Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

COUNTDOWN: Top 50 Music Albums Of All-Time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

Grandmaster Flash hasn't made an outstanding album - good singles - but nothing to compare with Public Enemy, De La Soul, A Tribe Called Quest, Wu Tang Clan etc.

Here's a chart from Golden Discs that isn't in line with your generalisation

50940406_10161528150125089_7771826352419766272_n.jpg?_nc_cat=104&_nc_sid=8024bb&_nc_ohc=z6ewJou6spgAX9RELnE&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub1-1.fna&oh=86bd4b6ea41f230efd79eba6710bad19&oe=5F9727A9

That's an awesome top-10!!
    This is the type of music that I would like to listen to on a night out!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

trashcan wrote: »
    Didn't intend it to be barbed. It's just that they aren't very well known, it seems a couple of people have heard of them, which is great. I think Cake is a fantastic record. Still holds up thirty years later. If there were 20 better albums released that year I'd love to hear them. From the minute I heard Obscurity Knocks on Donal Dineens TV show I was hooked. Bought the album the same day.

Here's my top 20 of 1990, all records bought that year.

01 Pet Shop Boys - Behaviour
    02 Prefab Sprout - Jordan: The Comeback
    03 Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Original Soundtrack
    04 Pixies - Bossanova
    05 George Michael - Listen Without Prejudice Volume 1
    06 Depeche Mode - Violator
    07 The LA's - The LA's
    08 Happy Mondays - Pills 'n' Thrills & Bellyaches
    09 The KLF - Chill Out
    10 Cocteau Twins - Heaven Or Las Vegas
    11 Ride - Nowhere
    12 Public Enemy - Fear Of A Black Planet
    13 His Name Is Alive - Livonia
    14 The Sundays - Reading, Writing & Arithmetic
    15 The Breeders - Pod
    16 Sonic Youth - Goo
    17 Into Paradise - Under The Water
    18 Neil Young & Crazy Horse - Ragged Glory
    19 A House - I Want Too Much
    20 James - Gold Mother

I did enjoy Cake but would put the above ahead of it:
    Others from that year I was into:
    Dusty Springfield - Reputation
    Teenage Fanclub - A Catholic Education
    Inspiral Carpets - Life
    Human League - Romantic?
    The Fall - Extricate
    The Charlatans - Some Friendly
    Soul II Soul - Volume 2: A New Decade
    Hothouse Flowers - Home
    Ultra Vivid Scene - Joy 1967-1990
    The High - Somewhere Soon
    Power Of Dreams- Immigrants, Emigrants & Me
    Pale Saints - The Comforts Of Madness
    Dead Can Dance - Aion
    Fatima Mansions - Viva Dead Ponies

ozzy jr wrote: »
    I've seen many greatest album lists over the years. They're just a bit of fun and I enjoyed this one as much as the others, but this one was comfortably the worst selection I've ever seen :D

60-70% of the list have been on top 100 album lists for the last 20 years and some have been there for the last 30 years and more so I’m not sure what lists your referring to- maybe specialist lists like R&B or Rap - these are the general preferences as voted for by a random sample of 50 people but they still managed to match recognised lists like Rolling Stone etc

Queens of the stoneage- Songs for the Deaf
    The Pixes Surfer Rosa
    Bruce Springsteen- Nebraska
    Bruce Springsteen- Born to Run
    Blur- Parklife
    Prince- Sign of the Times
    Tom Petty- Wildflowers
    The Pixies- Doolittle
    Bob Dylan- Blonde on Blonde
    Fever Ray- Fever Ray
    Linkin Park Meteora
    Led Zeppelin- Led Zeppelin
    Joy Division- Unknown Pleasures
    Radiohead- The Bends
    Foo Fighters- The colour and the shape
    The Eagles- Hotel California
    My Blood valentine- Loveless
    Velvet Underground and Nico-
    The Smiths- the queen is dead
    Bruce Springsteen- Born in the USA
    U2- Achtung Baby
    Queen- Night at the opera
    Oasis- Definitely maybe
    Duran Duran – Rio
    U2- Joshua Tree
    Def Leppard- Hysteria
    Stevie Wonder- songs in the key of life
    Bon Jovi- Slippery when wet
    The Beatles- Sgt Peppers
    REM- Automatic for the People
    Lloyd Cole-Rattlesnakes
    Linkin Park- Hybrid Theory
    The Doors- The Doors
    Paul Simon- Graceland
    Manic Street Preachers- The Holy Bible
    The Rolling Stones- led it bleed
    Bob Dylan- Blood on the tracks
    Metalica- Black
    Oasis- What the story
    Radiohead- In rainbows
    Guns and Roses- Appetite for Destruction
    Alanis Morrissette- Jagged Little Pil
    Radiohead- OK Computer
    Pink Floyd- DSOTM
    The Beatles- Revolver
    The Beech Boys- Pet Sounds
    Stone Roses- Stone Roses
    Arcade Fire- Funeral
    Fleetwood Mac- Rumours
    Nirvana- Nevermind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭trashcan

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Not one rap album and no Michael Jackson
    :

You say that like it's a bad thing :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

trashcan wrote: »
    You say that like it's a bad thing :P

Thriller is a great album. Shamone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Thriller is a great album. Shamone.

]

Bad even better :) Saw him touring it in Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭thebronze14

Assumed you were a QOTSA fan with your username as it is anyway! :)
    Aye, to be fair I could have put any of their first 3 albums in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,605 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

As i said, there is nothing wrong with anyone's selections. Music is a powerful and subjective thing.

But the sample size was very small and lets' be honest, I wouldn't listen to Bruce bleedin Springers with your earphones ... just saying:o

I don't expect people from the country to appreciate Easy E or Snoop Dog either.:D

Do you mean culchies don't like rap or country music fans don't like rap :confused: as a bit of both I like Snoop Dogg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Do you mean culchies don't like rap or country music fans don't like rap :confused: as a bit of both I like Snoop Dogg

Any fans of country rap music here? :D

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

And just to add that as a Dub I don't like country music (with a few exceptions) and I like rap even less.

Yes does Sam Hunt count

Which country? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭ozzy jr

60-70% of the list have been on top 100 album lists for the last 20 years and some have been there for the last 30 years and more so I’m not sure what lists your referring to- maybe specialist lists like R&B or Rap - these are the general preferences as voted for by a random sample of 50 people but they still managed to match recognised lists like Rolling Stone etc

No Black Sabbath, Deep Purple, AC/DC.

Only the first Led Zep album. Only one Pink Floyd album. The wrong Metallica album.

The Stone Roses with the 4th greatest album of all time :D Think about that for a second!

You also like Lady Gaga ffs? You can forgive me for generalising.

At least be consistent, be - atch.:P

Real fans refer to him as the " Snoop" or the "Dogfather".

Only the first Led Zep album. Only one Pink Floyd album. The wrong Metallica album.

The Stone Roses with the 4th greatest album of all time :D Think about that for a second!

Jayzuz you’re taking this all so seriously - it’s 50 random people’s view of what’s the best album to them - it’s not a “let’s replicate all the other album lists that are out there” thread- even then we hit of lot of the usual suspects and provided folk with some suggestions they may not have considered- what more do you want?

You also like Lady Gaga ffs? You can forgive me for generalising.

At least be consistent, be - atch.:P

Real fans refer to him as the " Snoop" or the "Dogfather".

Or now the Just Eat dude ;)

I think he did a duet with Willie Nelson or did just have a few smokes together

Gaga is great as is Pink too

Jayzuz you’re taking this all so seriously

Ah I'm not really. The Stone Roses though, that's got to make you laugh though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

This is what it's all about: the raw rancour.

To be honest I somewhat surprised by the top fifty - I expected it to be a lot worse. No major surprises, but as a poll of fifty randomers on boards.ie what more were you expecting?

Though I agree with you about the stone roses - the most wildly overrated band in history.

What's your top ten anyway.

Or now the Just Eat dude ;)

I think he did a duet with Willie Nelson or did just have a few smokes together

Gaga is great as is Pink too

Pink I can handle, but not Gaga, she is too contrived for my liking.

Is she a fashion icon, a one hit wonder or a sincere musical talent?

I am confused?

Ah I'm not really. The Stone Roses though, that's got to make you laugh though.

Not as much as the 3 Springer albums.

Christ on a bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Bad even better :) Saw him touring it in Cork

Always preferred Bad over Thriller myself.

Pink I can handle, but not Gaga, she is too contrived for my liking.

Is she a fashion icon, a one hit wonder or a sincere musical talent?

I am confused?

Gaga is talented definitely not a one hit wonder

What would your top 10 albums be?

Gaga is talented definitely not a one hit wonder

What would your top 10 albums be?

That's mine there, I mean I could have put in another 500 albums.

1.Dark Side of the Moon - Pink Floyd
    2.Homework - Daft Punk
    3.Blue Lines - Massive Attack
    4.The Stone Roses - The Stone Roses
    5.Rio - Duran Duran
    6.Burnin - The Wailers
    7.Doggystyle - Snoop Doggy Dogg
    8.LA Woman - The Doors
    9.Timeless - Goldie
    10.Experience - The Prodigy

Arghus wrote: »
    This is what it's all about: the raw rancour.

To be honest I somewhat surprised by the top fifty - I expected it to be a lot worse. No major surprises, but as a poll of fifty randomers on boards.ie what more were you expecting?

Though I agree with you about the stone roses - the most wildly overrated band in history.

What's your top ten anyway.

My top 10 favourite albums (In no particular order)

Rainbow - Rising
    Deep Purple - Machine Head
    Metallica - Master of Puppets
    AC/DC - Let There be Rock
    Black Sabbath - Paranoid
    Guns n Roses - Appetite for Destruction
    Iron Maiden - Powerslave
    Lynyrd Skynyrd - Pronounced
    Ozzy Osbourne - Blizzard of Ozz
    Pink Floyd - Animals

Ask me again tomorrow and it'll probably change :)

2.Homework - Daft Punk
    5.Rio - Duran Duran
    6.Burnin - The Wailers
    8.LA Woman - The Doors
    9.Timeless - Goldie

Sorry but eh, you’re laughing at the final list and you’ve voted Rio as the 5th best album of all time?

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

2.Homework - Daft Punk
    5.Rio - Duran Duran
    6.Burnin - The Wailers
    8.LA Woman - The Doors
    9.Timeless - Goldie

Are those your favourite 10 albums or the 10 you would consider the best from a music perspective.

I possibly got this wrong by nominating my favourite albums, 6 of which made the top 50. I could have submitted 10 that are widely considered the top albums but I probably have never listened to half of them before. I'm not sure how others were nominating.

My 10 nominated but I do change all the time my favourites

Bruce Springsteen - Born in the USA
    Alanis Morissette - Jagged Little Pill
    Walking on Cars - Everything This Way
    Dave Matthews Band - Stand Up
    Lady GaGa - The Fame Monster
    The Dixie Chicks - Taking the Long Way
    The Greatest Showman Soundtrack
    Tom Petty - Wildflowers
    Pink - I'm Not Dead
    Oasis - Definitely Maybe

Kolido wrote: »
    Are those your favourite 10 albums or the 10 you would consider the best from a music perspective.

I possibly got this wrong by nominating my favourite albums, 6 of which made the top 50. I could have submitted 10 that are widely considered the top albums but I probably have never listened to half of them before. I'm not sure how others were nominating.

I did the same as you kolido, just nominated my 10 favourite albums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,478 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Irish Aris wrote: »
    I did the same as you kolido, just nominated my 10 favourite albums.
    Me too, which is why only one featured :pac:

Sorry but eh, you’re laughing at the final list and you’ve voted Rio as the 5th best album of all time?

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

I don't see what's funny about it, care to explain?

Kolido wrote: »

To be honest they were the ones that came to my head at the time. I don't ponder it much. I am big into electronic music, you name it. I would consider all the selections I picked as being somewhat " mainstream".

Music is not a competition, everyone has different tastes. I mean I cried into my pillow for not including Lou Reed, Stevie Wonder, The Isley bros and my all time fav.... Terence Trent D'arby.

As I said I would be questioning the demographic... but it ain't no thang ... but a chicken wing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Reberetta

Other multi-nominated albums which just missed the cut:

20 pts
    51.Michael Jackson Thriller
    51.Rolling Stones Exile On Main St.
    52. The Strokes Is This It?
    52. Vampire Weekend Vampire Weekend
    55.Tracy Chapman Tracy Chapman

19 Pts
    56. Alice In Chains Dirt
    57. Massive Attack Blue Lines

18 Pts

The Doors L.A. Woman
    David Bowie Low
    Counting Crows August and Everything After
    INXS Kick

17 Pts or less in descending order:

Kanye West My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
    Arctic Monkeys Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not
    Prodigy Music For A Jilted Generation
    Led Zeppelin IV
    Radiohead Kid A
    Neil Young On The Beach
    Kate Bush Hounds Of Love
    Metallica And Justice For All
    Greenday Dookie
    The Smashing Pumpkins Mellon Collie & The Infinite Sadness
    The Knife Silent Shout
    The National Boxer
    The Smashing Pumpkins  Adore
    Echo and The Bunnymen Ocean Rain
    U2 The Boy
    The Cure Disintegration
    Waterboys This Is The Sea
    Whipping Boy Heartworm
    The Beatles Abbey Road
    Snow Patrol Eyes Open
    Depeche Mode Violator
    Bat for Lashes Two Suns

And The Rest

joni mitchel..song to a seagull
    Pearl Jam-Ten
    Florence and the machine...lungs
    Janis Joplin... pearl
    Blondie... parallel lines
    Talking Heads - Stop Making Sense
    Tori Amos...under the pink
    Sinead o Connor...i do not want what i haven't got
    Goldfrapp...supernature
    Aretha Franklin...lady soul
    Patti smith... Easter
    Pj Harvey... to bring you my love
    Fairport convention...liege and leaf
    Cat Stevens...tea for the tillerman
    Roy harper...flat baroque and bezerk
    Tim Buckley...goodbye and hello
    Bad company ....bad company
    Bryan Adams...reckless
    C.C.R..Cosmos factory
    The clash... combat rock
    Live,,, throwing copper
    Jefferson airplane... surrealistic pillow
    Jimi Hendrix exp...are you experienced us version
    Kula shaker....K
    The Byrds... notorious..
    The moody blues...days of future passed
    Rem... out of time
    dAvid bowie...lets dance
    The police...regatta de blanc
    The rolling stones...out of our heads
    Dead can dance / towards the within
    Depeche mode... violator
    The breeders... the last splash
    Mazzy star...she hangs brightly
    Modern English...after the snow
    Lou reed...transformer
    Nick cave and the bad seeds..skeleton tree
    Jimmy mccarthy..the song of the singing horseman6
    The horslips...happy to meet-sorry to part
    Joe cocker.... /with a little help
    Johnny cashAmerican recordings I-VI
    Peter Gabriel So
    Sanke River River Conspiracy -Sonic Jihad
    Foo Fighters - Foo Fighters
    Faith No More -Angel Dust
    Pink Floyd -The Wall
    Interpol - Antics
    Lunachicks -Pretty Ugly
    Menomena -Friend or Foe
    Jeff Buckley  Grace
    Donovan A Gift From A Flower To A Garden
    Neil Young Harvest
    Jimi Hendrix Experience- Electric Ladyland
    Talking Heads- Speaking in Tongues
    Korn- Korn
    Suede - Dog Man Star
     Pulp - Different Class
    The B-52s - The B52s
    Julianna Barwick - The Magic Place
    Dirty Three - Horse Stories
    Deerhoof Offend Maggie
    Joanna Newsom - Have One On Me
    Type O Negative-Slow Deep and Hard
    Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Push The Sky Away
    Casiotone for the Painfully Alone - Etiquette
    The Twilight Singers - Blackberry Belle
    The Breeders - Pod
    Mad Season - Above
    AC/DC - Back in Black
    Kings of Leon - Youth & Young Manhood
    The View - Hats Off to the Busker
    Airbourne - Running Wild
    Bell X1 - Music in Mouth
    The Ting Tings We Started Nothing
    The Fratellis - Costello Music
    Stereophonics - Word Gets Around
    The Zombies  Odyssey and Oracle
    Walking on Cars - Everything This Way
    Dave Matthews Band - Stand Up
    Nico - chelsea girl
    Lady GaGa - The Fame Monster
    Hole - Live Through This
    The Dixie Chicks - Taking the Long Way
    The Greatest Showman Soundtrack
    Pink - I'm Not Dead
    Dido - Life for rent
    Crow soundtrack
    Madonna - True blue
    Lady Sovereign Public Warning
    Simon and Garfunkel - bridge over troubled waters
    The verve - urban hymns
    Guns N roses Use your illusions 2
    Guns N Roses Use your illusions 1
    Pearl Jam - Vitalogy
    Grease soundtrack
    U2 - Under a blood red sky
    Eminem - Slim Shady LP
    REM - Out of Time
    The streets - a grand don't come for free
    Smashing Pumpkins Siamese Dream
    Tom Petty, full moon fever
    Guns & Roses Lies
    Art of trance - wildlife on one
    Lighthouse family - ocean drive
    Suede Suede
    The National, High Violet
    Smashing Pumpkins- Pisces Iscariot
    Brian Eno - Nerve Net
    Brian Eno - Ambient 4: On Land
    Donald Fagen - Kamakiriad
    Marilyn Manson-Portrait Of An American Family
     Dt8 project - Perfect world
    Sting - Brand new day
    Faithless - reverence
    Crash Test Dummies-God Shuffled His Feet
    Blind Melon-Blind Melon
    James Taylor - Sweet Baby James
    James bay-electric light
    beck-guero
    bloc party-a weekend in the city
    sia-this is acting
    imagine dragons-smoke +mirrors
    elbow-the seldom seen kid
    Daughty-baptized
    lianne la havis-is your love big enough?
    Johnny Cash: American IV - The Man Comes Around
    Eminem - Recovery
     65daysofstatic - Escape from New York
    65daysofstatic - We Were Exploding Anyway
    Enter Shikari - Flash Flood of Colour
    Britney Spears - Baby One More Time
    Westlife - The Love Album
    LUH - Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing
    The National - Alligator
    Manic Street Preachers Everything Must Go
    Portishead - Dummy
    Oasis - The Masterplan
    New Radicals Maybe You've Been Brainwashed Too
    Skeletonwitch At One With The Shadows
    Eminem - The Marshall Mathers LP
    Fight Like Apes - Fight Like Apes and the Mystery of the Golden Medallion
    The Gaslight Anthem - The '59 Sound
    Lawson-chapman square
    Bob Dylan-Desire
    Placebo -Without You I'm Nothing
    The Kinks-The Kinks Are Village Green Preservation Society
    Crosby, Stills & Nash-Crosby, Stills & Nash
    The Police - Synchronicity
    Julie London - Your Number Please
    Kenny G - Faith
    Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds - The Boatman's Call
    Bjork - Vespertine
    Cat Power - Moon Pix
    Captain Beefheart and his Magic Band - Trout Mask Replica
    Beach House - 7
    Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds - Push The Sky Away/Skeleton Tree/Ghosteen
    Interpol - Turn On The Bright Lights
    Björk - Homogenic
    Beck - Morning Phase
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs - It's Blitz!
    Soundgarden -Down On The Upside
    Eels-Beautiful Freak
    Red hot chilli peppers  californication
    AC/DC ballbreaker
    Ben Folds Five- Ben Folds Five
    The La's - The La's
     Lloyd Cole Lloyd Cole
    Prince Graffiti Bridge
    Green - REM
    Carrie & Lowell - Sufjan Stevens
    Paradise - The Shangri-Las
    Let England Shake - PJ Harvey
    Turn On the Bright Lights - Interpol
    American Idiot - Green Day
    One by One - Foo Fighters
    The Eminem Show - Eminem
    Apocalypso - The Presets
     Nouvelle Vague - Nouvelle Vague
    Illmatic - Nas
    A Walk Across the Rooftops The Blue Nile
    Electronic  Electronic
    Going for The One  Yes
    Suzanne Vega Suzanne Vega
    How Dare You!  10cc
    Agaetis Byrjun - Sigur Ros
    Good Kidd Madd City - Kendrick Lamar
    Demon Days - Gorillaz
    Lovers Lane - The Go Betweens
    Aja//Steely Dan
    The Kick Inside Kate Bush
    Between the lines  Janis Ian
    Crime of the Century Supertramp
    Whats goin on- Marvin Gaye
    Back to Black- Amy Winehouse
    Bad Brains - Bad Brains
    In a Silent Way- Miles Davis
    Straight Outta Compton- NWA
    Frank- Amy Winehouse
    How To Save A Life - The Fray
    A Fever You Can't Sweat Out - Panic! At The Disco
    Bad Blood - Bastille
    Red - Taylor Swift
    Sigh No More - Mumford and Sons
    Rust Never Sleeps - Neil Young with Crazy Horse
    Electric Warrior - T. Rex
    Brothers in Arms - Dire Straits
    Homework - Daft Punk
    Burnin - The Wailers
    Faded Seaside Glamour - Delays
    OK Cowboy - Vitalic
    Nobody Wants to be Here and Nobody Wants to Leave - The Twilight Sad
    In an Aeroplane Over the Sea - Neutral Milk Hotel
    Queens of The Stone Age - Queens of The Stone Age
    Queen of Denmark - John Grant
    Lost Souls - Doves
    Moon Safari - Air
    Radiator - Super Furry Animals
    Pronounced: Lynyrd Skynyrd
    Otis Blue: Otis Redding
    Photo Finish: Rory Gallagher
    Devils and Dust: Bruce Springsteen
    Solitary Man: Johnny Cash
     Fresh Evidence: Rory Gallagher
    Sticky Fingers: The Rolling Stones
     Kind of Blue- Miles Davis
    Fever to Tell - Yeah Yeah Yeahs
    The Fat of The Land - The Prodigy
    In Evening Air - Future Islands
    Doggystyle - Snoop Doggy Dogg
    Timeless - Goldie
    Experience - The Prodigy
    For Emma, Forever Ago - Bon Iver
    FOUR - One Direction
    I Am... Sasha Fierce - Beyonce
    The Clash - London Calling
    Bat Out of Hell - Meat Loaf
    Exile on Coldharbour Lane - Alabama 3
    It's a Shame About Ray - Lemonheads
    Closing Time - Tom Waits
    Surf's Up, Jim Steinman
    Ride the Lightning - Metallica
    RATM - Rage Against the Machine
    Permission to Land - The Darkness
    A Vulgar Display of Power - Pantera
    Leviathan - Mastodon
     The Hurting - Tears For Fears
    The Man Machine - Kraftwerk
    Steve McQueen - Prefab Sprout
    The Nightfly - Donald Fagen
    Tango In The Night - Fleetwood Mac
    Tapestry - Carole King
    She's The Boss - Mick Jagger
    Rum Sodomy and the Lash, Pogues
    Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, Elton John
    Document REM
    Heart - Heart
    Daughtry - Daughtry
    Exile in Guyville - Liz Phair
    Station to Station- David Bowie
    Dragonfly Summer Michael Franks
    Wonderland Judie Tzuke
    Reading, Writing and Arithmetic- The Sundays
    Copper Blue - Sugar
    Lovely - The Primitives
    A Rush of Blood to the Head  Coldplay
    Lionheart  Kate Bush
    Raw Power - The Stooges
    Bringing It All Back Home - Bob Dylan
    The White Stripes - Elephant
    Ween - The Mollusk
    Metallica - Master Of Puppets
    Weezer - Weezer (The Blue Album)
    Nirvana -In Utero
    Our Lady Peace - Clumsy
    ABC - The Lexicon Of Love (1982)
    The Magnetic Fields- Love Songs
    Travis - 12 Memories
    The Killers - Hot Fuss
    Japan - Tin Drum
    Kings of Leon - Aha Shake Heartbreak
    Serge Gainsbourg - Histoire De Melody Nelson
    Pet Shop Boys - Behaviour
    Various - Now That's What I Call Music 3
    Staind - Break The Cycle
    Dexys Midnight Runners - Don't Stand Me Down
    Style Council - Our Favourite Shop
    Love The Jam and Weller solo but this is the peak.
    Iron Maiden - Brave New World
    The Beatles -The Beatles
    The Mars Volta - Deloused In The Comatorium
    Red Hot Chili Peppers - By The Way
    Primal Scream - Screamadelica
    Animal Collective - Merriweather Post Pavilion
    The Name of This Band is Talking Heads by Talking Heads
    Misfits - Static Age

The lack of ACDC was a bit of a surprise actually.

As regards The Stone Roses' debut album, I bought it and I would not have listed it in my own Top 50! :D

I nominated albums I’m really close to but would also consider candidates as “best music album of all time”-which is the purpose of the thread- there’s tons of albums I love but wouldn’t consider them best of all time.
    It just so happens many of the albums I know and love very well also feature regularly on best of lists

Irish Aris wrote: »
    I don't see what's funny about it, care to explain?

No I couldn’t be bothered :)

To be honest they were the ones that came to my head at the time. I don't ponder it much. I am big into electronic music, you name it. I would consider all the selections I picked as being somewhat " mainstream".

Music is not a competition, everyone has different tastes. I mean I cried into my pillow for not including Lou Reed, Stevie Wonder, The Isley bros and my all time fav.... Terence Trent D'arby.

As I said I would be questioning the demographic... but it ain't no thang ... but a chicken wing.

That's another album that was just outside my top 10 - introducing the Hardline according to Terence Trent D'Arby. What an album!! I remember at the time he was hailed as the new Prince, alas lost his way very quickly. Not to say that the next albums weren't good, but nowhere near this amazing debut.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

1. Pet Sounds - The Beach Boys.
    2. Animals - Pink Floyd.
    3. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy - Kanye West.
    4. Rumours - Fleetwood Mac.
    5. Songs in the Key of Life - Stevie Wonder.
    6. Kid A - Radiohead.
    7. Madvillainy - Madvillain.
    8. ATLiens - Outkast.
    9. To Pimp A Butterfly - Kendrick Lamar.
    10. Random Access Memories - Daft Punk.

I tried to represent some more modern albums, 4 rap albums in total. 3 of the top 10 being released in the 2010's.

Sad no other Pink Floyd album got a look in, personally think DSOTM is a bit overrated.

Just had a look at the full nominations.

It's amazing that there was no nomination by anybody of the following: Genesis, Phil Collins, New Order, Sade (Diamond Life), David Gray (White Ladder), more than one album by Coldplay, Closer by Joy Division, more than one album by Depeche Mode and Songs from the Big Chair by Tears for Fears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,942 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Ten by Pearl Jam votes: 0
    The Greatest Showman Soundtrack votes: 1

There it is, black and white, we all know which album is best now

Reberetta wrote: »
    We got fun and games

No sir.

That's it from me today folks. Tomorrow Sunday 1pm, the top ten in twenty minute increments.

1pm No. 10

1.20pm No. 9

1. 40pm No. 8

etc...

4pm No. 1

You wanted suspense, you got suspense! :cool:

One MASSIVE album missed the cut. But which one?

What was the MASSIVE album that missed the cut?

Pearl Jam's Ten?

It's amazing that there was no nomination by anybody of the following: Genesis, Phil Collins, New Order, Sade (Diamond Life), David Gray (White Ladder), more than one album by Coldplay, Closer by Joy Division, more than one album by Depeche Mode and Songs from the Big Chair by Tears for Fears.

I’m not amazed at all-what criteria are you using to come to that conclusion? I’m guessing that the median demographic of a lot of voters here is around 38 years old- so 80s albums wouldn’t really feature strongly on their radar - I lived the 80s as a teenager and I wouldn’t put Phil Collins on a top 50 list no less a top 10 list.

I would say Thriller by Michael Jackson. It just missed the Top 50.

ShaneU wrote: »
    Ten by Pearl Jam votes: 0
    The Greatest Showman Soundtrack votes: 1

There it is, black and white, we all know which album is best now

Wolverine singing is awesome :D

80s pop (or pop in general for that matter) doesn't perform well in boards.
    The only that I could picture getting voted in would be Tears for Fears.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Surprised by some of the negative comments on here. Not everyone is going to have the same taste in music and the chances of the final list matching any users actual list is pretty small.

My list is below, I didn't spend a whole lot of time agonising over it, probably what I was listening to at the time, I could probably do this tomorrow and come up with 10 completely different albums.

I don't have the Stone Roses included but I easily could have, in my opinion its a great album, one of the best albums releases while I've been listening to music.

1. Bob Dylan - Blood on the Tracks
    2. The Beatles - Revolver
    3. Nirvana - Nevermind
    4. Radiohead - OK Computer
    5. Beach Boys - Pet Sounds
    6. Joy Division - Unknown Pleasures
    7. The Velvet Undergorund - The Velvet Underground & Nico
    8. David Bowie - Low
    9. Radiohead - Kid A
    10. The Clash - London Calling

Wolverine singing is awesome :D

and such a heart warming film!!!! :)

I would say Thriller by Michael Jackson. It just missed the Top 50.

Yes, biggest selling album ever?

I’m not amazed at all-what criteria are you using to come to that conclusion? I’m guessing that the median demographic of a lot of voters here is around 38 years old- so 80s albums wouldn’t really feature strongly on their radar - I lived the 80s as a teenager and I wouldn’t put Phil Collins on a top 50 list no less a top 10 list.

I'm going by popularity and name recognition, but you have a point about the demographics. That said:
    - White Ladder was the 1990s. Coldplay are a 21st century act. New Order had albums in more recent decades. Depeche Mode has plenty of albums in the last few decades.

- The Top 50 included Joy Division's earlier album Unknown Pleasures even though it was in 1979.

- Tears for Fears first album The Hurting was amongst the nominations, albeit not in the Top 50.

Acts with the most different albums nominated:

Bruce Springsteen
    The Beatles  
    Bob Dylan  
    Radiohead  
    Guns N Roses
    U2  
    REM  
    The Rolling Stones
    Metallica 
    Smashing Pumpkins (Did not make top 50) 
    Eminem  (Did not make top 50)

Fleetwood Mac  
    Oasis  
    Foo Fighters
    Manic Street Preachers
    Pink Floyd
    Nick Cave (& Bad Seeds)  (Did not make top 50)
    The National  (Did not make top 50)
    Neil Young  (Did not make top 50)
    Kate Bush  (Did not make top 50)
    David Bowie (Did not make top 50)
    Suede  (Did not make top 50)
    Prodigy  (Did not make top 50)
    Talking Heads  (Did not make top 50)

Linkin Park
    The Pixies
    Led Zeppelin
    Nirvana  
    The Doors
    Lloyd Cole (and the Commotions)
    The B-52s (Did not make top 50)
    Sting   (Did not make top 50)
    AC/DC   (Did not make top 50)
    Daughtry  (Did not make top 50)
    Queens Of The Stone Age  
    Johnny Cash  (Did not make top 50)
    Miles Davis   (Did not make top 50)
    The Clash   (Did not make top 50)
    Pearl Jam  (Did not make top 50)
    65 Days Of Static  (same person)  (Did not make top 50)
    Amy Winehouse  (same person)  (Did not make top 50)
    Brian Eno       (same person)  (Did not make top 50)
    Rory Gallagher (same person)  (Did not make top 50)