Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas Off Topic Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,997 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I plan on doing this, I got Santa's sleigh and Santa's visit, the Christmas tree, the alpine lodge and then the free gwp of a market stall!!!

Do you store then built or rebuild every year?

I also need to find a home for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,592 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I have super-limited space for the Lego Winter Village this year - its a big window sill. I would need two for the full lot, really

Just going for buildings and a few of the mini-features, I currently have these five on display. I also have the train built but it won't fit at all

https://brickset.com/sets/10245-1/Santa-s-Workshop

https://brickset.com/sets/10259-1/Winter-Village-Station

https://brickset.com/sets/10325-1/Alpine-Lodge

https://brickset.com/sets/10308-1/Holiday-Main-Street

So now I have to decide between one of these four for the last spot:

https://brickset.com/sets/10275-1/Elf-Club-House

https://brickset.com/sets/10216-1/Winter-Village-Bakery

...and I really can't decide. Thinking gingerbread currently.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭BK5

That Lego village is amazing, really great effort and imagination. I gave up on a 1,000 piece jigsaw a few weeks ago, I should be ashamed of myself! 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭polydactyl

It’s the Disney Castle with lights. Just moved to winter village each year

If you think those are complicated, I currently have this sitting on the desk beside me waiting for my brother's kids to come see it before I demolish it

9090 parts.

Store in attic each year with each building built then each year we build the new additions, and create a different display and add all the trees and people and scenes etc. have started adding lights sets too so the Sleigh twinkles and calls out Hohoho, elf clubhouse also has Christmas lights along with Disney castle lights and waiting on “town” lights for the front street too

thanks all, started years ago as a treat after a busy year and had grown and now it’s a fully family tradition. 7 yr old will spend the month driving the train around the tracks and collecting ppl etc. it’s massive and a lot of work but we all adore it

I didn't see your post when doing my one with the links - that's what I'd like to have rather than a windowsill. Oh to have this infernal refurb finished.

I had to make a trip to Ikea for a second table this year so understand the pain. I’d def give the gingerbread house the last space. It’s screams Christmas

I'm raging I'm only starting on the Lego this year. The gingerbread house and elf shop are class!!! Severe envy going on!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭SarahLil

Wow @polydactyl its fabulous

Impressive @L1011

I, despite having Rather Too Much Lego, only started with the Winter Village in ~2016.

However, it is possible to catch up - I've built (most of) the older ones from my parts supply + buying any specialist parts I need from Bricklink - the Winter Village Market is a problem here as it uses a rare part they keep occasionally re-releasing and making cheaper to buy, but the last time was 2017; and the previous time was the Market itself in 2013!)

I was actually thinking of doing that!

I'll concentrate on what I have first, but even some of the smaller character builds like the penguin etc .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,518 ✭✭✭✭DvB

Have that myself. Took an age to build with my son. Great fun though.

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭jellybear

Love the lego Gingerbread house so that gets my vote!😄

Managed to get to Smyths last night so got lots of bits there. Plenty of stock and straight through the checkout, which was great!😄

Going to order teacher and neighbour gifts today so that will help me tick off a few more things from the list 🙂

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭noplacehere

Christmas began last night for us with the sensory night at the zoo. Both boys loved it and we with friends who also have neurodiverse kids. No stares just fun. It was fabulous.

Today was a hospital visit for one of them so no fun but we have a quigleys toy show box for tomorrow and the sitting room has been reorganised ready for it and the tree. Normally do the tree over the weekend but given today we might just do it a little early tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭tscul32

So we've been ghosted by our plumber. Rang another guy and described the situation and it seems first guy may have fecked up and we'll need a new radiator. Someone (hopefully) coming tomorrow to suss it out. On a positive note middle elf is 16 today and we're heading out soon for a joint birthday/SIL retirement dinner and back here for cake after. Will leave the stove burning so the house won't be freezing when we get back.

And little elf was drooling at that amazing village

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,935 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Stay safe everyone

Appalling day, stabbing poor innocent children and then riots all over Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,854 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I just won a €50 Aldi gift card!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭kitten_k

Scary stuff in town tonight. We were out near Grafton Street for one of our work Xmas nights out. Had to leave the restaurant early to make sure everyone got home safely

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

It's crazy. I'm just around the corner from Parnell Street and got out of town sharpish at about half 5 because I knew it was all going to kick off. There has been (as one of the news reporters called it) "an air of menace" around the city centre for quite some time now.

I did see the footage online of people storming and looting Arnotts and wondered if any of the disgruntled folk who didn't get Santa tickets were among them. 🫢

Just glad I took tomorrow off from work, not sure I'd fancy driving in to the city tomorrow even with our office just off Stephens Green.

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

We just had to take our non National colleague off call tonight. Not safe for her to be potentially called in. Disgraceful stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,558 ✭✭✭Heroditas

We were on our annual Christmas shopping trip in town today and were on Henry Street when the initial incident happened. Heard and saw all the Garda cars and ambulances whizz up O'Connell Street and wondered what had happened. Saw it on the RTE website and though nothing of it until we went for dinner on Dawson Street and saw how the Luas wasn't running.

Certainly was a strange atmosphere in the city and what was weird was a lot of the street lights were off. Had to get a taxi and it took ages but feck it we got home ok. Strange end to the day and embarrassed to see toerags like that cause such damage to the capital of our country.

Hope everyone is safe. We'll get through this. We're a great country, despite people like this 💪

Was up in Dublin at a concert last night, scary what less than 24 hours can do

Wishing everyone affected the best of luck and safety to all in Dublin atm

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭XDivaX

That is really fabulous polydactyl!!

I clicked on the link for Titanic Lego.to see what it is like but there seems to be a queue on Lego website, must be a big Black Friday sale on! I agree it has been a long month with 'Black Friday's deals flashing in your face all the time. Saying that I'll be checking over the weekend lol.

So disgusted at what happened in Dublin tonight. It may have started as a peaceful protest or vigil, but scumbags decided to take advantage and ruin it for all. I think it'd put a lot of people off going to Dublin the next few weeks now? I planned on going down to spend the weekend with friends and I'm weary already.

Got our trees up tonight, so glad I decided to start today rather than tomorrow with wee monkeys so it can be a chill day now especially when they're coughing non stop.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭BK5

Mad stuff in Dublin last night alright, hope none of the emergency service workers were hurt in any way.

On the bright side, it's Toy Show Day! About 3 of my close neighbours put their trees up yesterday, you could tell there were the ones that still had little ones in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭SarahLil

I have no words for what happened in town yesterday, I can’t help think that today the little children should be going to school like any other Friday excited for the weekend, the toyshow, looking at all the decorations appearing in houses on their route to school. I hope any of you that work in town are working from home today xx

Happy Toy Show day elves

I don't want to talk about the horrendous stuff that occurred in Dublin yesterday as quite simply it gets me upset and angry in equal amounts. Discussion of political issues by anyone with a moral compass on social media is an exercise in futility.

So let's keep here our little oasis of Christmas cheer to keep our minds away from the toxicity that seems to surround us these days.

On that note....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Awful what went on in Dublin last night - I'm still kind of in disbelief. I had this fear that it would spill over into Cork and other cities/towns. Thankfully, it hasn't, so far... Thoughts with those little kids and the lady - hope they all pull through this.

In other news.....

Toy show and decorating day!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Aw kinda wish I was at home decorating today now! Have to wait another week and I'm sooo not ready anyway! Cleaning has to be done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,898 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

Happy Toy Show day everyone. I’m still in Spain and will be getting the bus into Malaga later to watch the switch on of the lights - it’s a really big affair here. Hope everyone is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭pigtail33

Oh enjoy! I was in Malaga last year and did one of the free walking tours. Our guide was showing us pictures of the Christmas lights. I think they change every two years. I try not to go back to the same place on holidays, but I would love to go back to Malaga in December to see all the lights.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 HollisHurlbut

I really believe that you'll never, ever change anyone's opinion online. People believe what they want and they'll make an interpretation on whatever angle or statistic and use it to suit their argument.

Anyway, really can't wait for the Toy Show tonight. Loving the theme. Seems kind of a breakaway from the Tubridy days. We're getting some treat boxes made up for it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭CheerLouth

Agreed @DvB. I'm overcome for those babies and their families - similar ages to my own children. I can't even.

So...Happy Stories only as my mother would say! And in great news, I managed to get tickets to see Pink in the Aviva. Am keeping it quiet so that we can surprise my eldest for her birthday next month - she adores Pink and it will be a great first concert for her! We may need some sort of breathing apparatus to sustain us at the altitude of the seats we got but will be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭CheerLouth

I'm ambushing the Lego talk here: can you get the instructions for the older sets somewhere? We've also only started collecting in the last few years; we have the Elf House & the Lego street, but we have literally tons of Lego in the house so if we could get the instructions, we'd be on a winner.

This is obviously the royal "we" here; I have no part in construction except paying for the sets.

If you search under Lego then product code, it will usually bring you into the Lego site and building instructions are there in pdf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

I was thinking of getting the decorating started this evening. I just realised we don't have a ladder and remembered that I used indoor scaffolding last year that I've since returned to my dad. Might have to make a trip to a hardware shop this weekend!

What an end to yesterday… hopefully things will stay calm.

Picked up our toy show box and home now with the kids and starting to decorate. Very excited!

Also very happy with my Black Friday after getting geomags half price! Opening minds educational had a code for 50% off all toys. Spent way more than intended but have stuff for the press now

For later tonight 😀

Cheers for that! It's an expensive site , so not really a 50% saving, but it was still a saving!

Santa needs to relax his cacks bigtime, but he's a sucker for a saving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,558 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Indoor scaffolding? Do you live in a castle? 😅

Christmas bedclothes put on the girls' beds and they have their Toy Show jammies on. We're now settling down watching Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer (the 1965 classic), then the Grinch (Benedict Cumberbatch version), fire is ready to go and then launch I to the Toy Show.

Even though I had a day off today, I can barely keep my eyes open. Didn't sit down once 🥱

Yeah particularly for geomags!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 24,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

The tree is up and the house decorated. Takeaway is on the way. Showered and Christmas pjs on. And for a few hours the problems of the world can wait.

Enjoy the toy show everyone

My poinsettia, grown from a cutting, seems to be coming good just at the right time

We finally have heat and hot water again. Cowboy never returned and turns out he messed up and we've needed to replace a whole radiator. Great craic altogether.

Now I can start getting the place in order for Christmas 😁😁😁