factor (not global warming).

The uk is experiencing hundreds of (non-eu) arrivals across the Eng Channel, per day (excluding haulage).
    In a post-brexit world, wouldn't Ireland will be the new destination of choice from Calais etc, rather than the uk.

Why would it?

Nobody is going to travel from France to Ireland in a dinghy.

Climate change is an infinitely greater threat to us.

Why would it?
    Nobody is going to travel from France to Ireland in a dinghy.
    Is this a joke? Travel will be via HGV mostly, really didn't think that needed clarified.

Even the uk's channel water crossings (hundreds per day) are far below the traditional traffickers established haulage routes.
    There was already several incidences of lads juping out of trucks in Wexford port, and couple of leaps from gangs of lads out of vans in Co.Laois.

Is this a joke? Travel will be via HGV mostly, really didn't think that needed clarified.

Even the uk's channel water crossings (hundreds per day) are far below the traditional traffickers established haulage routes.
    There was already several incidences of lads juping out of trucks in Wexford port, and couple of leaps from gangs of lads out of vans in Co.Laois.

Vastly different to people traveling in a dinghy.

Traveling in HGVs is a near death sentence. A very small percentage would survive that sort of journey/border checks.

If it did become an issue it'd be sorted with more rigorous checks and/or penalties for HGV owners.

The crowd that got into the back of the truck in Wexford thought they were heading to Britain.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Can humanity survive more wokism?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

biko wrote: »

What we will do when there's nobody left to cancel?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,156 ✭✭✭screamer

It’ll still be the UK as destination of choice and with them out of the EU, France will just let them flood over the channel. How the UK ever thought leaving EU would help them to stop this illegal migration is beyond me.

Vastly different to people traveling in a dinghy.
    Agree, of course it is, hence why haulage is the most popular method.
    Traveling in HGVs is a near death sentence. A very small percentage would survive that sort of journey/border checks.
    Traveling in HGVs is hundreds of times safer than dinghies, hence it's the defacto high-volume method, even from the distant far-East, direct into Western Europe.

There are weekly stories in the uk of lads jumping out of car roof boxes, now that particular method is very high risk.
    The enhanced border checks (very few trucks are even x-ray'd*) would apply for EU to new non-EU Brexitland only.

*Only 1 out of every 400 trucks are checked at Zeebrugge port, there is not (nor likely ever) the manpower available, to check every single item of haulage. https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2019/10/24/belgians-check-one-400-containers-port-chinese-migrants-smuggled/

France/Belgium etc. to Ireland would largely be the same eu-protocol as is now.

screamer wrote: »
    It’ll still be the UK as destination of choice and with them out of the EU, France will just let them flood over the channel. How the UK ever thought leaving EU would help them to stop this illegal migration is beyond me.
    Could be right, however they will have the justification to hire hundreds, if not thousands more border staff. Also Patel won't mess about from 1st Jan onwards, sure look what they're already currently doing to existing agreements.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,095 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The economic type will provide the workforce for the jobs that Irish people are not doing. That is the experience in rich countries like the UK and the US. Your and my ancestors would have arrived here by the sea route, after the happy time when there were no humans on the island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

We need more doctors and engineers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

We are moving into the great extinction

The economic type will provide the workforce for the jobs that Irish people are not doing.
    The legal (EU) or visa based economic type certainly will/may (assuming there is an abundant supply in post brexit-covid 2021 world).

The illegal type often prefer the black market, as it avoids any/all taxes (in addition to any welfare top-up), and is a very common technique, to pay back their owed traffickers or gang masters by working for very small change.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

biko wrote: »

I can see biko now kneeling on a beach and cursing 'Damn you' with a battered Daniel O'Connell statue poking out of the sand behind him.

But I'm going to have to come up with a snappier title than Planet of the Transexual Negro Muslims.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

What we will do when there's nobody left to cancel?

Oh Wow!, so there is hope for us..... herd immunity from Wokism.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭quokula

The UK takes in a tiny number of migrants compared to most European countries, it's just their extremely warped media treats half a dozen people on a dinghy as if it's some kind of mass invasion.

Even if 100% of migrants to the UK stopped going there and dispersed around the rest of Europe, the numbers would be so tiny as to be unnoticeable. And the ones going to the UK are generally going there because they have connections there, Brexit won't change that.

Climate Change will necessitate true mass migration from warmer parts of the world to cooler parts though, as crop failures and droughts become ever more common in some regions. That could be an issue for Ireland (though not as big an issue for us as it will be for the countries that people will be forced to mass emigrate from of course)

quokula wrote: »
    The UK takes in a tiny number of migrants compared to most European countries, it's just their extremely warped media treats half a dozen people on a dinghy as if it's some kind of mass invasion.
    Agree the dinghies are a small, tiny fraction, and make headlines due to the sheer visibility factor (400 in one day last week), most trafficking of course is non-visable and out of sight.

i) Ministers say they do not know the scale of illegal immigration.
    ii) No official estimate has been published since 2005.
    iii) LSE put an estimate of circa 1/2 million in the uk
    iv) The Times say it's 1.2m (about the population of greater Dublin), and the highest number (of illegal migrants) of any EU country. https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/britain-has-most-illegal-immigrants-in-the-eu-wvg9wlcmx
    ... And the ones going to the UK are generally going there because they have connections there, Brexit won't change that.
    ...And the fact that France has hardened it's stance and appeals process, and removal times isn't a factor? And the fact that France requires PhotoID at all times on the person, which prevents fraud and black market labour activity?
    Climate Change will necessitate true mass migration from warmer parts of the world to cooler parts though, as crop failures and droughts become ever more common in some regions. That could be an issue for Ireland (though not as big an issue for us as it will be for the countries that people will be forced to mass emigrate from of course)
    True, but not a direct issue for Ire, well not for a decade or two perhaps, the single best hope against CC is clean energy technologies, hydrogen or novel cold fusion development to wipe out coal and other fossile fuels.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,802 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Four replies to make it about migrants hahaha, shoehorn it in there!

If you seriously think global warming is less of a threat than some people moving country, you are deluded.

Was simply clarifying the misleading point made by a poster (The UK takes in a tiny number of migrants compared to most European countries).

When there are estimates available suggesting the exact and complete opposite, and that it has the highest (1.2m) of any single EU state.

Will potatoes stop growing next 20years due to the ever present and eternal issue of climate change? Nope. Well unless the ice age suddenly re-appears. You are highly deluded if you reckon the green fields are suddenly going to vanish from the start of 2021.

Will 100k jobs be lost after Jan 2021 (not including covid's effects)? Perhaps.
    Will there be an influx of illegal migration after Brexitland emmerges? Perhaps.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

Global Warming, Coronavirus (Covid-19) & Brexit.

Obviously Brexit is not going to wipeout the human race, but it's an annoying sideshow that only adds to the current noise from the other two
    God help us if something else arrives...

Personally, I'm keeping an open mind about all three. Not much we can do about Global warming (man made or not), and coronavirus needs a vaccine, so we'll just have to wait for that, and as for Brexit, well we in Ireland could be severely impacted, although I suspect things will be ironed out between Ireland & Britain, and will not be half as bad as some predict..

All thoughts welcome.

Don't worry about any of the above, there is an alien invasion about to happen. The little aliens are the size of pin heads and once they enter you blood stream they head straight for your erogenous zones. All humans will die from orgasmic overload. Causing people to die with a smile.

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Thread moved to CA.

I'd recommend fi posting any immigration opinions adhere to the Charter.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Absolutely. Stemming the flow of illegal migration is a bigger issue in the short and medium term and a bigger risk to us than climate change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

In fairness to us who have just turned 30 + , we have had a lifetime of fairly good to date and still do. There is a lot to be grateful for.

I think of older generations who went through extreme poverty, world wars, multiple recessions, and to be at the end of their lives and faced with a pandemic which could kill them.

This is a first major test for many of us and a reminder of what is important in life.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

The question should be what whammy will the media cycle cling to once Brexit and Covid is behind us...

Until a time comes when most people realise that it is media that is the virus!!!

I find it quite funny that a lot of posters here are saying immigration is the problem, not climate change

Wait til they get a load of the immigration that'll happen in the next 10 years precisely because of climate change. Australians will start moving soon. A lot of them would have Irish roots, a lot of Americans as well, look at what's happening on Oregon and California, not to mention the storms that are getting worse each year.

We speak their language, have good arable land and the cultures aren't that different. I imagine a good few thousand would be entitled to passports from Irish born grandparents as well.

Now, they'll be white, so I imagine a fair few posters won't have problems with them coming over.

• Registered Users Posts: 83,472 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Migration and Climate Change are inexorable. As climate change makes huge swaths of the middle east, africa, south america, etc etc inhospitable, billions of people will be displaced and move away from equatorial regions. Droughts and natural disasters lead to scarcity and instability, civil strife, etc. and eventually full on civil wars and so forth. It's already been happening.
    Absolutely. Stemming the flow of illegal migration is a bigger issue in the short and medium term and a bigger risk to us than climate change

Only if you fail to see how the former is fueled primarily by the latter.