Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Socialist throws a smoothie on Varadkar

• Registered Users Posts: 29,555 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

pgj2015 wrote:
    They aren't subjected to unemployment though. That is their own choice.

People don't actively choose unemployment, they just don't feel they have other options to be, and sometimes they don't

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

Assault plain and simple. Cowardly and potentially very dangerous. No doubt Antifa scum

Where were the Guards? You would figure there would have been a couple of them there to prevent stuff like this from happening.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,555 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

pgj2015 wrote:
    There is a job and education there for anyone in this country if they want it, unless they are unable to work through being disabled or mentally not able for it etc.

No there's not, that's another myth

• Registered Users Posts: 9,317 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    People don't actively choose unemployment, they just don't feel they have other options to be, and sometimes they don't

Lots do choose unemployment, I have seen able bodied people turn down jobs, they prefer to sit on their arse doing nothing.

I heard it was piss.

Ah, Starbucks?

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    No there's not, that's another myth

lots of places cant get people to take jobs they have going, cleaning, fast food restaurants etc. are you also telling me that a free education isn't there for any Irish citizen who wants it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Saoradh is a party,which may suit yous

If they can survive the unprecentened attack by the british security forces againest a political party.......pretty much impossible for left leaning parties to exist,when any startup is subject to relentless attack by liberials arresting its members

Its a disgrace,everyone turned a blindeye to what happened there imo

think the problem is murder leaning parties

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

As mad as a bag of ferrets

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Demented

FG arent right wing.

Gay marriage
    Pro abortion

Our low income workers pay little tax because of the policies of FG and FF.

18000 euros a year in Ireland has an effective tax rate of 3%. In Germany in 26%.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/personal-finance/low-income-worker-ireland-has-smallest-tax-burden-for-low-paid-1.3633502?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fbusiness%2Fpersonal-finance%2Flow-income-worker-ireland-has-smallest-tax-burden-for-low-paid-1.3633502

Fine Gael and Fianna Fail label themselves as Centre-Right parties its clearly obvious that that is not the case. We've had recession after recession after recession with these parties. They're pro open borders, unlimited immigration. And abortion was introduced into the Country under them.

They're as Right Wing as Sinn Fein as a National Party [they also support abortion, pro-open borders and unlimited immigration. So much for the party that's name is supposed to translate into "We ourselves alone."

• Registered Users Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Ff and fg centre left. Ripoff housing aside, thats a bit of an outlier...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Hold on, isn’t this hilarious?? People on here though so when it was Farage etc.

Whataboutery. Wrong both times. Is that too difficult to grasp?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

FG arent right wing.

Gay marriage
    Pro abortion

Our low income workers pay little tax because of the policies of FG and FF.

18000 euros a year in Ireland has an effective tax rate of 3%. In Germany in 26%.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/personal-finance/low-income-worker-ireland-has-smallest-tax-burden-for-low-paid-1.3633502?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fbusiness%2Fpersonal-finance%2Flow-income-worker-ireland-has-smallest-tax-burden-for-low-paid-1.3633502

FG haven't been a right-wing party since the early 80's. Even then it was small c conservatism. I thing the more extreme left and right need a boogeyman. FG seem to be the source of their ire, as they still advocate for having people work so we can continue to have this lovely social democracy, but don't give a damn about sexuality or reproductive issues.

That's a target for the loons.

.anon. wrote: »
    True. Look at this video of Michael Noonan getting a custard pie in the face during the 2002 election campaign.

There was no pearl-clutching, no talk of it being an assault. The man himself laughed it off and the papers published their usual mildly amusing oh-so-wry accounts of the event the next day.

Remind me who the real 'snowflakes' are?

Remind me who the snowflakes are when somebody retaliates against the bastards.

Sinn fein deosnt translate to ourselves alone?

They are only mainstream party putting serious push to end the occupation of part of our country...to me,this makes em.nationlist

They are pro open borders and unlimited immigration. They are not a Nationalist party. They want the British out, but want the island occupied by another group of people.

Assault hahahaha

If you say this was not an assault you don't know what you're talking about. You must have dropped out of the King's Inns before they covered that bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭Rezident

The "progressive" Left strikes again.

This government have not exactly covered themselves in glory either. The Right are, well, just look at the UK or US. Who are the good guys, again? Is it Sinn Fein now!? I'm confused.

Starting to think we should just scrap the entire Right v Left system of politics and start over. A clean re-install. Format the hard drive and start again. It couldn't be any more divisive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Oh I understood alright ..

It's fine for you "progressives" to label your bogey men, but when those who disagree with you do similar, then suddenly it's an issue.

No, you really didn't.
    I pointed out everyone needs to be attached to a cause or group these days. Wasnt always like that. But sure, put a spin on it.

Your wan would have been referred to as 'some student' now she's in all sorts of parties and groups and conspiracies.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭landofthetree

Rezident wrote: »

This government have not exactly covered themselves in glory either. The Right are, well, just look at the UK or US. Who are the good guys, again? Is it Sinn Fein now!? I'm confused.

Starting to think we should just scrap the entire Right v Left system of politics and start over. A clean re-install. Format the hard drive and start again. It couldn't be any more divisive.

Yet we vote to hand over more and more power to government all the time. Maybe that's the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Lots do choose unemployment, I have seen able bodied people turn down jobs, they prefer to sit on their arse doing nothing.

You don't simply get welfare if you refuse to or quit work. Exceptions maybe but I doubt it.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,368 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ive just seen the vid that varadkar was making when he was attacked.
    Its a bit to camera about the lockdown. Surely governement funded and with 'visit gov.ie' on screen.
    This then finishes up with Finegeal.ie as a closing screen. Surely thats not allowed unless the party fund it.

Bowie wrote: »
    You don't simply get welfare if you refuse to or quit work. Exceptions maybe but I doubt it.

That is why they fake a back injury or mental health issues and get disability payment. job done.

Rezident wrote: »

Ireland has never had a left wing government and this is the first time since the early 1920s that we've even had left-ish head of opposition.

US hasn't had a left-ish government since FDR died before the end of WW2.

Britain is the only one that has anything resembling a left wing government/opposition in the intermediate years.

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭Covid19

Not condoning the incident for one minute but maybe just MAYBE it will make varadkar realize he is absolutely despised by a lot of the electorate.

Time for him to leave public life maybe ?

You're very wrong. I personally don't care for the man but, in the real world beyond the m50, he has plenty of support. Believe you me.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

I can't be arsed reading back through all 18 pages but surely if the OP knew minutes after the incident happened that it was a PBP activist then identification should be straightforward.

Also knowing the brand of coffee that doubles as a smoothie would be welcome

Ireland has never had a left wing government and this is the first time since the early 1920s that we've even had left-ish head of opposition.

US hasn't had a left-ish government since FDR died before the end of WW2.

Britain is the only one that has anything resembling a left wing government/opposition in the intermediate years.

There's a real bang of Rage Against the Machine off this post.

You live in a beautiful example of post-war Social Democracy. Free education, social housing, subsidised public transport, semi-state companies, social welfare, public service broadcasting, investments in civic spaces, the arts council, and so on, and so forth.

The lack of any sort of realisation of this is what puzzles me most. Advocate for change, but these absolute nutjobs on the extremes of the left and the right propose nothing only hate, chaos, and violence.

Nah. People don't want that. It's obscure stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭ToddDameron

Notice how she doesn't throw a smoothie at the white guy but goes straight for the man with Indian heritage. What a racist.

You live in a beautiful example of post-war Social Democracy. Free education, social housing, subsidised public transport, semi-state companies, social welfare, public service broadcasting, investments in civic spaces, the arts council, and so on, and so forth.

The lack of any sort of realisation of this is what puzzles me most. Advocate for change, but these absolute nutjobs on the extremes of the left and the right propose nothing only hate, chaos, and violence.

Whether people want it or not is irrelevant. Capitalism/corporatism is eating itself. We're heading for a socialist society.

And yet the party,,which campaigned on platform of change in a general election,romped home with record tallies,winning over 40% 1st preference in some constituencies

Saying people dont want change,when there fairly clear evidence suggests otherwise is only self defeating lunacy

.....FG are riding high in polls as they have tackled issues in the health service and sorted many.....but it took a global crisis to force them into action,before this,the election excuse was its too difficult

Ffg are hiding behind same rubbish excuse its too difficult to sort the housing crisis,where as if the political will and mandate is there,anything is achievable,just they've gone stale from being in power so long....its time to give someone new a go

Whether people want it or not is irrelevant. Capitalism/corporatism is eating itself. We're heading for a socialist society.

I'm not trying to put you on the spot here, but what would that look like for Ireland? A few concrete examples of this socialist society we are moving towards.