Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

my guess for Saturday's team would be:

1.sok
    2. s. fives
    3. Prunty
    4. mcnulty
    5. d fives
    6. tadhg
    7. Moran
    8. Barron
    9. Callum Lyons
    10. Fagan
    11. Aussie
    12. Jack Pender
    13. dessie
    14. Bennett
    15. Mikey Kearney

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭Alf Tupper

Kearney isn't up to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 JD 60

Deisegodeo wrote: »
    my guess for Saturday's team would be:

1.sok
    2. s. fives
    3. Prunty
    4. mcnulty
    5. d fives
    6. tadhg
    7. Moran
    8. Barron
    9. Callum Lyons
    10. Fagan
    11. Aussie
    12. Jack Pender
    13. dessie
    14. Bennett
    15. Mikey Kearney

Decent team but rest of the panel is a bit lightweight ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 JD 60

thesultan wrote: »
    Think there is a gap between Limerick, Tipp, Wexford and the rest..

Wexford ?

All we know at this stage is there is a gap between Limerick/Clare and between Laois and remaining teams. May be a coincidence but Clare was the only team that Waterford got near to last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

JD 60 wrote: »
    Wexford ?

All we know at this stage is there is a gap between Limerick/Clare and between Laois and remaining teams. May be a coincidence but Clare was the only team that Waterford got near to last year.

You'll see a marked improvement on Waterford from last year.

Clare were also missing Duggan, Conlon, Collins and Galvin from last years team as well so they were always going to struggle on Sunday.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

how will ye manage Pat Horgan without Noel Connors?

• Registered Users Posts: 38,374 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Will be a hard job for whoever has the task

Shane Fives or Shane Mcnulty maybe

• Registered Users Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

Noel Connors didn't mark him last year it was Prunty. Harnedy has caused Waterford more problems than Horgan.

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭upthedeise16

If Horgan goes straight in to full forward, I’d be glad to see Prunty pick him up but he is likely to go to a corner so I’d prefer to see McNulty on him. Stopping Horgan is key but to be fair, Harnedy, Cadogan & Kingston take fair watching as well while it’s impossible to know which Conor Lehane will turn up as he can shoot the lights out or be anonymous but it was Conor Gleeson who did man marking jobs on him in 2017.

Looking at the report of the league game, I see Horgan didn’t score from play but can’t remember who picked him up? It was Shane Kingston who scored 2-2 that day from play but the I remember the goals being soft and being slight defensive mistakes. From my memory of the match, we had a disastrous start but Patrick Curran’s goal, which Nash should have saved, brought us back into it on a day that everything Kieran Bennett hit seemed to go over the bar.

Pogue eile wrote: »
    Noel Connors didn't mark him last year it was Prunty. Harnedy has caused Waterford more problems than Horgan.

Pity Harnedy didn't grow up a few miles east

Fantastic player and would fit in to any intercounty team

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭Alf Tupper

Hopefully a bit better.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Alf Tupper wrote: »
    Hopefully a bit better.

Is there any way of seeing the game without having sky......?

Asdfgh2020 wrote: »

Without having a sky subscription or without paying for it at all?

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Asdfgh2020 wrote: »

it's free to sky and virgin media customers, on sky sports mix which is available free on both providers.

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭Pudz2180

Just heard rumour that both Stephen Bennett and dara fives injured in training last night and are very doubtful for Saturday. Bit of a disaster if true

Pudz2180 wrote: »
    Just heard rumour that both Stephen Bennett and dara fives injured in training last night and are very doubtful for Saturday. Bit of a disaster if true

Christ hope its BS, Dara Fives just cant catch a break and Stephen Bennett would be a huge loss esp with Pauric been out. Patrick Curren to start as freetaker ??

Will the team be announced tomorrow night or Friday ?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Christ hope its BS, Dara Fives just cant catch a break and Stephen Bennett would be a huge loss esp with Pauric been out. Patrick Curren to start as freetaker ??

Will the team be announced tomorrow night or Friday ?

Why would you doubt a rumour posted by someone with no other posts?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Horgan and harnedy also out for langers...one is a close contact and the other waiting on a test result....just what we need to balance out loss

• Registered Users Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

JD 60 wrote: »
    Wexford ?

That Clare game last year was the trigger point for the wheels coming off. It looked like we were in a decent place going into that game having given them a trimming in the league and a big home crowd behind us on the day. The fact that we came up just short was effectively season over in the players eyes

The games afterwards against Tipp and Limerick were dreadful for the supporters and esp after the Tipp game when we knew our season was over in the 3rd week of May. A sense of false hope after we scraped over the line into a League final which was only played in Croke Park due to weather restrictions that messed up the schedule.

If we had of won the league or beat Clare, I think Fanning would still be in charge this year with maybe a few additions to his backroom staff but not to be

Looking forward to Saturday and hoping for a massive performance and a solid campaign

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Jjjjjjjjbarry

Someone please say this is BS. Stephen Bennett has carried our attack for the last two years.

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭Pudz2180

I just posted it to see if anyone else had heard the same. I hope it isn’t true especially as far as Stephen Bennett is concerned. Not ideal with dara either but at least we have enough cover in the half back line. Unfortunately the same can’t be said with regard the forwards especially now with pairaic injured. Anyone know how Patrick Curran and Jake Dillon are going in training/ challenge games? Any chance of them starting

I was just thinking yesterday about how admirable it is that Darragh Fives puts in the effort to get himself up to intercounty standard and get in the first team, year after year, despite all his setbacks. He must be mentally very strong and extremely committed. I am hoping he might be "lucky" and get through this year and get something back for all his hard work.

Hopefully Cahill has a good plan to get Dessie and Aussie into the game. Aussie probably needs to get himself into it but Dessie needs good ball into space with good runners to give him options and draw defenders away from him. Humping high ball onto him in a 2 man full forward line won't work. I'm looking forward to seeing what Liam Cahill brings. Hopefully some Tipp efficiency of taking points when the opportunity is there and not overplaying it. Dessie for Ballygunner is excellent at this and usually makes the correct choice.

Starting to get excited now. Come on the Déise. Callum Lyons is my prediction for Waterford player of the year.

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭carter10

You'll see a marked improvement on Waterford from last year.

In fairness it would be hard to be as bad as last year

Grim viewing here from Brian McDonnells 642 blog. In line with and in a lot of cases porer than Westmeath and Carlow on these metrics

Work rate chart very informative.

http://sixtwofourtwo.com/2019shcstats/

carter10 wrote: »

Grim viewing here from Brian McDonnells 642 blog. In line with and in a lot of cases porer than Westmeath and Carlow on these metrics

I wouldn't be concerned about it to be honest, they've turned a corner. If they're not good enough it will simply be that that stops them, but in terms of preparation and belief I wouldn't have any fears at all.

Last year was all wrong and regardless of what people say about the year before and not winning a championship game, it was a clear outlier in 20 yrs following Waterford.

Whatever 15 takes the field on Saturday won't lack for commitment.

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭upthedeise16

carter10 wrote: »

There’s a crazy amount of detail, surprised to see Waterford are one of the teams to win most frees & perform pretty well in terms of not allowing goal chances and winning their own puckouts but the workrate stats are worrying to see but it’s an easy stat to fix and an extreme workrate would be a known characteristic of Liam Cahill’s underage Tipp teams.

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭enoughtaken

Snr Hurling Wat v.Cork
    1 S O'Keeffe
    2 S Fives
    3 C Prunty
    4 S McNulty
    5 C Lyons
    6 T De Burca
    7 A Gleeson
    8 J Barron