Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UCI Road World Championships 2020

• 23-09-2020 10:42pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭

I thought the Worlds might derserve a thread of their own.

Thursday: Womens Elite Time Trial 32km

Friday: Mens Elite Time trial 32km

Saturday: Womens Elite Road Race 143km

Sunday: Mens Elite Road Race 258km

258km course profile...
    PWDuHndnSxfAmo47YeeY87-650-80.jpg

There is full coverage on Eurosport for the Friday, Saturday and Sunday, but there's only an hour highlights listed for Sunday's road race. The French Open dominates the schedule, but there may well be full coverage somewhere on the player come Sunday.

BBC 2 are just showing the men's race on Sunday. I'm not sure about Red Button coverage for the women's road race on Saturday.

So, who's yer money on?
    My shouts...
    Dygert W TT
    Ganna M TT
    Vos W RR
    Majka (ew) M RR

Has AVV ruled herself in or out with the dodgy wrist from the Giro Rosa? Last I heard she was thinking about it. If she turns up I wouldn't bet against her broken wrist or not. Either way a Dutch win for the women, no question.

The men , Pog is on the procyclingstats start list can lightning strick twice in a week? I'd love to see Richie Porte do it be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,761 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Bookies odds, Mens Road Race, note not all may be riding.

Rider Odds
    Wout Van Aert 7/2
    Julian Alaphilippe 5
    Jakob Fuglsang 9
    Tadej Pogacar 12
    Michael Woods 12
    Primoz Roglic 14
    Marc Hirschi 14
    Alejandro Valverde 16
    Michal Kwiatkowski 18
    Tom Pidcock 20
    Davide Formolo 22
    Diego Ulissi 22
    Vincenzo Nibali 28
    Tom Dumoulin 28
    Michael Matthews 33
    Max Schachmann 28
    Richard Carapaz 33
    Sepp Kuss 50
    Alexy Lutsenko 66
    Wilco Kelderman 80
    Alexander Vlasov 80
    Tim Wellens 66
    Greg Van Avermaet 66
    Richie Porte 80
    Andrea Bagioli 100
    Daniel Martinez 100
    Gianni Moscon 100
    Thibaut Pinot 100
    Sergio Higuita 100
    Miguel Angel Lopez 125
    Peter Sagan 100
    Mikel Landa 150
    Alex Aranburu 150
    Enric Mas Nicolau 150
    Tiesj benoot 125
    Nairo Quintana 150
    Valentin Madouas 150
    Fausto Masnada 150
    Jhonatan Narvaez 150
    George Bennett 150
    Rigoberto Uran 125
    Dan Martin 125
    Wouter Poels 150
    Ruben Guerreiro 150
    Matej Mohoric 150
    Rui Costa 125
    Michael Valgren 150
    Pello Bilbao 150
    Pavel Sivakov 200
    Bob Jungels 200
    Damiano Caruso 200
    Simon Clarke 200
    Jasper Stuyven 250
    Michael Albasini 250
    Markus Hoelgaard 250
    Enrico Gasparotto 250
    Eddie Dunbar 250
    Guillaume Martin 250
    Alberto Bettiol 300
    Sergio Luis Henao 300
    Simon Geschke 300
    Gorka Izagirre 300
    Gianluca Brambilla 250
    Daryl Impey 300
    Adam Toupalik 300
    Oliver Naesen 300
    Emanuel Buchmann 300
    Omar Fraile 350
    Toms Skujins 300
    Hugh Carthy 300
    Marc Soler 300
    Antwan Tolhoek 300
    Warren Barguil 350
    Giovanni Visconti 400
    Matteo Fabbro 400
    Kasper Asgreen 400
    Johan Esteban Chaves 400
    Dion Smith 400
    Jesus Herrada 400
    Nicola Conci 400
    Luis Leon Sanchez Gil 400
    David de la Cruz 400
    James Knox 400
    Loic Vliegen 500
    Tanel Kangert 500
    Nans Peters 500
    Quentin Pacher 500
    Nicolas Roche 500
    Petr Vakoc 500
    Xandro Meurisse 500
    Krists Neilands 500
    Alexis Vuillermoz 500
    Jai Hindley 600
    Nico Denz 600
    Kenny Elissonde 600
    Pascal Eeenkhorn 600
    Casper Pedersen 600
    Jonathan Castroviejo 600
    John Degenkolb 600
    Patrick Bevin 600
    Lukas Postlberger 600
    Andreas Leknessund 600
    Luka Mecgez 600
    Dylan Van Baarle 600
    Attila Valter 600
    Pieter Serry 600
    Rudy Molard 600
    Damien Howson 600
    Jan Polanc 600
    Sam Oomen 600
    Hermann Pernsteiner 600
    Neilson Powless 600
    Tobias Foss 750
    Odd Christian Eiking 750
    Mikkel Honore 750
    Paul Martens 750
    Brandon McNulty 750
    Georg Zimmermann 750
    Maciej Paterski 750
    Jesper Hansen 750
    Jaakko Hanninen 750
    Kevin Rivera 750
    Jonathan Klever Caicedo 750
    Silvan Dillier 750
    Benjamin King 1000
    Tsgabu Grmay 1000
    Merhawi Kudus 1000
    Andrey Amador 1000
    Lawson Craddock 1000
    James Shaw 1000
    Ben OConnor 1000
    Carl Fredrik Hagen 1000
    Louis Meintjes 1000
    Nikolay Cherkasov 1000
    Mark Padun 1000
    Jan Hirt 1000
    Kamil Malecki 1000
    Niklas Eg 1000
    Rein Taaramae 1000
    Sergey Chernetskiy 1000

• Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Has AVV ruled herself in or out with the dodgy wrist from the Giro Rosa? Last I heard she was thinking about it. If she turns up I wouldn't bet against her broken wrist or not. Either way a Dutch win for the women, no question.

The men , Pog is on the procyclingstats start list can lightning strick twice in a week? I'd love to see Richie Porte do it be honest.

Van Vleuten had the operation and now has 'no pain' according to her. TBH, I think she is just desperate to race.

Many of the experts (or people that George Hincapie has spoken to) think the winner of the mens RR won't come come from the Tour!

velo.2010 wrote: »
    Van Vleuten had the operation and now has 'no pain' according to her. TBH, I think she is just desperate to race.

Many of the experts (or people that George Hincapie has spoken to) think the winner of the mens RR won't come come from the Tour!

Almost all of the bookies major favourites raced the tour, that said I don't disagree, there could be value in finding a few longer priced e/w bets of non TDF riders.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

There's alot of uppy downy stuff for the men and I think after tdf alot will bollixed and won't have the teams. Not necessarily a breakaway group rider but a rider who can stay in the bunch without a team as the race goes on.

Kwiatkowski

• Registered Users Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Inquitus wrote: »
    Bookies odds, Mens Road Race, note not all may be riding.

Tom Pidcock 20

I know he won the baby Giro... But 20/1 odds for the Men's Elite RR... that seems bizarre

We have Ben Healy in the mens elite as they have no U23 race this year. He's had a great run in France last week but is it a mistake entering him in this ? It will rule him out of U23 in the next few years.

I know he won the baby Giro... But 20/1 odds for the Men's Elite RR... that seems bizarre

Agreed, bet365's odds.

We have Ben Healy in the mens elite as they have no U23 race this year. He's had a great run in France last week but is it a mistake entering him in this ? It will rule him out of U23 in the next few years.

How many places were we allocated in the men's race?

We qualified 6, its based on the Paddy's day national rankings and structured as follows, we were 16 at the time, not sure if Covid had any impact mind:
    1. Qualification through the UCI World Ranking by nations on 17 March 2020 (200 riders to start)
    A. Nations ranked 1 to 10 may enter 8 riders to start (80 riders to start)
    B. Nations ranked 11 to 20 may enter 6 riders to start (60 riders to start)
    C. Nations ranked 21 to 30 may enter 4 riders to start (40 riders to start)
    D. Nations ranked 31 to 50 may enter 1 rider to start (20 riders to start)

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭All My Stars Aligned

Can find any info on Irish team, are we sending anyone?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

• Registered Users Posts: 5,861 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Is it this weekend?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭lennymc

I believe UCI issued something recently saying that any U23 competing in this years worlds will not be excluded from future u23 world championships.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Melodeon

velo.2010 wrote: »
    There is full coverage on Eurosport for the Friday, Saturday and Sunday, but there's only an hour highlights listed for Sunday's road race. The French Open dominates the schedule, but there may well be full coverage somewhere on the player come Sunday.
    The GCN app is showing full coverage of the men's road race: 27 Sep 2020, 08:40 - 15:50
    I'd be amazed if the same wasn't available on the Eurosport player too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭redlead

Someone like Hirschi wouldn't be a bad darkhorse for the RR. Hes just in great form at the moment. Okay, fair enough, not a real dark horse but still ...

Melodeon wrote: »
    The GCN app is showing full coverage of the men's road race: 27 Sep 2020, 08:40 - 15:50
    I'd be amazed if the same wasn't available on the Eurosport player too.

The whole race is live on BBC2 I think.

Inquitus wrote: »
    The whole race is live on BBC2 I think.

They normally show the last 2 hours or so on the TV channel but the rest is on the Red Button. I'd guess it's the same for Sunday?

• Registered Users Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Tim76

fat bloke wrote: »
    Is it this weekend?

Starts today

They normally show the last 2 hours or so on the TV channel but the rest is on the Red Button. I'd guess it's the same for Sunday?

Aye this is the schedule
    Thursday, 24 September

13:30-16:00 - Women's individual time trial, BBC Red Button, BBC iPlayer & BBC Sport website & app

Friday, 25 September

10:45-13:15 - Women's individual time trial (rpt), BBC Red Button

13:15-16:00 - Men's individual time trial, BBC Red Button, BBC iPlayer & BBC Sport website & app

Saturday, 26 September

08:35-11:25 - Men's individual time trial (rpt), BBC Red Button

11:25-16:20 - Women's road race, BBC iPlayer & BBC Sport website & app

21:50-02:40 - Women's road race (rpt), BBC Red Button

Sunday, 27 September

08:35-16:30 - Men's road race (uninterrupted), BBC Red Button, BBC iPlayer & BBC Sport website & app

12:00-16:20 - Men's road race, BBC Two

19:35-03:30 - Men's road race (rpt), BBC Red Button

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭Oymyakon

Why are we not sending any women to these World Championships?

Watching the TT now, I reckon Dygert's got this one.

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭The Buster

anyone havig problems with the GCN app. Not working for me today

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

The Buster wrote: »
    anyone havig problems with the GCN app. Not working for me today

It wasn't working earlier for me. Working now though

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭slow

Ben Healy can ride U23 next year if selected.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Is there a reason Sam Bennett isnt there?

• Registered Users Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Tim76

Tombo2001 wrote: »

He's on the lash down in Carrick.

On a more serious note, I'm guessing it's cos be wouldn't be strong in a classics style race or ITT so probably not much point in competing.

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭Oymyakon

Tombo2001 wrote: »

The course is far too difficult for sprinters, and I am sure his team have a race programme mapped out for him.

Oymyakon wrote: »
    The course is far too difficult for sprinters, and I am sure his team have a race programme mapped out for him.

Sam himself said he's be useless on the parcours, even on bottle duty.

slow wrote: »
    Ben Healy can ride U23 next year if selected.

Can he though? Maybe there is an exception this year but usually the rule is if you ride elite you can't go back to under 23.