Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Socialist throws a smoothie on Varadkar

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Bambi wrote: »
    Charlie took a hiding off a fella cos Charlie was riding his missus. CJ said he busted his face after falling of his horse but it wasnt riding horses that caused it :D

It was the morning of the budget, Taoiseach Jack Lynch had to read out the budget in the Dail.

A varied life you could say Charlie had.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Bowie wrote: »
    Truth hurts :)

Slainte...when?

What truth exactly Matt?
    That you think FG is 'right-wing'

The spending on public services under FG is at times a record, that is just a fact.
    Now, there will always be people on the sidelines wanting more and more and more, it will never be enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Suckit wrote: »
    Of course you don't... You probably don't remember editing it either.

Stop playing silly bugger. Show me where I misquoted you, show me what I edited. Otherwise I'm done with you. Put up or shut up.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

They tried, but they missed:

1981: An attempt is made to throw paint over An Taoiseach Charles Haughey while on a visit to St Michael’s Hospital in Dun Laoghaire.

https://www.rte.ie/archives/2016/0519/789604-paint-thrown-at-haughey/

Threw coins at his car in 2000 too:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/protesters-throw-coins-at-haughey-s-merc-1.295287

Also, someone literally danced on his grave:

https://www.thejournal.ie/man-literally-dances-on-haugheys-grave-to-protest-ff-corruption-21077-Sep2010/

The first thing you notice in that clip is the gardai are all big lads that are as fit as a butchers dog and wearing proper uniforms, not like the current shower of short arses with beer guts in crumpled school uniforms wearing high viz jackets in case they get lost

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    It's another encouraging sign that, so far, we've managed to avoid the morass of political polarisation that the US and UK are bogged down in.

When milkshaking popped up in the UK it was approved of by newspapers such as The Guardian, which is a reflection of how a significant amount of people viewed it.

Here unprovoked assault on people for their politics is almost universally opposed, even by people like me who wouldn't vote for the victim. I'd say decades of experience with where that can lead to makes us a bit more chary of childish LARPing as violent revolutionaries than the Brits or Yanks are.

There is still a double standard on reporting political violence though. Just the day after this happened the Irish Times cover story on its Weekend Review was on the rise of the violent far-right. While the people involved are scumbags the article studiously failed to mention the violence on the far-left that is a mirror image of those thugs.

Stupid irresponsible article IMO. The far right clowns should never be given any publicity over and above their Court appearances. These morons who never make the paper outside of their District Court outings will have been creaming themselves reading all about how serious their school bully club is being taken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Necro wrote: »
    Seriously, you haven't a clue what right-wing is if you want to continue that comparison.

One needs to only look to our neighbours in the UK to see what damage actual right wing zealots do to a country, through conservatism and hardline policies such as Brexit.

Record breaking crises yet doubled down on the policies exacerbate it to enrich private business. That's pretty Tory to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

feargale wrote: »
    Stop playing silly bugger. Show me where I misquoted you, show me what I edited. Otherwise I'm done with you. Put up or shut up.
    Good for you feargale. You probably shouldn't be playing on the internet anyway.
    As we can say anything without being required to back it up, I'll even suggest that a six year old with no interest in this thread would see where you edited and without having to look at my two previous posts, where I refer to exactly where it is either.
    The same six year old would also probably realise that deflecting doesn't work so well on the aforementioned internet when trying to dodge a question, nor does saying the other poster is playing silly bugger etc. just a different version of deflection really.
    I knew you couldn't/wouldn't answer so no point in keeping this going.
    Silly buggers over and out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

markodaly wrote: »
    What truth exactly Matt?
    That you think FG is 'right-wing'

The spending on public services under FG is at times a record, that is just a fact.
    Now, there will always be people on the sidelines wanting more and more and more, it will never be enough.

Safe word alert. When you get your knickers twisted you roll out the 'Matt' :)

You are calling it bull, then talking about something else. Housing, homelessness, health.

Spending means **** all if its to plug holes because of failed policy.
    We dont want more we want quality, value for money and it going to the right things.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Suckit wrote: »
    As we can say anything without being required to back it up,.

Exactly what you've done. Accuse without specifying the facts grounding the charge. I would expect better at an IRA court martial. Or even in a Belfast romper room. The arrogance of the Shinners knows no bounds.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

feargale wrote: »
    Exactly what you've done. Accuse without specifying the facts grounding the charge. I would expect better at an IRA court martial. Or even in a Belfast romper room. The arrogance of the Shinners knows no bounds.
    What nonsense are you blathering about now feargale?
    What Shinners or the IRA have to do with Leo getting splashed, is beyond me.
    You seem(ed) fairly confident as to who splashed him, or at least who she was 'aligned to'.
    But, unable to say how or why you are so confident.
    Now babbling about the arrogance of the Shinners.
    I wouldn't be politically aligned to any party, but even I am aware it is the FG lot that are well associated with arrogance.
    I genuinely have no idea, nor care where you are going with this. You seem to have lost your way, and to be fair the internet is a confusing place. Redirect my comments back at me all you like, I won't be commenting back to you as you have nothing to say (again) unless you can answer the original question, but I suspect that you can't. Shock.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,375 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Record breaking crises yet doubled down on the policies exacerbate it to enrich private business. That's pretty Tory to me.

You know nothing about the Tory party, or Fine Gael, or both so.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

You know nothing about the Tory party, or Fine Gael, or both so.

I wish these parties were as right wing as these people believe. If they were then half of us on here would have nothing to give out about.

Well, if FG were the Irish version of the Tories, the outrage would be deafening.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

If everyone voted for 'right-wing' candidates I'd say there'd be societal collapse within a decade.

Ditto 'left-wing'. Extremes don't work long term.

You are a fantasist.

Ditto 'left-wing'. Extremes don't work long term.

It would take longer and you'd be left with good infrastructure though.

Not sure I'd agree on both counts. Irregardless, it taking longer wouldn't be a positive.

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭cagefactor

Yeh Cuba, Venezuela and ex USSR have great infrastructure..... Oh wait... They don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

Whatever you say about Leo (and I'm no fan) at least he's making a go of it. It's easy to throw stuff at people. The far left had a chance to give input when sinn fein were looking for coalition partners but they seem to prefer giving out about stuff rather than putting themselves on the line and making hard decisions/ compromising. What's the point of voting for them if they only complain about what other parties are doing. Anyone can do that. The far left always seem too authoritarian anyway. The far right are probably similar but I've no experience with them.

cagefactor wrote: »
    Yeh Cuba

Communist/socialist and has been strangled by economic warfare for generations.
    Venezuela

France is more socialist than Venezuela. Venezuela is kleptocracy.
    and ex USSR have great infrastructure

As bad as the USSR was you got healthcare, a job, public services, trains, roads, and a certain standard of living. Not that that justifies its mass murdering regime of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭sweet_trip

“How do you know it was a scumbag” about the man with the neck tattoo in a tracksuit with his hands down the jocks.

Lets be honest , that haircut and style of glasses overweight, skateboard, during the working week when people should be working. Attacking a centrist politician that the hard left consider ‘right wing’

In police terms its called ‘having form for something’ and the chances of somebody who did this being a socialist is as sure as the dog thief doesn't like houses without wheels.

Never read such amount of ****e in my life. A skateboard + hairstyle = socialist.

You're living in lala land. Talking about "police terms".

What you're essentially saying is accusing somebody of being something with no evidence other than "she looks that way".

Hopefully you'll never actually be in a position of authority with such dangerous thinking.

Spending means **** all if its to plug holes because of failed policy.
    We dont want more we want quality, value for money and it going to the right things.

Hilarious, spending means nothing...? :pac::pac:
    Then what are you on about 'right-wing' then, as that is usually the definition of a party who are economically right-wing.

You mean Socialism relies on free-trade to make it?
    Does.Not.Compute

By whos metric?
    As bad as the USSR was you got healthcare, a job, public services, trains, roads, and a certain standard of living. Not that that justifies its mass murdering regime of course.

You mean a standard of living much much worse than your average person in the West?
    I love these posts bigging up how 'great' the USSR was. The definition of keyboard warriorism.

soviet-union-queues.png

THis is a queue for the latest Soviet made smart phone :D:D
    Nah, its just another day in Socialist paradise Russia where simple things like bread is scare.

You mean Socialism relies on free-trade to make it?
    Does.

There's no such thing as 'free' trade and ostensibly socialist states did trade with each other. The fact remains that Cuba has been throttled for decades by a vindictive US.
    You mean a standard of living much much worse than your average person in the West?

Oh for sure I'm not saying it wasn't.
    I love these posts bigging up how 'great' the USSR was. The definition of keyboard warriorism.

*Sigh* You are very tedious. I've written numerous times that I'd rather live in rags and be free than live comfortably in a system like the Soviet Union or even be minted in a place like this. Freedom is a wealth in and of itself.

Tbh I think you conservative/authoritarian types would have been true believers in a place like the USSR while I'd have been in the gulag pretty quick.

There's no such thing as 'free' trade and ostensibly socialist states did trade with each other. The fact remains that Cuba has been throttled for decades by a vindictive US.

What nonsense is this?

Free-Trade does in fact exist, we have it on this island, where goods in the North can travel over the border without tariffs or charges to be sold/processed/packaged and then moved back to the North to be sold onwards.

Now you that you are more educated on the matter, can you clarify to us that Socialism needs Free-Trade to work?

Oh for sure I'm not saying it wasn't.
    Good, because that was the impressive you were giving. Talk to most people who lived in the former eastern bloc on how 'great' socialism and they will give you a slap in the face.

Tbh I think you conservative/authoritarian types would have been true believers in a place like the USSR while I'd have been in the gulag pretty quick.

Hilarious, it really is.

I point out the obvious flaws within a Socialist Soviet setup and yet I am the person who would be the 'true believer' while you, constantly bigging up the Utopian USSR yet you would be in the gulag....

Walter Mitty much?

Put simply, I don't like authoritarianism or collectivism, which is a form of tyranny.

I would absolutely take freedom of speech and not potentially being gulagd for thought crimes over trains and an assigned job. The atrocities of socialism far outweigh any of the proclaimed positives

sweet_trip wrote: »
    Never read such amount of ****e in my life. A skateboard + hairstyle = socialist.

You're living in lala land. Talking about "police terms".

What you're essentially saying is accusing somebody of being something with no evidence other than "she looks that way".

Hopefully you'll never actually be in a position of authority with such dangerous thinking.

And how do you personally feel about this beverage tosser ?

Where would you put yourself on the political spectrum

Because i think I can guess these too...

Free-Trade does in fact exist

Trade exists and there's very little 'free' about it, the Brits are about to learn this hard way. Places like the US and China developed largely because they ignored the orthodoxies of 'Free Trade' and enacted protectionist measures alongside trade.
    Now you that you are more educated on the matter

Funny. I think my first response to you on Boards.ie was 'clueless' and here we still are, see above.
    can you clarify to us that Socialism needs Free-Trade to work?

You need to read up more on socialism. Socialism calls for the state to remain in control of key industries not absolute control of all commerce. You need to unlearn all that bullshit you've picked up along the way.
    Talk to most people who lived in the former eastern bloc on how 'great' socialism and they will give you a slap in the face.

I think you'd be surprised. There's an interesting vlogger on YouTube [Ushanka Show] who grew up in the USSR and relocated to the US not long after its collapse, he gets quite a bit of grief from people with rose-tinted views of life in the Soviet Union as he hasn't much good to say about life there.
    I point out the obvious flaws within a Socialist Soviet setup and yet I am the person who would be the 'true believer' while you

Oh absolutely, I think people like you are deeply conservative especially when it come to the economy and I think that that indicates a personality type that would have been equally conservative in any other system you happened to be born into.
    constantly bigging up the Utopian USSR

Your tediousness gets boring.
    Put simply, I don't like authoritarianism or collectivism, which is a form of tyranny.

Oh you're a true believer in our system alright, of that I'm sure.

Trade exists and there's very little 'free' about it

You are trying to re-define a word to suit a poxy argument. Free-Trade both as a term and concept exits. It exists on this very island.

From Oxford
    free trade noun

[uncountable]

a system of international trade in which there are no restrictions or taxes on imports and exports
    a free-trade agreement/area

Places like the US and China developed largely because they ignored the orthodoxies of 'Free Trade' and enacted protectionist measures alongside trade.

Great, so why then did Cuba fail?
    It seems you want it every which way.

Funny. I think my first response to you on Boards.ie was 'clueless' and here we still are, see above.

You need to read up more on socialism. Socialism calls for the state to remain in control of key industries not absolute control of all commerce. You need to unlearn all that bullshit you've picked up along the way.

I note, you didn't answer the question.
    Does socialism need free-trade to work?

I think you'd be surprised. There's an interesting vlogger on YouTube [Ushanka Show] who grew up in the USSR and relocated to the US not long after its collapse, he gets quite a bit of grief from people with rose-tinted views of life in the Soviet Union as he hasn't much good to say about life there.

Isnt that my point?
    Oh absolutely, I think people like you are deeply conservative especially when it come to the economy and I think that that indicates a personality type that would have been equally conservative in any other system you happened to be born into.

Facsinating! I didn't mention anything about economic theory, but you can make such a judgement anyway in what I do and not believe in.
    Neither have I mentioned anything else about social issues, but hey you get to call me a 'consevative' as if you can then chalk it up as a 'win'.
    See, I could have called you a Communist, but that would be stupid wouldn't it? :D
    I know you don't have any argument left when you go off on that little strawman tangent of playing the man.
    Oh you're a true believer in our system alright, of that I'm sure.

What is a 'True Beleiver'? Define it.
    How can I be a True Believer in 'our' system (whatever that is) but at the same time, be a true believer in a Soviet system if I lived there?

I am not the person bigging up the USSR, one of the most despotic and murderous regimes the world has ever known.